Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose

Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose

Item# 163153
This rugged Roughneck Hose Reel Cart holds up to 400 feet of 5/8in. garden hose not included. Features heavy-duty brass fittings, a strong tubular steel frame and welded handle with swivel grip for easy hose winding and unwinding. Solid steel axles and flat-free 10in. tires that never need to be inflated. Image representational only hose is not included. Inlet Hose ft. 6, Reel Capacity Hose Length ft. x Hose Diameter in. 400 x 5/8, Wheel Size in. 10, Dimensions L x W x H in. 37 13/16 x 24 13/16 x 43 13/16, Frame Material Steel, Hose Included No. Durable tubular steel frame Easy-rolling 10in. flat free tires and solid axles for rough terrain Holds up to 400 ft. of 5/8in. hose Integrated basket to store accessories Heavy-duty brass fittings and couplers Heavy-duty welded handle with swivel grip for easy winding and unwinding Corrosion-resistant industrial powder coat finish Includes 6-ft. inlet hose
Average Customer Rating:
3.983 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (57 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
14
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
3
44 of 57(77%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Review 1 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Piece of junk

,
September 29, 2014
By KBMcD
from CT
"Started rusting within a month. Leaks water all over from poor quailty fittings. Piece of garbage."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great reel

,
September 11, 2014
By BigKahuna2
from Michigan
"This reel is easy to use to wind up the hose. It holds a lot of hose. The windup crank is higher so that you don't need to bend down to the ground to wind the hose. With the no-flat tires and the strong frame, it will last a long time,"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Jury Still out

,
September 8, 2014
By Charles01
from Katy TX
"I've had the hose reel for approximately a month. It is stored inside so I cannot comment on the paint job holding up in the weather. It assembled fairly easily. The hardware seemed a bit soft in quality. There should be 4 bolts to attach the handle for strength, but there's only 2 bolts. It would be nice if the reel had a lock to prevent it from unraveling due to weight of a nozzle. A second slot in the handle's cross piece would be handy for securing that nozzle (while still attached to the hose). I'm impressed with it so far, but it's still too soon for a thorough review."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Hose Reel available

,
September 1, 2014
By flytyer6
from West Virginia
"When I received this product it was easy to put together and I had it up and using it in 40 minutes. I installed a total length of hose of 250 feet and had no problem with it holding that length. It is easy to move if necessary and the hose winds easily back up on the reel when you are finished with it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Details

,
August 22, 2014
By Summers
from WI
"Tires that won't go flat. Brass fittings. Powder-coated.
It was easy to put together and it operates nicely. Easy to wind hose. doesn't tip over. Can't ask for more that that. I can't think of anything wrong with this product.
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Time will tell

,
August 11, 2014
By metlman
from Nashville, TN
"Easy to assemble; I really like the solid tires. Time will tell if rotary joint holds up without leaking; both of the ones I bought were not centered very well and may cause rapid wear. So far, so good for leaks."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

best hose reel/cart I've found - could be better..

,
July 29, 2014
By underp2
from MA
"You'll never get 400' of hose on this reel. I own one at my house, and one of their wall mount reels in my barn. They are the best hose reels I've seen. I bought one for work, and put (3) 100' Gilmour Flexogen hoses on it. These are thick, 8-ply, heavy duty hoses. 300 ft fits on there fine, but I think there is no way you will get 400 ft on one of these reels. I coil very neatly and orderly and 300 fits nicely. No one else coils the hose neatly, and they are lucky to get 300' on the reel. I had to call Northern tool today concerning my reel at home, which is 3.25 years old. The brass elbow on the swivel end is leaking at the seams. They are sending me a new fitting (covered under 7 year warranty). This isn't the quality I was looking for, but it is the best quality I could find. Everything else out there is made of plastic, has plastic tires, has pneumatic tires that constantly go flat, can hardly hold 100 -200 ft of hose, tips over when you unreel, etc. Good luck trying to find a hose reel that can come close to this one. My neighbor bought one after seeing mine, and he loves his, too. It's great to see that Northern Tool has parts available for it also. My neighbor said he was spending $59. every 2 years on one of the cheap plastic ones. He was glad to spend more on one that will last."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Have a nice assortment of nuts and bolts ready

,
July 12, 2014
By Akronguy
from Ohio
"The assembly instructions were clearly missing some steps. If I had followed them to a "T", I would never have gotten the thing together. Some fasteners were missing, and some pieces shown pre-assembled were not, and the associated fasteners for those pieces were missing as well. The basket had some non-functional dents from rough handling.
Having said that, and after donating my own ingenuity and some nuts and bolts from my own supply, I was able to get the thing together and it works as advertised. Having a metal and brass hose caddy on real rubber wheels certainly beats the plastic thing it replaced."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Hose Reel

