Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"

"ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"

Item# 162445
"40-ft. 12/3 SJT, 15 Amp cord retracts into an impact-resistant polypropylene plastic case for tangle free winding and protection during storage. Mounts on wall or ceiling and swivels 180 for easy access. For use in temperatures less than 60C 140F. Indoor use only. Outlets qty. 3, UL Listed Yes, Lead-in Cord Length ft. 4.5, Length ft. 40, Cord Size 12/3, Amps 15, Plug Type 3-prong, Color Red w/Yellow cord, Swivel degree 180, Swivels Yes, Automatic Rewind Yes, Mount Type Wall or ceiling. Retractable cord keeps work area neat and supply connectors at the necessary working length 12ga. cord handles up to 15 Amps Impact-resistant polypropylene plastic case for years of durability Adjustable cord stop to set the cord in your desired position 54in. lead-in cord extends your plug in options 14 1/2in.L x 11 1/4in.W x 5 3/4in.H overall dimensions Designed for indoor use only"
Average Customer Rating:
3.886 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(210 Reviews) 210
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (210 reviews)
5 stars
84
4 stars
67
3 stars
27
2 stars
15
1 star
17
169 of 210(80%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 45 Answers
Customer Reviews for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Review 21 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

cord reel

,
May 28, 2015
By
from charlotte nc
" it is a great product for the price, it works great, it is very useful around the shop "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Does the job

,
May 26, 2015
By
from Virginia
" Plastic body but not an issue. You do have to work to get it to rewind especially if there is allot of cord pulled out.
Not a bad product overall.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Second Rate Product

,
May 26, 2015
By
from Texas
" Cheaply made and flimsy construction. Works OK but nothing to respect. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Return spring issue

,
May 25, 2015
By
from Millburg,MI
" I'm not sure why any of these companies make these reels with not enough spring tension to pull the coed back in. It sometimes takes me as long to get the cord rewrapped in the coil than it would to rewrap a loose cord!!! The cord itself is nice and heavy with a nice 3 way outlet but the plug in should be a 90 degree to fit against the wall for a cleaner look . Not real impressed it will do for now but u need to spend some serious cash to get a good reel! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Power where you need it

,
May 21, 2015
By
from N Indiana
" Got this for my new 30 x 40 garage and it fits the bill perfectly at a reasonable price. HD (12-3) and covers the entire garage from the opener location. It is for occasional hobbyist use, so it should last for a long time. Would probably not be suitable for industrial/commercial use. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellant retractable cord reel!

,
May 21, 2015
By
from Chicago
" This product is used in a shop setting, where it is used every day. The unit is bumped and hit, the cord is walked over, and yet it continues to work without an issue. Really enjoy this unit. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Retractable Cord Reel

,
May 21, 2015
By
from Lithopolis, OH
" I purchased 3 of these so far for my new pole garage to make it easy to have power anywhere in the shop I need it. My shop is 36' x 56' and I was able to position to cover the entire floor area. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"

,
May 16, 2015
By
from Niagara, WI
" I have two garages, bought one for each garage. So far they work great, plenty of length and the 12/3 cord is plenty for what I need it for, small air compressor, larger battery charger, shop vacuum. When retracting the cord you must feed the cord back and forth or it will bind up, but that is true with most retractable units. I am very pleased with both units so far! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

reelworks cord reel

,
May 9, 2015
By
from Titonka,IA
" I bought 4 of the cord reels for our fire station as we had all of our trucks plugged in with cords on the floor. Now with these reels no more running over cords. These reels retract well and were easy to install on our ceiling. These are a good product and with the 12/3 gauge cord it was a good fit . "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cord reel

,
April 15, 2015
By
from Sunbury, OH
" Easy to install and to make modifications.
Disassembled the reel and ran the cord through a drop ceiling for a nice clean look. Costumer was really satisfied with the result.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Twelve gauge wire is great!

