Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Electric Hot Knife

Electric Hot Knife

Item# 159451
The Electric Hot Knife with a heated 5.4in. blade does the work for you when cutting plastic and polyfoam. Plug in the knife, press the button above the handle, adjust the amount of thermal cutting grades up to 5 and in seconds the blade is hot enough to slice through styrene foam. Dimensions L x W x H in. 14 3/16 x 5 x 3, Application Hot knife, Blade Size in. 5 3/8, Volts 120. Adjustable cutting length Temperature control ranges from 0 to 842F 120V, 130 Watt power input Comfort-grip handle 6-ft. power cord
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (8 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
5 of 8(62%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Electric Hot Knife
Review 1 for Electric Hot Knife
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hot Knife

,
October 8, 2012
By Carolctc
from Grand Rapids, MI
"I bought this to use to cut 1 inch wide polypropelene webbing to make canoe seats. It worked great and heated quickly. I didn't burn myself, so it's pretty safe to use."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Electric Hot Knife
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Looks Great, but does not work that well

,
September 8, 2011
By pcsnow
from Seattle
"I turned heat all the way but it really did not work.
My material was 2 in. thick EPS.
As another posted reported, the knife was sooo slow.
It melted the material eventually, but it also left a huge kerf.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
8out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Electric Hot Knife
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

AJA

,
March 21, 2011
By ajwaxman
from NY
"This tool is good for light duty service and quality is just OK. It comes with a metal depth guide which is not shown in detail photo. The plastic dial adjust the heat well but is not calibrated in degrees, some experimentation will be necessary for optimum cutting. Be aware plenty of ventilation is needed as it will get smeared with whatever you are cutting and burn. Wish it had a holder when not in use."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Electric Hot Knife
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good enough to do the job

,
March 14, 2011
By overtime45
from Northeast Ohio
"We have purchased 3 of these knifes for our company and run them for extended periods at a time. We use them to cut through 4" foam that is 48" long...it goes pretty quick for being such a small knife.
We had 1 knife that only lasted a year and have 2 that are running strong. Considering the amount of wear and abuse we put on them, I'm please with how they have held up."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Electric Hot Knife
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Hot Knife

,
November 16, 2010
By TECHIE2
from Millinocket Maine
"The product is very slow and does not make a small cut. It might be good for basic use but not for detail work. After all the trouble I modified a soldering iron that worked better and faster than this product did."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Electric Hot Knife
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Electric Hot Knife

,
September 3, 2010
By DEERELOVER
from Hartsville, Indiana
"This is a great product for the cost. It works great for really heavy and thick Styrfoam. I make alot of foam items for my DEPT 56 Village. This product really makes this work easy. The only watch out is not getting the heat setting to hot. It comes with a depth gauge for items where you need to control the depth. This is a good idea and works well. I am well pleased with the quality, price and the way this product works."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Electric Hot Knife
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

foam knife cutter

,
May 24, 2010
By hubby
from Bell Buckle
"Price was great. well made and looked good. Nothing to put together. My only problem was the blade is too thick. It wants to melt too wide."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Electric Hot Knife
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hot Knife Foam Cutter

,
February 22, 2010
By DieCastoms
from Connecticut
"I purchased this product as part of a home renovation project to cut foam panels to fit between studs and rafters in a small old barn on our property. The foam panels that we have are 3 inches thick Styrofoam brand and are 24"x36". I also intend to use the same foam to build mountain sections for my model railroad layout.
The knife heats up at a respectable rate, much faster than expected having never owned a similar product before. The blade seems to achieve the same heat throughout, without any obvious hot spots that cause more melting than desired. The knife slices effortlessly through the foam and works much better if you let it do all the work for you and don't try to push it faster than it wants to cut, much like any other cutting tool..
Use of this knife does produce fumes, therefor it should be used outside or in a well ventilated space, however with so much less clean-up of foam dust after use, it can be used pretty much anywhere! Once the knife is cold, any residue from the foam will pretty-much chip and shatter off the blade with no more then a strong fingernail.
Because of the fast and easy use, and simple clean-up, I would highly recommend this knife to anyone doing home insulation or foam sculpting."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.