Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 33ft., 16/3 SJT Cord, Triple Tap Outlet"

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

"ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 33ft., 16/3 SJT Cord, Triple Tap Outlet"

Item# 162443
"Impact-resistant polypropylene case holds a 33ft., 16/3 SJT 10 Amp electrical cord with a triple tap for tangle free, easy winding as well as for protection during storage. Can be mounted on wall or ceiling and swivels 180 for easy use. Adjustable cord stop. Electrical cord has three extra outlets to power tools, lighting and more. Does not include trouble light. UL Listed Yes, Swivel degree 180, Mount Type Wall or ceiling, Automatic Rewind Yes, Color Red, Cord Size 16/3, Swivels Yes, Plug Type 3-prong, Lead-in Cord Length ft. 5, Amps 10, Outlets qty. 3, Length ft. 33. Retractable cord keeps work area neat and supply connectors at the necessary working length 16ga. cord handles up to 10 Amps Thermal overload protector automatically shuts down power to avoid overheating Impact-resistant polypropylene plastic case for years of durability Adjustable rubber stop allows you to set the cord in your desired position 14 1/2in.L x 11 1/4in.W x 5 3/4in.H overall dimensions Designed for indoor use only 60in. lead-in cord Includes mounting bracket mounting hardware not included"
Average Customer Rating:
4.484 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(62 Reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (62 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
19
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
59 of 62(95%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 33ft., 16/3 SJT Cord, Triple Tap Outlet"
Review 1 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 33ft., 16/3 SJT Cord, Triple Tap Outlet"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Reel Cord

,
February 8, 2016
By
from nashvill,tn
For the price it is a good deal. Installed on my out building ceiling. Now the hydraulic jacks do not run over the elec cords anymore. Works good!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 2 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 33ft., 16/3 SJT Cord, Triple Tap Outlet"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Retractable extension cord at great price

,
January 4, 2016
By
from Orange, TX
I was tired of all ways having to stretch out extension cords and then winding them back up so I purchased this retractable cord reel. The reel seems well made and comes with thirty three feet of cord plus a reasonable length cord for plugging in to receptacle. The recoil is very strong and the mounting is simple two bolts. I highly recommend for general shop use, also comes with multiply outlets on cord end.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 3 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 33ft., 16/3 SJT Cord, Triple Tap Outlet"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good bang for buck

,
December 31, 2015
By
from Washington DC
This is the second of two units - the first having been in service for about 8 years and still in service They work fine and are reliable - even though somewhat exposed (underneath overhang) to the cold weather and sun. It receives rough service and still retracts fine. I added this second unit for the other side. Although I also have the much more expensive "House" Reelco & Reelcraft units - sheltered indoors and out of the way of harm and weather these "Field" units I originally purchased as expendable - are performing with distinction. The biggest difference between these and the Reelcraft/Reelco units is the somewhat stiffer thermoplastic cord - versus the more supple neoprene - rubber cord on the more expensive units during cold weather. However, in icy weather, even the neoprene - rubber gets rather stiff. Despite the cold, these units retract just fine. Great bang for buck and I have been happy.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Review 4 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 33ft., 16/3 SJT Cord, Triple Tap Outlet"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A shop must have

,
June 5, 2015
By
from Gardnerville, NV
Great for my needs. I have a medium size barn/workshop and was constantly stringing extension cords. The Cord Reel has solved the problem. Very well built. A true must have where multiple tools are used.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 33ft., 16/3 SJT Cord, Triple Tap Outlet"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXCELENT PRODUCT

,
June 4, 2015
By
from OCOEE, FL
Easy install, strong, quality, good price. Work properly, and the use is easy, fast, perfect.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 33ft., 16/3 SJT Cord, Triple Tap Outlet"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for the price

,
March 19, 2015
By
from Syracuse, NY
Works great for what I need it for in my garage.
Although, one flaw is I wish It came with the hardward to mount. I had to run back out for the right hardware.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 33ft., 16/3 SJT Cord, Triple Tap Outlet"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works great.

,
February 5, 2015
By
from Wisconsin
I've been using this cord real in my basement several times a week for a few weeks now and have had no problems.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 33ft., 16/3 SJT Cord, Triple Tap Outlet"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far so good..........

