Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "Electric Hot Knife Styrene Foam Cutter - 5.4in. Blade, 120V/130 Watt Power Input"

"Electric Hot Knife Styrene Foam Cutter - 5.4in. Blade, 120V/130 Watt Power Input"

Item# 159451
"The Electric Hot Knife Styrene Foam Cutter comes with a heated 5.4in. blade that does the work for you when cutting plastic and polyfoam. Plug in the knife, press the button above the handle, adjust the amount of thermal cutting grades up to 5 and in seconds the blade is hot enough to slice through styrene foam. Application Hot knife, Volts 120, Blade Size in. 5 3/8, Dimensions L x W x H in. 14 3/16 x 5 x 3. 5.4in. blade Adjustable cutting length Temperature control ranges from 0 to 842F Thermal cutting up to 5 grades 120V, 130 Watt power input Comfort-grip handle 6-ft. power cord"
Average Customer Rating:
3.857 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (14 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
11 of 14(79%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Electric Hot Knife Styrene Foam Cutter - 5.4in. Blade, 120V/130 Watt Power Input"
Review 1 for "Electric Hot Knife Styrene Foam Cutter - 5.4in. Blade, 120V/130 Watt Power Input"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Hot Knife

,
November 22, 2014
By PeopleRmessyToDealWith
from Ohio
"Well built and sturdy. Seems a quality product and works well. Good value."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Electric Hot Knife Styrene Foam Cutter - 5.4in. Blade, 120V/130 Watt Power Input"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

works great

,
August 11, 2014
By GLKTGF
from warrenville illinois
"I used this to remove dried caulk around some window frames. It got hot right away and worked very well. Good price too"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Electric Hot Knife Styrene Foam Cutter - 5.4in. Blade, 120V/130 Watt Power Input"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

To cut foam insulating board

,
July 8, 2014
By Epross123
from Spartanburg,sc
"This worked well to cut the board although I really would have preferred a thinner blade. It was a great price and did the job fine."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Electric Hot Knife Styrene Foam Cutter - 5.4in. Blade, 120V/130 Watt Power Input"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Deal

,
July 3, 2014
By DanK5
from Memphis, TN
"I bought this for working with 2” thick sheets of insulation foam to make VBS props. I have used it several times for varying lengths of time and ,surprisingly, it hasn't let me down. I did a fair amount of research before buying and so far I have no regrets. I looked at several other brands twice this price and they had a lot of reviews saying theirs worked great up until it stopped a short time after using it. I have had this thing on its highest setting (850*) for all most 2 hours straight, no problems. Only problem I had was with shipping. I ordered it 2nd day delivery, it took about 4 days to arrive. NT reimbursed me the difference though. NOTE- for quick shape cutting out of the foam I used a jig saw, then shaped accordingly. The photos I'm trying to upload are timing out."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Electric Hot Knife Styrene Foam Cutter - 5.4in. Blade, 120V/130 Watt Power Input"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

hot knife

,
June 12, 2014
By smokeyboss
from branch, michigan
"I bought this knife to use for taking the caps off of honey frames. I had to cut the guard down but for the price it works good."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Electric Hot Knife Styrene Foam Cutter - 5.4in. Blade, 120V/130 Watt Power Input"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Electric hot knife

,
April 27, 2014
By DanMotoneigiste
from Saint-Nicolas, Qc, Canada
"I tried it and do the job very well. I use it to cut styrofoam and plastics... as every tool you need to work with for more experience. I bought two and i will give one to my brother or friend.
It is a kind of tool when you need it you ever got it.
I would appreciate if more kind of blades will be offered... like more slice blades.
Good tool for the price.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Electric Hot Knife Styrene Foam Cutter - 5.4in. Blade, 120V/130 Watt Power Input"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hot Knife

