Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose

Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose

Item# 163153
This rugged Roughneck Hose Reel Cart holds up to 400 feet of 5/8in. garden hose not included. Features heavy-duty brass fittings, a strong tubular steel frame and welded handle with swivel grip for easy hose winding and unwinding. Solid steel axles and flat-free 10in. tires that never need to be inflated. Image representational only hose is not included. Wheel Size in. 10, Frame Material Steel, Dimensions L x W x H in. 37 13/16 x 24 13/16 x 43 13/16, Hose Included No, Reel Capacity Hose Length ft. x Hose Diameter in. 400 x 5/8, Inlet Hose ft. 6. Durable tubular steel frame Easy-rolling 10in. flat free tires and solid axles for rough terrain Holds up to 400 ft. of 5/8in. hose Integrated basket to store accessories Heavy-duty brass fittings and couplers Heavy-duty welded handle with swivel grip for easy winding and unwinding Corrosion-resistant industrial powder coat finish Includes 6-ft. inlet hose
Average Customer Rating:
3.912 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (34 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
10
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
2
26 of 34(76%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Review 1 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Garden Hose reel/cart

,
February 4, 2014
By mvr14
from Greene, IA
"Purchased in summer of 2013 - Assembled easy and was used through fall and worked fine, no leaks and didn't tip over like others I have used. Wished it had swivel wheels on one end but it may not be as stable then. Thought was a little expensive when I bought, but it's been worth it. Happy with what I have."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really Good Reel

,
September 17, 2013
By M1794
from Knoxville, TN
"At first I was hesitant about the price, but after using this reel all summer I feel it is well worth the money. I have mine set up with 300' of quality hose and it gets the job done with ease."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
September 17, 2013
By necton
from New Hope, MN
"After purchasing and using one of these hose reel carts, I decided to purchase a second one. The assembly was very simple and easy using basic tools. There are a number of features I like about the cart. The flat free tires are awesome. The cart is very sturdy and durable. The hose winds very easily. I would recommend this product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Fell apart, just sitting in the driveway

,
August 3, 2013
By ManticoHill
from Northern VA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I ordered this hose reel cart on May 14, 2013 and put it together right after receiving it. I loaded the reel with hose, connected it to the spigot, and it has been in the same place ever since. The reel has worked OK until this weekend. I do wish it had a level wind though, like my other hose cart. Today, however, I discovered that the cart had literally fallen apart, just sitting there in my driveway. The brass inlet pipe broke clean off, and the drum dropped down to the ground. I can't say I'm impressed by the durability of this product. I have a plastic hose reel I bought at least 15 years ago and it's still working great. I wish I could buy another one of those, but unfortunately it's not made anymore and I cannot find anything like it. This hose reel looked like the best available alternative. Perhaps I got a defective one."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well Built, Sturdy Hose Reel Cart

,
July 15, 2013
By Rizard
from Tennessee
"I read alot of reviews before buying. This is a very sturdy, well built cart. I received all nuts & bolts required and it took me about 30-45 minutes to unpack & assemble. There were 2 small dents in the pieces. As some of the reviews mentioned, the packing was very poor; no air bags or packing material of any kind to prevent shipping damage. Essentially, ALL reviews I ready for metal hose reel carts said they rust, so I pre-emptively painted this cart with Rustoleum. This cart is the only one I found with Flat-Free tires. I keep my stuff in good shape & keep it for a long time and I think this cart will last."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

OK quality, could be better

,
July 7, 2013
By ILoveBeer
from Buffalo NY
"I bought this and have just finished assembling it. Like many reviewers, I have had a couple different plastic hose reel carts break on me and I wanted to find a very robustly designed and built cart that will hopefully last a long time. The parts are relatively easy to assemble. Assembly took approximately 40 minutes. They used carriage bolts in some areas where I felt another type of bolt could have been used more effectively, for example where the u bracket where the reel bushings attach to the cart. The carriage bolts work but the manufacturer did not make a square shaped receptacle for the bolt head so you'll need a wrench or something to prevent the head from twirling around as you fasten the nut. The quality of the cart overall is not bad. It could be sturdier. Despite being fastened down with the bolt the crank has about 1/2" of loose play. Lastly there are 4 places where the wheel "axles" slide through and attach to the cart on the bottom. These are welded to the bottom tubes but the manufacturer could have done a better job on the welds. I'm planning on leaving this out in the weather in a semi protected area. I have concerns that the cart will rust; it is painted or powder coated, but I'm not sure how weatherproof the bolts, wheel "axles", and some of the other parts are. I'm hoping this will last more than 3 years."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Holds A Lot Of Hose

,
June 26, 2013
By Gearz
from Salem, NH 03079
"The hose reel rolls up hose with ease and so far there isn't any leaks. Rust is a problem even though I waxed it the axles were the first to start rusting then the tubs where they meet then the per drilled holes. I do like the cart because it is easy to roll around the yard and the old plastic one I had was terrible. If the rust continues I will give a coat of paint over the winter and go from there. This is a nice cart all in all."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Unit seems good

,
June 22, 2013
By TheOldRanger
from northwest Ohio
"My first complaint... the number of bolts, washers, and nuts were not correct in either box (I ordered two of these). I spent 3 hours assembling the first one because I had to run to the hardware store to buy several pieces that were not in the plastic packet. My second complaint... the instruction booklet is not very good and I finally tore out the parts page so I didn't have to keep turning back and forth for assembly. My third complaint... I almost missed mounting the handle guide on the main frame.. no instructions, so basically I had to guess which bolts were the correct ones... in fact, only one was long enough to do this job, and was one of those I had to buy at the hardware store. The unit seems very sturdy once it's assembled, but I haven't put the hose on it yet. I've started my second reel, and am missing a few bolts, nuts, and washers.... QA really screwed up big time in this area."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I'm happy

