Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord

ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord

Item# 162445
40-ft. 12/3 SJT, 15 Amp cord retracts into an impact-resistant polypropylene plastic case for tangle free winding and protection during storage. Mounts on wall or ceiling and swivels 180 for easy access. For use in temperatures less than 60C 140F. Indoor use only. UL listed. Color Red w/Yellow cord, Lead-in Cord Length ft. 4.5, Length ft. 40, Amps 15, Swivel degree 180, Automatic Rewind Yes, Swivels Yes, UL Listed Yes, Mount Type Wall or ceiling, Cord Size 12/3, Outlets qty. 3, Plug Type 3-prong. Retractable cord keeps work area neat and supply connectors at the necessary working length 12ga. cord handles up to 15 Amps Impact-resistant polypropylene plastic case for years of durability Adjustable cord stop to set the cord in your desired position 54in. lead-in cord extends your plug in options 14 1/2in.L x 11 1/4in.W x 5 3/4in.H overall dimensions Designed for indoor use only
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(140 Reviews) 140
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (140 reviews)
5 stars
52
4 stars
43
3 stars
20
2 stars
8
1 star
17
109 of 140(78%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer Reviews for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Review 21 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Reelworks

,
January 7, 2013
By Db12158
from Albany, N.Y.
"I thought this product would be a good addition to my garage. After placing my order, I looked forward to delivery. After I received and installed it, I found that it did not retract all the way, It left about 10 to 12 ft of wire exposed. Also, the lead in wire is a smaller gauge then the main lead."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

no good

,
December 4, 2012
By sr71
from Richmond, TX
"bought one - returned it.....just like the others said, the spring is too weak - won't rewind reliably. I even opened it up and wound a couple more turns of preload in it.....didn't help at all. How hard can it be to put a decent spring in one of these things?
and just an FYI, after i got home and looked at my receipt, I noticed the clerk had marked it as : saleable - customer didn't want; after I told her it didn't work as advertised.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

NO

,
November 27, 2012
By LC32
from Jasper Co. IA
"Mounted to a 12' ceiling. The thing won't lift it's own weight and jams when retracting. I would NOT recommend to anyone for any reason."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't Waste Your Money

,
November 24, 2012
By KevinA
from Odessa, Fl
"This reelwork's retractable reel is junk the spring tension is not strong enough to pull the cord back into the housing. Also the cord jambs up between the housing and the reel. You have to keep tring over and over to get it to full retract. It is much easier to get an extension cord out. I have purchase other cheaper brands in the past and never had this much trouble. Reelwork you need to go back to the drawing board on this one."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Satisfied

,
November 8, 2012
By RonnyBob6
from Houston,Texas
"I bought 5 of these for our workshop where I work.
I am disappointed with this product because the plastic casing is too small to allow the cord to retract fully, in many cases they stall with 10 feet of cord hanging out.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good reel

,
November 3, 2012
By fireman164
from ok
"works great and keeps the cords off the floor , I hung it off the ceiling"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy Customers

,
October 15, 2012
By Electricianwife
from Tupelo, MS
"We purchased these because our customers needed a more heavy cord to plug in several Christmas trees. They did a great job. We also put one in our shop to charge everything from batteries to lifts and run a wire stripper. I also like the fact that it has the safety reset button."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Retractable Cord

,
October 15, 2012
By Storrs
from Texas
"When your garage only has one electrical outlet, this cord is a must have. I used my garage opener outlet for this cord and hung it over my work bench.
I plug everything from a drill press to a leaf blower into it. When I'm done, it rolls itself up. I don't have to fight with untangling a cord my wife left in a mess."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product, great price

,
October 9, 2012
By Lj13
from Thunder Bay On.
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"quite happy with this product picked it up on Sale and it works well in center of 30 x 40 shop to reach all areas when needed."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

