Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Retractable Cord Reel - Trouble Light

Northern Industrial Tools Retractable Cord Reel - Trouble Light

Item# 162442
"Impact-resistant polypropylene case holds a 33-ft., 16/3 10 Amp electrical cord with a metal-enclosed trouble light. Can be mounted on wall or ceiling and swivels 180 for easy use. Adjustable cord stop. Trouble light has single outlet in handle. UL listed. Receptacle Size Amps 16/3 10, Power Cord ft. 33."
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (18 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 of 18(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Retractable Cord Reel - Trouble Light
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Tools Retractable Cord Reel - Trouble Light
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good choice for the money

,
June 18, 2014
By Rosastringworks1
from Newburg, MO
" The spring is good, the cord is fairly heavy duty and all in all it is a good product. The one thing I didn't expect is that the yellow paint on the cord rubs off on everything. Including your hands or anything that comes in contact with it. Kind of a nuisance because it comes off really easy and gets on everything. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Tools Retractable Cord Reel - Trouble Light
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Strong return & well built

,
February 4, 2014
By nautique210
from Western Pennsylvania
" Bought 1 and then bought another. Well built. Hung them off the ceiling. Great for an extension cord or light just where you want it. Purchased to replace a cheaper unit that was failing. This is a much nicer unit by far. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Tools Retractable Cord Reel - Trouble Light
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works like expected

,
September 17, 2013
By tink10
from shavertown, pa
" Got for my garage and has worked like I have expected - decent reach "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Tools Retractable Cord Reel - Trouble Light
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Performs well for the price

,
October 15, 2012
By John717
from South Central PA
" Wanted a drop light to use in my garage that could be mounted within easy reach from both stalls. This unit does the job and then some. Very pleased so far. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Tools Retractable Cord Reel - Trouble Light
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great trouble light

,
August 20, 2012
By nick545
from michigan
" very well made, should last a long time. I installed this in our garage for extra lighting in those hard to see spots. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Tools Retractable Cord Reel - Trouble Light
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

heavy duty

,
January 21, 2012
By svillediy
from simpsonville sc
" product appears very well made; much heavier & more industrial-grade than one it replaced. mounted this product on wall of garage. 30 ft retractable cord covers entire garage and out into driveway. extremely heavy-duty. ordered on-line and picked up at store (Woodruff Rd-Greenville) where customer service was outstanding! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Tools Retractable Cord Reel - Trouble Light
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

retractable cord trouble light

,
January 9, 2012
By railtools
from new hampshire
" I saw this item on sale and pirchased one for my son in law. I liked his so much, I purchased a second o ne for me!
That should say a great deal. Great quality, constuction, length, uses, and service by Northern.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Tools Retractable Cord Reel - Trouble Light
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Industrial Retractable Cord Reel - Troubl

,
October 17, 2011
By jdisera
from Joliet, Illinois
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" This light was installed from my garage ceiling. Installed in 5 minutes and made a quick in the stop ball above the retractable light housing. The product is sturdy,built well, and easy to use. Make sure youuse a light bulb that can handle being knocked around.
Would recommended to any garage do-it-yourself guys or gals. Even has a power reset button prior to the power outlet. "
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Tools Retractable Cord Reel - Trouble Light
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

cord reel/light works

,
November 23, 2010
By HotRodSparky
" Use the built in receptacle more than the light. Had this about a month and works well in my shop. Consider the cord length if you are in a commercial shop. "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Tools Retractable Cord Reel - Trouble Light
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

trouble light

,
August 23, 2010
By skipperoo
from Marianna, Fl
" I purchased this trouble light to replace one that had broken. This light is much superior to the old one because the cord is heavier and the retraction mechanism is stronger and has more positive stops. It is very easy to use, and I would recommend it to anyone who needs a retractable light in their shop or garage. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Tools Retractable Cord Reel - Trouble Light
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Product

,
June 6, 2010
By Winst
from Memphis, TN
" I use this in a high volume usage area. Very abused but seems to be holding up very well. It is very sturdy. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Tools Retractable Cord Reel - Trouble Light
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Retectable Trouble Light

,
March 16, 2009
By tokruys
from Pilesgrove, NJ
" A must have for every workshop. The reel works good once you get the knack of it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Tools Retractable Cord Reel - Trouble Light
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good

,
August 14, 2008
By Beta
from Montana
" This works as described, a little short on cord, but have had no problems with it "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Tools Retractable Cord Reel - Trouble Light
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Retractable Wall Mount Drop Light

,
November 2, 2007
By Sister
from Grand Prairie, TX
" My husband wanted a wall mount retractable drop light like the metal one I bought him a couple of years ago. After searching online to no avail I went to the Northern Tool in my neighborhood and found this one. I didn't know if my husband would like it since it wasn't metal, but he loved it and the cord was longer than the one he had. He installed it as soon as I brought it home. He told me I did great.
Thanks Northern Tool! "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Tools Retractable Cord Reel - Trouble Light
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Exactly what you'd expect

,
October 30, 2007
By cjl1977
from Houston, TX
" This retractable light works just as it should. The cord catches and releases when it is supposed to. The difference between this and the LED version is that this one has an electrical outlet next to the bulb assembly. Overall a great buy. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial Tools Retractable Cord Reel - Trouble Light
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not Perfect, but Very Handy

,
October 8, 2007
By farmerwannabee
from Rural Pennsylvania
" This drop light is about what I expected it to be for the very low price. The mount was easy to install to a ceiling joist in my shop. The "stop ball" adjusted easily but securely to keep the light hanging at the correct height. I don't bang my head walking under it, but it is easy and convenient to reach. I'm still debating with myself whether I should have bought this or the fluorescent version but that boils down to a matter of personal choice. I plan on buying another one of these to mount in the other bay of my shop. I think it is an exceptional value for the money.
I wish that the cord retracted with greater authority but, except for cold weather when the insulation is stiff, it retracts adequately. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Northern Industrial Tools Retractable Cord Reel - Trouble Light
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good light

,
March 7, 2007
By trainerlance
from Heflin, AL
" This cord reel is very well constructed. The only complaint that I have is that the reel is too loose. It does not want to retrcat all of the way up. I have this reel mounted on the celing and have to fight with it to get it to retract all the way up. I want to purchase one of those LED light bulbs for it that way I do not have to worry about shattering the bulb, although the cage that surrounds it does a good job. I hope that you like it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Northern Industrial Tools Retractable Cord Reel - Trouble Light
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Exactly what it says!

,
March 7, 2007
By JBDogs
from Woodbridge, VA
" This light is exactly what it says. Very easy to install, ready to use right out of the box and lights my whole garage. The only thing that would top this product off would be a built in circuit breaker! Excellent product. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.