Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crescent Mechanic's Tools - 148-Pc. Set

Crescent Mechanic's Tools - 148-Pc. Set

Item# 16320
This Crescent Mechanic's Tool Set is a complete set of sockets, driver bits, pliers and more - all the tools needed for most industrial applications All tools in this industrial-quality tool set meet stringent new ANSI and ASME specifications. Durable storage case has raised-letter ID for each tool location, keeping tools organized and locked securely in place, a real benefit for work vehicles or other places where tools get knocked around. Tool Set Type Mechanics set, Pieces qty. 148. Includes 3 72-tooth quick-release ratchet drivers and extenders 20 1/4in. sockets 10 3/8in. deep well sockets 10 1/2in. sockets Combination wrenches 6in. diagonal and 8in. long nose pliers Bit driver with 40 bits, screwdrivers and hex keys
Average Customer Rating:
4.577 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (52 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
20
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
51 of 52(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Crescent Mechanic's Tools - 148-Pc. Set
Review 1 for Crescent Mechanic's Tools - 148-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect starter set.

,
April 24, 2013
By Dyanmo
from Oklahoma
"I purched this set for a Christmas gift. I was so impressed I ended up keeping it for myself. Everything needed to do just about any job right there in one compact carrying case. The only thing I do not like is that the tools do not stay in place unless you use extreme care not to jostle kit. Overall I love it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Crescent Mechanic's Tools - 148-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Set For Everyday Tasks

,
April 23, 2013
By Jagr0815
from Carbondale, PA
"This is a great set for everyday tasks and general repairs. The case does not hold up well over an extended period of time but the tool quality is good."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Crescent Mechanic's Tools - 148-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Good

,
October 15, 2012
By Phoenix12
from Avoca, NY
"This is a very hady tool set, w/ all of the basics"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Crescent Mechanic's Tools - 148-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

I bought two

,
May 8, 2012
By rayt
from Central Massachusetts
"I bought one to put in the camper. I took it out of the camper for winter storage. I used it so much around the garage and house that winter, I bought another. I have a full tool box in the garage, but this is all together and close at hand. One for the camper and now the other for around the house. When you’re going to work on something, grab it and go. Not a bad tool kit.
One of the ratchets is starting not to engage now [1 of 6 (2 sets)]. Just have to give it a whack and it starts working again. Other than that no issues.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Crescent Mechanic's Tools - 148-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Kit to transport

,
October 17, 2011
By TC19
from Middle Tennessee
"This tool set from Crescent is very well built and conveinent to use. It is great for what it is but it is not a replace for a complete set of sockets or tools.
There are not a great selection of different sizes in the sockets and like stated before, there is not 1 adjustable wrench of which Crescent is known for in this set. The case is very well built and works well for the purpose for which it is intended. I got it on sale and that is really what makes it an acceptable tool set to own.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Crescent Mechanic's Tools - 148-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

The last set you'll need for your trunk...

,
October 17, 2011
By MarkMDZ
from CT
"So I always keep some tools in every vehicle of mine as a little added insurance. New truck (to me) meant the need for a small set to stuff behind the seat.
Although there's plenty of "filler" tools (i.e. screwdriver bits, tiny #1 Phillips screwdriver), I suppose they're justifiable when you actually need to use them. The tools are great quality, the pear-head ratchets are great quality, as are the sockets.
Even the blow-molded case gets some good marks due to metal-pinned hinges so you don't have to worry about the 'doors' falling off the case after frequent use.
The only reason for 4 of 5 stars is because some of the tools have fallen out of their homes (not out of the case though) despite being securely locked in when putting the case away. Also the latches to lock the case shut are a little awkward to get to up top as they're under the handle.
All told though, great purchase, great value, and a very nice "as complete as it gets" kit for a grab-n-go kit."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Crescent Mechanic's Tools - 148-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Scoutmaster

,
June 15, 2011
By tas149
"This is one product that I personally can attest to as being one of the best and handiest sets around. The ratchet wrench accepts every socket or tool included in the kit. The fact that you not only have standard sockets and metric, you also get them in 1/4 and 3/8 drive. No looking around for what you need, it's all right at hand. The case is not the best due to the plastic clasp type of locks. After a period of time they will break off and you wind up using a bungee or some other type of strap to keep it closed. You really cannot lose any of the tools inside because they snap into their respective locations and only come out when you need to use them. The wrenches are of good quality and will not slip. The Allen, torx, screwdriver and posi-drive bit sets are hard to beat when you need them. They hold up against the weather and elements. The chrome remains just as clean as the day that they were first purchased. For a neat and handy set of tools that you can carry around with you in your car or truck these are the ones. There are two great spark plug sockets and adapters that you can use, whenever you need to use the larger handles with the smaller tool for more power. The case is flat and will not take up a lot of space. I perform a lot of tasks around the house, and I use it to make auto and equipment repairs as well. This not your major professional brand, but can fill in and do an outstanding job for the price."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Crescent Mechanic's Tools - 148-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not as good as I'd hoped