,
July 11, 2014
By Farm38
from Southwest, MI
"Well built and sturdy hose reel. The best feature is the flat free tires, you never have to worry about them. I have a pneumatic tire hose reel cart and the tires are always flat, just replacing the tires on that cart with flat frees would cost 75% of this carts cost. Great deal and well worth the money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this hose cart

,
July 7, 2014
By Beki
from Louisiana
"This is working great so far. Has not fell over with the weight of two hoses on it. It is made very well. I am so glad i bought it. The price was great also."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

My First Disappointment With Northern Tool

,
July 2, 2014
By dumpster
from Worthington, Ohio
"Having made 10 or more purchases from Northern. I was disappointed with the power coated hose reel cart I purchased from them. I have owned several other cheaper priced brands of reels and have junked them because of rust and leaking problems. The one from Northern has been outside for about three weeks and the powered coating is rusting already. I use it almost daily and do not put back in the garage. The construction of the reel appears to be very good. It pushes easily and the reeling in of the hose is excellent. But the way this paint is looking, it will look just like the old one in about a year."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product but smelly

,
June 27, 2014
By volgolf
from NC
"Reel works great, sturdy, easy to follow directions.
Packed well, but reeks of moth balls, reel has been outside now for close to a week, and still smells strong oder. I'm sure it will go away eventually, but moth balls?
Picky buyer"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Hose Reel Cart

,
June 26, 2014
By kpmsc
from New Jersey
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"This cart is left outside and within a few days it started to rust. Cannot understand how a product meant for water can be made with a type of metal that rusts."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
June 25, 2014
By KAS3
from Wash
"I had been looking for a sturdy hose reel that would hold up to at least 150-200 ft. of hose and have found it with this product.
Fast shipping, good price for a great product!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rough neek Hose reel

,
June 24, 2014
By 369red
from Richmond va
"Very good product. I water my garden and this reel allows me to pull my hose from a distance without tipping over. The reel ifs well made and I am very satisfied with the performance. The solid wheels is very convenent and I see not reason why this reel will not give years of trouble free service. If you are looking for a reel that will perform well and have a long life this is the reel!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This hose reel seems well-built!

,
June 23, 2014
By arly76
from Central Oregon
"We like big, heavy rubber hoses, which are killers to haul around our large property. Given the fact that we're not exactly young and strong anymore, a hose reel was a necessity. Metal construction was a must when we went on our search for the reel that would meet our needs. So far, this one is working very well. In spite of a damaged box resulting in a return and a subsequent replacement which took extra time, we're well satisfied with both the product and the services provided."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hose reel cart * RUGGED*

,
June 9, 2014
By Chuck1134
from Edison NJ
"Great PRICE and Great Cart. Would suggest to anyone.
Shipping was fast and well packaged.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

One serious flaw

,
May 29, 2014
By JayInNewEngland
from New England
"The central swivel assembly on this unit is overly complicated and (basically) a flawed design. The diameter of the channel orifice through which the water has to flow is very small compared to the 5/8" ID hose that is supposed to be used with this unit. That is, the swivel constitutes a severe flow restriction, limiting the flow of water than can get to the hose. This problem is made even worse by the acute angle bend at the end, where the hose attaches.
Also, the steel frame is painted but not otherwise rustproofed. Should have been galvanized or stainless steel or even heavyweight plastic.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

only 2 weeks

,
May 28, 2014
By reb123
from wi
"reasonable easy assembly
tubing seemed to be quality
no leaks after assembly
rolls easily
hose reel is easy to reel in with hose on
the brass connector to the reel is brass and seems strong, not flimsy
product arrived missing a few bolts.
I called them and they had no replacement parts.
And this is where it gets amazing and wins my loyalty.
They shipped a new unit (I did not ask them to or act upset about the lack of parts) for me to take the necessary parts out of. They prepaid the freight (2nd day air - their choice) to me and return freight which costs them more than I paid for the product. I have never seen a company so concerned about customer satisfaction.
But I hope they will be wiser in the future, it would have been far cheaper for their warehouse to remove the parts package and send only that to me. Or better yet, keep plenty of spare assembly parts for that is a common problem with all such products"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Roughneck Hose Reel Cart Item# 163153

,
May 28, 2014
By ironsmith
from Cary, NC
"Very high quality (and heavy). Liked it so much I just ordered another one for the back yard."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.