,
May 9, 2013
By conroeman
from texas
"some reviews stated reel was difficult to put together so I was a little skeptical. I was looking for quality and after looking at several other hose reels, I decided on this one. I opened the box and placed all the screws nuts and bolts on the ground and separated them into same sizes. I started putting it together and it was very simple and only took about 45 minutes. I was impressed at how easy everything fit together. I also noticed the quality compared to others I had seen. I hooked it up to my hose bib and WOW "no leaks". Operates very smoothly and I like it. Happy day...."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

worth the price

,
April 25, 2013
By 08642ty
from harrisburg pa
"directions not clear, but easy to assemble. sturdy good fitting parts & pieces. holds more than three good quality hoses, smooth operation easy to wind in hose. very quickly delivered. I saw cheaper hose reels.....you get what you pay for with this"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Assembly was daunting, cart works ok

,
April 25, 2013
By zombieprepared
from Largo, Florida
"When I went to put this together, I was baffled how nothing lined up. Followed the directions and realized partial way through that a lot of the metal pieces looked like they had stress fractures and were bent. I managed to bend them back to usable (instead of returning it) and eventually made everything fit but it took about 4 hours to get it together. Once together, the cart works as it should. It does hold a LOT of hose. I put 3 long lengths together. The tires are nice, easily rolling through sand or grass. Handle sits a little low for my tastes, but overall not a bad little cart."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid!

,
April 23, 2013
By Fishingnerd
from Concord, NC
"This hose reel is a great value. It is solidly built, rolls smoothly, and holds all the hose I need. The reel operates so smoothly that this hose reel could use a locking mechanism to keep the drum from unwinding at unwanted times, but I can live with that. Oh... and the no-flat tires are what pushed me to this one over a similar model NT sells. I don't have to deal with air leaking from inflatable tires (and it will). Overall... this is a much better deal than the plastic hose reels that cost nearly as much."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Fair quality

,
April 22, 2013
By Bob50
from Indiana
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Just got it put together. Shipping box was slightly banged up with a hole in it. One of the tube frames was partially crushed. Rather than replace it, the manufacturer just painted over the damage. What really gets me is the imbecile who designed the brass nozzle on the roller. The angle of the bend is so tight that I cannot get the end of my commercial grade 100 ft. hose connected since the fitting is larger than those which come with the cheap hoses. Tried to turn the brass nozzle 90 degrees for clearance but it won't budge. If I keep it or get a replacement, I plan on replacing all of the supplied screws/washers/nuts with stainless steel ones . Hey Northern, how about insisting on quality control from the manufacturers whose products you sell?"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product (So Far So GOOD!) -- Assembly Notes

,
October 16, 2012
By roughnecklubber123
from United States
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I love the materials; feels like I'll have this product working for a long time!!
Notes about assembly of product: For Step One I used the LONGEST bolts available.
For mounting the "crank hub" there are no instructions... I just used a couple of the second longest skinny bolts.
Overall, I am really satisfied so far, beats that horrible PLASTIC reel I bought called "Suncast."
p.s. product arrived in ratty, broken package/box... didn't hurt it though"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hose Reel

,
October 15, 2012
By TheJamster1
from Bloomingdale, GA
"Works great!! Holds plenty of hose. I would recommend putting inside while not in use so it won't rust."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

1/2" Hose cart

,
October 8, 2012
By yooper1234
from U.P. of Michigan
"I liked the cart until I noticed the brass fitting is only 1/2 inch in size. The maximum water flow thru cart is limited by the 1/2 inch brass fitting. Thus it makes no sense to hook up any hose larger than 1/2 in in size to this cart. Tried to order a 3/4 inch brass fitting. But it's only available in 1/2 inch size."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+12points
15out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

,
October 8, 2012
By Art61
from MCINDOE FALLS, Vt
"This hose reel is great! It replaces one of those plastic jobs that never worked well and wasn't portable. I have a fairly large place and the house has 2 spickets. So know with little affort I can move it where I need it and in the winter I can bring the whole thing inside easily. I have over 300' of hose on it and have no problem winding the full lengh of hose up."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good value and sturdy

,
October 8, 2012
By Outback
from Hartselle, AL
"This hose reel is good value compared to what other similar products cost. The assembly instructions were not as clear as they should have been, but using the process of elimination, my son and I were able to confirm that we had done it correctly. Initially we were not able to hook up our heavy duty garden hose to the fitting on the drum of the hose reel because of the angle of the fitting on the reel and the stiffness of the hose, (near the end where it is designed to not kink), but using a large adjustable wrench I was able to move the fitting very slightly and the hose would go on. I like the soild tires so that I never have to worry with pumping them up."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT PRODUCT

,
October 8, 2012
By FALCONS
from Wetumpka, Alabama
"After shopping around for a hose cart this is by far the best one on the market. Very easy to put together. Very durable and will last a long time.
Only down side is that you will have to buy additional nuts and bolts to put it together"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Roughneck Hose Reel Cart - Holds 400ft. x 5/8in. Hose
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Things not so great

,
August 15, 2012
By Vern6977
from Buffalo, NY
"MADE IN CHINA, extremely cheap nuts & bolts. Assembled, seems to be sturdy. So far works well for what I use it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.