,
June 13, 2011
By jp2code
from Longview, TX
"After reading the reviews on here about this toolset, I had to have one for myself.
I've had it a little over 6-months now, but I'm not thrilled by this toolset.
- There is no Crescent wrench, believe it or not (i.e. the original, adjustable end wrench).
- There is no overlap between sizes. For Example: A 1/2-inch socket comes in a 3/8-drive, but there is not also a 1/4-drive like what is in my other toolset. You get one 1/2-inch socket. Take it or leave it. All of the sockets are this way.
- The ratchet heads are thicker than my other toolsets, so they are harder to get into those tight spaces.
- My biggest gripe is that every job I seem to take this on, I always end up needing a wrench that is the next size up.
I got this on sale for around $50 during the Christmas season, but shipping drove it up almost another $50. I should have walked away, but I guess then I would have always wondered.
The tool quality is good, but it is not living up to the expectations I had from reviews on here.
What do I work on with it? Barns & sheds, household fixes, farm tractor, motorcycle, personal vehicles."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Crescent Mechanic's Tools - 148-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Far Exceeds Expectations

,
June 6, 2011
By Daniel07
from Louisiana - Home Remodeler
"I bought this tool set without really looking at the contents, but more based upon the brand. Over the years I've bought and used many Crescent products. When it arrived and I opened it, it was much better than I expected. The tools are heavy chrome plated, and the selection is so complete I can handle just about any job that comes along.
I took the big heavy box out of my pick up, added a torque wrench and this Crescent set. I have used it numerous times and am not disappointed. I paid almost $100 for it and now that it is on sale it is a real bargain.
The fact that it contains all 3 drives as well as extensions and a large variety of SAE and Metric makes it more versatile. You won't be sorry you bought this tool set.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Crescent Mechanic's Tools - 148-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

socket set

,
March 21, 2011
By streamlight
from fort worth texas
"i bought this socket set because of the quality , i did alot of shopping around and looke at a lot of sets. i could have chosen any set i wanted and i did i bought this set . i love it because every thing you need is at your finger tips. no searching in the bottom of your toolbox to find what you need. i cannot say enough good things abouht this set . look all you want !! but save your self a lot of trouble and go with this set. you will be glad you did.."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Crescent Mechanic's Tools - 148-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Crescent Mechanics Tools - 148-Pc. Set

,
March 15, 2011
By DrHunt2
from Mount Clemens, Mi.
"This an excellent tool set.
I take it with me everywhere I go that I may need some tools.
It travels well and stores easily, plus you can easily tell if one of yours tools is missing, so you know to look around for it.
I enjoy mine so much, I bought each of my adult children a set as part of their Christmas gift.
They have all thanked me repeatedly for such a handy and useful gift.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Crescent Mechanic's Tools - 148-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tools for the Price

,
March 15, 2011
By ribeye
from Willis, TX
"Bought this set to carry around in my vehicle. Has just about everything you need in case of a breakdown or emergency. Have also used on several other projects & what I like about it is I don't have to keep going back to my big tool box if I need something else. Everything is right there & the different drives solve the problem of holding a back-up if you need it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Crescent Mechanic's Tools - 148-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

awsome tool set

,
March 14, 2011
By farmboy14
from West Central Ohio
"This is an awesome tool set, it fits very nicely under the rear seat in the truck. It has a nice arrangement of sizes that make it versitle to use on almost any repair that comes along. Would recommend this to anyone that could use a start up kit."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Crescent Mechanic's Tools - 148-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best buy

,
March 14, 2011
By GMMB
from WA
"This tool kits stays well organized in the case, tools snap- in to stay locked in place. Easy to see what is missing after a job, so you don’t lose anything. Everything you need and tools are of high quality"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Crescent Mechanic's Tools - 148-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tool kit for a decent price

,
March 14, 2011
By afastherosmom
"Our company cannot keep these tool kits in stock. We have tried many different kits and these are the best and most popular with our employees that we have found. I really hope they are available for a long time to come."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Crescent Mechanic's Tools - 148-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great set

,
March 10, 2011
By LowerSlowerContracting
"This set has quickly become one of my core tools (tools that stay in the truck because I use them daily). I have already administered some serious punishment and they have not let me down. For criticisms sake the bits are soft. But I have yet to encounter a bit set that wasnt."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Crescent Mechanic's Tools - 148-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

crescent

,
November 18, 2010
By chaz1
from wetumka ok
"Best tool set I have ever had, has everything in one box."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Crescent Mechanic's Tools - 148-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

tool set

,
November 17, 2010
By fbcdd
"We have a lot of these sets in the field. They are used and abused and hold up like a champ. Plastic case? Holds up pretty well for plastic."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Crescent Mechanic's Tools - 148-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Tool Set!

,
November 16, 2010
By ek123
from Las Vegas
"This is a great set and a great price. It does look like the cresant wrench is nolonger part of the set...I almost bought another one at the new lower price untill I noticed the missing cresant. Still a great buy...just not as complete without the cresant wrench."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Crescent Mechanic's Tools - 148-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Value

,
November 16, 2010
By Grandan
from Blaine, TN
"High quality tools for the money. Happy with the purchase."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.