Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "Vogelzang Top Barrel Adapter Kit, Model# BK50E"

"Vogelzang Top Barrel Adapter Kit, Model# BK50E"

Item# 16161
"Adapts Item# 16160 into a double barrel stove kit for greater heating efficiency. By mounting the additional barrel, secondary gases are trapped creating greater efficiency as they travel through the top chamber. Includes 2 legs and 2 collars. Barrels not included. This item is not for sale in the state of California and Washington. Customers are responsible for checking local codes and regulations prior to purchase. Material Type Cast iron, Compatible With Item Number s 16160, Includes 2 Legs, 2 Collars, 1 Hardware package, Common Usage Adapt barrel stove into double barrel stove."
Average Customer Rating:
3.895 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (19 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
18 of 19(95%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Vogelzang Top Barrel Adapter Kit, Model# BK50E"
Review 1 for "Vogelzang Top Barrel Adapter Kit, Model# BK50E"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

,
June 15, 2014
By Foodman
from Chesapeake,VA
" Great double barrel adapter kit. Well made, great for my construction of my smoker. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Vogelzang Top Barrel Adapter Kit, Model# BK50E"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Works Well----- BUT

,
February 10, 2014
By Callawayman
from Oklahoma
" Product works well, except the legs that adjoin the two barrels are to large. I was forced to cut them down to fit. Other then that it is ok... "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Vogelzang Top Barrel Adapter Kit, Model# BK50E"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Vogelzang Barrel Stove Kit, Model# BK100E

,
February 4, 2014
By ffutsrof
from marinette, wi
" This kit turned my barrels into a money saving heat source by cutting my heat bills by 75%. Highly recommended! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Vogelzang Top Barrel Adapter Kit, Model# BK50E"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

easier to heat garage

,
April 23, 2013
By hoffy
from central,IL
" It works better than just 1 barrel. Its not perfect but its much better than one barrel used in my garage. I had trouble putting it together but once it was done it works great. It seems to take less wood to keep the garage toasty. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Vogelzang Top Barrel Adapter Kit, Model# BK50E"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Double the output

,
August 20, 2012
By woodburner47
from Chattanooga, TN
" Every factory built wood stove uses baffles or internal flues and dampers to extend the smoke path inside the stove. This allows for greater heat transfer before the smoke goes up the flue.
Barrel stoves do not have that option. They are a firebox under a flue. A lot of heat leaves the house. A second barrel on top of the stove is a way to capture some of that heat.
I gave this unit 4 stars instead of 5 because the installation is a bit fiddly. The feet are designed for a 30 or 55 gallon drum. The arc of the round surfaces on the two drums is different. You have to line things up, prefit, measure twice and cut once before you start drilling holes. It's not rocket science. The work will be worth it when you feel the heat radiating from the second drum. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Vogelzang Top Barrel Adapter Kit, Model# BK50E"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good idea, mediocre execution

,
May 7, 2012
By JLShaw
from Elizabethtown, KY
" Overall, the product works, but it's not nearly as well done as it should be for the price.
Primary complaints - the "feet" are beveled rather than level. They don't make consistent contact with the surface of the barrels. Second issue is that the holes for the screw insertion on the feet are placed too far toward the outside edges where the main vertical brace is placed. This makes it difficult to screw the nuts onto the bolts used to connect the legs to the barrels.
The overall product is about 75 to 80% right. Changes to the design would bring it up to about 100%.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Vogelzang Top Barrel Adapter Kit, Model# BK50E"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

It works, not bad, i would recommend.

,
June 6, 2011
By CaliforniaKY
from California, KY
" The kit is made sturdy and works, the only thing i didn't like is the angles do not line up flat on the barrell....they are slightly off. While that does not effect the performance, it just doesnt look as good as it should. ie the feet are flat and should be slightly curved to match the contour of the barrel. B+ "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Vogelzang Top Barrel Adapter Kit, Model# BK50E"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

,
March 14, 2011
By Heatherterry
" Good Stove keeps it nice and warm to work on vehicles in shop "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Vogelzang Top Barrel Adapter Kit, Model# BK50E"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy to use

,
March 14, 2011
By picodeoro
from Gallup New Mexico
" very easy to use and create wood stove. keeps shop warm "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Vogelzang Top Barrel Adapter Kit, Model# BK50E"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good kit

,
February 22, 2010
By Anonymous
from Houston, TX
" This is a good kit, I didn't like where the holes were drilled in the legs so I redrilled a hole further outboard, worked easier than trying to fit the screws in the stock locations. This kit heats my 1200 sf shop up quite well! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Vogelzang Top Barrel Adapter Kit, Model# BK50E"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Dbl. Barrel adapter

