Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"

"ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"

Item# 162445
"40-ft. 12/3 SJT, 15 Amp cord retracts into an impact-resistant polypropylene plastic case for tangle free winding and protection during storage. Mounts on wall or ceiling and swivels 180 for easy access. For use in temperatures less than 60C 140F. Indoor use only. UL listed. Cord Size 12/3, Outlets qty. 3, UL Listed Yes, Length ft. 40, Automatic Rewind Yes, Mount Type Wall or ceiling, Color Red w/Yellow cord, Swivel degree 180, Swivels Yes, Lead-in Cord Length ft. 4.5, Amps 15, Plug Type 3-prong. Retractable cord keeps work area neat and supply connectors at the necessary working length 12ga. cord handles up to 15 Amps Impact-resistant polypropylene plastic case for years of durability Adjustable cord stop to set the cord in your desired position 54in. lead-in cord extends your plug in options 14 1/2in.L x 11 1/4in.W x 5 3/4in.H overall dimensions Designed for indoor use only"
Average Customer Rating:
3.833 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(174 Reviews) 174
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (174 reviews)
5 stars
67
4 stars
56
3 stars
23
2 stars
11
1 star
17
137 of 174(79%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 44 Answers
Customer Reviews for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Review 1 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cord Reel

,
February 23, 2015
By Pap1
from Forest, MS
" I use cord reel every week- accurate, Good price for great item. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Product

,
January 31, 2015
By Bonemandon
from Marathon, FL
" The product works well and does what it says. You have to be careful when you fully extend the cord because when you go to retract it is necessary to move the cord back and forth to insure the cord does not jam. I have have only had this for a couple of months and it makes things a lot easier than having to drag out a cord for a couple of minutes then having to re-roll it for storage. I like this product. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cord Reel Excellent!

,
January 29, 2015
By JamieT
from The OC
" Exactly what I wanted and expected. Not heavy duty and not too expensive. Liked it so much I bought a second for Dad's birthday! Put it up quickly and it is so much easier to plug in the shop vac than reaching across the workbench . Just reach up and pull my extension cord out to the car. No tangled cord to unwind. Wish they would provide a small paper template so I could align my drill holes better. Guessed where to put my pilot holes because of the rounded top of the unit. As usual, I was off by a 1/4". No one can see it but it bugs me that I didn't get my bracket flush against the 2x4. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
January 27, 2015
By gman75
from Oak Hills, CA
" I've been wanting one of these forever! I just bought two, one for each side of my shop. They work great and are very handy. The GFI likes to pop when I try to start my Burr King so I removed it, doesn't bother me because I didn't realize it came with a GFI anyway. My only regret is not getting one sooner "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solid reel for the money

,
January 24, 2015
By SeamasR
from Middletown, CT
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" Did not want to worry about current capacity so was looking for a 12 gauge conductor reel for the garage. This fits the bill.
Works well. You do have to jiggle it a bit to retract when it is cold (20 's or lower) but not a real problem.
Only thing keeping it from 5 stars is lack of instructions on how to separate the reel body from the swivel frame temporarily for mounting of the frame. You don't want to have to hold up the whole reel with one hand, position the frame with another, then screw in lag bolts with yet another (you get the picture). Took a few minutes to figure out which screws to take out. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works OK

,
January 22, 2015
By moabmike8565
from dubuque,ia
" Good deal for the price, however the retract mechanism on mine (mounted horizontally) tends to not retract fully without pulling and tugging a few times "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great item

,
January 18, 2015
By lawntom
from kansas
" easy to set up, the real moves smoothly and makes clean up fast. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great gift

,
December 28, 2014
By Donalee86
from Omaha, NE
" This was purchase as a Chistmas gift for my dad who is a farmer and mechanic. He was excited to get thisas he has had it on his want list for a while. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extremely Helpful

,
December 23, 2014
By Charlie55407
from Minneapolis
" I was really pleased with the purchase. Sometimes I purchase things with the best of intent. I am sure that they will be useful, but once I get it home, it sits unused.
This is not the case with this reel. It is used every single time I work in my shop. Rather than digging around for the extension cord, which is invariably in the way on the floor, I reach up for this, and stretch it to the tool I'm using.
I probably should have purchased two.
Run, don't walk to purchase this.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

plastic

,
December 19, 2014
By wilsiewildman1
from WV
" Reel works ok so far. I thought it was metal case when I ordered. Worry about it holding up "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-5points
1out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Does not lock and retract properly

,
December 18, 2014
By jpeery
from Roanoke, VA
" Purchased this reel hoping to use it in my garage where outlets are not easily accessible. However when I pull the cord out, many times it will not lock in place and wants to retract. And when it does lock, it does not want to retract fully. Deciding whether to exchange for another one or return and try another brand. Seems others are having similar issues. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Retractable extention

,
December 16, 2014
By Bigdogjumanjiid
from Boise! ID
" This is a good and affordable sulution for the garage but not for industry work. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Weak rewind

,
December 16, 2014
By weldershop
from Colorado
" I have this mounted on a higher ceiling, and the coil wont rewind all the way without assistance. The weight of the chord prevents it from rewinding properly. I have other ReelWorks products and they spring back with much more force than this product does. I am in need of another one, but I will be going with a different brand. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Retractable Cord Reel

,
December 15, 2014
By Cathyw35
from Wixom, Michigan
" Our company custom designs filtration systems and this cord reel is used in our system. It is sturdy enough to withstand industrial environments and is reasonably priced. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Where have you been?

,
December 11, 2014
By RGMV
from Keizer, OR
" I should have purchased one of these years ago, but didn't do so due to the high prices and the reels usually having 14/3 wire. This unit is great, and I can't believe how much I use it. It's placed with the shop where it reaches all locations, as well as outside the garage door. Glad I purchased, and will no doubt get more. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product.

,
December 10, 2014
By Pepperhead
from w. Mich.
" Better than I thought it would be. Works like a champ "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best for the price

,
November 23, 2014
By dlr5542
from georgia
" Heavy duty 12/3 wire works great with any tool. Just long enough to reach all of shop. Outstanding. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good stuff

,
November 13, 2014
By Mikelthom
from Grand Isle, LA
" I use extension cords almost daily. This retractable reel was easy to install and is very easy to use. I wish I had bought it 20 years ago. Make that 40 years ago. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works

,
November 9, 2014
By np52800
from Goshen, IN
" Works, for now. I use it in the insulated garage and hope it works good in the cold. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick and easy mount. Ready to use.

,
November 5, 2014
By RJ7800
from Canton Mi
" Very nice reel, 40 ft is perfect for my cave/garagemahal.
I would recommend this to anybody in the market. The price was really sweet as well.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.