Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Vogelzang Norsemen Wood/Coal Add-On Furnace, Model# 2500"

"Vogelzang Norsemen Wood/Coal Add-On Furnace, Model# 2500"

Item# 161620
"The Vogelzang Norsemen Add-On Furnace provides either a primary or supplementary source of heat for your home or workshop. Connects to your furnace duct and plenum as a safe, efficient heat source. Furnace is fully firebrick lined and has a shaker grate for wood or bituminous coal firing. Accepts 24in. logs and delivers up to 8 hours of heating per load. Bi-metal thermostat controls combustion. Ash door with large ash pan makes ash removal easy. Furnace uses TWO 550 CFM blowers included that blow through two raised 8in. duct connections. Safety tested to UL 391. This item is not for sale in the state of California and Washington. Not to be installed in mobile homes. Customers are responsible for checking local codes and regulations prior to purchase. For use with bituminous coal only. Heating Capability sq. ft. 2,500, Igniter Manual, Max. Log Size Accepted L in. 24, Fuel Type Wood/coal, Full Load Run Time Hours Up to 8 hours, Stove Pipe Included No, EPA Exempt Yes, Firebox Size W x D in. 27 x 20, Flue Collar Size in. 6, Clearance from Side Wall in. 16, Dimensions W x D x H in. 24 x 39 x 32, Heat Settings Yes, Blower Power Supply Volts, Amps 120, BTU Output 115,000, Clearance from Corner in. 26, Blower CFM 1,100, Blower Included Yes, Door Opening W x H in. 12 x 11 1/2, Clearance from Rear Wall in. 26, Thermostat Included Yes, UL UL approved, Mobile Home Approved No, Product Type Furnace. Cam-lock with spring cool-touch handle secures large feed-door Cold air return enclosure Item# 161621 sold separately Draft inducer kit Item# 161622 sold separately"
Average Customer Rating:
4.536 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (28 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
13
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
28 of 28(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Vogelzang Norsemen Wood/Coal Add-On Furnace, Model# 2500"
Review 1 for "Vogelzang Norsemen Wood/Coal Add-On Furnace, Model# 2500"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Value

,
March 22, 2011
By MakiPoika
from Ironwood, MI
" This is the second season I've used this stove to almost exclusively heat my 3,000+ square foot house. It has a large firebox and the dual blowers move a sufficient amount of air. However, I did have a problem with one of the blowers "going out of balance". It started to vibrate and became very noisy. I called Vogelzang and they sent me a new blower, free of charge. The damper set up could use some improvement to better regulate the heat. It has three settings, low, medium, and high. Sometimes I wish the damper was infinitely adjustable or had a "medium-high" or "medium-low" setting. However, I can get around this by slightly opening the spin draft on the ash pan door.
It has saved me a lot of (propane) money over the past two years. On a 0 degree day, I can keep the house around 70 degrees with a heaping large wheelbarrow of hard maple or oak. I burn about 20 face cords from November to April. Overall it is a great stove for the money and I would recommend it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Vogelzang Norsemen Wood/Coal Add-On Furnace, Model# 2500"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Stove

,
November 22, 2010
By Mountaineer1
from High Point, NC
" This stove works great. It heats my 2350 square foot house. The only problem I have had so far is getting the house to hot. If you buy this stove you need to consider that you still have to spend several hundred more dollars for installation parts such as flu pipe and duck work. Over all a great alternative to paying for expensive gas or electric heat. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Vogelzang Norsemen Wood/Coal Add-On Furnace, Model# 2500"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

,
June 19, 2010
By KRay
from Honaker, Va.
" Ive only got to use the stove for about 24 hours after receiving it and installation. As other reviews state, it is very smokey the first burn and vibration noise from the side panels are very noisey while the fans are blowing. In the past 3 years our electric bill has risen from $180.00 per month to near $600 per month so i figure i can stand a little noise to compensate for the high electric bill. I installed the stove in the basement of my home, I ran the two heat duct outlets to my first floor duct work and i cut another 8" outlet on top of the stove, i ran the third outlet duct to my duct work in the attic that heats my second floor, As i stated earlier ive only got to use the stove for only 24 hours but it seems like its going to do an excellent job heating both floors consistantly and the heat from the stove alone will keep the basement at a comfortable temperature. note: temp outside was about 30 degrees and im heating about 3000 sq ft. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Vogelzang Norsemen Wood/Coal Add-On Furnace, Model# 2500"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best purchase