,
April 5, 2015
By
from Port Townsend WA
" The heavier than normal wire first caught my eye. I've been looking locally but could find only fourteen gauge on retractable extension cord. Seems to work well mechanically. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

More For a Wall Than a Ceiling

,
March 28, 2015
By
from Orange Park, FL
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" Nice cord reel with its 12/3 and 40" length BUT as the title suggests, easier to hang on a wall than from a ceiling. The ceiling mounting is accomplished ONLY by removing the outer shell casing in order to remove the ceiling mount.
Step 1: Attach the mount (directly to ceiling joist) with lag screws and washers.
Step 2: Lift and place the entire reel (pull the cord out completely to save having to lift the entire weight) in position over the ceiling mount having the cover removed or partially removed.
Step 3: Then place the screws you removed earlier back into the reel and screw in enough to hold it into position.
Step 4: Place the remaining screws into their respective holes and then tighten securely.
WaLa! None of the above is in the directions that come with the unit and Northern Tool cannot offer the service I have given here. Take your time and ask someone to assist.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Cord binds

,
March 26, 2015
By
from MA
" I am really trying to like this product, however it never retracts all the way because the cord binds up inside the case. Either the internal dimensions of the case need to be larger or the cord length shorter. I have to spend extra time to retract it every time, other than that is works as advertised. When the plug eventually wears out, I will probably cut off 5 feet of cord to avoid this. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Handy in the Garage and Yard

,
March 26, 2015
By
from Spokane, Wa.
" The reel works as advertised. The cord length is very handy working around the garage and out into the front yard. Installation was easy once you figured out how to get the bracket pins out. The reel did not come with any instructions on how to do so.
The unit comes fully assembled and without instructions I had to start disassembly in the blind. I quickly figured out how to remove and re-install the pins after removing the first screw and starting on the second. If you are looking at the screw side of the unit where the pins are located there are two screws. The top screw is part of the case system. The screw located next to the pin is the one you want. The pins are held in place by that screw which passes through the pin and into the case on the opposite side.
The bracket is easily removed and re-installed once the unit is mounted. The cord length is enough to cover any immediate need and rolls up nicely. It's great having a quick cord in easy reach that rolls up and out of the way quickly without tangles and mess.
I would very much recommend this product to anyone regardless of what your needs are. This would work great for any handyman, DYI'er, or pro. I'm very happy with the purchase. I would have gone 5 stars but for the lack of instructions and parts for installation (no screws, washers, or molly's provided). "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Retractable Coord Reel

,
March 25, 2015
By
from Darlington, MD
" Works well in my equipment barn. No longer need to roll out standard electrical cord. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

CORD REEL

,
March 19, 2015
By
from S.C.
" Northern has the best price on this hose reel with very fast shipping. product is easy to use "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cord Reel

,
February 23, 2015
By
from Forest, MS
" I use cord reel every week- accurate, Good price for great item. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Product

,
January 31, 2015
By
from Marathon, FL
" The product works well and does what it says. You have to be careful when you fully extend the cord because when you go to retract it is necessary to move the cord back and forth to insure the cord does not jam. I have have only had this for a couple of months and it makes things a lot easier than having to drag out a cord for a couple of minutes then having to re-roll it for storage. I like this product. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cord Reel Excellent!

,
January 29, 2015
By
from The OC
" Exactly what I wanted and expected. Not heavy duty and not too expensive. Liked it so much I bought a second for Dad's birthday! Put it up quickly and it is so much easier to plug in the shop vac than reaching across the workbench . Just reach up and pull my extension cord out to the car. No tangled cord to unwind. Wish they would provide a small paper template so I could align my drill holes better. Guessed where to put my pilot holes because of the rounded top of the unit. As usual, I was off by a 1/4". No one can see it but it bugs me that I didn't get my bracket flush against the 2x4. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
January 27, 2015
By
from Oak Hills, CA
" I've been wanting one of these forever! I just bought two, one for each side of my shop. They work great and are very handy. The GFI likes to pop when I try to start my Burr King so I removed it, doesn't bother me because I didn't realize it came with a GFI anyway. My only regret is not getting one sooner "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.