Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"

"ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"

Item# 162445
"40-ft. 12/3 SJT, 15 Amp cord retracts into an impact-resistant polypropylene plastic case for tangle free winding and protection during storage. Mounts on wall or ceiling and swivels 180 for easy access. For use in temperatures less than 60C 140F. Indoor use only. UL listed. Outlets qty. 3, Length ft. 40, Cord Size 12/3, Color Red w/Yellow cord, UL Listed Yes, Swivel degree 180, Swivels Yes, Automatic Rewind Yes, Mount Type Wall or ceiling, Lead-in Cord Length ft. 4.5, Amps 15, Plug Type 3-prong. Retractable cord keeps work area neat and supply connectors at the necessary working length 12ga. cord handles up to 15 Amps Impact-resistant polypropylene plastic case for years of durability Adjustable cord stop to set the cord in your desired position 54in. lead-in cord extends your plug in options 14 1/2in.L x 11 1/4in.W x 5 3/4in.H overall dimensions Designed for indoor use only"
Average Customer Rating:
3.838 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(179 Reviews) 179
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (179 reviews)
5 stars
69
4 stars
57
3 stars
25
2 stars
11
1 star
17
141 of 179(79%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 45 Answers
Customer Reviews for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Review 1 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

More For a Wall Than a Ceiling

,
March 28, 2015
By toolbaron
from Orange Park, FL
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" Nice cord reel with its 12/3 and 40" length BUT as the title suggests, easier to hang on a wall than from a ceiling. The ceiling mounting is accomplished ONLY by removing the outer shell casing in order to remove the ceiling mount.
Step 1: Attach the mount (directly to ceiling joist) with lag screws and washers.
Step 2: Lift and place the entire reel (pull the cord out completely to save having to lift the entire weight) in position over the ceiling mount having the cover removed or partially removed.
Step 3: Then place the screws you removed earlier back into the reel and screw in enough to hold it into position.
Step 4: Place the remaining screws into their respective holes and then tighten securely.
WaLa! None of the above is in the directions that come with the unit and Northern Tool cannot offer the service I have given here. Take your time and ask someone to assist.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Cord binds

,
March 26, 2015
By DIYGreg
from MA
" I am really trying to like this product, however it never retracts all the way because the cord binds up inside the case. Either the internal dimensions of the case need to be larger or the cord length shorter. I have to spend extra time to retract it every time, other than that is works as advertised. When the plug eventually wears out, I will probably cut off 5 feet of cord to avoid this. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Handy in the Garage and Yard

,
March 26, 2015
By sfdpm
from Spokane, Wa.
" The reel works as advertised. The cord length is very handy working around the garage and out into the front yard. Installation was easy once you figured out how to get the bracket pins out. The reel did not come with any instructions on how to do so.
The unit comes fully assembled and without instructions I had to start disassembly in the blind. I quickly figured out how to remove and re-install the pins after removing the first screw and starting on the second. If you are looking at the screw side of the unit where the pins are located there are two screws. The top screw is part of the case system. The screw located next to the pin is the one you want. The pins are held in place by that screw which passes through the pin and into the case on the opposite side.
The bracket is easily removed and re-installed once the unit is mounted. The cord length is enough to cover any immediate need and rolls up nicely. It's great having a quick cord in easy reach that rolls up and out of the way quickly without tangles and mess.
I would very much recommend this product to anyone regardless of what your needs are. This would work great for any handyman, DYI'er, or pro. I'm very happy with the purchase. I would have gone 5 stars but for the lack of instructions and parts for installation (no screws, washers, or molly's provided). "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Retractable Coord Reel

,
March 25, 2015
By WeekendWarriorBob
from Darlington, MD
" Works well in my equipment barn. No longer need to roll out standard electrical cord. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

CORD REEL

,
March 19, 2015
By Mrjohn
from S.C.
" Northern has the best price on this hose reel with very fast shipping. product is easy to use "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cord Reel

,
February 23, 2015
By Pap1
from Forest, MS
" I use cord reel every week- accurate, Good price for great item. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Product

,
January 31, 2015
By Bonemandon
from Marathon, FL
" The product works well and does what it says. You have to be careful when you fully extend the cord because when you go to retract it is necessary to move the cord back and forth to insure the cord does not jam. I have have only had this for a couple of months and it makes things a lot easier than having to drag out a cord for a couple of minutes then having to re-roll it for storage. I like this product. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cord Reel Excellent!