,
February 5, 2014
By Jerm1
from North Dakota
" I have used this stove for two seasons now. My house was built around 1920's, so there are leaks and drafts everywhere. I burn wood and coal in it. Heating my house, about 2000 sq feet, for $100 a month. On 20 degree days it easily heats the house to 70-75 degrees without much problem. Had two weeks of -30 degrees (-60 degrees with windchill) and kept the house 60-70. This stove is a little more then most, however it comes standard with the shaker grates, most others are purchased separately and this is worth the little extra, it all works out in the end. I would recommend this to anyone who likes to stay warm in the winter. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Vogelzang Norsemen Wood/Coal Add-On Furnace, Model# 2500"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

wood furnace

,
December 8, 2010
By randy1511
from Oklahoma
" I like this wood stove. The load usually lasts from bedtime to waking up the next morning, if you don't have the thermostat wide open. The blower CFM should be larger, cause I can not feel much force coming out the floor vents. Also the ash tray needs to be redesigned. When it gets really hot, it worps and you can not get it out till it cools off. Thats the only two compliants I have with this wood furnace. The stove puts out plenty of heat and would really heat my house perfectly if it had a bigger blower. I am fixing to order another stove and I might try the US made stove. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Vogelzang Norsemen Wood/Coal Add-On Furnace, Model# 2500"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

reliable heat

,
December 17, 2013
By tony39
from iowa
" I have been heating my house for two years now with one of these stoves and have no problems with it at all, volgelzangs customer service is outstanding, had a couple of cracked fire bricks when I took it out of the box and they sent two right away, unit produces excellent heat in the cold iowa winter and it paid for itself the second year I have owned it, great product,huge money saver, "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Vogelzang Norsemen Wood/Coal Add-On Furnace, Model# 2500"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good/not so good

,
November 6, 2010
By miltman
" This is my second season with this furnance. In conjunction with the oil furnance i have more than enough heat for a 2000 sq ft home. The ductwork was throughout the house for forced hot air so all i did was connect. Just two things i would change and eventually will. The blowers are extremely loud, and the damper mechanism below par. This year i will be also using coal so it will be a learning experience, "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Vogelzang Norsemen Wood/Coal Add-On Furnace, Model# 2500"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good overall heating source

,
October 24, 2010
By Den73
from NE Tennessee
" I purchased this stove (2500) last November (2009) to confront my $650 - $800 electric bill. I installed it myself after getting help setting it into position ... one heavy furnance it is ... I found the install very simple with the exception of the last blower, they don't give you alot of room but none the less it wasn't bad. Wiring the blowers wasn't hard at all, anybody that is remotely close to a handyman can wire them up, very simple. I installed it under my house next to my existing electrical furnace and just heated the underneath of my house to allow the warm air to rise. SOunds like a horrible idea but it saved me alot, my electric bill went from the above stated to around the mid $300 with the exception of one month in which I went about 2 and a half weeks without coal, then it was in the low $500s. I burned coal nearly all the time as I needed the extra heat from the coal to get the heat up hot enough for my appilication. This year I'm connecting it into my duct work to save on the amount of coal and will be able to burn wood also. I does take a little getting used to as far as adjusting your draft and all that good stuff but it doesn't take long....couple weeks and you should be up to par with it. For a furnance inside a house it would be a little noisy,the blowers are a little loud but do put out a very good amount of air but I haven't noticed the vibration that I've read about but that maybe due to the fact that's it's under my house and not in it. I have went through 1 1/2 sets of grates but in part was my fault burning the strove too hot .... opening and leaving the draft door open. Was sent replacement grates within days of calling. Learned my lesson on the draft. If all goes well with the furnance this year after hooking it into my duct work then I will purchased the cold air return and thermostat next year or maybe this winter as I plan on using my blower on my existing electrical furnance to circulate the air in the house to start. Of course I will have to purchase dampers in order to tie into my exisiting duct work to keep air circulation from backflowing.
A load of coal would run me roughly 7-9 hours and would have a decent bed of hot coals after 10-12 hours. I did burn block coal as I plan on doing this year also. Throw a couple of big blocks in at night before bed, close the draft and your set for the night, skake the grates the next morning, a little fire would noramlly start back up, throw in more coal, open the draft KNOB a little and good to go for til aound mid-day or so. My biggest complaint about the stove would be that the ash pan ikt fairly small, I was used to the old WormMorning stove growing up which I remember from growing up was 5 times bigger than this ash pan is, but at most, I have to empty the ash pan twice a day, mostly just once though. If your installing it inside your house, I'd reccomend the vaccum for ash removal, it would have to be cleaner than scooping the ashes out with a stove shovel. BTW, I heat a 3,500 SQ/FT house with this and even the upstairs' electrical furnance didn't kick on much as the heat would rise from under the house to the main floor on up to the upstairs and the main floor would stay around 74 during the time the temps would be down into 20's last year which was often in Northeastern Tennessee last year, unusally cold year. I'm almost super excited to see how it does this year being tied into my ductwork. I hope that this helps cover most of the info that you are wondering about. I know it can be a hard decision to make in which furnance to purchase and we don't want to spend a good chunk of money on something that isn't the right thing for the job. I did ALOT of research on stoves/furnances before deciding on this one and I can tell you I haven't been disappointed in the least with my decision. Have a toasty winter !!! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Vogelzang Norsemen Wood/Coal Add-On Furnace, Model# 2500"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm and cozy !

