Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crescent Mechanic's Tools - 148-Pc. Set

Crescent Mechanic's Tools - 148-Pc. Set

Item# 16320
This Crescent Mechanic's Tool Set is a complete set of sockets, driver bits, pliers and more - all the tools needed for most industrial applications All tools in this industrial-quality tool set meet stringent new ANSI and ASME specifications. Durable storage case has raised-letter ID for each tool location, keeping tools organized and locked securely in place, a real benefit for work vehicles or other places where tools get knocked around. Pieces qty. 148, Tool Set Type Mechanic set. Includes 3 72-tooth quick-release ratchet drivers and extenders 20 1/4in. sockets 10 3/8in. deep well sockets 10 1/2in. sockets Combination wrenches 6in. diagonal and 8in. long nose pliers Bit driver with 40 bits, screwdrivers and hex keys
Average Customer Rating:
4.574 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(54 Reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (54 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
21
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
53 of 54(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Crescent Mechanic's Tools - 148-Pc. Set
Review 21 for Crescent Mechanic's Tools - 148-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Tool Set!

,
November 16, 2010
By ek123
from Las Vegas
"This is a great set and a great price. It does look like the cresant wrench is nolonger part of the set...I almost bought another one at the new lower price untill I noticed the missing cresant. Still a great buy...just not as complete without the cresant wrench."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Crescent Mechanic's Tools - 148-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Value

,
November 16, 2010
By Grandan
from Blaine, TN
"High quality tools for the money. Happy with the purchase."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Crescent Mechanic's Tools - 148-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

As Good As SnapOn and Better In Some Ways

,
July 13, 2010
By Kubotadieseluser
from Alabama
"I've used SnapOn tools for the past 40 yrs. With SnapOn you get a fine smooth surface finish that is easy on your hands and easy to clean up. This Cresent set of tools provides that same quality finish - even on close inspection. The Cresent sockets exhibit standard wall thicknesses of the tool body, that cheaply made tools don't have - and which often prevents the cheapies from being used in certain tight areas. These Cresent sockets are machined to securely lock onto the drive wrenches and provided extensions - extentions that also exhibit the same fine quality machining and finish. I also like that all of the sockets are six-point, as the six-points always grip better - and most nuts and bolts are of six-point design.
The ratchet drives are also of great quality - very possibly of higher quality than SnapOn by their look, weight, and feel. The ratchet actions are also light and smooth in operations, and two different switch settings are offered for each direction. This gives the ratchet a slightly louder or softer "click" according to the setting, and a just perceptable heavier feel to the action in the "loud" setting. Considering I've worn out SnapOn ratches in a little as a year, i'm almost confident these Cresent ratchets will outlast or at least be of comparable quality with reasonable care. The fractional ratchet mechanisms feel every bit as good as the comparable SnapOn models do when new. The only caveat I see is the ratchet mechanism is exposed to dirt by two open holes at the ratchet switches. Although these ratchets can be disassembled for cleaning and inspection, extra care will be needed to keep dirt out to prevent frequent cleaning disassembly. That's what pulls one star from my review.
The magnetic driver holds the nice selection of included bits very well with a strong magnet, and all the drivers, (screw and Phillips) have a black oxide tip coating that makes it harder for the tool tips to slip in a fastener.
The side cut needle nose pliers and side cutting pliers are of expected Cresent quality (made in China), but don't have the more standard black oxide finish - this means they will require oiling to prevent rust. From the look, they aren't of hardened heat-treated Rockwell hardness, but are of good quality for most uses. For example, my SnapOn side cutters can cut through hardened steel hose clamps that I'm sure would quickly dull or damage these.
As far as the combination wrenches, you won't find a better one from SnapOn to compare with these. They are excellent.
Overall, for the good Cresent price, guarantee (that SnapOn doesn't offer), and tool quality, this tool set is a great purchase anyone will be very pleased with - unless they are working the ratchets in heavy grime and will be frequently needing to clean the ratchet actions. I use this set at home and they are never subjected to dirt that could clog the ratchet actions. (The inexpensive answer to a ratchet better suited to heavy grime is also right here at Northern)"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Crescent Mechanic's Tools - 148-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Crescent 148 pc toolkit

,
June 3, 2010
By Rickyrs
from Georgia
"Great name and a great product!!
Can't beat the Northern Tools price and get the Crescent tools quality anywhere.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Crescent Mechanic's Tools - 148-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very useful and convenient

,
June 3, 2010
By woodchips
from Vermont, USA
"I've had this set for a couple of years now and it has held up well.
Pros: Tools are top quality. The case's briefcase shape makes it easy to take along. This set has almost everything you're likely to need for small jobs and roadside repairs. It's really handy to grab and go.
Cons: The case doesn't do a great job of holding the ratchets in place and they often fall out of their slots when closing it up. No big deal if you're careful. The largest wrench is only 5/8, so you may need to pack some bigger ones. There are sockets up to 7/8. Ironically, the biggest weakness (in my opinion) is the lack of a Crescent wrench."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Crescent Mechanic's Tools - 148-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Homeowner

,
June 3, 2010
By Tpnsjn
from Menomonee Falls, WI
"I like the ability to pick up and carry 1 case to the job and have a large selection of tools available for use and for each tool to have its own place in the case."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Crescent Mechanic's Tools - 148-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tool Set

,
May 25, 2010
By jbp38
from Millington, MI
"A nice thin case. Fits behind the seat in my plow truck. Good selection of tools and I have used it many times already. It is a great product for the money. Get one, you'll love it. Makes a great gift."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Crescent Mechanic's Tools - 148-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome set!