,
February 17, 2010
By Sam3
from Montana
" Instructions are a little vague but with a minimal amount of common sense it goes together really easy. The nuts, bolts and washers were loose in the box and some were missing so I went to the hardware store and for a couple bucks got what I needed. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Vogelzang Top Barrel Adapter Kit, Model# BK50E"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

works great top assembly needs improvement

,
November 12, 2009
By mattstl
from St. Louis, MO
" ok i bought all the parts to make the top and bottom. the bottom barrel went together no problem. The top barrel however was a bit problematic. Simply because the second top barrel bracket was cast at an angle causing the connector pipe to seperate from the collars when tightening down the nuts. I finally just put it aside and let the rear of the top barrels stand on the collars and connecting pipe.
if your not used to working by feel or working blind this kit might be hard for you. you have to stick your hands into places you can't see.
Otherwise this thing kicks, so hot you can barely stand next to it. Also the first fire will cause some smoking of the paint and epoxy on the barrels so be prepared to vent the area for a while. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Vogelzang Top Barrel Adapter Kit, Model# BK50E"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Measure, Measure, & then measure again before cut

,
November 3, 2009
By hack875
from Buffalo, NY
" I bought a barrel (double thickness) from the local auto parts store for $20 (actually two at $20 a piece, as I also got the second barrel kit, which more than doubles the heat output).
After cementing in some heat transfer stones (you know the ones you use in your propane bbq broilers) with fireplace mortor, placing a narrow fireplace grate into the stove, I had a working wood stove.
I combined this with the 2nd barrel (Item# 16161) kit and a heat transfer unit (item# 172781), I had a way to heat the back half of my house using just scrap wood from the local tree trimming services and broken pallets from the local car dealer, printing shop and that auto parts place.
(Note: To anyone considering this, make sure you measure where your bottom barrel outlet is in relation to the end cap, and make sure you mock up the top barrel before drilling holes and cutting the transfer pipe between, or you will have an awful time getting the top barrel to work properly).
Placing an all metal rack (Make sure it's steel, not aluminum, or it will bend from the heat) a couple of feet above the 2nd barrel, allows me to dry out the next batch of wood, as well as humidifying the area when I have wet wood.
Cutting two duct openings into the floor about a foot on either side above the top barrel, and placing square contractors thermostatically controlled fans, allows all the extra heat from the top barrel to move into the upstairs living space. I combine this with an inexpensive house fan placed in the door of the room above the stove to move the heat to the rest of the back half of the house.
Adding a duct to cover the outlet of the heat exchanger and ducted upstairs (2nd story), as well as placing some internal ducting into the transfer unit (to prevent back pressure of the hot air), I had a wonderful way to slash my heating budget. All for less than $300. I have used it for two heating seasons, and I expect to be able to do this for years to come. A great set of products from Vogelzang and Magic Heat! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Vogelzang Top Barrel Adapter Kit, Model# BK50E"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Heater Kit

,
April 21, 2008
By trlrider
from Seguin, TX
" Great kit for the do it yourselfer! Puchased 2, one for a wood burning heater, the other to build a barbeque pit! fit is nice, all the needed parts. Recommened! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Vogelzang Top Barrel Adapter Kit, Model# BK50E"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Stay warm

,
April 20, 2008
By ChrisD
from Lebanon Mo
" The instructions are a little vague and confusing but are workable. However the heater I made with this puts off a lot of heat - I easily kept a 1200sq ft shop warm. The parts are durable cast iron. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Vogelzang Top Barrel Adapter Kit, Model# BK50E"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

not quite right

,
January 17, 2008
By BAMBAM
from Upstate, NY
" contour of any 55 gal. barrel all need to be banged from inside to match the casting contours of this adapter. recommend a 6 inch damper be added to the outlet. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Vogelzang Top Barrel Adapter Kit, Model# BK50E"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

TOP BARREL STOVE KIT

,
January 15, 2008
By JOESKI
from NORTH EAST PA
" THIS KIT CONTAINS EVERYTHING YOU NEED TO DOUBLE THE HEATING CAPACITY OF YOUR BARREL WOOD STOVE. IT HAS TWO LEGS TO MOUNT ON TOP OF THE EXISTING BARREL AND THE ADAPTOR PLATES FOR THE 6" STOVE PIPES. WORKS GREAT! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Vogelzang Top Barrel Adapter Kit, Model# BK50E"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

design flaws

,
January 14, 2008
By savage
from CT
" attaching the two barrels together is impossible with this Kit. The castings are all uneven and don't conform to the shape of the barrel and they give you all nuts and bolts. You can't get your hand inside the top barrel to put on the nuts. they should have used self tappers or somthing different to attach top barrel to leg supports once they are attaced to the bottom barrel. I may have to cut holes into the ends of the top barrel to get the nuts onto the screws, then patch the barrel. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
Dana16
Warner Robins, Georgia 
 
Please wait while more information about Dana16 is loaded.
Additional information about Dana16 could not be loaded.
Self tapping screws
December 10, 2010
" That's what hardware stores are for. I used self tapping screws for mine. The company should really include self tapping screws with this kit though because it is almost impossible to build this stove with the hardware provided. "
+1point
1out of 1found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for "Vogelzang Top Barrel Adapter Kit, Model# BK50E"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great shop heater

,
October 30, 2007
By shirky
from south boston va
" this top adapter is a great way to get more heat out of your barrel stove
run a couple pipes through the top barrel and get even more heat
"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.