Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Roughneck Parallel or Perpendicular Wall-Mount Garden Hose Reel - Holds 150ft x 5/8in. Hose

Roughneck Parallel or Perpendicular Wall-Mount Garden Hose Reel - Holds 150ft x 5/8in. Hose

Item# 163150
This durable powder-coated steel hose reel comes with an aluminum wall-mounting arm that can be used to set the reel parallel or perpendicular to a wall. Can be modified for right- or left-handed use. Holds up to 150-ft. 5/8in. hose not included. Image representational only hose is not included. Inlet Hose ft. 6, Material Steel, Mount Type Wall, Reel Capacity Hose Length ft. x Hose Diameter in. 150 x 5/8, Dimensions L x W x H in. 18 x 16 x 19, Hose Included No, Color Gray. Can be mounted parallel or perpendicular to the wall Powder coated for durability Rated at 150 PSI for use with any municipal water source Can be set up in left or right hand-friendly orientation Includes a 6-ft.L rubber connection hose for easy set up, brass fittings and mounting hardware 4 bolt mounting pattern is 16in.L x 8 7/8in.W 7/16in. bolt holes
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (33 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
1
27 of 33(82%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer Reviews for Roughneck Parallel or Perpendicular Wall-Mount Garden Hose Reel - Holds 150ft x 5/8in. Hose
Review 1 for Roughneck Parallel or Perpendicular Wall-Mount Garden Hose Reel - Holds 150ft x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

hose reel

,
August 16, 2014
By JAK640
from Buffalo, NY
"Product was exactly as advertised, mounted with no trouble and works very well. It's well made and should be good for many years of service."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Roughneck Parallel or Perpendicular Wall-Mount Garden Hose Reel - Holds 150ft x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid Product

,
July 26, 2014
By bcb66
from Northwest Illinois
"Well made product everything is working good. My only potential problem is the short hose that is used to tie to garden hose, it wants to kink restricting flow. A spring inside hose would fix the problem, similar to what can be seen in car radiator hoses."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Roughneck Parallel or Perpendicular Wall-Mount Garden Hose Reel - Holds 150ft x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great professional Grade product!

,
July 20, 2014
By bkilish
from Appleton,WI
"I was tired of the plastic versions always leaking, warping, and or cracking after a year or two of use, I decided to bite the bullet and invest in a quality commercial grade reel. I wanted something that was built to last. This is definitely made to last."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Roughneck Parallel or Perpendicular Wall-Mount Garden Hose Reel - Holds 150ft x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

sturdy hosereel

,
July 20, 2014
By crazybill
from sandusky, ohio
"This is a great hose reel built with steel and aluminum, and brass. This not the chintzy
plastic that lasts for 18 monthes and leakes or cracks. Easily instaled strong enough to reel in heavy duty hose not just the 1/2 '' variety. I'd recommend to anyone that has had the cheap plastic. Its twice the cost five times as good!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Roughneck Parallel or Perpendicular Wall-Mount Garden Hose Reel - Holds 150ft x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Designed to be less conspicuous

,
July 15, 2014
By Oldhoser43
from Syracuse, NY
"I use this hose roller on pool patio. I had another Northern roller on wheels that was very efficient, but too big, too out of scale for the landscaping and furniture. This smaller roller does same job with less hose and I have it mounted to hug the stone retaining wall. I would give it five stars, but the short clear connector hose had a firm kink that I had to treat with a radiator hose clamp. I am experimenting with portable wooden mounting bases. I do not want to bolt it into chimney or other masonry in this northern clime. The roller is built to last, not like those plastic things at big box home stores."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Roughneck Parallel or Perpendicular Wall-Mount Garden Hose Reel - Holds 150ft x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

hose&wrench

,
July 11, 2014
By kingfish1
from grants pass oregon
"unit well made but like other reviews clear hose is not well made for unit twist when you wind hose onto wheel (won't last) also no metric allen wtench supplied with unit if you need to change mount position"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Roughneck Parallel or Perpendicular Wall-Mount Garden Hose Reel - Holds 150ft x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Roughneck hose reel

