Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Electric Log Splitter - 5-Ton

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Wel-Bilt Horizontal Electric Log Splitter - 5-Ton

Item# 159420
This Wel-Bilt log splitter features a 15 Amp, 1 3/4 HP electric motor that delivers 5 tons of force, splitting logs up to 20 1/2in.L x 10in. dia. It features 0.6 gallon oil capacity, two-hand safety control, built-in log cradle and durable welded steel construction. Motor 15A, 110V, Max. Log Size L x W in. 20 1/2 x 10, Cycle Time sec. 9 forward, 5 return, HP 1 3/4, Dimensions L x W x H in. 50 1/2 x 13 3/16 x 19 1/2, Log Cradle Yes, Log Lift No, Ram Force Tons 5, Tire Size 5 3/4, Oil Reservoir gal. 0.6, Pre-assembled Yes, Product Type Horizontal splitter. Splits logs up to 20 1/2in.L and 10in.W Two wheels for easy maneuverability Log cradle keeps split wood from falling to the ground Not related to WELBILT products of Enodis companies
Average Customer Rating:
4.423 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (26 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
25 of 26(96%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Electric Log Splitter - 5-Ton
Review 1 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Electric Log Splitter - 5-Ton
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

one small issue

,
May 26, 2014
By Texashunter
from texas
"I bought this splitter for home use. My yard slppes from fromt to back and is 1 1/2 acres of trees. I had a pile of wood from the few trees that had died. The splitter works as advertised. Moving this beast is another thing. With small wheels and so close together id is. Not easy to move down hill or across uneven land. The 2 hand operation requires you bend way down or crouch. Imagine deep knee bends with logs for, say an hour. The splitter did well on seasoned oak to about 8 inches and wined to about 9 the log lenght comes to play also. I cut some 9 and 10 inch logs to 14 inches and had better success. All in all great buy for a homeowner. One thing buy a good number 10 exrtension cord as it will extend the tool life (and all your tools) smaller cords suffer voltage drop and heat up motors."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Electric Log Splitter - 5-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good for the dollar

,
February 4, 2014
By pnauert
from Forestburg,Tx.
"It's a good splitter & will split anything I put in it. It will even split Bodark stumps."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Electric Log Splitter - 5-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

5-Ton Log Splitter

,
February 4, 2014
By Partsman9
from Colorado
"I have split around 20 cords of pine and aspen with no problem whatsoever. This splitter has handled much larger pieces of wood than you would expect it to flawlessly."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Electric Log Splitter - 5-Ton
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good low cost solution for wet wood.

,
February 4, 2014
By DallasLogging
from Dallas, TX
"I purchased this log splitter after tree trimmers dropped large branches (approx. 6~8") from my back yard trees. Though this is at the upper limit and to some degree exceeding, this log splitter did a pretty good job. One note about it is that is splits wet wood very well, dry wood, not so good. Some of the branches were left stacked over the summer and I tried to split them, no go. The wood had become too hard for this splitter to work with. Using a chain saw I cut a center groove down a few inches into the branch. This allowed the splitter to once again do it's thing. Once the wood starts to split, there was no problem. I picked up the 10 ton manual splitter to compensate which worked out very well. I use the two in conjunction and all logs are split, stacked and being used this during this cold winter."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Electric Log Splitter - 5-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works for me

,
January 1, 2014
By oldrailfan
from North Carolina
"I purchased this when we took down a couple of trees on our property for firewood, and got tired of swinging a maul.
We've been able to split oak as large as 14" in diameter and almost as long as the bed, but some larger diameter pieces overpowered it.
For light-duty work like we're doing, it can't be beat, but I'd suggest going to something gasoline powered for any larger job.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Electric Log Splitter - 5-Ton
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

do not purchase if using under 41 degrees F

,
December 10, 2013
By toocold4thisunit
from Bemidji MN
"Was 10F when first tried to use unit and it immediately blew a 30 amp fuse (only power unit on circuit). Brought inside and after thawing it worked indoors and outdoors. Next day same thing. After reviewing manual operating temp range is minimum 41 degrees F. Putting synthetic hydraulic oil in unit to see if that will allow it to work in the winter. Probably voiding warranty :)"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Electric Log Splitter - 5-Ton
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for the price

,
December 8, 2013
By languid
from Northern California
"We live in the hills and trees are regularly being taken down, with the remains left for the taking. I would say that this machine does make things easier on the back, and generally works well on semi choice pieces of lumber. Obviously, straight pieces with few or no knots and a medium circumference are ideal. While the machine has met some hardwood it could not handle, I'm quite pleased overall."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Electric Log Splitter - 5-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Splitter for the Right Job

,
December 7, 2013
By PADYI
from Boyertown,PA
"I received the splitter as a gift last Christmas and used it several times over the year. I use firewood in a small stove as a supplement heat source and have access to small trees - 10-18 inches. It is perfect for my needs. The positives are 1. no smoke 2. easy to store 3. quiet movement. 4. Sufficient power to handle 99% of the wood I split - walnut, cherry, oak. Knotty parts of large pieces could be a problem. Several things you need to be aware (but are not an issue for me): 1. you need to put the unit on a table - a couple of saw horses will do - to work with it effectively and not ruin your back or knees. 2. the electrical cord is short so don't expect to take it to the fallen tree - the tree has to go to the splitter. Working in a shed or garage works best. 3. A bit slow, but you can do a cord in an afternoon and enjoy listening to the radio at the same time. 4. Wheels are an issue but if you work in the garage it is not a biggy. 5. You need two hands to operate so you can't hold the log down as it splits. I opened the box, read the directions and started right in with no problems."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Electric Log Splitter - 5-Ton
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

real good little splitter

,
September 17, 2013
By kb2dhg
from Campbell Hall, NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I purchased this electric wood splitter to help make my work easier and BOY does it work well. I split 2 cords of wood with no problems. I did not expect it to perform as good for such a small price. If I had to make one negitive comment it would be the wheels that are on it. They should be a bit larger and are a bit flimsy. But the little machine works well"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Electric Log Splitter - 5-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Durable Little Machine

