Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose

Item# 163153
"This rugged Roughneck Hose Reel Cart holds up to 400 feet of 5/8in. garden hose not included. Features heavy-duty brass fittings, a strong tubular steel frame and welded handle with swivel grip for easy hose winding and unwinding. Solid steel axles and flat-free 10in. tires that never need to be inflated. Image representational only hose is not included. Hose Included No, Frame Material Steel, Reel Capacity Hose Length ft. x Hose Diameter in. 400 x 5/8, Wheel Size in. 10, Dimensions L x W x H in. 37 13/16 x 24 13/16 x 43 13/16, Inlet Hose ft. 6. Durable tubular steel frame Easy-rolling 10in. flat free tires and solid axles for rough terrain Holds up to 400 ft. of 5/8in. hose Integrated basket to store accessories Heavy-duty brass fittings and couplers Heavy-duty welded handle with swivel grip for easy winding and unwinding Corrosion-resistant industrial powder coat finish Includes 6-ft. inlet hose"
Average Customer Rating:
2.857 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (14 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
2
6 of 14(43%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Review 1 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

sturdy cart

,
June 6, 2015
By
from Hartford, CT
" Only had a couple of months but so far is great. Easier to move around and not leaky like flimsy plastic carts. It is kind of big and heavy, but that's expected with sturdier equipment. The weight makes it stay put when rewinding hose. It lives outside and so far just a few tiny rust spots, will have to monitor those. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 2 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Roughneck

,
March 1, 2015
By
from Hubert, NC
" I have 2 of these reels, both going on their 2nd year.
They are stored outside year around.
Assembly was easy although I did replace all the nuts and bolts with stainless steel ones. One reel started losing its paint a month later due to poor surface prep before painting. Touch up with Rustoleum took care of that. Otherwise, both work fine, no leaks and the no-flat tires are great.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Hose Reel

,
December 1, 2014
By
from St Augustine, FL
" This is the second Roughneck hose reel that I have purchased from NT. Nice and heavy. Knowing that they will be outside year round, before I assembled the unit I coated all painted areas with gray Rustoleum and multible other coats after I was done assembling. My first one has been outside almost a year with no rust. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Piece of junk

,
September 29, 2014
By
from CT
" Started rusting within a month. Leaks water all over from poor quailty fittings. Piece of garbage. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

My First Disappointment With Northern Tool

,
July 2, 2014
By
from Worthington, Ohio
" Having made 10 or more purchases from Northern. I was disappointed with the power coated hose reel cart I purchased from them. I have owned several other cheaper priced brands of reels and have junked them because of rust and leaking problems. The one from Northern has been outside for about three weeks and the powered coating is rusting already. I use it almost daily and do not put back in the garage. The construction of the reel appears to be very good. It pushes easily and the reeling in of the hose is excellent. But the way this paint is looking, it will look just like the old one in about a year. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

One serious flaw

,
May 29, 2014
By
from New England
" The central swivel assembly on this unit is overly complicated and (basically) a flawed design. The diameter of the channel orifice through which the water has to flow is very small compared to the 5/8" ID hose that is supposed to be used with this unit. That is, the swivel constitutes a severe flow restriction, limiting the flow of water than can get to the hose. This problem is made even worse by the acute angle bend at the end, where the hose attaches.
Also, the steel frame is painted but not otherwise rustproofed. Should have been galvanized or stainless steel or even heavyweight plastic.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Roughneck Hose Reel Cart Item# 163153

,
May 28, 2014
By
from Cary, NC
" Very high quality (and heavy). Liked it so much I just ordered another one for the back yard. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 8 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Fair quality

,
April 22, 2013
By
from Indiana
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" Just got it put together. Shipping box was slightly banged up with a hole in it. One of the tube frames was partially crushed. Rather than replace it, the manufacturer just painted over the damage. What really gets me is the imbecile who designed the brass nozzle on the roller. The angle of the bend is so tight that I cannot get the end of my commercial grade 100 ft. hose connected since the fitting is larger than those which come with the cheap hoses. Tried to turn the brass nozzle 90 degrees for clearance but it won't budge. If I keep it or get a replacement, I plan on replacing all of the supplied screws/washers/nuts with stainless steel ones . Hey Northern, how about insisting on quality control from the manufacturers whose products you sell? "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

1/2" Hose cart

,
October 8, 2012
By
from U.P. of Michigan
" I liked the cart until I noticed the brass fitting is only 1/2 inch in size. The maximum water flow thru cart is limited by the 1/2 inch brass fitting. Thus it makes no sense to hook up any hose larger than 1/2 in in size to this cart. Tried to order a 3/4 inch brass fitting. But it's only available in 1/2 inch size. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+16points
19out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor quality

,
August 15, 2012
By
from North Carolina
" This Roughneck Hose Reel Cart was a disappointment!
The assembly instructions weren't clear and many of the holes didn't line up properly. I actually had to re-drill some of the factory holes and drill additional holes and add bolts to keep the frame from flopping around. The reel is mounted loosely on the frame so that it slides back and forth on the axle. Because of this the crank handle strikes the frame when winding or unwinding the hose, slowing the retrieve and scratching the paint off.
Sorry I spent so much on such poor quality.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Roughneck Hose Reel Cart

,
August 13, 2012
By
from Tennessee
" This hose reel cart was packaged well, contained all the necessary parts, and had clear instructions for assembly. It is constructed of heavy tubing, is powder-coated, and required no drilling or other extraordinary means to assemble it. I expect that it will serve its purpose well. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Several Problems

,
May 30, 2012
By
from Village of Summit, WI
" The directions are not very easy to follow, and the holes don't line up well, but it is pretty sturdy once it's put together. I had to buy a 90 degree adapter because they did not attach the threaded hose attachment correctly so I could not hook a hose up to it. Within a week the reel fell off because the brass inlet pipe broke. There are grooves made for the snap rings, but they cut them so deep that there is only a paper thin amount of brass holding up the entire reel. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Supply Hose Failure

,
June 13, 2011
By
from WA State
" I had this hose reel cart for less than a week and the connection on the supply hose broke. It was hours before we discovered the broken connection and throughout the time, water was being lost at full water hose rate.
I notified the company about the supply hose failure and they did apologize, and said they would ship out a replacement supply hose. But -- the supply hose would need to be back ordered and then sent to me.
I'm still waiting for that supply hose!!!
On the good side -- the cart does hold a lot of hose and the large wheels make it pretty easy to move around.
But it can't be used without a supply hose.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Roughneck Hose Reel

,
June 2, 2011
By
from CHARLOTTE, NC
" I purchased this reel two weeks ago. Assembly was straight forward taking roughly 30 minutes, however, there was a shortage of one of the sizes of bolts, and too many of another size. Today, the inlet hose broke at one of the connections, and there appears to be some surface rust starting to form. The construction is "heavy duty" and even with above mentioned shortcomings, I will keep the reel, use it frequently knowing I may have to do some repairs on occasion. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.