,
March 18, 2009
By Hayfarmer
from NJ
" My set up was pretty easy to tie into the existing duct work. The two blowers were a bit of a pain for the initial installation, due to the short lengths of wire sent with the kit and how close together the units are. After the first try, I just used my own new wire longer in length, that made it simple. Read, understand, and rest asure that when the other reviews warn of SMOKE during the first few firings. I thought, how much could the thing smoke from paint and packing coatings..... LOTS..... have the windows/doors open and a fan ready. After that, learning where to set the controls for my set up took a coulpe of days. Then the whole house was a constant toasty 74. No complaints on this purchase. We also have an oil burner, this add on cut our heating cost by 75%. Looking forward to next winter, I think we'll be able to do better in cost savings next year now that we are familiar with the operation of the furnace. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
KatC
MD 
 
Please wait while more information about KatC is loaded.
Additional information about KatC could not be loaded.
Add-On with oil burner?
November 20, 2010
" Does your oil heat system use hot water, steam or blown air? Just curious because we have and oil burner with the old water filled radiators and would love info on adding this to our system. Oil in our locale, as of Nov 2010, is $3.50 per gal and that is just way too much! "
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for "Vogelzang Norsemen Wood/Coal Add-On Furnace, Model# 2500"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great add on furnace

,
November 19, 2008
By Paramountfarms
from Northern North Dakota
" We have been heating our home for a few years with this furnace. It was easy to install and even easier to operate. We have it connected into the existing duct work after the original furnace. It does take a few tries to figure out the damper/air flow adjustment but when you get it figured out it's very simple. We have a 3500 square foot home and have no problem keeping it at 70 degrees even with the 40 below North Dakota winters.
I have found that you get much better heat out of coal but it is trickier to adjust. A full load of about 80 lbs of coal lasts approximately 10 hours. A little less is you need the heat setting up higher. I would suggest getting the airfilter box attatchment to keep household dust down and the Draft Inducer kit to make coal burning more efficient. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Vogelzang Norsemen Wood/Coal Add-On Furnace, Model# 2500"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Unit

,
September 25, 2008
By Anonymous
from Western PA
" Was all I expected and more. Construction was well thought out. Well made and materials of good quality. Directions for assembly need some work. also bought the air filter and optional air injector / thermostat unit. The wiring for it does not match up to the diagram included. Not a problem for me as I have knowledge of electrical and electronic control systems. Only problems with assembly were the tight quarters for adding air filter system to rear of unit after installing blowers. The remote thermostat functions well but looks a little cheap, will be replacing it with a digital style. Unit was crated very well and arrived completely undamaged. I was promised a 14 to 19 day delivery date and it came in 7 days. I just wish I would have waited a few more weeks to order because it has gone down in price since I got mine. BTW this furnace is much more costly right from the factory than it is here. I have looked at many with the same specs, they are more costly and very cheaply made. Most even charge extra for the blowers that are standard on this one. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Vogelzang Norsemen Wood/Coal Add-On Furnace, Model# 2500"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Norseman 2500

