Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Roughneck Garden Hose Reel with Cart - Holds 150ft. x 5/8in. Hose

Roughneck Garden Hose Reel with Cart - Holds 150ft. x 5/8in. Hose

Item# 163151
"This durable Roughneck powder-coated steel hose reel with cart is built to last and holds up to 150 feet of 5/8in. hose not included. Heavy-duty 10in. flat-free wheels and tilting frame for easy transport and maneuvering. Ideal for homeowners, landscapers, grounds maintenance crews and anyone that wants a safe and organized workspace. Image representational only hose is not included. Hose Included No, Inlet Hose ft. 6, Reel Capacity Hose Length ft. x Hose Diameter in. 150 x 5/8, Wheel Size in. 10, Dimensions L x W x H in. 20 x 20 x 19, Frame Material Steel. Locking pin locks reel in place to prevent unwanted unraveling during use or transport Includes a 6-ft. long connection hose Heavy-duty brass swivel"
Average Customer Rating:
4.091 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (11 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
10 of 11(91%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Roughneck Garden Hose Reel with Cart - Holds 150ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Review 1 for Roughneck Garden Hose Reel with Cart - Holds 150ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great products, assembly could be easier...

,
July 29, 2014
By MLK16056
from Pittsburgh PA
" Overall, I'm very pleased with this product. Most hose reels available in the home stores and on-line are not constructed nearly as well. It's almost 100% metal construction (excluding the handles and tires) and I particularly like that they designed it with an axle for the wheels, rather than just attaching them individually to each side.
Documentation included with the product, specifically the assembly instructions, is poor. This is the only thing that prevented me from giving it the highest rating. You can assemble without, but look at the picture on the box and the pieces very carefully. I made a simple mistake (mounted the reel backwards) and it was difficult getting the pieces apart. Also, the quality of the nuts and bolts included are not as good as good as those purchase at my local hardware store for a few pennies. At least two of the nuts became cross-threaded (and I'm careful with this type of thing.)
However, it's together now and I'm pleased with it. Other than a healthy dose of frustration with the assembly, the only lasting inconvenience is that I'll need to touch up the nice gray paint job that was scratched and chipped during the assembly-disassembly-reassembly process. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Roughneck Garden Hose Reel with Cart - Holds 150ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Hard to Assemble

,
June 23, 2014
By DGArnie
from Chicago IL
" This product needs a few simple engineering modifications to make it perfect. The instructions are wrong and need to be rewritten. Having worked in engineering for over 30 years, I was able to overcome all the problems I encountered. Other than that, it's constructed of high quality parts and way better that the plastic junk that's out there. So if you have an extensive tool inventory and a high mechanical IQ, buy it, you'll eventually love it. If not, you better know someone with skills who can assemble it for you. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Roughneck Garden Hose Reel with Cart - Holds 150ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great

,
June 11, 2014
By stricky
from pa
" took 25 minutes to put together instructions arn't the best but not rocket science. this is the best hoze reel out there trust me. if you are thinking of buying one this is the one. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Roughneck Garden Hose Reel with Cart - Holds 150ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
June 5, 2014
By SteveD5
from Long Island, NY
" Love my new hose reel. So far so good. Assembly was not so easy when lining up a couple holes, but other thank that, my 13 year old son put it together. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Roughneck Garden Hose Reel with Cart - Holds 150ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hose Reel

,
June 4, 2014
By righteousman
from MT
" Holes didn't line up for assembly. Once we drilled them out then unit has worked well for us. Sturdy and handy for moving about. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Roughneck Garden Hose Reel with Cart - Holds 150ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Impossible to assemble

,
December 16, 2013
By Vittorio
from New Mexico
" Without doubt, if assembly had happened this would be an excellent product - it is sturdy and tough-looking. The down side is that the holes on the round legs and on the yoke/handle attachments do not line up. So, without a lot of filing with a small circular file or drilling out with a drill bit you won't get this poorly predrilled product put together. You will, however, have an opportunity to use all those words your mother told you never to use as you become frustrated in your attempts to line up the holes. Northern Tool, to be fair, issued an instant return on this product though. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Roughneck Garden Hose Reel with Cart - Holds 150ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
September 21, 2013
By smithbrite
from Bowling Green, KY
" This is a great product. Very sturdy and easy to maneuver. It is exactly as the description says. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Roughneck Garden Hose Reel with Cart - Holds 150ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Oh well