,
January 29, 2015
By JamieT
from The OC
" Exactly what I wanted and expected. Not heavy duty and not too expensive. Liked it so much I bought a second for Dad's birthday! Put it up quickly and it is so much easier to plug in the shop vac than reaching across the workbench . Just reach up and pull my extension cord out to the car. No tangled cord to unwind. Wish they would provide a small paper template so I could align my drill holes better. Guessed where to put my pilot holes because of the rounded top of the unit. As usual, I was off by a 1/4". No one can see it but it bugs me that I didn't get my bracket flush against the 2x4. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
January 27, 2015
By gman75
from Oak Hills, CA
" I've been wanting one of these forever! I just bought two, one for each side of my shop. They work great and are very handy. The GFI likes to pop when I try to start my Burr King so I removed it, doesn't bother me because I didn't realize it came with a GFI anyway. My only regret is not getting one sooner "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solid reel for the money

,
January 24, 2015
By SeamasR
from Middletown, CT
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" Did not want to worry about current capacity so was looking for a 12 gauge conductor reel for the garage. This fits the bill.
Works well. You do have to jiggle it a bit to retract when it is cold (20 's or lower) but not a real problem.
Only thing keeping it from 5 stars is lack of instructions on how to separate the reel body from the swivel frame temporarily for mounting of the frame. You don't want to have to hold up the whole reel with one hand, position the frame with another, then screw in lag bolts with yet another (you get the picture). Took a few minutes to figure out which screws to take out. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works OK

,
January 22, 2015
By moabmike8565
from dubuque,ia
" Good deal for the price, however the retract mechanism on mine (mounted horizontally) tends to not retract fully without pulling and tugging a few times "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great item

,
January 18, 2015
By lawntom
from kansas
" easy to set up, the real moves smoothly and makes clean up fast. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great gift

,
December 28, 2014
By Donalee86
from Omaha, NE
" This was purchase as a Chistmas gift for my dad who is a farmer and mechanic. He was excited to get thisas he has had it on his want list for a while. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extremely Helpful

,
December 23, 2014
By Charlie55407
from Minneapolis
" I was really pleased with the purchase. Sometimes I purchase things with the best of intent. I am sure that they will be useful, but once I get it home, it sits unused.
This is not the case with this reel. It is used every single time I work in my shop. Rather than digging around for the extension cord, which is invariably in the way on the floor, I reach up for this, and stretch it to the tool I'm using.
I probably should have purchased two.
Run, don't walk to purchase this.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

plastic

,
December 19, 2014
By wilsiewildman1
from WV
" Reel works ok so far. I thought it was metal case when I ordered. Worry about it holding up "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-5points
1out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Does not lock and retract properly

,
December 18, 2014
By jpeery
from Roanoke, VA
" Purchased this reel hoping to use it in my garage where outlets are not easily accessible. However when I pull the cord out, many times it will not lock in place and wants to retract. And when it does lock, it does not want to retract fully. Deciding whether to exchange for another one or return and try another brand. Seems others are having similar issues. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Retractable extention

,
December 16, 2014
By Bigdogjumanjiid
from Boise! ID
" This is a good and affordable sulution for the garage but not for industry work. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Weak rewind

,
December 16, 2014
By weldershop
from Colorado
" I have this mounted on a higher ceiling, and the coil wont rewind all the way without assistance. The weight of the chord prevents it from rewinding properly. I have other ReelWorks products and they spring back with much more force than this product does. I am in need of another one, but I will be going with a different brand. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Retractable Cord Reel

,
December 15, 2014
By Cathyw35
from Wixom, Michigan
" Our company custom designs filtration systems and this cord reel is used in our system. It is sturdy enough to withstand industrial environments and is reasonably priced. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "ReelWorks Retractable Cord Reel - 40ft., 12/3 SJT Cord"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Where have you been?

,
December 11, 2014
By RGMV
from Keizer, OR
" I should have purchased one of these years ago, but didn't do so due to the high prices and the reels usually having 14/3 wire. This unit is great, and I can't believe how much I use it. It's placed with the shop where it reaches all locations, as well as outside the garage door. Glad I purchased, and will no doubt get more. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.