Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose

Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose

Item# 163153
This rugged Roughneck Hose Reel Cart holds up to 400 feet of 5/8in. garden hose not included. Features heavy-duty brass fittings, a strong tubular steel frame and welded handle with swivel grip for easy hose winding and unwinding. Solid steel axles and flat-free 10in. tires that never need to be inflated. Image representational only hose is not included. Inlet Hose ft. 6, Reel Capacity Hose Length ft. x Hose Diameter in. 400 x 5/8, Wheel Size in. 10, Dimensions L x W x H in. 37 13/16 x 24 13/16 x 43 13/16, Frame Material Steel, Hose Included No. Durable tubular steel frame Easy-rolling 10in. flat free tires and solid axles for rough terrain Holds up to 400 ft. of 5/8in. hose Integrated basket to store accessories Heavy-duty brass fittings and couplers Heavy-duty welded handle with swivel grip for easy winding and unwinding Corrosion-resistant industrial powder coat finish Includes 6-ft. inlet hose
Average Customer Rating:
3.96 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (50 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
12
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
2
38 of 50(76%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Review 1 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Have a nice assortment of nuts and bolts ready

,
July 12, 2014
By Akronguy
from Ohio
"The assembly instructions were clearly missing some steps. If I had followed them to a "T", I would never have gotten the thing together. Some fasteners were missing, and some pieces shown pre-assembled were not, and the associated fasteners for those pieces were missing as well. The basket had some non-functional dents from rough handling.
Having said that, and after donating my own ingenuity and some nuts and bolts from my own supply, I was able to get the thing together and it works as advertised. Having a metal and brass hose caddy on real rubber wheels certainly beats the plastic thing it replaced."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Hose Reel

,
July 11, 2014
By Farm38
from Southwest, MI
"Well built and sturdy hose reel. The best feature is the flat free tires, you never have to worry about them. I have a pneumatic tire hose reel cart and the tires are always flat, just replacing the tires on that cart with flat frees would cost 75% of this carts cost. Great deal and well worth the money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this hose cart

,
July 7, 2014
By Beki
from Louisiana
"This is working great so far. Has not fell over with the weight of two hoses on it. It is made very well. I am so glad i bought it. The price was great also."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

My First Disappointment With Northern Tool

,
July 2, 2014
By dumpster
from Worthington, Ohio
"Having made 10 or more purchases from Northern. I was disappointed with the power coated hose reel cart I purchased from them. I have owned several other cheaper priced brands of reels and have junked them because of rust and leaking problems. The one from Northern has been outside for about three weeks and the powered coating is rusting already. I use it almost daily and do not put back in the garage. The construction of the reel appears to be very good. It pushes easily and the reeling in of the hose is excellent. But the way this paint is looking, it will look just like the old one in about a year."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product but smelly

,
June 27, 2014
By volgolf
from NC
"Reel works great, sturdy, easy to follow directions.
Packed well, but reeks of moth balls, reel has been outside now for close to a week, and still smells strong oder. I'm sure it will go away eventually, but moth balls?
Picky buyer"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Hose Reel Cart

,
June 26, 2014
By kpmsc
from New Jersey
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"This cart is left outside and within a few days it started to rust. Cannot understand how a product meant for water can be made with a type of metal that rusts."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
June 25, 2014
By KAS3
from Wash
"I had been looking for a sturdy hose reel that would hold up to at least 150-200 ft. of hose and have found it with this product.
Fast shipping, good price for a great product!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rough neek Hose reel

,
June 24, 2014
By 369red
from Richmond va
"Very good product. I water my garden and this reel allows me to pull my hose from a distance without tipping over. The reel ifs well made and I am very satisfied with the performance. The solid wheels is very convenent and I see not reason why this reel will not give years of trouble free service. If you are looking for a reel that will perform well and have a long life this is the reel!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This hose reel seems well-built!