No more winding

,
October 8, 2012
By Mechanical
from Maple Grove
"After years of hand re-winding a 30 foot piece of power cord I purchased the auto reel power cord. Best yet. Easy to mount and easier to use. Should have done this a long time ago."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

,
August 20, 2012
By Peter3
from Virginia
"This cord reel brings 15 amps from the middle of my 50 foot long barn to any point within or just outside the doors. Hung on the ceiling, it is easily deployed where I need it. The 15 amps lets me run any equipment I want where I want it. The reel mechanism works beautifully."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

a tricky extension cord reel

,
August 16, 2012
By awildduck
from Rochester MN
"Bottom line, good product for the DIY but not for a heavy user. The major problem is the cord binds in the housing when attempting to rewind as it bunches up and the case can not accommodate the bunching. One has to be careful to balance the cable across the reel which is difficult when you can't see the reel. Second issue is the latching mechanism in that it is tricky sometimes to get the reel to latch on a position. I located the reel where there was going to be high usage, but now it is going to be relocated where usage is light. I like the fact that the cord itself is very high quality. But I would only recommend the reel to someone where usage will be low."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible product

,
August 15, 2012
By BRContracting
from near Pittsburgh, PA
"The purpose of this product is to keep the cord wrapped up inside and once you pull the cord out it wont go back in!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't last

,
July 4, 2012
By TC727
from Memphis
"I bought two of these and have had them for over two years. From the beginning, they never retract cleanly. You will have to fiddle with the cord to get it to fit back into the unit while it retracts. Worse though, is that for the unit I used most frequently, the locking mechanism that keeps the cord from trying to retract broke, so, the cord is always trying to pull back in.
If you are going to plan on using this for a few years, I would find a stronger unit that has plenty of room to hold the cord without fiddling around all the time."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better Than I Expected!!

,
May 15, 2012
By MisterArt
from Illinois
"For the price, I thought I was going to be disappointed but the quality and performance has been flawless; THANKS!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works great

,
May 14, 2012
By DSUSMC
from Catawba, NC
"Have had this cord reel for about 4 years and it still works just like it did when it was new. I use it frequently and have never had a problem with it. It has already outlasted any other retractable cord reel I have owned. If it ever does break I will buy another one just like it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Northern Industrial Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft.

,
May 13, 2012
By Davehd2009
from Clarkston, MI
"A worthwhile purchase.. I have it hanging from the ceiling in the center of my garage and plugged into the outlet for the door opener. All-in-all it is a well-made unit, heavy gauge materials. In order to mount it, I detached the reel from the bracket, mounted the bracket. reattached the reel to the bracket, and then ran the cord across the ceiling to the out let. It looks and works well. The only issue I have (which is one that is mentioned here in another review) is that it needs a stronger rewind spring to help pull the last 4 - 6 feet of cord into the reel. I have learned that I need to just let it go and let the momentum of the reel pull it in. Also, it sometimes doesn't pack the cord back on the reel evenly, which causes it to bunch up and keep the reel from retracting completely. Other than that, I would buy it again."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works as it should

,
May 7, 2012
By FL52
from FL
"Purchased this retractable extension cable for the garage. it mounted easily on the ceiling in the center of the garage and allows access to power both inside and outdoors. It is easy to pull out enough cable for every project and it easily retracts. I give 4 stars only because I have only had it for a couple of months and hope it is built to last."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not Holding Out Hope

,
May 7, 2012
By USAF93
from Hampton VA
"This product is cheaply made and I should have returned it. Had it only been $20 I would feel better about it. Every time I go to retract it I have to make several attempts to get it to go back in. I don't use it often so maybe it will last a while. Next time I won't cheap out and pay for the quality. Buy quality cry once, buy cheap and you cry twice. Dad's words still ring clear. I should have listened."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

No more tripping

,
January 17, 2012
By harleyrd
from Marshall,MO
"Luv this product, now i dont have cords all over the shop floor, that i tripped on all the time. Easy install from the trusses of my shop."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.