Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Wagner Control Spray Plus HVLP Low Overspray System, Model# 0518070

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Wagner Control Spray Plus HVLP Low Overspray System, Model# 0518070

Item# 1595681
The Wagner Control Spray Plus sprays thin-bodied materials in patterns from 1/2in. to 12in. wide with more control than a brush, spray can or high pressure paint sprayer. HVLP technology uses a high volume of air to atomize materials into fine particles with minimal overspray. Great for cabinets, furniture, trim, doors and sealing decks. Paint Capacity gal. 1/4, Volts 120, Hose Length ft. 20, Wheel Size in. No wheels. Sprays enamels, varnishes, shellacs, lacquers, oils, stains, urethanes 3 spray patterns vertical, horizontal or round Lock-n-Go technology minimizes overspray Variable speed sprayer with trigger pull 1-qt. metal cup for fine finishes 1 1/2-qt. plastic cup for larger projects Replaceable air filter protects finish from dust Hand-tightened connections, no tools required
Average Customer Rating:
4.516 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (31 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
29 of 31(94%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wagner Control Spray Plus HVLP Low Overspray System, Model# 0518070
Review 1 for Wagner Control Spray Plus HVLP Low Overspray System, Model# 0518070
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Value

,
November 22, 2011
By JKath
from Santa Fe, NM
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I used this sprayer to shoot both nitro lacquer and waterbourne lacquer on guitars when I lived in a place where a compresser was not possible. Sounds like a vacuum cleaner, so I was able to get away with the noise. Flow was way too heavy for guitars, so simply taped a 1/4" piece of wood behind the trigger; worked like a charm. Sprayed at least 20 guitars with this with excellent results; comparable to a compressor and professional spray gun. Only HVLP complaint is that it blows air continuously, so be care with dust on the floor and walls because you'll end up with a flecked guitar :-). "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wagner Control Spray Plus HVLP Low Overspray System, Model# 0518070
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wagner Hvlp

,
October 15, 2007
By jake02
from Montevideo MN
" I used the product to spray a set of tables with poly and they cam out smooth as glass with out sandpaper and in only three coats i would recomend this tool to anybody and plan to loan mine out alot "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wagner Control Spray Plus HVLP Low Overspray System, Model# 0518070
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

A quality product

,
July 9, 2007
By Anselmo
from Los Gatos California
" This is a good product, found it easy to use. No overspray which means the paint goes where you want it. One part was missing; a tool to test your paint but it was not a major problem. Follow the instructions and you will be pleased with the outcome. In the past I have painted a wall the same size and found that I could do the same job with far less paint with this unit. Like all tools you want to completely clean it when done. I look forward to using it on different applications. This is not a high pressure painter, but you can do a large job with a great quality but might take a bit longer but cost you less in the long run. My Daughter painted an eight foot high by 16 foot long wall and it came out great she had never used a spray unit before.
Anselmo
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wagner Control Spray Plus HVLP Low Overspray System, Model# 0518070
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

HVLP Wagner Sprayer

,
November 16, 2006
By bohunter0328
from Miami, FL
" Recieved wagner sprayer, and was painting in a matter of minutes. I use this sprayer where I once used an airbrush.With this sprayer I can do a job that used to take 20- 25 minutes in about 3-5 minutes. The overspray is almost non-existant. I have the same filters in my spraybooth that I did when I started using this product(2 months), and they are just now needing a change.
I love the portability also. No need to worry about a compressor, just find a 110 power source and you're set.
Operation is so simple that I taught two 19 year-old college girls who had never painted anything but their nails before how to use it in about 10 minutes and now they paint like pros.
The only negative I have is that the plastic tip can't take alot of abuse, but does clean up easy.
All in all a great machine that I will probably purchase more of in the future.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wagner Control Spray Plus HVLP Low Overspray System, Model# 0518070
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Sprayer

,
June 21, 2011
By AAJM
from Albuquerque, NM
" We bought this sprayer to paint a couple of Adirondak chairs and foot stools. This is by far the easiest sprayer I've ever used. It was a breeze to clean, and provided coverage that is unsurpassed. My wife is a beginner and was amazed at how easy it was to use. One thing to keep in mind is the viscosity of the product being sprayed, our primer was a little thick, but the sprayer worked great after we corrected that. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wagner Control Spray Plus HVLP Low Overspray System, Model# 0518070
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is GREAT!