,
June 23, 2014
By b9765
from Jamestown, PA.
"I love this hose reel, it was easy to install and works perfect. I use it most everyday. Would recommend It to any one."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Roughneck Parallel or Perpendicular Wall-Mount Garden Hose Reel - Holds 150ft x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Screws stripped

,
June 21, 2014
By Dcavoto
from Connecticut
"Socket head screws with thread stripped out wont tighten had to tap to an sae size and drill hole the way through the casting with blind hole.
Someone else with not so
Much tool and die educauion would have a problem with this.
Dominick cavoto
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Roughneck Parallel or Perpendicular Wall-Mount Garden Hose Reel - Holds 150ft x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

roughneck wall mounted hose reel

,
April 28, 2014
By mbrcr
from boston, ma
"I have fixed this reel in my garage on a concrete wall. I was looking for a solid device, not plastic which breaks overtime. The wall support, provided hardware and mechanism looks indeed very strong. The only not so positive remarks is for the short connecting hose provided: it could be stronger and not that thin. But it's easy and cheap to replace if required (very heavy usage)."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Roughneck Parallel or Perpendicular Wall-Mount Garden Hose Reel - Holds 150ft x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Roughneck Hose Reel

,
April 19, 2014
By IBBQ4YOU2
from Ft.Lauderdale, Florida
"I bought one of these and installed it for a customer in a restaurant. The dual functionality of this product being able to mount parallel or perpendicular to the wall came in handy. It is very durable compared to the p[lastic hose reels the restaurant employed before. Also, the ability of these to hold 150 feet of hose is far better than the plastic ones as well. The customer liked it so much they ordered 2 more!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Roughneck Parallel or Perpendicular Wall-Mount Garden Hose Reel - Holds 150ft x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Trouble even before using it

,
March 17, 2014
By Smallrancher
from Washington State
"Upon receiving the product, the shipping box was a mess. Portions of the reel were exposed through the box as packaging was poor. UPS said if I opened the box, I could not refuse it. I did open it and found the reel dented, but useable.
Like many other customers, I also found the clear hose pre-kinked and unusable. Had to discard it.
As I wished the "parallel" mounting arrangement, I changed the stand, only to find the permanent supply hose does not have enough room to bend out of the tube. If the stand is adjusted to allow room, the reel latch does not work.
I had hoped to replace the 5/8 supply hose with a 3/4, but cannot. You cannot change out the hose if it ever becomes damaged.
You cannot assemble the reel without 6mm and 8mm hex wrenches, a Phillips screw driver, and something to hold the nuts while tightening.
I would recommend putting the handle bolts in opposite from pictured so the nuts are on the outside to decrease damage to the hose inside the reel.
Can't imagine why anyone would wont to use the huge supplied 1/4 by 2 3/4 inch lag screws for mounting as this is overkill.
Looks sturdy, but very poor design.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Roughneck Parallel or Perpendicular Wall-Mount Garden Hose Reel - Holds 150ft x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

BEST one ever

,
April 23, 2013
By cpri287972
from Gwynn Oak, Maryland
"I'm 'ALMOST' 60 and I have had a 'LOT' of hose reels in my life; And this is the BEST hose reel I've EVER had. And believe me when I say the BEST one
I really mean it.
It has only ONE problem that I've seen:
And that is; The little clear 12" inch. hose that comes with it ,
used to hook up your hose to the reel.
kinks when it is bent into the hole on the side.
BUT I've just used my hose straight to the reel and it works great. That is why I've only given it 4 stars.
BUT I like this reel so much that I intend to buy another one next year for the other side of my home...
'GREAT' job { Roughneck } just the next time use a bent tube to connect the hose with... If you need me to show you what you need to do in order for this thing to be 100% , let me know...
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Roughneck Parallel or Perpendicular Wall-Mount Garden Hose Reel - Holds 150ft x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product