,
August 6, 2013
By M308
from NY
" With out a doubt, the toughest hose reel I've ever come across...heavy duty and high capacity. You will need to watch your outside diameter of your hose you are about to reel-up. I wanted to reel-up 150ft. of standard contractor hose but the reel would only take 100ft. and here is why. The contractor hose is 3 1/2" in diameter and the standard home garden hose is 3". Both hoses are 5/8" inside diameter. So this reel will spool 150ft. of garden hose and 100ft. of contractor hose. My review has nothing whatsoever to do with this reel's performance as it is the best reel I've ever had and I've had many. This was strictly pilot error. (Watch your outside diameter). "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Roughneck Garden Hose Reel with Cart - Holds 150ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Roughneck garden hose reel

,
August 13, 2012
By topduck
from Michigan
" Finally, no more plastic junk that does not work. More money.....yes, but will last a life time and IT WORKS! Worth the extra money. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
4out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Roughneck Garden Hose Reel with Cart - Holds 150ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

I would give it 5 stars, BUT...

,
June 25, 2011
By MTKAman
from Minneapolis
" I bought 2 of these (1 for front, 1 for back yard). Both arrived in completely shredded boxes, but the contents were mostly intact.
PROs: Nice, heavy, all metal construction (unlike the cheap plastic carts) - so the cart doesn't move around or tip-over when you pull the hose. Beautiful, top quality brass swivel and plumbing hardware. No leaks (but see CONs). Stainless steel bolts, washers, stop-nuts, and crank assembly. The reel action is smooth, and there is a spring-loaded reel locking mechanism that can be engaged (see CONs below). Wheels are plastic with rubber tires, but not bad. The paint appears to be a heavy grey powder-coat, and it seems quite durable. Even the interconnect hose is high-quality.
CONs: If I were not mechanically adept, I might have returned them - there are several issues:
[1] Both units were missing a plastic spacer (1 was included, should have been 2 per) - so there was 1 trip to the hardware store.
[2] the male hose connector on the reel - where you would attach the beginning of your garden hose, points out at an odd angle, so your hose does not lie flat, makes a huge hump in the spool of hose. I solved the problem by installing a 45 degree brass elbow on the hose connector, and cutting-off the bend-relief on the hose end (another trip to the hardware store).
[3] there is a spring-loaded locking-pin to lock the reel position (nice idea). there is a 1" dia split-ring (like on a keychain) that is used to engage and disengage the locking-pin. The problem is that the brass hardware barely clears the split-ring - the ring gets hit on every rotation! On the first cart, the ring got caught at bent beyond usefulness. I had to cut it off and get an assortment of split-rings from the hardware store (3rd trip!) to find one that wasn't too small to be useable, but not to big to get caught on the plumbing every turn of the crank. I used a 3/4" - it still hits every time, but it doesn't get stuck (I wonder how long that will last?).
[4] the first reel worked at this point, but the second one had a major leak coming out the center of the reel. This required that I remove the reel from the cart, and disassemble the center-post (which arrived assembled from the factory). The problem turned out to be where the supply-hose connected to the brass swivel - the hose wouldn't thread-in far enough to seal against the washer (why wasn't this tested before leaving the factory??). I added another washer and re-assembled - but that failed after a few minutes (one of the washers de-formed inwards) Disassembled again, took trip #5 to the hardware store, got a heavy O-ring type of hose washer, re-assembled again and this time it worked.
This could be a top-quality hose reel cart. The overall assembly was fairly straightforward, but I did have some hole-alignment issues that required some extraordinary measures to get a few of the bolts in place. It does work well after spending all day fixing nagging quality and design issues, and I'm not too happy about all the extra time and money I spent to get these working. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+40points
43out of 46found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Roughneck Garden Hose Reel with Cart - Holds 150ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

hose reel

,
June 6, 2011
By george55
from penna.
" this reel is very well made. it is very heavy ,you don't have to worry about breaking it , fact is you could run over it with your car. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-16points
4out of 24found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.