Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"

"ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"

Item# 162445
"40ft. 12/3 SJT, 15 Amp cord retracts into an impact-resistant polypropylene plastic case for tangle free winding and protection during storage. Mounts on wall or ceiling and swivels 180 for easy access. For use in temperatures less than 60C 140F. Indoor use only. Outlets qty. 3, UL Listed Yes, Amps 15, Plug Type 3-prong, Cord Size 12/3, Lead-in Cord Length ft. 4.5, Length ft. 40, Color Red w/Yellow cord, Swivel degree 180, Swivels Yes, Automatic Rewind Yes, Mount Type Wall or ceiling. Retractable cord keeps work area neat and supply connectors at the necessary working length 12ga. cord handles up to 15 Amps Impact-resistant polypropylene plastic case for years of durability Adjustable cord stop to set the cord in your desired position 54in. lead-in cord extends your plug in options 14 1/2in.L x 11 1/4in.W x 5 3/4in.H overall dimensions Designed for indoor use only"
Average Customer Rating:
3.934 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(244 Reviews) 244
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (244 reviews)
5 stars
102
4 stars
77
3 stars
31
2 stars
15
1 star
19
200 of 244(82%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 48 Answers
Customer Reviews for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Review 1 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

reel type electric chord

,
February 11, 2016
By
from PA
bought this for tap in electric outlets in front of both car and trk garage bays..put it approx in rafter headers..12' up..pull down for charging batt's or keeping block heaters on overnight..also very handy for running higher amperage rated tools ..wire is definitivly (sp?) of higher QC..could have bought diferrnt class of wire type but i don't want to risk a "burn out" with other models..pulls and locks excellently! has a movable ball that can be made to keep what you want as a starting length for your outlet end..will buy it again if i need another one for third bay. it..arrived in excellent time..no complaints at this time...
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very pleased so far

,
February 10, 2016
By
from Tulsa
I have had this mounted overhead in my shop for a few months now & its been very handy.
No issues at all.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cord and reel

,
February 8, 2016
By
from SC
Product back order held up my entire order, but it seems to be a good product with a sturdy mount.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cord reel 12ga 40'

,
January 27, 2016
By
from Long Island NY.
To be completely honest I haven't used this yet, that being said we have 5 of the 65' @ work I use daily.
They work great, makes it ez to keep cords off the shop floor. I question the utility of the 3 plug end, I would much prefer a single plug w/ a locking plug keeper type thing. But that maybe just me.
So far the spring return is holding up, I've only played out maybe 25' at most so far, but the tension is more than enough to wind it back easily.
I use a 13a grinder daily and have yet to trip the built-in breaker.
This weekend I'll finish the wiring and will use the 40' in my single car garage. I'm really looking forward to not having to roll up extension cords by hand anymore.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Handy and usefull!

,
January 22, 2016
By
from La.
This is used in shop where I work on my Co. trucks and on generators that are brought in. Also handy for table saw and other tools. I always in need of a extension cord and it is right there so I can pull it out, use it and it is put away for next time. Saves time. I use it a lot.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

You can never have enough ... Extension Cords

,
January 21, 2016
By
from Catoosa,OK
Next to clamps the thing I struggle with in my shop is electrical outlets. Everything requires a plug and I wind up with cords everywhere ... unsafe and aggravating. This doesn't solve the problem but it does reduce it.
I mounted it on the back wall of my shop about in the middle so with forty feet of cord I can reach everywhere with one cord. And since it has a three outlet end on it I can at least set up three tools at one time. Since only one tool at a time is used I don't have to worry about overload. And then, if not needed, just pull and walk it back into the reel. No tangle, no mess, no trip! Gotta like that!
I have only had it a month so can't speak to the durability but outer appearance is good. Fairly heavy to pull out so I think that means heavy duty components inside. I would be worried if it spooled out too easy. I do plan to be cautious about rewinding and not just turn it loose to wind up on it's own as I think that would be hard on the spring.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

retractable cord reel

,
January 19, 2016
By
from Beckley , WV
heavy duty 12 gauge cord , works good, easy to install, easy to operate,safer than cord in floor
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cord Reel