,
June 21, 2007
By castineira716
from Okeechobee,FL
" My wife and I are very happy with our purchase. We just finished painting the inside of our house with brushes and rollers, it was tiresome, but with this machine I just painted an enormous outside wall in no time at all. No Mess, Easy Cleanup, and Easy to Put Together. Again, I am very happy with my selection!! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wagner Control Spray Plus HVLP Low Overspray System, Model# 0518070
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tool

,
November 17, 2010
By Anonymous
from Long Island, New York
" This is a great tool easy to use that you can paint things like a pro. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wagner Control Spray Plus HVLP Low Overspray System, Model# 0518070
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Real timesaver

,
August 13, 2012
By diggerdan
from Shawano, WI
" Stained a large deck on both sides and had no problems with sprayer and I would say it worked flawlessly and a good buy for the price. One area you need to watch though is you will still get some overspray as the air is constantly coming out of nozzle, had a tough time getting stain off of siding even after just a few minutes. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wagner Control Spray Plus HVLP Low Overspray System, Model# 0518070
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Excellent

,
August 13, 2012
By Lana
from Ontario
" Used to have a old wagner that didn't work all that well--but this one works excellent. Nice even spray and finish turned out excellent. Very good instructions in manual. Cleanup was very easy. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wagner Control Spray Plus HVLP Low Overspray System, Model# 0518070
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wagner Fine Spray HVLP model #FS2400

,
October 30, 2007
By chetmoo
from Chattanooga TN
" I have gone through several cheapie sprayers but this Wagner outstands any. I have a woodworking hobby that helps cut time to get quicker final results with ease and dependability. I have even used to spray my overhang and shutters outside when I repainted the last couple years to keep fresh looking.
Overall a great little investment. But be sure to follow instructions about cleanup or your sprayer will not be ready for next use and a possibility it will have damaged internal functions. Love this little tool. Every homeowner needs this.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wagner Control Spray Plus HVLP Low Overspray System, Model# 0518070
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

wonderful little sprayer

,
May 31, 2010
By dixiebelle
from Alabama
" I purchased this sprayer to paint the railing on my porches and this lightweight sprayer did a fantastic job . I am an older lady with very little painting experience so it needed to be easy to use and with minimal overspray cleanup was not to hard either. Thanks! "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wagner Control Spray Plus HVLP Low Overspray System, Model# 0518070
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wagner HVLP Model # FS2400

,
January 9, 2012
By Ubie
from Calif.
" This sprayer works great I used it to spay a trailer that I made from scratch. I used the narrow spray pattern for the metal frame of the trailer and the wide spray pattern for the body. My trailer looks like I had it done by a professional. The cost of this sprayer was very reasonable. Out performed my other hand held sprayers that I have used in the past. Easy clean up. I recommend this sprayer to anyone with small to medium jobs to do. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wagner Control Spray Plus HVLP Low Overspray System, Model# 0518070
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wagner Fine Spray

,
March 8, 2007
By BigGuy
from Milwaukee, WI
" I ordered this product because I want to have the work to be done fast ! It really works fast and very easy to clean up! No mess at all! Does the job done ! Very happy with this product.... You should buy the product if you want it done fast, "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
8out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wagner Control Spray Plus HVLP Low Overspray System, Model# 0518070
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't do it!

,
May 7, 2012
By MikeK01
from Westwood, NJ
" This sprayer should NOT be considered for use in any size painting application.
If you are considering an extremely SMALL painting job (perhaps a small table or chair) then you are in good shape.
However, if you are considering any job over and beyond, do NOT waste your money.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wagner Control Spray Plus HVLP Low Overspray System, Model# 0518070
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

You can't beat this for the price!

,
August 14, 2012
By TFence
from Houston, TX
" I have used this to stain fences and will use it this week to paint for the first time. This is an excellent unit and works very well. There is plenty of hose length and it's easy to adjust the flow. Be sure to clean it after each use as a dirty machine will not work properly. The only negative is that the containers are small so you have to refill them often. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wagner Control Spray Plus HVLP Low Overspray System, Model# 0518070
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

It just quit!

,
May 19, 2012
By phil6150
from Northern Indiana
" Bought this in April, just got it out today to spray stain on the deck. For the first 10 minutes, I was feeling really good about my purchase. It was doing exactly what I had hoped....and then it just stopped running. Checked my breakers, all ok, looked for a reset button on the sprayer, none. Unplugged it and plugged it back in.....nothing. Got out the roller and brush and finished staining the deck. What a disappointment. Since it's been more than 30 days since purchase will attempt returning it to wagner. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wagner Control Spray Plus HVLP Low Overspray System, Model# 0518070
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

WAGNER CONTROL SPRAY HVLP PAINTER

,
August 13, 2012
By PR595
from OHIO
" I PUCHASED THIS SPRAY PAINTER IN MAY 2012 I HAVE HAD A BALL PAINTING WITH THIS EVERY WEEK THIS SUMMER. I HAVE SPRAY PAINTED LAWN FURNITURE, FENCE, SHELVING AND SOME YARD ORNAMENTS. THIS IS MUCH EASIER THAN ROLLING OR BRUSHING PAINT ON. THE FINISHED LOOK IS REALLY SMOOTH AND PROFESSIONAL LOOKING FOR LESS THAN $150.00, THIS SPRAY PAINTER IS A GREAT BUY! "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.