,
June 23, 2014
By arly76
from Central Oregon
"We like big, heavy rubber hoses, which are killers to haul around our large property. Given the fact that we're not exactly young and strong anymore, a hose reel was a necessity. Metal construction was a must when we went on our search for the reel that would meet our needs. So far, this one is working very well. In spite of a damaged box resulting in a return and a subsequent replacement which took extra time, we're well satisfied with both the product and the services provided."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hose reel cart * RUGGED*

,
June 9, 2014
By Chuck1134
from Edison NJ
"Great PRICE and Great Cart. Would suggest to anyone.
Shipping was fast and well packaged.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

One serious flaw

,
May 29, 2014
By JayInNewEngland
from New England
"The central swivel assembly on this unit is overly complicated and (basically) a flawed design. The diameter of the channel orifice through which the water has to flow is very small compared to the 5/8" ID hose that is supposed to be used with this unit. That is, the swivel constitutes a severe flow restriction, limiting the flow of water than can get to the hose. This problem is made even worse by the acute angle bend at the end, where the hose attaches.
Also, the steel frame is painted but not otherwise rustproofed. Should have been galvanized or stainless steel or even heavyweight plastic.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

only 2 weeks

,
May 28, 2014
By reb123
from wi
"reasonable easy assembly
tubing seemed to be quality
no leaks after assembly
rolls easily
hose reel is easy to reel in with hose on
the brass connector to the reel is brass and seems strong, not flimsy
product arrived missing a few bolts.
I called them and they had no replacement parts.
And this is where it gets amazing and wins my loyalty.
They shipped a new unit (I did not ask them to or act upset about the lack of parts) for me to take the necessary parts out of. They prepaid the freight (2nd day air - their choice) to me and return freight which costs them more than I paid for the product. I have never seen a company so concerned about customer satisfaction.
But I hope they will be wiser in the future, it would have been far cheaper for their warehouse to remove the parts package and send only that to me. Or better yet, keep plenty of spare assembly parts for that is a common problem with all such products"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Roughneck Hose Reel Cart Item# 163153

,
May 28, 2014
By ironsmith
from Cary, NC
"Very high quality (and heavy). Liked it so much I just ordered another one for the back yard."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Low quality!

,
May 23, 2014
By xoner8
from Pennsylvania
"This unit appears to be sturdy and well built til it is fully assembled. The hardware is cheap, and the overall design poor. The quality of the welds and powder coat are awful. It would be a nice unit if they spent just a little time on fit and finish. Bottom line... Move on to something else, especially if you plan on using it heavily."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hose reel cart

,
May 21, 2014
By Chewsie
from Ohio
"Nice product for our swim center. e are very pleased with this purchase."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

workmanship needs improvement

,
April 28, 2014
By cmhandyman
from VA
"was looking forward to using this because it held more hose than others I could find on Internet. Was hard to put together because one side of 1/2 of U frame was 1/2" shorter than other so holes for bolts did not line up. By putting fair amount of pressure on shorter side got bolts in place. This of course made wheels on one side not exactly parallel to the other side. Got about 100 feet of hose wound on unit and the welding on side with crank broke completely. It looked like they just did a few tack welds instead of a decent job. NT was good about sending a replacement part but I would have to conclude they have had a lot of problems like this because the new welding was actually overkill. It sure won't break at this point again."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Garden Hose reel/cart

,
February 4, 2014
By mvr14
from Greene, IA
"Purchased in summer of 2013 - Assembled easy and was used through fall and worked fine, no leaks and didn't tip over like others I have used. Wished it had swivel wheels on one end but it may not be as stable then. Thought was a little expensive when I bought, but it's been worth it. Happy with what I have."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really Good Reel

,
September 17, 2013
By M1794
from Knoxville, TN
"At first I was hesitant about the price, but after using this reel all summer I feel it is well worth the money. I have mine set up with 300' of quality hose and it gets the job done with ease."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
September 17, 2013
By necton
from New Hope, MN
"After purchasing and using one of these hose reel carts, I decided to purchase a second one. The assembly was very simple and easy using basic tools. There are a number of features I like about the cart. The flat free tires are awesome. The cart is very sturdy and durable. The hose winds very easily. I would recommend this product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Fell apart, just sitting in the driveway

,
August 3, 2013
By ManticoHill
from Northern VA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I ordered this hose reel cart on May 14, 2013 and put it together right after receiving it. I loaded the reel with hose, connected it to the spigot, and it has been in the same place ever since. The reel has worked OK until this weekend. I do wish it had a level wind though, like my other hose cart. Today, however, I discovered that the cart had literally fallen apart, just sitting there in my driveway. The brass inlet pipe broke clean off, and the drum dropped down to the ground. I can't say I'm impressed by the durability of this product. I have a plastic hose reel I bought at least 15 years ago and it's still working great. I wish I could buy another one of those, but unfortunately it's not made anymore and I cannot find anything like it. This hose reel looked like the best available alternative. Perhaps I got a defective one."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.