Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"

"ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"

Item# 162445
"40-ft. 12/3 SJT, 15 Amp cord retracts into an impact-resistant polypropylene plastic case for tangle free winding and protection during storage. Mounts on wall or ceiling and swivels 180 for easy access. For use in temperatures less than 60C 140F. Indoor use only. UL listed. Color Red w/Yellow cord, Lead-in Cord Length ft. 4.5, Length ft. 40, Amps 15, Swivel degree 180, Automatic Rewind Yes, Swivels Yes, UL Listed Yes, Mount Type Wall or ceiling, Cord Size 12/3, Outlets qty. 3, Plug Type 3-prong. Retractable cord keeps work area neat and supply connectors at the necessary working length 12ga. cord handles up to 15 Amps Impact-resistant polypropylene plastic case for years of durability Adjustable cord stop to set the cord in your desired position 54in. lead-in cord extends your plug in options 14 1/2in.L x 11 1/4in.W x 5 3/4in.H overall dimensions Designed for indoor use only"
Average Customer Rating:
3.804 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(163 Reviews) 163
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (163 reviews)
5 stars
62
4 stars
52
3 stars
21
2 stars
11
1 star
17
128 of 163(79%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 35 Answers
Customer Reviews for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Review 21 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Retractable Cord Reel

,
August 8, 2014
By Wen1
from St. Louis, MO
" Use of this product is really self explanatory. It functions perfectly and as advertised. It makes all of the chores that I previously had to rig up an extension cord in my garage to accomplish, infinitely simpler to get done. A real time saver! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

ReelWorks Retratable Cord Reel

,
July 29, 2014
By xyzz
from IA
" I have both the 40ft reel and the 65ft reel the 65ft reel works like it should and has plenty of room for the cord. The 40ft reel does not have enough room in the case for the cord to wind properly. You need to move the cord right and left to get it wound without binding inside the case, I would rather spend more money for the one that works. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very impressed

,
July 29, 2014
By BrianCA
from CA
" I recently purchased a home with a nice sized shop. This was one of my first purchases and although early on I am impressed with the cord reel. Last weekend I completed a project with my MIG welder and needed to get the unit closer to the work. I utilized the new cord reel and was surprised that it was able to handle both the welder and a grinder without tripping the reset. Very happy with this purchase. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didn't last 6mos in my shop

,
July 17, 2014
By micnet
from St. Louis, MO
" We mounted this in our shop so we could keep extension cords out of the way when not in use. It worked pretty well for about 6 months. It doesn't retract all that well but it finally just stopped working. The circuit breaker button does nothing. So now it's just a decoration on the wall. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Electric Cord Reel

,
July 2, 2014
By bdf1
from Spokane, WA
" Pretty nice reel. I ordered 5 of them to place strategically around the shop. Extremely convenient to just reach for an extension cord whenever/wherever you need one. Only Issue I've seen on two of them the reels seem to get stuck when rewinding. It looks like the opening for the cord is too small and seems to bind up one out of every 3 or 4 times. No big I guess, just pull down and try again, usually works and retracts normally. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Failed in 3 months

,
March 31, 2014
By RailmanUSA
from Colorado
" Product internal electrical contact on the spool failed after 3 months of use. Thought it was the circuit breaker on the plug at first, but found the defect on the spool, as you pull the cord in and out the tool would go on and off. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Doesn't self-rewind very well

,
March 4, 2014
By Jawn
from Metro-lanta
" At first glance, it looks like a great reel... but looks can be deceiving. It takes several tries to rewind the cord. I didn't buy a cord reel to fidget with it to make it rewind, so it's going back to the store. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Product

,
February 5, 2014
By prefcomm1
from Butner, NC
" The only improvement would be a more reliable retraction of the power cable. Product works well; installation was easy. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well

,
February 4, 2014
By Peefman
from Hayward, Wi
" This product is very handy as when mounted is always there to pull and use. Sometimes you need to allow the cord to go back it slowly to keep from binding but otherwise works very well. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

works great for garage

,
February 4, 2014
By csr1975
from harman ,wv
" easy for me to get to if need to work on stuff in garage easily pullable for my wife worked great for us thus far "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Product

,
February 4, 2014
By Zebulon
from Royalton, Minnesota
" Bought and installed this about 1 year ago.. has worked well, keeps cords out of the way.... I installed it on the ceiling of my shop and would recommend this product. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Gets Job Done

,
February 4, 2014
By WM12
from Hartford, CT
" It's good for the money. Worth it if on sale like it goes every few months. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Does not lock

,
December 2, 2013
By Mark3474
from Chico
" I bought the 33' version. Seems well built. Only beef is that the cord rarely locks when the cord is pulled out. Usually have to tie it to something, or hold it down with a foot. But it retracts fully and reliably. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

lasted only years years with minimal use

,
November 12, 2013
By Sonic30
from Columbia sc
" I did not abuse the reel and only used it occasionally. It's installed in my garage. Northern tool told me the warranty is for one year only. There is no way to disassemble the plug that I can find. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Does not retract well

,
November 7, 2013
By RTTool
from New York, NY
" I have two of these cord retractors and I am very disappointed with their performance. We have to hand feed the cords back into them and they are constantly getting stuck. The feeder should distribute the cord evenly or they should make the housing larger to accommodate the cord when it is not perfectly distributed on the reel. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A fantastic cord reel for a more civilized age

,
April 24, 2013
By zombieprepared
from Largo, Florida
" I bought of these about a year ago and hung it in my garage. Use it every few days when I'm dragging power tools out into my driveway. Pulls smooth, retracts smooth. Once you learn how to retract it (slight tug, then back and forth motion to reel properly, it works every time. I was so impressed that I bought a 2nd unit for my shed and back yard area. Nice waterproof case too, so it gets rained on and nothing has rusted. This is comparable in performance to the much more expensive model I had at my last shop (just a bit shorter at 40 feet of cord). "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

handy power hook up

,
April 24, 2013
By topjimy5
from oxford,nj
" I have limited outlets in my garage. I was able to double my capacity by hanging the Reel Works retractable cord from the garage door opener outlets on the ceiling. I leave them plugged in all the time and when I'm done I retract the cord and let it hang. Its all ready for the next time and its out of the way. Great product, time saver, and organizer. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT

,
April 23, 2013
By Knez
from Monroe, MI
" Bought on sale for my trucks engine heater. Sale price was excellent. Shipping was quicker than expected. Use in around the garage all summer long. Tough product that has taken some abuse. I have had this for 2 years now (I like to review products after I have used them for quite a while) and would definitely recommend it when it's on sale. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good value for the money, medium duty

,
April 23, 2013
By Sooch
from Fort Worth, Texas
" Although I see other reviewers talk about a weak spring -- I would agree. However, this unit is still dutiful enough to provide medium duty for a home handyman. I use it frequently for all outdoor work that requires electrical. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works Great

,
April 23, 2013
By chop25
from Iowa
" Purchased two one for farm shop and one for my garage. Both work great and are easy to use. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.