Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord

ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord

Item# 162445
40-ft. 12/3 SJT, 15 Amp cord retracts into an impact-resistant polypropylene plastic case for tangle free winding and protection during storage. Mounts on wall or ceiling and swivels 180 for easy access. For use in temperatures less than 60C 140F. Indoor use only. UL listed. Color Red w/Yellow cord, Lead-in Cord Length ft. 4.5, Length ft. 40, Amps 15, Swivel degree 180, Automatic Rewind Yes, Swivels Yes, UL Listed Yes, Mount Type Wall or ceiling, Cord Size 12/3, Outlets qty. 3, Plug Type 3-prong. Retractable cord keeps work area neat and supply connectors at the necessary working length 12ga. cord handles up to 15 Amps Impact-resistant polypropylene plastic case for years of durability Adjustable cord stop to set the cord in your desired position 54in. lead-in cord extends your plug in options 14 1/2in.L x 11 1/4in.W x 5 3/4in.H overall dimensions Designed for indoor use only
Average Customer Rating:
3.779 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(149 Reviews) 149
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (149 reviews)
5 stars
57
4 stars
45
3 stars
21
2 stars
9
1 star
17
117 of 149(79%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer Reviews for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Review 21 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Does not retract well

,
November 7, 2013
By RTTool
from New York, NY
"I have two of these cord retractors and I am very disappointed with their performance. We have to hand feed the cords back into them and they are constantly getting stuck. The feeder should distribute the cord evenly or they should make the housing larger to accommodate the cord when it is not perfectly distributed on the reel."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A fantastic cord reel for a more civilized age

,
April 24, 2013
By zombieprepared
from Largo, Florida
"I bought of these about a year ago and hung it in my garage. Use it every few days when I'm dragging power tools out into my driveway. Pulls smooth, retracts smooth. Once you learn how to retract it (slight tug, then back and forth motion to reel properly, it works every time. I was so impressed that I bought a 2nd unit for my shed and back yard area. Nice waterproof case too, so it gets rained on and nothing has rusted. This is comparable in performance to the much more expensive model I had at my last shop (just a bit shorter at 40 feet of cord)."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

handy power hook up

,
April 24, 2013
By topjimy5
from oxford,nj
"I have limited outlets in my garage. I was able to double my capacity by hanging the Reel Works retractable cord from the garage door opener outlets on the ceiling. I leave them plugged in all the time and when I'm done I retract the cord and let it hang. Its all ready for the next time and its out of the way. Great product, time saver, and organizer."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT

,
April 23, 2013
By Knez
from Monroe, MI
"Bought on sale for my trucks engine heater. Sale price was excellent. Shipping was quicker than expected. Use in around the garage all summer long. Tough product that has taken some abuse. I have had this for 2 years now (I like to review products after I have used them for quite a while) and would definitely recommend it when it's on sale."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good value for the money, medium duty

,
April 23, 2013
By Sooch
from Fort Worth, Texas
"Although I see other reviewers talk about a weak spring -- I would agree. However, this unit is still dutiful enough to provide medium duty for a home handyman. I use it frequently for all outdoor work that requires electrical."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works Great

,
April 23, 2013
By chop25
from Iowa
"Purchased two one for farm shop and one for my garage. Both work great and are easy to use."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

handyman

,
April 23, 2013
By blkbart
from wisconsin
"Works great just what I needed save taking out extension cords everytime"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Junk right out of the box

,
April 6, 2013
By DisappointedInNorthern
from Dallas, TX
"The only thing that works as advertised is it was easy to hang on the ceiling. The reel spring is weak, the reel is too small, and the outer case is too small which results in the cord not being able to fully retract on its own. The cord also gets stuck when being pulled from the case. Save yourself the headache and buy another brand. On the bright side, the lead in cord and main cord are 12 awg and the triple tap molded plug seem to be decent quality."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too Weak, Poorly Made

,
February 4, 2013
By Tniggs
from Houston, TX
"Sadly I'm on board with the other recent reviews. Right out of the box, it will not spool up all the way. The spring is weak, and the outer casing is too small for all the wire to be coiled in. I even tried pulling it all out, and then slowly feeding it back in to make sure it was on the reel as snug as possible. But it still did not all fit. I will be returning it as soon as possible. Shame, I've been waiting months to buy one, and finally did just to have my hopes crushed."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Reelworks

,
January 7, 2013
By Db12158
from Albany, N.Y.
"I thought this product would be a good addition to my garage. After placing my order, I looked forward to delivery. After I received and installed it, I found that it did not retract all the way, It left about 10 to 12 ft of wire exposed. Also, the lead in wire is a smaller gauge then the main lead."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

no good

,
December 4, 2012
By sr71
from Richmond, TX
"bought one - returned it.....just like the others said, the spring is too weak - won't rewind reliably. I even opened it up and wound a couple more turns of preload in it.....didn't help at all. How hard can it be to put a decent spring in one of these things?
and just an FYI, after i got home and looked at my receipt, I noticed the clerk had marked it as : saleable - customer didn't want; after I told her it didn't work as advertised.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

NO

,
November 27, 2012
By LC32
from Jasper Co. IA
"Mounted to a 12' ceiling. The thing won't lift it's own weight and jams when retracting. I would NOT recommend to anyone for any reason."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't Waste Your Money

,
November 24, 2012
By KevinA
from Odessa, Fl
"This reelwork's retractable reel is junk the spring tension is not strong enough to pull the cord back into the housing. Also the cord jambs up between the housing and the reel. You have to keep tring over and over to get it to full retract. It is much easier to get an extension cord out. I have purchase other cheaper brands in the past and never had this much trouble. Reelwork you need to go back to the drawing board on this one."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Satisfied

,
November 8, 2012
By RonnyBob6
from Houston,Texas
"I bought 5 of these for our workshop where I work.
I am disappointed with this product because the plastic casing is too small to allow the cord to retract fully, in many cases they stall with 10 feet of cord hanging out.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good reel

,
November 3, 2012
By fireman164
from ok
"works great and keeps the cords off the floor , I hung it off the ceiling"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy Customers

,
October 15, 2012
By Electricianwife
from Tupelo, MS
"We purchased these because our customers needed a more heavy cord to plug in several Christmas trees. They did a great job. We also put one in our shop to charge everything from batteries to lifts and run a wire stripper. I also like the fact that it has the safety reset button."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Retractable Cord

,
October 15, 2012
By Storrs
from Texas
"When your garage only has one electrical outlet, this cord is a must have. I used my garage opener outlet for this cord and hung it over my work bench.
I plug everything from a drill press to a leaf blower into it. When I'm done, it rolls itself up. I don't have to fight with untangling a cord my wife left in a mess."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product, great price

,
October 9, 2012
By Lj13
from Thunder Bay On.
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"quite happy with this product picked it up on Sale and it works well in center of 30 x 40 shop to reach all areas when needed."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

No more winding

,
October 8, 2012
By Mechanical
from Maple Grove
"After years of hand re-winding a 30 foot piece of power cord I purchased the auto reel power cord. Best yet. Easy to mount and easier to use. Should have done this a long time ago."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

,
August 20, 2012
By Peter3
from Virginia
"This cord reel brings 15 amps from the middle of my 50 foot long barn to any point within or just outside the doors. Hung on the ceiling, it is easily deployed where I need it. The 15 amps lets me run any equipment I want where I want it. The reel mechanism works beautifully."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.