Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Halogen Tripod Light - 1000 Watt, Twin Head

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Northern Industrial Halogen Tripod Light - 1000 Watt, Twin Head

Item# 160948
Telescoping 6 1/2-ft. tripod has one adjustable leg to fit uneven surfaces. Two 500 Watt halogen lights with separate switches and tempered glass lens with wire safety grills. Power Supply Electric, Bulb Type Halogen, Extra Bulb No, Watts 1,000, Bulbs qty. 2 500W, Power Cord ft. 6, Tripod Height in. 36. 18/3 SJTW all-weather cord with polarized plug Removable light rack easily converts to a portable fixture Power-coat finish
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (25 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
24 of 25(96%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Halogen Tripod Light - 1000 Watt, Twin Head
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Halogen Tripod Light - 1000 Watt, Twin Head
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Good

,
November 1, 2012
By awg1
from Fernley, NV
"I received this light as a gift. I have to replace the bulbs after every two hours of use. Now it will not turn on at all?"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Halogen Tripod Light - 1000 Watt, Twin Head
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tripod light

,
October 9, 2012
By Discus
from NY
"I bought this light to light up our kennel building until overhead lights are installed. The wide base makes it very stable, and it illuminate's the entire building. Very easy to assemble !"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Halogen Tripod Light - 1000 Watt, Twin Head
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not a bad deal!

,
August 13, 2012
By TheFishWhisperer
from Radford, VA
"I got this set of lights on sale. Putting the pieces together should have been simple but it appeared that one of the cross members had been drilled backwards. Easy fix if you are familiar with a drill. Both lights have their own switches and boy are they bright!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Halogen Tripod Light - 1000 Watt, Twin Head
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

A Good Deal Only if on Sale

,
January 16, 2012
By htmagic
from Clinton, TN
"I saw this on sale at the Knoxville NT store and I picked one up along with a friend.
I put the lamp set together and although there were three bulbs, I broke one trying to install it. The spring contacts are somewhat tricky to handle, even though I was wearing latex gloves so my oils would not touch the quartz bulb.
I managed to get one of the lamps working and like these halogen lamps, it is bright and hot. The other bulb would not light, even though the meter claimed there was continuity through the filament.
I bought a six-pack of rough service halogen bulbs and hope they will last. The four stars are because of the bulb problems. Once assembled, it appears that it will work well for garage applications, especially in the winter.
Like I said, if you catch it on sale, it's a good deal."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Halogen Tripod Light - 1000 Watt, Twin Head
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Halogen Light

,
January 9, 2012
By Whiskymtn
from Wyoming
"The light is light weight, it is versitile, very bright, and stores away nicely. It is handy to be able to take the stand off and use just the two lights with their holder on their own.
The only downside is the lights have a limited amount of travel on the stand due to the spare light bulb holder that gets in the way and the stops designed into the holder.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Halogen Tripod Light - 1000 Watt, Twin Head
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

well built light

,
December 30, 2011
By FIRE28
from PENRYN PA.
"i use this light to stack fire wood and work on my tractor;s outside. the leg's seem to be pretty strong. it was easy to put together. i would buy another one with out a problem."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Halogen Tripod Light - 1000 Watt, Twin Head
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product and Customer Service

,
October 10, 2011
By cporichie
from Marlborough, MA
"Bought this light to have an outdoor party at night. I noticed a small chip in one of the glass lenses but thought nothing of it until it broke under the heat stress. Next day I contacted customer support who were very friendly and sent me a new light promptly. I now own two of these for around the house repair purposes and they work outstanding. Easy to put together, adjust height and direction and move around. Cannot beat the price and quality."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Halogen Tripod Light - 1000 Watt, Twin Head
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

brightlight

,
March 16, 2011
By newhomer
"Does a great job lighting the way easy to assemble. Great light"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Halogen Tripod Light - 1000 Watt, Twin Head
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great light for the price; stock up on bulbs.

,
January 18, 2011
By WhiteElfElder
from San Antonio, TX
"I bought this light because I needed to provide better lighting in the parking lot of my apartment complex due to car break-ins. This puts out so much light that I have seen the kids out playing in the parking lot because they can now see clearly; not to mention that my neighbors have now started parking in the area illuminated...which is a lot because I am on the second floor and my car is across the parking lot from me instead of below me.
The only issue I have had is that I have gone through 2 bulbs on one lamp in the nearly 2 weeks I have owned the work light."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Halogen Tripod Light - 1000 Watt, Twin Head
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

You can see the light

,
November 23, 2010
By shaithus
from Knoxville, TN
"I purchased this work light to illuminate the rooms in the house that I am currently renovating. I was impressed with the ease of assembly, the ability to remove the light for use as a portable light source and the actual brilliance of the light emitted.
The stand is adjustable to several heights the lights themselves swivel and tilt independently of the other. The value of this work light far exceeds the price and it was on sale when I purchased mine which made the value of this work light almost priceless...."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Halogen Tripod Light - 1000 Watt, Twin Head
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Northern Industrial Halogen Tripod Light - 1000 Wa