,
February 16, 2010
By ds450x
from Pennsylvania
"Pretty much everything you need for around the house or in the garage, even all those lil pain in the but starhead bits. I was so happy with the price and the quality of this product I would suggest it for everyone."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Crescent Mechanic's Tools - 148-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great gift

,
December 11, 2009
By Socrwallet
from Elkton, Maryland
"My father bought this for me on my 50th birthday - he was tired of me using his tools his entire life. Without a doubt this is the best gift my dad has gotten me, ever, and I've told him many times since. Now my son has renewed the cycle, I've decided not to wait until he's 50, he'll get his own set this Christmas at 21!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Crescent Mechanic's Tools - 148-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good basic tool set

,
July 20, 2009
By corrtech
from West Virginia
"bought a set about a year ago for our welder, he braggged so much about it I bought myself a set. I carry a toolbox of assorted tools, and find myself reaching for this set on most jobs. Well made, has most of what you need right at your fingertips. A reasonable price for what you get, and it is Crescent quality."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Crescent Mechanic's Tools - 148-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of the best tools.

,
June 10, 2009
By Vridar
from NW MO
"This is a great idea. The most common needed tools in a small handy carrying case. It's the first thing I grab when headed to a small project. Ninty-nine percent of the time, I'll have what I need for the job. It is also handy to through in the RV or car when headed out for a trip. Never know when one of the contained tools is needed."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Crescent Mechanic's Tools - 148-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Set!

,
March 24, 2009
By Michael1817
from Bakersfield CA
"I have had these for about a year now and they are great. I really like the size of the set, it makes it easy to put behind a pickup seat. I bought one for work, home and one for my brother inlaw as a gift."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Crescent Mechanic's Tools - 148-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Heavy Duty

,
March 17, 2009
By theelder
from SE Michigan
"Decent price on real CRESCENT brand tools. Industrial grade quality!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Crescent Mechanic's Tools - 148-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NICE SET

,
November 19, 2008
By SNAPPER
from ND
"THIS IS A NICE SET OF TOOLS FOR THE MONEY. TOOLS ARE SMOOTH AND NICE TO USE. THE CARRY CASE IS OF GOOD QUALITY IN A NICE COMPACT SIZE. NICE TO TAKE ON THE ROAD. I HAVE HAD THE SET FOR ABOUT A YEAR AND HAVE USED THEM A LOT. A VERY GOOD VALUE IN MY OPINION."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Crescent Mechanic's Tools - 148-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

,
November 19, 2008
By BennyB
from El Centro, CA
"This set of hand tools contains everything a home handyman can use, plus! From regular sized bolts to the smallest ones. It's a very durable set. My neighbor has had his set for over a year and even though he gives it alot of use, it still looks brand new!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Crescent Mechanic's Tools - 148-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

i've been using this set everyday for years

,
August 28, 2008
By jheetman
from lacrosse, wi
"i work as a forklift technician and i gotta say that this set has been a life saver, it has a great selection and is so portable its the first thing i grab from my truck while on a service call. the tools are high quality and stand up to everyday use and abuse. the 1/4 in. ratchet started skipping on me probably due to how dirty i've gotten the ratchet by dropping it in sludge too many times, but i simply took it apart and cleaned the internals with a wire brush and dipped them in ATF and it has worked like new ever since. i haven't broken a tool yet. only other complaint is that after about 2 years of everyday use the tools don't stay in thier slots like they used to but overall it's been great!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Crescent Mechanic's Tools - 148-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Crescent 148 Piece Tool Set

,
August 18, 2008
By larryzp
from Hampton, VA
"This set comes complete with most tools used daily. The case is slim and allows easy access to all the tools. We have to sets to use at work and have had no problems with them in the last year."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Crescent Mechanic's Tools - 148-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Tools on the go

,
August 12, 2008
By Arcenio
from Chowchilla CA
"These tools are excellent quality and work perfect for the mechanic on the go. I used these tools in the field all day, just grab them and put them to work. The carrying case makes it easy to carry for remote areas where large tool boxs won't go."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Crescent Mechanic's Tools - 148-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

mechanics tools

,
August 11, 2008
By BILLPADAMS511
from SPOKANE,WA
"GREAT TOOLS.I WAS RELUCTANT TO TAKE THEM OUT OF THE PACKAGE UNTIL MY BRAKES FAILED.EVERYTHING I NEEDED TO REPLACE THE DISCS,ROUTERS AND MASTER CYLINDER.PLACE OF HONOR IN MY WORK SHOP"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Crescent Mechanic's Tools - 148-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

#1 TOOL SET

,
April 14, 2008
By WITTER
from FORT WORTH,TX.
"Excellent product, I have found this to be the only tool set I need.
Comes with the most common tools that I use on a daily basis, They are in a organized case for easy carrying and easy to get too.
The case is excellent for keeping all the tools organized with easy access when needed and has held up great except for the latch tabs that have broken off. The screw drivers have excellent handles for a sure grip even when my hands get oil and grease on them they also have a magnetic tip to help hold on to small screws. The large assortment of sockets has made field work much simpler by not having to haul a huge tool box. I have 2 sets that I use 1 at home for work on cars,lawnmowers and just about any home project you can think of I can do with this 1 set. The other set is used at work every day fixing large construction equipment and also plant maintenance at a foundation drilling mfg.co.The only suggestion I would have is to offer a kit with the ratcheting wrenches.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.