,
April 13, 2013
By Bob50
from Indiana
"Bought this reel last year. It is sturdy and does not leak. Before storing it for the winter I gave it a cleaning and oiled the metal parts. As I was installing it yesterday, I noticed the paint was flaking off. So other than the bad coating job, the unit performs well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Roughneck Parallel or Perpendicular Wall-Mount Garden Hose Reel - Holds 150ft x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

High Hopes

,
April 11, 2013
By JohntheGeologist
from Northern Virginia
"I had very high hopes for this reel, and did my homework prior to purchasing. My reel had corrosion issues almost immediately after mounting it, and I have a active leak on the hardware. I contacted Northern and requested an RA with shipping since this was a warranty issue. Northern Tool would not pay for shipping even after discussing with the service department of the issues. After this experience with the product, and the lack of responsibility for product performance I no longer shop at Northern Tool."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Roughneck Parallel or Perpendicular Wall-Mount Garden Hose Reel - Holds 150ft x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not good.

,
March 20, 2013
By mbol72
from Wellsburg, WV
"I ordered this hose reel for my fire department. I was happy with the price, the quality seemed fair for the price and it came shipped with all the parts. We mounted it perpendicular on the wall and have been using it for about a year. The reel itself fell off of the wall mount on the floor. I noticed that there are two bolts at the coupling where you slide the reel into and figured they were loose. I put the reel back up, tightened the bolts as tight as they could go and the reel continues to fall back off. So pretty much it is shot. I have just 50 foot of craftsman garden hose on the reel. Not sure if my is just a faulty one or not, but was hoping to get more than a year out of it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Roughneck Parallel or Perpendicular Wall-Mount Garden Hose Reel - Holds 150ft x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

CHEAP MATERIALS USED

,
November 13, 2012
By Eugenio
from Coral Gables, FL
"The actual reel does not appear to have a rust problem but is definitely not powder coated as stated. The mounting bracket grey paint is peeling and all "chrome" parts began to develop surface rust after exposed to first rain. Otherwise........product is better than the plastic alternatives. However, problems noted above can be very easy to correct if better material is used. After all, this is not a cheap item."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Roughneck Parallel or Perpendicular Wall-Mount Garden Hose Reel - Holds 150ft x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hose Reel

,
October 9, 2012
By Bugs1
from NH
"Reel is rugged and very well made. Strong lag bolts were included for mounting. Reel operates very smooth. Only problem is when connecting the hose to the reel supply, the angle is too severe and causes the hose to kink. I need to get a 90* adaptor and I think that will cure the problem."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Roughneck Parallel or Perpendicular Wall-Mount Garden Hose Reel - Holds 150ft x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Have To Fix Before You Can Use - Otherwise OK

,
September 1, 2012
By Rdawg1
from Atlanta
"Fairly well constructed for the price - with a few exceptions. The short jumper hose from the swivel to your garden hose comes pre-kinked because it is bent too far and the clamp is too small. It can be fixed by using a 90 brass garden hose elbow as used on RV water inlets and a new 1" insulated cable clamp from the electrical dept or drawers of your big box home store. The reel cannot be mounted with the 6' feed hose to the wall as shown in the 3rd picture as this will kink the hose terribly. The finish on both of mine was banged up and the steel began to show rust within days."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Roughneck Parallel or Perpendicular Wall-Mount Garden Hose Reel - Holds 150ft x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is very heavy duty hose reel

,
August 14, 2012
By Daniel33146
from Ivoryton, Ct
"I like this hose reel and it is very heavy duty this is not a cheap unit. It hold 130 ft of hose and it is east to use."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Roughneck Parallel or Perpendicular Wall-Mount Garden Hose Reel - Holds 150ft x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Roughneck Wall-Mount Garden Hose Reel - Holds 150f

,
August 13, 2012
By valm
from LA CRETE,AB CANADA
"GREAT REEL HOLDS LOTS OF HOSE-ONLY PROBLEM IS HAS IS THE LOCKING MECHANISM TO STOP IT FROM REELING OFF. IT HAS ONE PIN YOU HAVE TO PUSH TO KEEP IT LOCKED."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.