,
November 23, 2010
By izzy1949
from Eaton Rapids, MI
"This light is highly portable and will put all the light you need for your projects. This makes finishing out side projects, working on vehicles, and providing light doing remodeling much easier."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Halogen Tripod Light - 1000 Watt, Twin Head
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

tripod light halogen

,
September 14, 2010
By navy
from minn, mn
"Great shop light. Used during overhaul on car and truck. Height adjustment
works very well. Light movement adjusts for direct or wide usage.
Pricing very good.
"
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Halogen Tripod Light - 1000 Watt, Twin Head
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Halogen tripod light

,
September 13, 2010
By Erwin
from Newberry, SC
"This light is very easy to use and works great in almost every situation.
The legs adjust for uneven ground. This comes in very handy since most of the time I am working outdoors. From construction projects to barbeque events I love my halogen light.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Halogen Tripod Light - 1000 Watt, Twin Head
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Lot of Light

,
September 4, 2010
By ronniej1M
from Humble, TX
"Bought this light for two purposes. One, to light up empty buildings and warehouses I have to work in. Two, night fishing. It is powerful and easy to use with or without the tri-pod. Being able to use one light when I don't need that much illumination or heat is handy. Putting it together took a little longer than I would like, the knob to hold the light to the tri-pod is easy to loose. Tie it to the light with a wire or string and you will save time looking for it. Others complained about the strength of the tri-pod, it is stable and holds the light very well even in a strong wind at the beach. So as far as I can tell it does what it is supposed to do and not be so heavy you leave it behind. I will have this light a long time and it will not be collecting dust like the LED work light (read glorified night light) I bought."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Halogen Tripod Light - 1000 Watt, Twin Head
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

work light

,
June 7, 2010
By Jpcfr
from Salem, ALABAMA
"The stand was easy to asssemble and the light assembly was easy to put together. The only drawback i had was the initial lights did not last long, but they are inexpensive and easy to exchange. All around good light. I havn't had any problems with it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial Halogen Tripod Light - 1000 Watt, Twin Head
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lights

,
February 24, 2010
By GJD1
from Detroit, Mi
"Have 2 of them to light up a large outside area. More then enough light out to about 30 feet on a pitch black night. They do get a little hot and have to wait for them to cool down before packing them in the car."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Northern Industrial Halogen Tripod Light - 1000 Watt, Twin Head
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

lot of light

,
February 15, 2010
By hank3
from newark, nj
"We used two of these lights and they lite up the whole area of the project.
The bulbs didn't last as long as I would of liked.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Northern Industrial Halogen Tripod Light - 1000 Watt, Twin Head
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

sometimes too good

,
November 2, 2009
By bonnLndscpr
from Downingtown, Pa
"The light you get is great. super bright, even outside. I recently bought a house and purchased these lights for the countless projects I had in front of me. The light is so good that I was seeing problems with the walls I didn't even have to fix.
That was the pro, and the only Cons are that it is a bit wobbly and the lights blow relatively often.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Northern Industrial Halogen Tripod Light - 1000 Watt, Twin Head
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Get what you pay for

,
February 25, 2009
By Semperfi65
from University Place, Washington
"First the bad part, the unit was put together with extremely soft aluminum screws and bolts. The screws in the cross member were both stripped making it necessary to pull the screws and drill the uprite and jury rig a small nut and bolt to stabilize the cross member. It still wobbles. The bolts for the handle were too short and you will only get two or three threads to catch the nut. Replace them with adequate nuts and bolts. The light unit adjustment knobs are extremely cheap and do not tighten them too tight or you'll spin the backing bolts which are too small for the built in backing slots. The glass guards do not fit and will require you to adjust the tabs to make them fit. Use extreme caution when placing the light bulbs. They are bayonet types and the light receptacles are roughly machined and it will feel like the bulbs are about to break when inserting them in the socket. Use a cloth to handle the bulbs and manipulate the bulb side to side when inserting and not back to rear.
Now for the good part. The price is right. When completely rebuilt the unit looks very nice and impressive. The tripod stand is sturdy and the extension locks work very well. I tested the lights and at this time they both work and put out a tremendous amount of light. I like the bright yellow color which undoubtedly will assist you in not walking into the light as it contrasts nicely with all backgrounds. The on off switches are smooth and the power cord is sturdy. I'd recommend the light for the general homeowner, because the price still makes it a good value, but would be hesitant to move it around alot as the top section just feels very fragile. I think if you are to knock it over you'll wind up salvaging parts to put on the next light you'll undoubtedly be ordering."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Northern Industrial Halogen Tripod Light - 1000 Watt, Twin Head
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Tripod Light

,
November 18, 2008
By Sergeant2
from Manchester, NH
"I purchased these lights for state emergencies. They're small and bright. Time will tell if the durability holds up."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.