Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Maxsa Solar Powered Floodlight with Motion Sensor - 80 LEDs, Model# 40226"

"Maxsa Solar Powered Floodlight with Motion Sensor - 80 LEDs, Model# 40226"

Item# 162615
"This Maxsa Solar Powered Floodlight with Motion Sensor puts the power of 80 superbright LEDs to work in lighting walkways, driveways, garages, sheds, porches or any large outdoor area on your property. Activates automatically when motion is detected at night. Motion sensor provides adjustable, controllable light sensitivity. Uses earth-friendly solar panel and rechargeable 3.7V, 3.6Ah Li-Ion battery pack, eliminating operating costs and wiring. Application Outdoor, Light Type LED, Power Source Solar, Lights Included qty. 1, Dimensions L x W x H in. 10 x 7 x 4, Battery Type 3.7V, 3.6Ah rechargeable Li-Ion battery pack, Bulbs qty. 80. LEDs offer superior 30,000 hour life Durable weatherproof plastic construction Includes 15-ft. cable that allows user to place panel in sunny area Light unit is 10in.L x 7in.W x 4in.H"
Average Customer Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (16 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
13 of 16(81%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Maxsa Solar Powered Floodlight with Motion Sensor - 80 LEDs, Model# 40226"
Review 1 for "Maxsa Solar Powered Floodlight with Motion Sensor - 80 LEDs, Model# 40226"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lighting the backside of the mountain...

,
January 29, 2015
By SteveInMurphy
from Mountains of North Carolina
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" This was an awesome selection and provides the lighting necessary when approaching our home in the mountains and yes even when walking the dog after dark. Installation was easy. The electric eye can be adjusted as can the length of time. Provides sufficient light to locate your door locks and alerts you when anyone approaches your home. Awesome pricing for an awesome product. Much better than I could find at national brand home improvement stores. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Maxsa Solar Powered Floodlight with Motion Sensor - 80 LEDs, Model# 40226"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Light

,
January 16, 2015
By stricklr
from Aberdeen, Ms.
" I bought this light to put on my tractor shed. It lights up both doors and the entrance. I will be buying at least 2 more soon. The only thing that I found that was hard was the solar panel the holes to the mount are hard get to with a screw driver. I had to put 2 extensions on a power drill and it was still hard. It did finally get the screws in. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Maxsa Solar Powered Floodlight with Motion Sensor - 80 LEDs, Model# 40226"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Doesn't like the cold.

,
January 6, 2015
By SSBB
from Elkins Park, PA
" This light was easy to install and worked very well all summer, but as the weather got colder, it failed. The warranty had expired so I ordered another. To my surprise, the old light began to work intermittently. I haven't had a chance to install the new one yet, so I don't know if the original died or if it is affected by the weather. We have had plenty of sun, despite the cold, so that should not cause the light to fail. I'll send in an update when I install the new one. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Maxsa Solar Powered Floodlight with Motion Sensor - 80 LEDs, Model# 40226"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well.

,
December 12, 2014
By ROB60
from New Hope, PA
" This solar LED motion detection light works as advertised. Have used it for one month with no problems. The only con was installing the solar panel. It was difficult to get the panel tilted enough to get the drill to line up with the mounting screws. Provides plenty of light and the settings are easy to adjust, but they are a little difficult to see. Run a light color marker over the raised lettering will make it much easier to see. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Maxsa Solar Powered Floodlight with Motion Sensor - 80 LEDs, Model# 40226"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Soler led light

,
August 27, 2014
By Wedcrtuve
from Arkansas
" Great product.led very bright .inexpensive substitute to running electrical power to remote areas.product more than adaquetely lights 10 x 15 barn stall. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Maxsa Solar Powered Floodlight with Motion Sensor - 80 LEDs, Model# 40226"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Did not work

