Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Wel-Bilt Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose

Item# 163152
Heavy-duty Wel-Bilt Hose Reel Cart holds 300 feet of 5/8in. garden hose not included. Features strong tubular steel frame and foam-padded handle. Rolls easily on 10in. pneumatic tires with solid steel axles. Built-in basket for accessories. Wheel Size in. 10, Dimensions L x W x H in. 43 15/16 x 24 13/16 x 33 13/16, Hose Included No, Reel Capacity Hose Length ft. x Hose Diameter in. 300 x 5/8, Inlet Hose ft. 6, Frame Material Steel. Durable tubular steel frame Easy rolling 10in. pneumatic tires and solid steel axles for rough terrain Holds 300 feet of 5/8in. hose Integrated basket to store accessories Includes 6-ft. leader hose Not related to WELBILT products of Enodis companies
Average Customer Rating:
3.721 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (43 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
13
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 star
2
34 of 43(79%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Review 1 for Wel-Bilt Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hose cart

,
June 11, 2014
By CalvinP
from Missouri
"Excellent product. Easy to assemble and very functional. I would gladly recommend it to anyone looking fo a simple and effective hose storage solution."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wel-Bilt Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Rusty parts

,
June 4, 2014
By dek209
from Pennsylvania
"This is what it says it is, nothing hidden. But you shouldn't receive rusty parts for a new product that is designed for use in a wet environment. The crank handle and the water coupling were rusty strait out of the box."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wel-Bilt Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hose cart

,
May 22, 2014
By flstf
from Rougemont, NC
"Assembled pretty easily and seems to work as advertised."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wel-Bilt Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wel-Bilt Hose Reel Cart — Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Ho

,
April 29, 2014
By Appreciator
from Virginia
"Put it together in about 1 Hour. Went together well. Directions could be a bit clearer. All the hardware came with it. Some bolts: had to put nuts on to set bolts, then take nuts back off, then put washers on, then put nuts back on and tighten. Most bolts are a tight fit. Works well. Good materials, although powder coat could be a bit better and axle sleeves could be beefed up a bit. Am keeping it outdoors. Expect it to last at least 5 years. Rust will be the Destructor!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wel-Bilt Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Big step up from plastic hose reel carts

,
April 27, 2014
By smgluck
from Roslyn Heights,NY
"All steel construction with huge inflatable wheels, However, a couple of not insurmountable drawbacks. I bought this item to go along with your commercial never kink hoses. The instruction sheet showed a clamp to lock the water outlet of the cart to the reel. Not enough clearance to attach the female coupling of the hose. Removing the clam left more than enough room to attach the coupling. The nuts supplied with the bolts are lock nuts and in several place they lock leaving a lot of play. I am going to use a ratchet to see if I can wrench them securely. With everything hooked up the unit and hoses have no leaks. Winding these hoses on the old plastic cart was hard and it was just a matter of time before something snapped. Not anymore. The unit winds these heavy hoses easily and is more than strong enough to take the weight."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wel-Bilt Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

A few adjustments and it's working well

,
April 14, 2014
By ksowa
from Annapolis
"The box was missing the wheel axles - they sent them in two days. I needed two more of the longest bolts, I got them myself and they are crediting my card. The plumbers tape will solve the slight leaking at the hose connector. Other than those minor details, it's working great! It is heavy-duty and definitely big enough for the job. I had to get it for my medium-sized lot with grass on all 4 sides. And I needed to be able to put it away due to petty theft issues in the 'hood.
So for turf I needed to cover and the ability to garage it at night, I'm all set
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wel-Bilt Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great value & function

,
September 17, 2013
By REM55
from Santa Clarita, CA
"Good value & easy enough to assemble. Bearings, seals and connections holding without leaking. Use with 3/4" x 100' hose and winds well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wel-Bilt Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good products w/small flaws

,
August 25, 2013
By flatheadvff
from flatheadvff
"I have one of these, assembled in my living room(it was hot outside). I had all the parts needed and simple to assemble. The only flaws I have is the tubes are so thin in the tires they would never hold air even when brand new. Also the basket is to ?????(sorry I couldn't think of the word I was trying to use) the holes in the basket are too big. A lot of accesaries will fall through. Some hail screen lineing the basket will allieviate the problem. My only other compaint is there is no drag or brake on the reel. As you roll out the hose the reel will overrun and tangle the hose if you are not carefull. These are small flaws and the reel is very usefull and grate for the price. I would definitely buy another one if I needed one."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wel-Bilt Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

item 163152

,
August 8, 2013
By Trackwalker
from West Virginia
"I recently purchased this product and it arrived with the wrong parts bag. Northern sent me another one which was the same as the first but I now had enough of the correct length screws to assemble. The product is very stable and sturdy however all the chromed parts are rusting as well as all the screws and spot welded points. I used the product only for home use and would not consider buying another nor repairing the one I have."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wel-Bilt Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Get one of the more expensive models.

