Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"

"ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"

Item# 162445
"40-ft. 12/3 SJT, 15 Amp cord retracts into an impact-resistant polypropylene plastic case for tangle free winding and protection during storage. Mounts on wall or ceiling and swivels 180 for easy access. For use in temperatures less than 60C 140F. Indoor use only. UL listed. Color Red w/Yellow cord, Lead-in Cord Length ft. 4.5, Length ft. 40, Amps 15, Swivel degree 180, Automatic Rewind Yes, Swivels Yes, UL Listed Yes, Mount Type Wall or ceiling, Cord Size 12/3, Outlets qty. 3, Plug Type 3-prong. Retractable cord keeps work area neat and supply connectors at the necessary working length 12ga. cord handles up to 15 Amps Impact-resistant polypropylene plastic case for years of durability Adjustable cord stop to set the cord in your desired position 54in. lead-in cord extends your plug in options 14 1/2in.L x 11 1/4in.W x 5 3/4in.H overall dimensions Designed for indoor use only"
Average Customer Rating:
3.799 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(164 Reviews) 164
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (164 reviews)
5 stars
62
4 stars
52
3 stars
22
2 stars
11
1 star
17
128 of 164(78%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 35 Answers
Customer Reviews for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Review 1 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Does not lock and retract properly

,
December 18, 2014
By jpeery
from Roanoke, VA
" Purchased this reel hoping to use it in my garage where outlets are not easily accessible. However when I pull the cord out, many times it will not lock in place and wants to retract. And when it does lock, it does not want to retract fully. Deciding whether to exchange for another one or return and try another brand. Seems others are having similar issues. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Retractable extention

,
December 16, 2014
By Bigdogjumanjiid
from Boise! ID
" This is a good and affordable sulution for the garage but not for industry work. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Weak rewind

,
December 16, 2014
By weldershop
from Colorado
" I have this mounted on a higher ceiling, and the coil wont rewind all the way without assistance. The weight of the chord prevents it from rewinding properly. I have other ReelWorks products and they spring back with much more force than this product does. I am in need of another one, but I will be going with a different brand. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Retractable Cord Reel

,
December 15, 2014
By Cathyw35
from Wixom, Michigan
" Our company custom designs filtration systems and this cord reel is used in our system. It is sturdy enough to withstand industrial environments and is reasonably priced. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Where have you been?

,
December 11, 2014
By RGMV
from Keizer, OR
" I should have purchased one of these years ago, but didn't do so due to the high prices and the reels usually having 14/3 wire. This unit is great, and I can't believe how much I use it. It's placed with the shop where it reaches all locations, as well as outside the garage door. Glad I purchased, and will no doubt get more. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product.

,
December 10, 2014
By Pepperhead
from w. Mich.
" Better than I thought it would be. Works like a champ "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best for the price

,
November 23, 2014
By dlr5542
from georgia
" Heavy duty 12/3 wire works great with any tool. Just long enough to reach all of shop. Outstanding. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good stuff

,
November 13, 2014
By Mikelthom
from Grand Isle, LA
" I use extension cords almost daily. This retractable reel was easy to install and is very easy to use. I wish I had bought it 20 years ago. Make that 40 years ago. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works

,
November 9, 2014
By np52800
from Goshen, IN
" Works, for now. I use it in the insulated garage and hope it works good in the cold. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick and easy mount. Ready to use.

,
November 5, 2014
By RJ7800
from Canton Mi
" Very nice reel, 40 ft is perfect for my cave/garagemahal.
I would recommend this to anybody in the market. The price was really sweet as well.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cord Reel

,
November 4, 2014
By mgk112
from Sunbury, Ohio
" Works smooth - nice quality - right price - great addition to shop - I bought 2 "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good but need to manage retraction

,
October 26, 2014
By MikesGarage1
from Albany, NY
" Nice, heavy duty unit. Love the construction. The housing is not large enough for the winding. When retracting, you need to make sure it coils up back and forth a bit inside so that is doesn't rewind all on one side or it will jam. A bit of a pain but not a crisis. Love the 3 prong grounded end and heavy cord, etc. It's heavy and seems sturdy. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

POOR QUALITY CONTROL

,
October 8, 2014
By kennyb4913
from Virginia Beach, VA
" I purchased 3 of these. All had 1 of the 3 outlets did note work. I wasn't too worried as that left 2 outlets still usable. After awhile, other outlets went bad, and also 1 reel the circuit breaker went bad. They look like they are heavy duty, but not holding up well at all plus initial issues. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cord reel

,
October 6, 2014
By buyer111
from Wisconsin
" Exactly what we needed to keep shop floor clean and trip hazard free. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Decent Reel for the $

,
September 18, 2014
By jx75deere
from Raleigh, NC
" Seems to work fine so far. A little cheap feeling but I think it will do the trick for a few years in my warehouse. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handy Item

,
August 28, 2014
By Kropie01
from Toms River, NJ
" The cord reel is a very handy item to have, especially when you have to run an extension outside of your garage. It saves time and aggravation in having to get an extension cord, unwind it, plug it in, rewind it , and put it away. All you have to do is pull it out, lock it in place , use it, and let it rewind by itself. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

A little disappointed

,
August 25, 2014
By LovemyMountain
from East Tennessee
" The one problem that I have noticed is that when rewinding the cord, if you do not make sure that the cord is moving back and forth on the rewinding wheel, it will stay in one place and stop the rewinding because the cord is to full in one spot. Then again it could just be the person doing it which is me and I just haven't practiced with it enough. Other than that I really like it. It's a handy gadget. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Retractable Cord Reel

,
August 21, 2014
By Deasonboy
from Birmingham, AL
" Very heavy duty and extends well. I hung in my garage ceiling. The only negative comment about this product is it does not always retract fully on the first try. It takes multiple pull attempts and just the right speed and release to get it to pull all the cord back in the reel. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I needed

,
August 16, 2014
By RealUser
from GA
" I've been debating this purchase for a long time. Wish I had not waited. Product works great. You do occasionally have to help the cord feed evenly into the reel, and you can't just "snap and release" and expect it to feed into reel. If you treat it with a little care though, it works great. Get it on sale and use your coupons and it's an unbeatable deal. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Really Good, But...

,
August 13, 2014
By BigJoeE
from Long Island
" It's just as handy as I thought it would be. I only wish it was manufactured with better materials. I expected it to be made of plastic, of course, but I just wish it was a better quality plastic. Hope it's durable enough to stand the test of time. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.