,
June 3, 2014
By Scokie
from Copenhagen, NY
" I was really hoping that this product would have worked. I left the unit outside in the bright sunlight for 3-4 days as recommended to allow it to charge. When I tried it I got nothing! So I checked all of the connections and the settings and left it out for about a week to charge, but still nothing!! The product would not charge. I returned the product and exchanged it for something else. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Maxsa Solar Powered Floodlight with Motion Sensor - 80 LEDs, Model# 40226"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

nice

,
February 4, 2014
By derp123
from South East
" decent product, works, bright, i would order again. dont know what else to say . "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Maxsa Solar Powered Floodlight with Motion Sensor - 80 LEDs, Model# 40226"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

lighting up the front of the house

,
October 8, 2012
By tech75
from aurora,colorado
" good product,ordered and installed two units.
my daughter parks her car on the drive way near the side of the house.she works and gets off work at 9pm.
this is a secure feeling when the lights switch on when she turns into the driveway.
easy install and brightens up front of the house.
cant wait for halloween to make the ghosts and goblins safe when they come for treat or tricks.
hacksaw
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Maxsa Solar Powered Floodlight with Motion Sensor - 80 LEDs, Model# 40226"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

solar light

,
August 14, 2012
By VJC11
from Berkeley Springs, WV
" Put one of these solar lights back by my shed. The construction of the light seems a little cheap, but I can't complain so far. The light was easy to install, and does what it is supposed to do. The light output is bright and the photo eye sensor is working well. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Maxsa Solar Powered Floodlight with Motion Sensor - 80 LEDs, Model# 40226"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

disapointed

,
April 5, 2012
By Kendoe
from St. Louis, MO.
" I purchased a pair of these lights and made all the adjustments that were suggested. Worked great for about a month now one light doesn't come on at all and when the other one does work it last maybe 15 secounds. Will not purcahse again, in fact has made me leary to purchase anything that is solar powered. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Maxsa Solar Powered Floodlight with Motion Sensor - 80 LEDs, Model# 40226"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Maxsa 40226 Solar LED Floodlight

,
January 16, 2012
By LAS40va
from Sandy Ridge NC
" I purchased and installed two of these lights at my remote mountain cabin. They are well-designed and engineered as a system (solar panel, batteries, motion detector and lamp); the one and only time we ran-out the power was a night that we were continuously in motion from dusk until 3:00 a.m. These units REALLY light up the night! My grid-powered floods at home do not provide any more light that these do. I will, however, qualify this performance by stating that the solar panels are mounted at a perfect angle facing exactly SOLAR south in the Blue Ridge Mountain foothills. (lots of sunshine) EXCELLENT PRODUCT!!!!! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+18points
20out of 22found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Maxsa Solar Powered Floodlight with Motion Sensor - 80 LEDs, Model# 40226"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

second light

,
October 11, 2011
By 36plymouth
from pennsylvania
" unit works very good,so i did order the second one,it was very easy to set up,and adjust the motion sensor,it uses no electricty,we turned off our 500 watt motion light. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Maxsa Solar Powered Floodlight with Motion Sensor - 80 LEDs, Model# 40226"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Product

,
October 11, 2011
By KAM11
from Worcester, MA
" Installed this so that I could see the dogs at night in the backyard.
Easy to install, and loved the fact that I didn't need to run electricity.
It's been up for about 3 months with no problems. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Maxsa Solar Powered Floodlight with Motion Sensor - 80 LEDs, Model# 40226"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Maxa led solar floodlight

,
June 12, 2011
By DanNH
" I mounted this light on my shed about 2 months ago and so far has worked perfect.When activated it gives off a bright white floodlight.I did mount the light under a overhang to keep the unit dry and put the solar panel up high where it gets direct sun most of the day.I have since ordered a 2nd one. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
DanNH
 
Please wait while more information about DanNH is loaded.
Additional information about DanNH could not be loaded.
UPDATE 10-31-11
October 31, 2011
" After 5 months the light has stopped working for no apparent reason. It had worked perfect all summer long. The colder weather setting in may have had something to do with it. I checked the battery and it was charged at 6.4 volts...very dissapointed it only lasted a short time. "
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for "Maxsa Solar Powered Floodlight with Motion Sensor - 80 LEDs, Model# 40226"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
April 15, 2011
By nscar8lejr
from Midlothian, Texas
" Bright, and works well, easy install and ensure to get it placed on your southern most area to ensure it charges well, also charge for a few days before use. ONLY 1 thing I dont like and thats the price, but compared to the price for alot of other junky flood lights like this, its worth it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
19out of 24found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Maxsa Solar Powered Floodlight with Motion Sensor - 80 LEDs, Model# 40226"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Solar Powered Motion Sensor Flood Light

,
March 14, 2011
By drjeckles
" I purchased and installed this solar powered motion sensor flood light with low expectations. This light is as bright as many AC powered lights and has worked reliably in all weather conditions including snow and extreme cold.
I mounted it on a shed that I walk by to get to my work shop and am very happy with its light and performance. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+31points
32out of 33found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.