Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"

"ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"

Item# 162445
"40-ft. 12/3 SJT, 15 Amp cord retracts into an impact-resistant polypropylene plastic case for tangle free winding and protection during storage. Mounts on wall or ceiling and swivels 180 for easy access. For use in temperatures less than 60C 140F. Indoor use only. Outlets qty. 3, UL Listed Yes, Lead-in Cord Length ft. 4.5, Length ft. 40, Cord Size 12/3, Amps 15, Plug Type 3-prong, Color Red w/Yellow cord, Swivel degree 180, Swivels Yes, Automatic Rewind Yes, Mount Type Wall or ceiling. Retractable cord keeps work area neat and supply connectors at the necessary working length 12ga. cord handles up to 15 Amps Impact-resistant polypropylene plastic case for years of durability Adjustable cord stop to set the cord in your desired position 54in. lead-in cord extends your plug in options 14 1/2in.L x 11 1/4in.W x 5 3/4in.H overall dimensions Designed for indoor use only"
Average Customer Rating:
3.886 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(210 Reviews) 210
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (210 reviews)
5 stars
84
4 stars
67
3 stars
27
2 stars
15
1 star
17
169 of 210(80%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 45 Answers
Customer Reviews for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Review 1 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Product

,
August 24, 2015
By
from Minnesota
" Great value for the price!! Well built and easy to hang.
Cord pulls out smoothly and retracts easily.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Pretty Good Reel for the Money

,
August 17, 2015
By
from North East
" As it has been said before, the reel is really quite good for the money. The 12ga wiring is nice and the three outlet plug is great. My biggest complaint is about the jamming. I have never gotten it to retract on its own w/o intervention. I have to walk over to the reel and guide it on the spool. And due to the fully enclosed plastic case you have to spool it pretty evenly to get it all in as there isn't much room for error. If it was fully open like the air reels it would be much better IMO. Otherwise it is pretty good and is very handy. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ended cord clutter

,
August 17, 2015
By
from Hurst, Texas
" This reel has worked great. I now have a central extension cord for easy use within my shop or outside. I no longer have cords cluttering the floor. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Priced right for the expected service demands

,
August 11, 2015
By
from Montgomery Village, MD
" This is a solid cord reel nearly identical to one I purchased in 2004. The internal ratcheting teeth are likely plastic and will wear our soon if used regularly. However, with limited use, it will serve well for many years. You get what you pay for - there's a reason the industrial versions cost hundreds of dollars more. I'm very satisfied with this reel in my garage. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

GOOD BARGAIN

,
July 30, 2015
By
from DENVER
" THIS REEL WORKS WELL, HOWEVER WHEN ROLLING UP IT TAKES A COUPLE TIMES TO GET ALL THE CORD IN WITHOUT IT JAMBING. IT WOULD BE BETTER IF THE OUTSIDE CASE WAS A LITTLE LARGER. BUT GOOD QUALITY CORD AND REEL FOR THE PRICE. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far So good

,
July 22, 2015
By
from South East Utah
" Product was easy to install and works well. It has made things a lot easier when there are several people working in my shop (getting them out of my shop to work outside with ease!) "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Unit.

,
July 13, 2015
By
from OKC
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" Cord seems of good quality and duty. Can't comment regarding durability as just recently installed. Did notice upon retraction the cord would hang up or seem at times a little fussy. Can't say I'd expect much trouble for the light use I'll put it through. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product for the price

,
July 11, 2015
By
from Searcy, AR
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I have been using this product since mid November 14. Still working well July 11,2015. I do not use a lot. I read the customer reviews about the problem with the cord not wanting to wind all the way up & figured I could manage through with a little common sense. All you have to do is make sure the cord doesn't wind up all on 1 side or another & let it go fast when the cord is close to being wound up & there is no issues. The cord fills up the entire space since it is a 12/3awg heavy duty cord. I wanted the heavy duty to be able to run heavier power equipment. I mounted to ceiling in my garage & works great. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Power Cord Reel

,
July 9, 2015
By
from Portland Oregon
" We have several of these in the plant; one in QC and one in the welding department. They get used everyday. QC's reel would not rool up after a year and the welding dept's won't lock in place. Replaced with same and will seem how the next two do. Recommend them only due to cost effectiveness. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extremely useful.

,
June 30, 2015
By
from Murfreesboro, TN
" I now have 3 of these cord reels on my property. One lives in the barn, one in the carport and one in the tractor shed. I have them mounted up high to stay out of the way, but are easily pulled out to use anywhere. Wonderful purchase. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT

,
June 27, 2015
By
from Ft Lauderdale FL
" The product works as advertised. For its price point, it seems very well constructed. The retract mechanism has worked very well so far. The cable seems to be a quality cable and not some cheap cable.
It has worked very well in my garage. I installed one of these instead of installing additional outlets. Now I can set up and use several pieces of equipment where it is most convenient without having to worry about extension cords.
The 40 foot length is very nice. It is long enough to extend far out into my driveway, allowing me to vacuum the cars or fill the tires. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Reserving judgement.

,
June 11, 2015
By
from WA
" The brake doesn't work well. Often difficult to set.
Unit looks flimsy. I don't expect it to hold up well.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!

,
June 8, 2015
By
from Houston, Tx
" Good quality product and rewinds easily. Easy to install. I have used one for about a year with good results. Just bought a second one. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

power everywhere

,
June 5, 2015
By
from chesapeake, va
" I now has three giving me access to power off of 3 different breakers. they will my run table saw and air compressor.I could not be more pleased. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

162445 40 ft Cord Reel

,
June 4, 2015
By
from PA
" We install these on portable equipment we build and have found it the best bang for the buck cord reel. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
June 3, 2015
By
from Myrtle Beach, SC
" I really love this for my garage. Its so easy to access and the 40ft cord is ideal for getting around my garage and even outside. Great product. love the design and function the multi head is also extremely convenient for working on all kinds of projects. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Electrical Cord Reel

,
June 2, 2015
By
from Ventura, CA
" Save time when pulling out miter or table saw for DIY projects. Retracting requires an occasional push if cord is pulled out far but not a problem. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reel works cord 40'

,
May 31, 2015
By
from Justin, TX
" The retractable cord works great. It is much easier to get a cord out for tools now. The three plug end is very useful also. I would recommend this product. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Retractable Reel Cord

,
May 30, 2015
By
from Baton Rouge
" This product has been wonderful. For the cost it is well worth it. I bought one for our shop and had to buy more. I plan on buying more of them to put in many places in my rather large shop. No more people looking for extension cords. So handy to have. It is almost a must to have. Product seems to be durable and 12 gauge wire is big enough to handle just about any hand tool we have. A lot of them come with 14/3 or worse 16/3 I had my doubts because of the price. But so far they are doing quite well. I did not give it a 5 star only because I have not had it long enough to see if it handles the abuse we will put it through. One more thing to add the 3 way on the end of the cord is a nice feature. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Retractable Cord Reel

,
May 29, 2015
By
from Alabama
" +++++ = Retractable - Wall or Ceiling mountable - Will swivel - Triple outlet on cord end - 40' Cord - Reset button - 12 guage - Price
Now have three; no more tripping over extension cords on floor.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.