,
May 25, 2010
By buck316
from Morganton, N.C.
" I have only one furnace to compare to which was a little old and slightly smaller. Based on my limited experience I will say that the 2500 is great. I only got to use this furnace app. two weeks before warm weather. It takes a few minutes longer to get heat because of it's heavier design but once going it heats better using far less wood. The old furnace would have to be fired full each three to four hours in mid thirties weather. The Norseman will heat just as well for six to seven hours on less than half the total wood. I'm looking forward to cold weather just to enjoy using this furnace. Ash removal will have to be done more often but that is only because it totally burns everything to powder. Great furnace!!!! Wish I had purchased one earlier. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Vogelzang Norsemen Wood/Coal Add-On Furnace, Model# 2500"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

setup tip

,
November 17, 2008
By William53806
from Cassville, WI
" This product was everything it was addvertised to be. I installed it as a stand alone unit and it heats the whole house quite well. No problems with the instructions. One suggestion, I started a fire in the unit after I took it out of the crate and before I put it in the house. This burned off all the oils and residue from manufactoring. There was a lot of nasty smoke that i did not want in the house. This process worked fine. One fire is all that is needed. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Vogelzang Norsemen Wood/Coal Add-On Furnace, Model# 2500"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

2500 draft kit

,
July 22, 2009
By jamescm
from big bend wv
" the stove works great but I would like to try the draft kit and see it it makes the stove more efficient but I kant seem to find it on the northern site. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Vogelzang Norsemen Wood/Coal Add-On Furnace, Model# 2500"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Efficient

,
February 3, 2009
By Turtletown
from David, TN
" Has cut down on the amount of wood that I burn. Heating a 3000 square foot home. Only problem I have is with the blowers. Noisy to some degree, should have a better way of mounting them. Should have studs for them to mount on instead of the clips that you use. This would take care of the vibration you get. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Vogelzang Norsemen Wood/Coal Add-On Furnace, Model# 2500"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Blower issue

,
January 16, 2009
By Jwest
from Western NY
" I too am having problem with one of the blowers. We bought this furnace in march 07. My husband hooked it up over the summer - easy! We first ran it in Oct - 3 1/2 months later I am having a problem with one blower. At first it was fine, then it started with a LOUD rattle. Now I noticed its not spinning at all. I just emailed Vogelzang to see what they will do. "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Vogelzang Norsemen Wood/Coal Add-On Furnace, Model# 2500"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

awesome stove

,
December 20, 2008
By ramiriz60
from NE PA 2500 sqft Home including basenent
" the stove arrived crated in wood on a pallet. putting stove together was fairly simple. stove was everything I hoped it would be with few exceptions. the ash pan is very shallow and needs to be emptied frequently. the only other problem, was one of the blowers had a bad vibration, wheel out of balance. called vogelzang, WOW had new blower on the way in 3 min. arrived very quickly. hooked up stove and after initial cookoff of the painted finish and a little learning time for a new stove, i'ts working great 14 degrees and blowing outside and 73 degrees and toasty inside. holds good fire about 10 hours on low with wood. I have had wood stoves for over 40 years and this is the best yet. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Vogelzang Norsemen Wood/Coal Add-On Furnace, Model# 2500"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

add on furnace

,
November 19, 2008
By bivouac
from northern pa.
" Good price, and an all around good unit, plenty of heating capacity. I would recomend the d-50 draft induction kit, it makes adjusting the temp. verry easy. my only complaint is the sides vibrate sometimes when the blowers are on, c-channell shelving strips from your hardware store will signifagently reduce noise if you screw them to the sides in an x shape. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Vogelzang Norsemen Wood/Coal Add-On Furnace, Model# 2500"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This stove is awesome

,
June 9, 2008
By JFK1
from Casco, Maine
" Very happy, was using K-1 heaters @ 4.80 a gallon not only is this stove alot cheaper to heat with it is a lot warmer in the house. Very easy to set up and use. Was very smokey the first time it was used but after that, all is good. It does warn you about the smoking in the directions. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Vogelzang Norsemen Wood/Coal Add-On Furnace, Model# 2500"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

,
January 17, 2008
By examiner
from North Florida Panhandle
" very effecient, quiet, appears to be well constructed
much better price value that some competive units
easily installed, very good instructions
ash pan is very shallow, minor invconvience
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.