Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 33ft., 16/3 SJT Cord, Triple Tap Outlet

ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 33ft., 16/3 SJT Cord, Triple Tap Outlet

Item# 162443
Impact-resistant polypropylene case holds a 33ft., 16/3 SJT 10 Amp electrical cord with a triple tap for tangle free, easy winding as well as for protection during storage. Can be mounted on wall or ceiling and swivels 180 for easy use. Adjustable cord stop. Electrical cord has three extra outlets to power tools, lighting and more. Does not include trouble light. UL listed. Swivel degree 180, Swivels Yes, UL Listed Yes, Length ft. 33, Mount Type Wall or ceiling, Automatic Rewind Yes, Color Red, Cord Size 16/3, Lead-in Cord Length ft. 5, Amps 10, Outlets qty. 3, Plug Type 3-prong. Retractable cord keeps work area neat and supply connectors at the necessary working length 16ga. cord handles up to 10 Amps Thermal overload protector automatically shuts down power to avoid overheating Impact-resistant polypropylene plastic case for years of durability Adjustable rubber stop allows you to set the cord in your desired position 14 1/2in.L x 11 1/4in.W x 5 3/4in.H overall dimensions Designed for indoor use only 60in. lead-in cord Includes mounting bracket mounting hardware not included
Average Customer Rating:
4.473 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (55 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
16
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
52 of 55(95%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 33ft., 16/3 SJT Cord, Triple Tap Outlet
Review 1 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 33ft., 16/3 SJT Cord, Triple Tap Outlet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far so good..........

,
October 19, 2014
By OrbeaRider
from NC
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I have only had this item for about a month but so far it is working as intended. I have a barn/shop with an extended open air shed that I mounted this reel cord under the roof rafters. It is being mainly used to drop down to hook into two battery tenders. One for my tractor and the other my lawn mower so the batteries stay freshly charged over the seasons. I hope since it is open to wind; blowing rain; and other elements it performs okay. Time will tell for sure. I will update my review if it fails to perform."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 33ft., 16/3 SJT Cord, Triple Tap Outlet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Retractable Cord Reel

,
August 8, 2014
By Papi74
from Dallas,Tx
"It works as promised. Hardest part was hanging it due to the design of the mounting hardware. Other than that it works just fine."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 33ft., 16/3 SJT Cord, Triple Tap Outlet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent and Convenient

,
August 8, 2014
By FP1946
from Willow Spring, NC
"Purchased the Cord Reel based on excellent reviews by others. I can agree, that it works great and is a real time saver."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 33ft., 16/3 SJT Cord, Triple Tap Outlet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reelworks WORKS

,
June 21, 2014
By cheber
from Stevensville, MD
"Mounted the Reelworks in my garage/workshop and have used it dozens of times. Never a problem. Has eliminated the need to fool around with extension cords."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 33ft., 16/3 SJT Cord, Triple Tap Outlet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

RETRACTABLE CORD REEL, 33'

,
May 12, 2014
By 540NOVA
from CAPE CORAL, FL.
"I'VE HAD THE RETRACTABLE CORD REEL MOUNTED IN MY GARAGE FOR ABOUT 8 YEARS AND NEVER HAD A PROBLEM WITH IT. IT IS MOUNTED IN THE CENTER OF THE GARAGE CEILING AND OFTEN EXTENDED TO THE MAX LENGTH AS I HAVE A 3 1/2 CAR GARAGE.
GREAT ITEM TO HAVE.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 33ft., 16/3 SJT Cord, Triple Tap Outlet
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Reelwork retractable cord reel

,
November 7, 2013
By wrmu
from Kingston Springs,TN
"To much cable in to little space, will not retract. Would not buy again or recommend."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 33ft., 16/3 SJT Cord, Triple Tap Outlet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for light duty work

,
October 23, 2013
By Outpost22
from Oregon
"I was going to buy the heavier gauge version of this but the reviews claim the spring is too light to retract the cord. So, I bought the lighter duty one for casual use. It sets up easy and does a good job. Longevity is not known as it is too soon to tell. All in all a great convenience tool."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 33ft., 16/3 SJT Cord, Triple Tap Outlet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

33' CORD REEL 16-3 !!!! 10 AMP !!!

