Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for US Stove Company Wood/Coal Furnace with Draft Kit - 1600 CFM Blower, 180,000 BTU, Model# 1602R

US Stove Company Wood/Coal Furnace with Draft Kit - 1600 CFM Blower, 180,000 BTU, Model# 1602R

Item# 161614
The Ashley Wood/Coal Furnace with draft kit is firebrick-lined for long life and combustion efficiency. Multi-speed distribution blower produces 800/1600 CFM. Includes thermostat. Not for sale in CA, WA and OR. U.S.A. Mobile Home Approved No, BTU Output Up to 180,000, Firebox Size W x D in. 18 1/2 x 29 3/4, Door Opening W x H in. 14 x 14, Heat Settings Variable, Clearance from Corner in. 48 front, Stove Pipe Included No, Heating Capability sq. ft. 3,000, Flue Collar Size in. 6, Clearance from Side Wall in. 22, Thermostat Included Yes, Blower CFM 800/1,600, Product Type Furnace, Max. Log Size Accepted L in. 28, Blower Power Supply Volts, Amps 110, Blower Included Yes, UL UL approved, Igniter No, Fuel Type Wood/coal, Clearance from Rear Wall in. 20, Dimensions W x D x H in. 24 x 50 1/2 x 48, Full Load Run Time Hours 12. Includes extra heavy-duty, cast-iron grates and liners Secondary heat exchanger with fireplace baffle for longer life Exterior front-mounted shaker handles 13in. x 18in. outlet
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 8(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer Reviews for US Stove Company Wood/Coal Furnace with Draft Kit - 1600 CFM Blower, 180,000 BTU, Model# 1602R
Review 1 for US Stove Company Wood/Coal Furnace with Draft Kit - 1600 CFM Blower, 180,000 BTU, Model# 1602R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

U.S. Stove 1602R

,
January 10, 2012
By Polobbie
from Austin, Texas
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I purchased this furnace to avoid huge propane bills. I installed it as a stand alone unit (not tied into central heat system). It has vertually eliminated use of propane to heat my 4,400 sf home in central Texas. I'm still trying to figure out the best damper settings to get the most burn time out of it, but I expect to hit about 6 hours with the fire box about 3/4 full. I am a DIY guy who pays attention to detail, so make sure you follow directions relative to the install of the furnace, return air, supply, flu, etc. It is well built and will last. I may have to add a motorized damper in front of the draft blower to prevent my strong flu draft from sucking extra oxygen through the blower intake. Overall, this furnace will pay for itself during its first heating season and will pay for the entire installation by next season. I am thrilled with it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for US Stove Company Wood/Coal Furnace with Draft Kit - 1600 CFM Blower, 180,000 BTU, Model# 1602R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent heat source

,
February 21, 2013
By derek82
from speedwell,va
"had my furnace for 3 winters. i live is sw virginia, so average temps range from 40 down to single digit temps. I have a lot of wood stove experience and am familiar with most all brands and types. if you are looking for a consistent heat source here it is. we use this furnace and nothing else to heat an older 1700 sq ft house. i fill it twice a day using seasoned hard wood i.e. oak, locust, wild cherry, etc. always has plenty of coals to start back. sometimes i keep the same fire going continuously 4-6 weeks at a time without ever relighting. a coulple reviews talk about too much air coming in the combustion blower. i keep mine closed to about a 1/4 inch gap and i also used a high temp furnace tape to tape shut the draft holes in the ash door. the spin draft there has nubs that keep it from completely closing, this gives the stove too much air. when i need to catch the fire up i simply open the ash door for a few minutes. one more thing make sure you hook up the cold air return it literally doubles the efficiency of this furnace. northern tool was a great place to deal with, stove was delivered promptly, and i did the complete intall myself. great stove, great price, good quality , go for it and get one"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for US Stove Company Wood/Coal Furnace with Draft Kit - 1600 CFM Blower, 180,000 BTU, Model# 1602R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Us stove company wood/coal furnace

,
October 15, 2012
By nggracing
from Olean, NY
"I had a few problems receiving all the parts. But the company made everything as smooth as possible.
The furnace is excellent. Hold a nice bed of coals overnight. The only thing is the forced draft blower will stay running after the coals have died out. So I just turn off the blower when I go to bed. Then in the morning i will have an awesome bed of coals.
Once I learned what the furnace likes it is awesome.
I heat a 2200 sf. cement block garage and keep it at 72 degrees. This cut my wood consumption in half over the old furnace. Yes I would buy another!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for US Stove Company Wood/Coal Furnace with Draft Kit - 1600 CFM Blower, 180,000 BTU, Model# 1602R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
January 25, 2011
By esd66
from Meshoppen,PA
"This furnace ia a great product at a good price. It is rated for 3,000 sq. ft., but I am currently heating 3,648 sq. ft. with it and does a good job. The only down fall of this furnace that I see is, when the fire is burned down and the thermostat is calling for heat the draft blower will countinue to keep blowing. There should be a sensor added to shut off after a set time."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for US Stove Company Wood/Coal Furnace with Draft Kit - 1600 CFM Blower, 180,000 BTU, Model# 1602R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wood Furnace

,
November 25, 2010
By DakotaBub
"I bought this product to be placed in my garage, which is 2,000 sq feet. This stove is made of very heavy duty construction with firebricks on the top so the top of the stove doesn't warp. This alone will insure the stove lasts for a long time. The shaker grate and ash pan work well and the stove puts out some serious heat. You will need to air return and filter box to go over the fan. I had a local heat and cooling company make me one for a very reasonable amount,"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for US Stove Company Wood/Coal Furnace with Draft Kit - 1600 CFM Blower, 180,000 BTU, Model# 1602R
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

nice furnace

,
November 16, 2010
By rellis12
from Peru, Maine
"I am now one week into getting the hang of this furnace. the intricacies of getting the most out of the wood that I put in. the induction fan on the front really needs to be shut off at night to make sure you don't blow your coals down to nothing.
I fill it in the evening and shut all the dampers down and it does pretty well going eight - nine hours. It really likes a mix of green and dry wood.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for US Stove Company Wood/Coal Furnace with Draft Kit - 1600 CFM Blower, 180,000 BTU, Model# 1602R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

1400 US Stove Furnace

,
November 2, 2009
By flick1900
from Troy, IN
"Excellent Quality. Furnace is made of quality material. Furnace is easy to oeprate. Typical loading of wood - twice a day (hardwood). Easily heats a 2500 sq. foot home. I like it because it is very functional and reliable. Not much for looks, but that was not the primary reason for purchasing. If you need a great stove for your home, this stove is highly recommended."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for US Stove Company Wood/Coal Furnace with Draft Kit - 1600 CFM Blower, 180,000 BTU, Model# 1602R
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saves tons of money

,
October 3, 2008
By MinnesotaMan
from Olivia, MN
"Since proprane has sky rocketed I need a alternitive way of heating my house and this was perfect. This units puts out enough BTU's where the gas furnace never kicks in. It wil easily pay for itself in one season.
Since I live on a 20 acre wooded lot I tons of wood to keep this running all winter long. If are looking at a wood burning stove for major heat this would be a excellent choice!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
elkhorn city, ky 
January 26, 2011
"I recentley received a power bill of 742.00 thinking about buying a coal/wood furnace that heats 2500 to 3000 sq feet. Does this save money in the long run & can you smell the coal or wood coming up through the vents of the house? Also does this tie into the existing duct work"
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)