Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord

ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord

Item# 162445
40-ft. 12/3 SJT, 15 Amp cord retracts into an impact-resistant polypropylene plastic case for tangle free winding and protection during storage. Mounts on wall or ceiling and swivels 180 for easy access. For use in temperatures less than 60C 140F. Indoor use only. UL listed. Plug Type 3-prong, UL Listed Yes, Swivel degree 180, Outlets qty. 3, Swivels Yes, Lead-in Cord Length ft. 4.5, Amps 15, Color Red w/Yellow cord, Mount Type Wall or ceiling, Cord Size 12/3, Length ft. 40, Automatic Rewind Yes. Retractable cord keeps work area neat and supply connectors at the necessary working length 12ga. cord handles up to 15 Amps Impact-resistant polypropylene plastic case for years of durability Adjustable cord stop to set the cord in your desired position 54in. lead-in cord extends your plug in options 14 1/2in.L x 11 1/4in.W x 5 3/4in.H overall dimensions Designed for indoor use only
Average Customer Rating:
3.775 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(138 Reviews) 138
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (138 reviews)
5 stars
52
4 stars
43
3 stars
19
2 stars
8
1 star
16
108 of 138(78%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer Reviews for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Review 1 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Failed in 3 months

,
March 31, 2014
By RailmanUSA
from Colorado
"Product internal electrical contact on the spool failed after 3 months of use. Thought it was the circuit breaker on the plug at first, but found the defect on the spool, as you pull the cord in and out the tool would go on and off."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Doesn't self-rewind very well

,
March 4, 2014
By Jawn
from Metro-lanta
"At first glance, it looks like a great reel... but looks can be deceiving. It takes several tries to rewind the cord. I didn't buy a cord reel to fidget with it to make it rewind, so it's going back to the store."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Product

,
February 5, 2014
By prefcomm1
from Butner, NC
"The only improvement would be a more reliable retraction of the power cable. Product works well; installation was easy."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well

,
February 4, 2014
By Peefman
from Hayward, Wi
"This product is very handy as when mounted is always there to pull and use. Sometimes you need to allow the cord to go back it slowly to keep from binding but otherwise works very well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

works great for garage

,
February 4, 2014
By csr1975
from harman ,wv
"easy for me to get to if need to work on stuff in garage easily pullable for my wife worked great for us thus far"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Product

,
February 4, 2014
By Zebulon
from Royalton, Minnesota
"Bought and installed this about 1 year ago.. has worked well, keeps cords out of the way.... I installed it on the ceiling of my shop and would recommend this product."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Gets Job Done

,
February 4, 2014
By WM12
from Hartford, CT
"It's good for the money. Worth it if on sale like it goes every few months."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Does not lock

,
December 2, 2013
By Mark3474
from Chico
"I bought the 33' version. Seems well built. Only beef is that the cord rarely locks when the cord is pulled out. Usually have to tie it to something, or hold it down with a foot. But it retracts fully and reliably."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

lasted only years years with minimal use

,
November 12, 2013
By Sonic30
from Columbia sc
"I did not abuse the reel and only used it occasionally. It's installed in my garage. Northern tool told me the warranty is for one year only. There is no way to disassemble the plug that I can find."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Does not retract well

,
November 7, 2013
By RTTool
from New York, NY
"I have two of these cord retractors and I am very disappointed with their performance. We have to hand feed the cords back into them and they are constantly getting stuck. The feeder should distribute the cord evenly or they should make the housing larger to accommodate the cord when it is not perfectly distributed on the reel."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A fantastic cord reel for a more civilized age

,
April 24, 2013
By zombieprepared
from Largo, Florida
"I bought of these about a year ago and hung it in my garage. Use it every few days when I'm dragging power tools out into my driveway. Pulls smooth, retracts smooth. Once you learn how to retract it (slight tug, then back and forth motion to reel properly, it works every time. I was so impressed that I bought a 2nd unit for my shed and back yard area. Nice waterproof case too, so it gets rained on and nothing has rusted. This is comparable in performance to the much more expensive model I had at my last shop (just a bit shorter at 40 feet of cord)."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

handy power hook up

,
April 24, 2013
By topjimy5
from oxford,nj
"I have limited outlets in my garage. I was able to double my capacity by hanging the Reel Works retractable cord from the garage door opener outlets on the ceiling. I leave them plugged in all the time and when I'm done I retract the cord and let it hang. Its all ready for the next time and its out of the way. Great product, time saver, and organizer."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT

,
April 23, 2013
By Knez
from Monroe, MI
"Bought on sale for my trucks engine heater. Sale price was excellent. Shipping was quicker than expected. Use in around the garage all summer long. Tough product that has taken some abuse. I have had this for 2 years now (I like to review products after I have used them for quite a while) and would definitely recommend it when it's on sale."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good value for the money, medium duty

,
April 23, 2013
By Sooch
from Fort Worth, Texas
"Although I see other reviewers talk about a weak spring -- I would agree. However, this unit is still dutiful enough to provide medium duty for a home handyman. I use it frequently for all outdoor work that requires electrical."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works Great

,
April 23, 2013
By chop25
from Iowa
"Purchased two one for farm shop and one for my garage. Both work great and are easy to use."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

handyman

,
April 23, 2013
By blkbart
from wisconsin
"Works great just what I needed save taking out extension cords everytime"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Junk right out of the box

,
April 6, 2013
By DisappointedInNorthern
from Dallas, TX
"The only thing that works as advertised is it was easy to hang on the ceiling. The reel spring is weak, the reel is too small, and the outer case is too small which results in the cord not being able to fully retract on its own. The cord also gets stuck when being pulled from the case. Save yourself the headache and buy another brand. On the bright side, the lead in cord and main cord are 12 awg and the triple tap molded plug seem to be decent quality."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too Weak, Poorly Made

,
February 4, 2013
By Tniggs
from Houston, TX
"Sadly I'm on board with the other recent reviews. Right out of the box, it will not spool up all the way. The spring is weak, and the outer casing is too small for all the wire to be coiled in. I even tried pulling it all out, and then slowly feeding it back in to make sure it was on the reel as snug as possible. But it still did not all fit. I will be returning it as soon as possible. Shame, I've been waiting months to buy one, and finally did just to have my hopes crushed."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Reelworks

,
January 7, 2013
By Db12158
from Albany, N.Y.
"I thought this product would be a good addition to my garage. After placing my order, I looked forward to delivery. After I received and installed it, I found that it did not retract all the way, It left about 10 to 12 ft of wire exposed. Also, the lead in wire is a smaller gauge then the main lead."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

no good

,
December 4, 2012
By sr71
from Richmond, TX
"bought one - returned it.....just like the others said, the spring is too weak - won't rewind reliably. I even opened it up and wound a couple more turns of preload in it.....didn't help at all. How hard can it be to put a decent spring in one of these things?
and just an FYI, after i got home and looked at my receipt, I noticed the clerk had marked it as : saleable - customer didn't want; after I told her it didn't work as advertised.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.