,
October 19, 2014
By
from NC
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I have only had this item for about a month but so far it is working as intended. I have a barn/shop with an extended open air shed that I mounted this reel cord under the roof rafters. It is being mainly used to drop down to hook into two battery tenders. One for my tractor and the other my lawn mower so the batteries stay freshly charged over the seasons. I hope since it is open to wind; blowing rain; and other elements it performs okay. Time will tell for sure. I will update my review if it fails to perform.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 33ft., 16/3 SJT Cord, Triple Tap Outlet"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Retractable Cord Reel

,
August 8, 2014
By
from Dallas,Tx
It works as promised. Hardest part was hanging it due to the design of the mounting hardware. Other than that it works just fine.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 10 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 33ft., 16/3 SJT Cord, Triple Tap Outlet"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent and Convenient

,
August 8, 2014
By
from Willow Spring, NC
Purchased the Cord Reel based on excellent reviews by others. I can agree, that it works great and is a real time saver.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 33ft., 16/3 SJT Cord, Triple Tap Outlet"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reelworks WORKS

,
June 21, 2014
By
from Stevensville, MD
Mounted the Reelworks in my garage/workshop and have used it dozens of times. Never a problem. Has eliminated the need to fool around with extension cords.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 33ft., 16/3 SJT Cord, Triple Tap Outlet"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

RETRACTABLE CORD REEL, 33'

,
May 12, 2014
By
from CAPE CORAL, FL.
I'VE HAD THE RETRACTABLE CORD REEL MOUNTED IN MY GARAGE FOR ABOUT 8 YEARS AND NEVER HAD A PROBLEM WITH IT. IT IS MOUNTED IN THE CENTER OF THE GARAGE CEILING AND OFTEN EXTENDED TO THE MAX LENGTH AS I HAVE A 3 1/2 CAR GARAGE.
GREAT ITEM TO HAVE.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 33ft., 16/3 SJT Cord, Triple Tap Outlet"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Reelwork retractable cord reel

,
November 7, 2013
By
from Kingston Springs,TN
To much cable in to little space, will not retract. Would not buy again or recommend.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 33ft., 16/3 SJT Cord, Triple Tap Outlet"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for light duty work

,
October 23, 2013
By
from Oregon
I was going to buy the heavier gauge version of this but the reviews claim the spring is too light to retract the cord. So, I bought the lighter duty one for casual use. It sets up easy and does a good job. Longevity is not known as it is too soon to tell. All in all a great convenience tool.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 15 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 33ft., 16/3 SJT Cord, Triple Tap Outlet"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

33' CORD REEL 16-3 !!!! 10 AMP !!!

,
September 17, 2013
By
from Mokena, IL
No more cords being driven over by wife's car (not her fault). I now have easy access to plug in chargers, lights, shop vacuum and (low amperage) tools. It is plugged into same outlet as garage door opener. I have to remind myself it is there; out of sight / out of mind. GREAT TOOL. I rate it with 5 stars because it is capable of doing what it says it is suppose to do. i.e. Don't overload its 10 ampere capacity.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Review 16 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 33ft., 16/3 SJT Cord, Triple Tap Outlet"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great

,
September 17, 2013
By
from delaware
Easy to install and works great wife likes it too and she is the one that uses it
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 17 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 33ft., 16/3 SJT Cord, Triple Tap Outlet"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

,
April 23, 2013
By
from king george, Va
very handy and durable I will buy a few more for the ceiling of my shop it keeps your cord stored and out of the way until needed
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 33ft., 16/3 SJT Cord, Triple Tap Outlet"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Retractable Cord Reel

,
April 23, 2013
By
from San Antonio
There wasn't a better choice I could have made for the work I do in the garage, and out of also.
Haven't had any problems and don't see any coming as long as you take care of your tools, is what I tell me son.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 33ft., 16/3 SJT Cord, Triple Tap Outlet"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

very handy

,
April 23, 2013
By
from ny
I would purchase another of these. I have one on the ceiling of my garage and plan an adding another
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 33ft., 16/3 SJT Cord, Triple Tap Outlet"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Electric Cord Reel

,
August 20, 2012
By
from Battle Ground, Wa
Good for a home shop. It functions as expected. It doesn't seem very sturdy but only time will tell.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.