,
July 2, 2013
By Wets
from Loraine, ND
"Reel ships unassembled. Reel came without axle shafts, but customer service assured me that they would be sent out right away. Two of the axle tubes were welded to the main frame at the wrong angle requiring re-welding. One of the other tubes broke off after loading the hose. The stiffening brackets for the main frame wouldn't fit, requiring re-drilling them. Quality of this item is well below Northern's standards."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wel-Bilt Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not industrial, but ok.

,
April 6, 2013
By Handyfarmer
from East Coast
"We have used this product for about 2 years in our barn. It has not seen industrial use, but probably more than the average homeowner.
Bad- Approximately 6-12 months ago the reel began to leak in the manifold and reel connection.
I recently dismantled the reel to repair it.
I am hoping to purchase parts (seals/o rings) to repair it.
Good- We have had several hose reels over the years, plastic and metal, this is the the sturdiest one so far.
Purchase product if you are aware it will only last approximately 12-18 months and are OK with these standards. .
Do not purchase if you will use reel in an industrial setting or need one to last for several years as I do.
If parts are unavailable i would not recommend purchasing it.
I have pictures I will attempt to upload again soon.
I will not purchase again unless I am in a deep bind and need one now.
I will purchase parts if they are available at a reasonable cost."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wel-Bilt Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Value

,
October 8, 2012
By cyberbytes63
from Missouri
"The product arrived in a timely manner and in good shape. The product performs well overall with the exception of the following:
The frame is light so if you are reeling in a lot of hose or heavy hose you will need to hold it from tipping over.
The crank handle is simply a rubber handle slipped over the end of a tube, I would have liked a bearing sleeve some something similar to make cranking a bit smoother.
Other than the above issues it works like it is suppose to. I would purchase this product again, I would just be aware of the shortcomings."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wel-Bilt Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great hose reel

,
August 20, 2012
By droptine8
from western pa.
"holds 150 feet of hose with no problem.rolls through yard easily. all steel construction a plus. so far i cannot find any faults in product. hose winds up easily."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wel-Bilt Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

OMG!

,
August 17, 2012
By JWebb
from Richmond, VA
"Engineered well but poor execution! I had to modify the frame because some holes didn't line up to put a bolt through. Also, I had to use some of my own washers because the bolts head were too small for size hole drilled. Sadly, the bag that came with all the hardware looked like my spare nuts and bolts can."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wel-Bilt Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

some ideas

,
August 13, 2012
By LabMan25
from MPLS, MN
"Purchased for the wife. She'd like brakes on the wheels (like on a higher end BBQ grill) to keep the cart in place while pulling out the hose. Hose coupler from the cart to the house broke after only 3 days--when she left the water pressure on. I had an extra one in the garage, fixed it and she has liked it since then."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wel-Bilt Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Hose Reel

,
August 13, 2012
By JBOC
from Orange County, CA
"I'll start by saying I bought a similar hose reel about 8 yrs ago and it was better quality. The box was in bad shape and it seemed like it was shipped that way as it had been taped to keep it together. Then the odor that comes off the rubber parts is really bad, it smelled up my warehouse after only a few hours.
Assembly was not too bad as long as you did not follow the directions as they were not good at all. Parts were missing and a couple of nuts were the right size, but not the same type. One bolt and nut were missing. The handle at the top is loose even though the bolts are tight. Had I known the quality was poor I would have opted for a more expensive model and hope it was better made.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wel-Bilt Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best way to handle your hose

,
August 13, 2012
By BHDR
from Florida
"This is absolutely the best hose reel I have ever bought. Huge capacity and easy to assemble. Really helps around the nursery and have not run over another hose since we've started using it. Quick and easy way to store your hose!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wel-Bilt Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hose reel

,
August 13, 2012
By Mastergardener2
from Tehachapi, CA
"The reel was reasonably easy to assemble. It works as advertised - smooth reeling, easy to roll around on my crushed gravel yard, and the fittings do not leak. This is the first reel I've used that actually even approached working well. The only thing I would change would be to add a hose guide - but even without a guide, the hose rolls and unrolls without a struggle. I keep about 150' heavy duty black rubber hose on the reel at the moment."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wel-Bilt Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wel-Bilt Hose Reel Cart

,
August 13, 2012
By rogerfire19
from North Carolina
"Over all the hose cart works very well. I have two sections of 100' hose and the reel makes it very easy to advance and rewind the hose. One compaint is that the cart started to rust in only a few weeks, it would seem that it needs a better powder coat paint job."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wel-Bilt Hose Reel Cart - Holds 300ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Works But Finish Is Poor

,
August 13, 2012
By THEBHW
from Southside Virginia
"The hose reel works fine. However, all of the chromed pieces were heavily rusting within a couple of weeks. It is not of great importance with this reel as it is kept in the back of the house near the vegetable garden. I wanted two more reels. One for the front garden and one for the side of the house. I will probably upgrade for those two reels as I want something which does not look rusty."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.