Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"

"ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"

Item# 162445
"40ft. 12/3 SJT, 15 Amp cord retracts into an impact-resistant polypropylene plastic case for tangle free winding and protection during storage. Mounts on wall or ceiling and swivels 180 for easy access. For use in temperatures less than 60C 140F. Indoor use only. Outlets qty. 3, UL Listed Yes, Amps 15, Plug Type 3-prong, Lead-in Cord Length ft. 4.5, Length ft. 40, Cord Size 12/3, Swivel degree 180, Swivels Yes, Color Red w/Yellow cord, Automatic Rewind Yes, Mount Type Wall or ceiling. Retractable cord keeps work area neat and supply connectors at the necessary working length 12ga. cord handles up to 15 Amps Impact-resistant polypropylene plastic case for years of durability Adjustable cord stop to set the cord in your desired position 54in. lead-in cord extends your plug in options 14 1/2in.L x 11 1/4in.W x 5 3/4in.H overall dimensions Designed for indoor use only"
Average Customer Rating:
3.925 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(241 Reviews) 241
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (241 reviews)
5 stars
100
4 stars
76
3 stars
31
2 stars
15
1 star
19
197 of 241(82%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 48 Answers
Customer Reviews for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Review 21 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cord Reel - 12/3 3 plug reel

,
December 3, 2015
By
from Florida
I purchased this because it is 12 gauge wire. The 3 plug capability is a plus.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not Rated For Outdoor Use

,
November 22, 2015
By
from TN
I bought these to be used outdoors to get plug in block heaters on deisel trucks. I found out that they only for indoor use once they arrived. I am now mounting them in other areas I need heavy cords.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

roll-up extension

,
November 20, 2015
By
from pollock pines , CA
snags a bit when retracting , but works as advertised .
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shop addition

,
November 16, 2015
By
from Spring Hill Tn.
I mounted it to the ceiling . It so nice not having to drag a cord around the shop and not having cords on the floor.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Retract reel cord

,
November 12, 2015
By
from Chesapeake, VA
I have 4 of these, work great around the shop. Has heavy cord for heavy load tools, it will pop the circuit breaker with a lot of cutting with a chop saw
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT

,
October 30, 2015
By
from Plymouth MN
Works great mounts easy to wall keeps extension cords off the floor when not being used. Heavy duty 12AWG cord allows the big tools or the small ones. Three plugs on the end. cord does not get tangled
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well made, durable, easy to install

,
October 12, 2015
By
from Wilton, NH
Very well made product. It does not come with screws to mount the unit, though; and the holes in the mounting bracket are rather large, so you will need to shop for the right kind of screws to mount this.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Expected Better

,
September 29, 2015
By
from Athens, GA
Cord rarely locks when extended, never retracts without a struggle. Very poor quality.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

execellent

,
September 17, 2015
By
from nc
great made using power tools much safer with power cords off the floor elimanating trip hazards.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Tough Reel

,
September 12, 2015
By
from Fontana, WI
I have owned a number of these, but this is by far the most HEAVY DUTY unit that I haver seen or used.
It is very well built.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great

,
September 8, 2015
By
from Northern VA
I bought this cord reel for my garage. I have only used it a couple times but so far so good. It is exactly what I wanted.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Product

,
August 24, 2015
By
from Minnesota
Great value for the price!! Well built and easy to hang.
Cord pulls out smoothly and retracts easily.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Pretty Good Reel for the Money

,
August 17, 2015
By
from North East
As it has been said before, the reel is really quite good for the money. The 12ga wiring is nice and the three outlet plug is great. My biggest complaint is about the jamming. I have never gotten it to retract on its own w/o intervention. I have to walk over to the reel and guide it on the spool. And due to the fully enclosed plastic case you have to spool it pretty evenly to get it all in as there isn't much room for error. If it was fully open like the air reels it would be much better IMO. Otherwise it is pretty good and is very handy.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ended cord clutter

,
August 17, 2015
By
from Hurst, Texas
This reel has worked great. I now have a central extension cord for easy use within my shop or outside. I no longer have cords cluttering the floor.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Priced right for the expected service demands

,
August 11, 2015
By
from Montgomery Village, MD
This is a solid cord reel nearly identical to one I purchased in 2004. The internal ratcheting teeth are likely plastic and will wear our soon if used regularly. However, with limited use, it will serve well for many years. You get what you pay for - there's a reason the industrial versions cost hundreds of dollars more. I'm very satisfied with this reel in my garage.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

GOOD BARGAIN

,
July 30, 2015
By
from DENVER
THIS REEL WORKS WELL, HOWEVER WHEN ROLLING UP IT TAKES A COUPLE TIMES TO GET ALL THE CORD IN WITHOUT IT JAMBING. IT WOULD BE BETTER IF THE OUTSIDE CASE WAS A LITTLE LARGER. BUT GOOD QUALITY CORD AND REEL FOR THE PRICE.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far So good

,
July 22, 2015
By
from South East Utah
Product was easy to install and works well. It has made things a lot easier when there are several people working in my shop (getting them out of my shop to work outside with ease!)
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Unit.

,
July 13, 2015
By
from OKC
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Cord seems of good quality and duty. Can't comment regarding durability as just recently installed. Did notice upon retraction the cord would hang up or seem at times a little fussy. Can't say I'd expect much trouble for the light use I'll put it through.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product for the price

,
July 11, 2015
By
from Searcy, AR
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I have been using this product since mid November 14. Still working well July 11,2015. I do not use a lot. I read the customer reviews about the problem with the cord not wanting to wind all the way up & figured I could manage through with a little common sense. All you have to do is make sure the cord doesn't wind up all on 1 side or another & let it go fast when the cord is close to being wound up & there is no issues. The cord fills up the entire space since it is a 12/3awg heavy duty cord. I wanted the heavy duty to be able to run heavier power equipment. I mounted to ceiling in my garage & works great.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Power Cord Reel

,
July 9, 2015
By
from Portland Oregon
We have several of these in the plant; one in QC and one in the welding department. They get used everyday. QC's reel would not rool up after a year and the welding dept's won't lock in place. Replaced with same and will seem how the next two do. Recommend them only due to cost effectiveness.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.