,
October 8, 2012
By Carolctc
from Grand Rapids, MI
"I bought this to use to cut 1 inch wide polypropelene webbing to make canoe seats. It worked great and heated quickly. I didn't burn myself, so it's pretty safe to use."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Electric Hot Knife Styrene Foam Cutter - 5.4in. Blade, 120V/130 Watt Power Input"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Looks Great, but does not work that well

,
September 8, 2011
By pcsnow
from Seattle
"I turned heat all the way but it really did not work.
My material was 2 in. thick EPS.
As another posted reported, the knife was sooo slow.
It melted the material eventually, but it also left a huge kerf.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
8out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Electric Hot Knife Styrene Foam Cutter - 5.4in. Blade, 120V/130 Watt Power Input"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

AJA

,
March 21, 2011
By ajwaxman
from NY
"This tool is good for light duty service and quality is just OK. It comes with a metal depth guide which is not shown in detail photo. The plastic dial adjust the heat well but is not calibrated in degrees, some experimentation will be necessary for optimum cutting. Be aware plenty of ventilation is needed as it will get smeared with whatever you are cutting and burn. Wish it had a holder when not in use."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Electric Hot Knife Styrene Foam Cutter - 5.4in. Blade, 120V/130 Watt Power Input"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good enough to do the job

,
March 14, 2011
By overtime45
from Northeast Ohio
"We have purchased 3 of these knifes for our company and run them for extended periods at a time. We use them to cut through 4" foam that is 48" long...it goes pretty quick for being such a small knife.
We had 1 knife that only lasted a year and have 2 that are running strong. Considering the amount of wear and abuse we put on them, I'm please with how they have held up."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Electric Hot Knife Styrene Foam Cutter - 5.4in. Blade, 120V/130 Watt Power Input"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Hot Knife

,
November 16, 2010
By TECHIE2
from Millinocket Maine
"The product is very slow and does not make a small cut. It might be good for basic use but not for detail work. After all the trouble I modified a soldering iron that worked better and faster than this product did."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Electric Hot Knife Styrene Foam Cutter - 5.4in. Blade, 120V/130 Watt Power Input"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Electric Hot Knife

,
September 3, 2010
By DEERELOVER
from Hartsville, Indiana
"This is a great product for the cost. It works great for really heavy and thick Styrfoam. I make alot of foam items for my DEPT 56 Village. This product really makes this work easy. The only watch out is not getting the heat setting to hot. It comes with a depth gauge for items where you need to control the depth. This is a good idea and works well. I am well pleased with the quality, price and the way this product works."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Electric Hot Knife Styrene Foam Cutter - 5.4in. Blade, 120V/130 Watt Power Input"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

foam knife cutter

,
May 24, 2010
By hubby
from Bell Buckle
"Price was great. well made and looked good. Nothing to put together. My only problem was the blade is too thick. It wants to melt too wide."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Electric Hot Knife Styrene Foam Cutter - 5.4in. Blade, 120V/130 Watt Power Input"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hot Knife Foam Cutter

,
February 22, 2010
By DieCastoms
from Connecticut
"I purchased this product as part of a home renovation project to cut foam panels to fit between studs and rafters in a small old barn on our property. The foam panels that we have are 3 inches thick Styrofoam brand and are 24"x36". I also intend to use the same foam to build mountain sections for my model railroad layout.
The knife heats up at a respectable rate, much faster than expected having never owned a similar product before. The blade seems to achieve the same heat throughout, without any obvious hot spots that cause more melting than desired. The knife slices effortlessly through the foam and works much better if you let it do all the work for you and don't try to push it faster than it wants to cut, much like any other cutting tool..
Use of this knife does produce fumes, therefor it should be used outside or in a well ventilated space, however with so much less clean-up of foam dust after use, it can be used pretty much anywhere! Once the knife is cold, any residue from the foam will pretty-much chip and shatter off the blade with no more then a strong fingernail.
Because of the fast and easy use, and simple clean-up, I would highly recommend this knife to anyone doing home insulation or foam sculpting."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.