,
April 23, 2013
By truckie48
from Thonotosassa, Florida
"I've left mine under a tarp for almost a year but when I uncover and plug in , She's ready to go. Not for the really big logs but great for medium logs and kindling..."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Electric Log Splitter - 5-Ton
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

good

,
January 26, 2013
By somewhathappy1
from Va.
"I recently purchased this wood splitter. The unit works very strong and has a lot of splitting power! It split the wood I had to split saving my troubled back. The only problem I am having with it is the retraction of the piston following the splitting. I followed the instruction first PRIOR to starting the unit by unscrewing the "bleed screw" for that purpose. Sometimes it will work and retract and sometimes it doesn't. Does anyone else have this problem or can advise!! I am thinking of returning this unit! The wheels certainly can be bigger!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
8out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Electric Log Splitter - 5-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Little log splitter

,
October 15, 2012
By Handymax
from Brewster, NY
"Had borrowed this log splitter last season for my sod logs, was great so did purchase one this season.
It is one of the best purchases I made for the price, great tool to have, quiet and working hard.
Good unit, would recommend.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Electric Log Splitter - 5-Ton
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

good for the price

,
September 21, 2012
By logspliiterguy
from NY
"1- came rather quickly
2- plugged in and got to work. came ready to go
3- started with a small log and worked my way up, started to run into issue between medium and large diameter logs with splitting power. with the larger logs it would just push but not spit. I would have to release the hydrolics and throw to the "split by hand " pile.
If I were to do all over, I probably would buy again for its simplicity of use and small footprint"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Electric Log Splitter - 5-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best little machine I ever bought for myself

,
July 21, 2012
By isgsdale
from Modesto CA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I already had the Wel-Bilt vertical foot-operated splitter which works great, but when I got full dump truck load of wood from city crews, decided to upgrade to an electric one. This machine works great, and like its name, is very well built. Handled logs 14" in diameter. Only 3 slightly green large 12" logs gave it a fight, but even these eventually were split after turning several times. Pictures show all that was split in 3 weeks working in mornings."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+11points
16out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Electric Log Splitter - 5-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Oil Drain Bolt w/ Dipstick

,
February 7, 2012
By coldduck266
from Florida
"I used this splitter for the first time today. It worked great. It split the wood with no problem. Wished it had Larger Wheels.
Having a Hard time unscrewing the Oil Drain Bolt w/ Dipstick. Didnt get if off yet. Don't want to strip it. I want to check the Hydraulic Oil. Anyone else having this problem?
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Electric Log Splitter - 5-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Surprised

,
December 11, 2011
By ToddC
from Dallas, TX
"This little thing does a great job for its size. I slit 8" to 10" oak logs (fresh cut) without too much trouble. Some needed several passes. So here's the good and bad-
PRO -
No setup, ready out of the box.
Split most 8 to 10" fresh cut oak with little problem.
Easy to use even with the two hand safety controls.
Cycle rate is more than acceptable.
Solid stance even on soft damp dirt.
Larger logs can be split by cutting down into the log with a chain saw about 2", then slide the splitter into the notch.
CONS -
Wheels are small and difficult to maneuver on grass.
Stabilizer stands back by the wheels catch on everything when moving the splitter.
Ram end has a bubble on it which allows non-perfectly flat logs to kick out under pressure. Would be nice to have a few small spikes instead.
Well worth the price and saved me a lot of time today."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Electric Log Splitter - 5-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Electric Log Splitter 65562WB

,
November 25, 2011
By KD74
from Hillsdale Michigan
"This machine is not a 37 ton status symbol nor is it a toy. What it is, is a machine that will happily split logs up to 12"D, (ash, walnut and some smaller elm to date), reliably and quickly. It is easy to operate, quiet, and produces neither noxious smells nor toxic fumes.
I have mine mounted on a shelf in my outdoor boiler room where I can stand and prep wood from the woodshed before loading it into the furnace. But, if perchance I need it in the woodshed, it's reasonably portable.
It seems to be a well designed and well built unit and, in the way in which I use it, the "two handed" operation is not especially inconvenient. (To modify the unit to "one handed" operation would be simple if it was that important to you).
For my requirements this is, to date, a very cost effective solution and a joy to own and operate!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Electric Log Splitter - 5-Ton
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

WoodDancer

,
October 11, 2011
By WoodDancer
from Nevada City, CA
"Good splitter and great value.
Some suggestions to improve it-
1. Increase wedge height from 4.5 inches tall to 5.5 or 6 inches. Often, especially with oak, the wood is split but the split doesn't reach the top and the peices are still connected.
2. The reach or distance the splitter travels could be increased. A good 12 inches is necessary and often one must make a second or third pass.
3. One needs both hands to operate the splitter. Maybe a safety measure but annoying.
4. Wheels need to be bigger to make easy to move. A possible extra option?
5. After losing 2 screws holding the cradle, I went thru and tightened screws, many of which were only finger tight.
A great spliter as is. Above suggestions would make it World Class."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Electric Log Splitter - 5-Ton
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

splitter user

,
June 6, 2011
By happycamper2
from lenoir, nc
"Very happy with this log splitter. definetly a back saver."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
5out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wel-Bilt Horizontal Electric Log Splitter - 5-Ton
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

5 ton log splitter

,
March 23, 2011
By BigDog59
from Northern NJ
"This splitter has made it a lot easier. There are adjustments you can make
which I was unaware of but now that I know it is not self adjusting it works fine.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.