Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"

"ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"

Item# 162445
"40-ft. 12/3 SJT, 15 Amp cord retracts into an impact-resistant polypropylene plastic case for tangle free winding and protection during storage. Mounts on wall or ceiling and swivels 180 for easy access. For use in temperatures less than 60C 140F. Indoor use only. UL listed. Color Red w/Yellow cord, Lead-in Cord Length ft. 4.5, Length ft. 40, Amps 15, Swivel degree 180, Automatic Rewind Yes, Swivels Yes, UL Listed Yes, Mount Type Wall or ceiling, Cord Size 12/3, Outlets qty. 3, Plug Type 3-prong. Retractable cord keeps work area neat and supply connectors at the necessary working length 12ga. cord handles up to 15 Amps Impact-resistant polypropylene plastic case for years of durability Adjustable cord stop to set the cord in your desired position 54in. lead-in cord extends your plug in options 14 1/2in.L x 11 1/4in.W x 5 3/4in.H overall dimensions Designed for indoor use only"
Average Customer Rating:
3.797 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(158 Reviews) 158
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (158 reviews)
5 stars
60
4 stars
50
3 stars
21
2 stars
10
1 star
17
125 of 158(79%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer Reviews for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Review 1 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best for the price

,
November 23, 2014
By dlr5542
from georgia
"Heavy duty 12/3 wire works great with any tool. Just long enough to reach all of shop. Outstanding."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good stuff

,
November 13, 2014
By Mikelthom
from Grand Isle, LA
"I use extension cords almost daily. This retractable reel was easy to install and is very easy to use. I wish I had bought it 20 years ago. Make that 40 years ago."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works

,
November 9, 2014
By np52800
from Goshen, IN
"Works, for now. I use it in the insulated garage and hope it works good in the cold."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick and easy mount. Ready to use.

,
November 5, 2014
By RJ7800
from Canton Mi
"Very nice reel, 40 ft is perfect for my cave/garagemahal.
I would recommend this to anybody in the market. The price was really sweet as well.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cord Reel

,
November 4, 2014
By mgk112
from Sunbury, Ohio
"Works smooth - nice quality - right price - great addition to shop - I bought 2"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good but need to manage retraction

,
October 26, 2014
By MikesGarage1
from Albany, NY
"Nice, heavy duty unit. Love the construction. The housing is not large enough for the winding. When retracting, you need to make sure it coils up back and forth a bit inside so that is doesn't rewind all on one side or it will jam. A bit of a pain but not a crisis. Love the 3 prong grounded end and heavy cord, etc. It's heavy and seems sturdy."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

POOR QUALITY CONTROL

,
October 8, 2014
By kennyb4913
from Virginia Beach, VA
"I purchased 3 of these. All had 1 of the 3 outlets did note work. I wasn't too worried as that left 2 outlets still usable. After awhile, other outlets went bad, and also 1 reel the circuit breaker went bad. They look like they are heavy duty, but not holding up well at all plus initial issues."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cord reel

,
October 6, 2014
By buyer111
from Wisconsin
"Exactly what we needed to keep shop floor clean and trip hazard free."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Decent Reel for the $

,
September 18, 2014
By jx75deere
from Raleigh, NC
"Seems to work fine so far. A little cheap feeling but I think it will do the trick for a few years in my warehouse."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handy Item

,
August 28, 2014
By Kropie01
from Toms River, NJ
"The cord reel is a very handy item to have, especially when you have to run an extension outside of your garage. It saves time and aggravation in having to get an extension cord, unwind it, plug it in, rewind it , and put it away. All you have to do is pull it out, lock it in place , use it, and let it rewind by itself."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

A little disappointed

,
August 25, 2014
By LovemyMountain
from East Tennessee
"The one problem that I have noticed is that when rewinding the cord, if you do not make sure that the cord is moving back and forth on the rewinding wheel, it will stay in one place and stop the rewinding because the cord is to full in one spot. Then again it could just be the person doing it which is me and I just haven't practiced with it enough. Other than that I really like it. It's a handy gadget."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Retractable Cord Reel

,
August 21, 2014
By Deasonboy
from Birmingham, AL
"Very heavy duty and extends well. I hung in my garage ceiling. The only negative comment about this product is it does not always retract fully on the first try. It takes multiple pull attempts and just the right speed and release to get it to pull all the cord back in the reel."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I needed

,
August 16, 2014
By RealUser
from GA
"I've been debating this purchase for a long time. Wish I had not waited. Product works great. You do occasionally have to help the cord feed evenly into the reel, and you can't just "snap and release" and expect it to feed into reel. If you treat it with a little care though, it works great. Get it on sale and use your coupons and it's an unbeatable deal."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Really Good, But...

,
August 13, 2014
By BigJoeE
from Long Island
"It's just as handy as I thought it would be. I only wish it was manufactured with better materials. I expected it to be made of plastic, of course, but I just wish it was a better quality plastic. Hope it's durable enough to stand the test of time."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

retractable elect reel

,
August 9, 2014
By CartWorks
from NC
"I now have three of these in my shop.. They have been very dependable for the last two years.. No problems with the retractable mech. and some of the other reels I have had in the past do not last long before shorting out or the retractable mech breaks. This system has proven out and we use these time and time again each and every day in our business. The cord is heavy duty and the three way on the end is also heavy duty with ground plugs.. When using the three way, we do not trip the built in circuit breaker.. other units will not allow you to plug in three tools at a time without tripping the breaker..Purchase this with confidence."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Retractable Cord Reel

,
August 8, 2014
By Wen1
from St. Louis, MO
"Use of this product is really self explanatory. It functions perfectly and as advertised. It makes all of the chores that I previously had to rig up an extension cord in my garage to accomplish, infinitely simpler to get done. A real time saver!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

ReelWorks Retratable Cord Reel

,
July 29, 2014
By xyzz
from IA
"I have both the 40ft reel and the 65ft reel the 65ft reel works like it should and has plenty of room for the cord. The 40ft reel does not have enough room in the case for the cord to wind properly. You need to move the cord right and left to get it wound without binding inside the case, I would rather spend more money for the one that works."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very impressed

,
July 29, 2014
By BrianCA
from CA
"I recently purchased a home with a nice sized shop. This was one of my first purchases and although early on I am impressed with the cord reel. Last weekend I completed a project with my MIG welder and needed to get the unit closer to the work. I utilized the new cord reel and was surprised that it was able to handle both the welder and a grinder without tripping the reset. Very happy with this purchase."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didn't last 6mos in my shop

,
July 17, 2014
By micnet
from St. Louis, MO
"We mounted this in our shop so we could keep extension cords out of the way when not in use. It worked pretty well for about 6 months. It doesn't retract all that well but it finally just stopped working. The circuit breaker button does nothing. So now it's just a decoration on the wall."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40Ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Electric Cord Reel

,
July 2, 2014
By bdf1
from Spokane, WA
"Pretty nice reel. I ordered 5 of them to place strategically around the shop. Extremely convenient to just reach for an extension cord whenever/wherever you need one. Only Issue I've seen on two of them the reels seem to get stuck when rewinding. It looks like the opening for the cord is too small and seems to bind up one out of every 3 or 4 times. No big I guess, just pull down and try again, usually works and retracts normally."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.