,
January 18, 2016
By
from North Carolina
This is something, that I should have bought many years ago. I will never use a regular drop cord inside the shop again. This reel works great and has 20 amp wire on it, so you have all you need for bench work. I hope to get many years of use out of this and it installs very easy, about five minutes.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Retractable Cord Reel - I give it a B+

,
January 14, 2016
By
from Hudson Valley, NY
I bought this to mount on the ceiling of my garage. Steel mount bracket is sturdy. Swivel is nice so the cord feeds in the direction you pull it. Plastic spool construction is OK, a bit flimsy but functional.
12 Ga wire is good for high amp applications such as a circular saw or air compressor. Retract spring just a bit weak but works fine with a little help. I do need to guide the cord in to keep it from stacking itself to where the coil rubs against the housing. Only regret is that I didn't get the 75 footer.
You get what you pay for with this one. It is NOT professional grade, but decent consumer grade that costs less than half as much as pro steel reels.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Cord

,
January 13, 2016
By
from texas
This baby gets the electricity to where I need and it stores nicely in the reel without tangles.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Product

,
January 8, 2016
By
from Las Vegas
Great product for the money. Have purchase much more expensive models and they still break down after a year or two of use. If this makes it a year we are ahead. Looks good too.
Thanks
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cord gets stiff when cold will not retract

,
January 8, 2016
By
from Kentucky
I bought this for a Christmas for my sun-in-law. A few days after the holidays he mounted this cord real in his shop/garage. It was a couple of days after he tried to use it. The weather was about 25 degrees. He pulled the cord out about 15 ft. and tried to let it retract the cord was so stiff from the cold the spring would not let it retract. We are sending it back for a refund.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

A must have for any garage!

,
January 1, 2016
By
from Schertz, Tx
Having this in my garage helps keep things off the floor and more organized. With 40ft of cord it's just enough to gets around the garage and driveway. The reel housing itself is fairly compact and sturdy. Time will tell if it holds up to regular use the one thing that could have been done better is to have it retract more firmly. You may have to guide it into the housing to fully retract but overall a great buy.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

nice cord reel

,
December 30, 2015
By
from NY
This is a nice cord reel that is functional and easy to install. The three plugs on the end are definitely handy. I am curious to see how long the retraction part of this reel will last as it seems mostly plastic but for now it is fine.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Cord Reel

,
December 27, 2015
By
from Central TX
This cord reel works well. The plastic case is not super rigid, but it has not affected function so far. The cord is very high quality. All in all a great value for the price.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A=+

,
December 27, 2015
By
from New Jersey
This work really nice would use it anywhere. Great for trailer motorhomes and garages. Good to have it retracks very nice. Anyone looking for a retractable extention this would be the one to purchase for sure. A+ Quiltly
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

?????

,
December 27, 2015
By
from Great falls mt
Upon arrival i was impressed with the apparant quality of the cord and the reel. It seems to function fine. I will be anxious to see how it holds up over time
It has met my expectations so far
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Mediocre product

,
December 25, 2015
By
from Jamestown,NY
Works, but needs assistance in retracting.
The perfect product would be if ReelWorks could use their air hose reel to wind up the electric extension cord!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Reel Works Electrical Cord

,
December 22, 2015
By
from Clearlake Oaks, CA
The unit is well made and heavy duty. It performs as advertised.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel — 40ft., 12/3 SJ

,
December 19, 2015
By
from Ohio
Only had this a couple weeks but it is very robust in construction and works well. Much heavier than expected and should give years of service if treated right. I'd give it 5 stars if had had more time to use it. And wouldn't one know it, 3 weeks after I bought this they were selling for $10.00 less.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.