,
September 17, 2013
By 52PLUS
from Mokena, IL
"No more cords being driven over by wife's car (not her fault). I now have easy access to plug in chargers, lights, shop vacuum and (low amperage) tools. It is plugged into same outlet as garage door opener. I have to remind myself it is there; out of sight / out of mind. GREAT TOOL. I rate it with 5 stars because it is capable of doing what it says it is suppose to do. i.e. Don't overload its 10 ampere capacity."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 33ft., 16/3 SJT Cord, Triple Tap Outlet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great

,
September 17, 2013
By dh4273
from delaware
"Easy to install and works great wife likes it too and she is the one that uses it"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 33ft., 16/3 SJT Cord, Triple Tap Outlet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

,
April 23, 2013
By Ajd1966
from king george, Va
"very handy and durable I will buy a few more for the ceiling of my shop it keeps your cord stored and out of the way until needed"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 33ft., 16/3 SJT Cord, Triple Tap Outlet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Retractable Cord Reel

,
April 23, 2013
By 60rog
from San Antonio
"There wasn't a better choice I could have made for the work I do in the garage, and out of also.
Haven't had any problems and don't see any coming as long as you take care of your tools, is what I tell me son.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 33ft., 16/3 SJT Cord, Triple Tap Outlet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

very handy

,
April 23, 2013
By rcw613
from ny
"I would purchase another of these. I have one on the ceiling of my garage and plan an adding another"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 33ft., 16/3 SJT Cord, Triple Tap Outlet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Electric Cord Reel

,
August 20, 2012
By PapaSnoz
from Battle Ground, Wa
"Good for a home shop. It functions as expected. It doesn't seem very sturdy but only time will tell."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 33ft., 16/3 SJT Cord, Triple Tap Outlet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Handy cord, only 10 amp and breaker is on the base

,
August 13, 2012
By Raleigh89
from raleigh,nc
"The only issues I had with this is I didn't pay attention and the 10 amps was too low for the spot I originally bought it for. Plus the breaker reset button is on the reel base so I could not mount it up high next to the garage door opener like I originally planned. Keep those two things in mind and it works great."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 33ft., 16/3 SJT Cord, Triple Tap Outlet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A solidly built, reliable cord reel

,
May 14, 2012
By xio1inks
from KS
"I moved into a new house and my garage only had one outlet. I came across this retractable cord reel. I hung it from the ceiling, dead center just next to the garage door opener (they can thus share the same outlet), and the 30' length easily reaches every corner of my garage. The length is perfect in a two car garage. I can quickly run power everywhere I need to without having any cords tripping me at floor level.
I have found the construction of this reel to be top notch - the steel housing will last forever and the winding/retracting mechanism inside is very robust. I predict this to be a lifetime tool, never to need replacing.
I highly recommend this item, especially to those whose workshops started out life as a garage!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 33ft., 16/3 SJT Cord, Triple Tap Outlet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great addition to shop

,
May 14, 2012
By rabbitbrush
from Idaho
"Easy to install with several options, works perfectly and provides easy access to a plug in anywhere in our shop. Was tired of extension cords lying strung out and not put back when finished. That is not the case anymore. Quick pull-out, convenient usage, fast retraction. One of those pieces of equipment you are grateful for every time you use it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 33ft., 16/3 SJT Cord, Triple Tap Outlet
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

power

,
May 7, 2012
By johnb4
from Mobile Alabama
"Power were you want it, solid build, works as advertized, but the yellow dye on the cord goes everywhere - considered 2 stars..."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 33ft., 16/3 SJT Cord, Triple Tap Outlet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice cord reel

,
May 7, 2012
By dvmgks
from KC, Kansas
"These retractable cord reels are great. This is much cleaner than running a normal extension cord and it saves a lot of time on rolling a cord up. Plus the triple tap on the end lets you plug in a trouble light and a power tool wherever you are working at. We have one at our work shop and I also have one at home. I definately recommend this product to anyone."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 33ft., 16/3 SJT Cord, Triple Tap Outlet
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

16/3 Cord Reel

,
May 7, 2012
By STCL01
from Texas
"Good reel for the price. Easy to install. Reel works as advertised. It has a circuit breaker on it that can be a problem. Not with the performance of the reel, but you need to take this into account when you decide the gauge of the wire that you want. If you are running light handtools, worklights etc, the 16/3 will be fine for you. I sometimes use a chop saw to cut metal, and also use a 110 welder. Both of these tools will easily trip the circuit breaker. So if you plan on using heavier (more amps) equipment then you need to spend the money and step up to a heaver gauge reel."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 33ft., 16/3 SJT Cord, Triple Tap Outlet
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not bad but not great either

,
May 7, 2012
By fulkster
from Indiana, Chicago Area
"The locking mech is hard to use. You really have to take your time and listen to the clicks to make sure it wont recoil. Works better if you pull the cord out straight down but then you need to judge how much cord you will need. All in all, compared to the price of other reels I guess this is not bad for the price"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.