Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Whelen Engineering Guardian Halogen Mini Lightbar - Magnetic Mount, Amber, Model# G2MA

Whelen Engineering Guardian Halogen Mini Lightbar - Magnetic Mount, Amber, Model# G2MA

Item# 163736
The Whelen Engineering Guardian halogen mini lightbars feature 175 RPM rotators and a full-size diamond mirror that provides 700 flashes per minute. Rotations Per Minute 175, Light Type Halogen mini light bar, Flash Patterns qty. 1, Flashes Per Minute 700, Mounting Hardware Included Yes, Mount Type Magnetic, Lights Included qty. 1, Power Cord ft. 10, Dimensions L x W x H in. 17 5/16 x 7 x 6 1/4, Bulbs Per Light qty. 2-55W halogen H1, Light Color Amber, Connector Type 12V DC, Housing Material Polycarbonate. SAE J845 Class I certified amber 175 RPM rotators full-size diamond mirror provides 700 flashes/minute Precision wide-angle reflectors provide maximum intensity Quiet, reliable double ball bearing motor assembly Standard 12V DC Magnetic mount Includes 10-ft. cord
Average Customer Rating:
4.385 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (13 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 of 13(92%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Whelen Engineering Guardian Halogen Mini Lightbar - Magnetic Mount, Amber, Model# G2MA
Review 1 for Whelen Engineering Guardian Halogen Mini Lightbar - Magnetic Mount, Amber, Model# G2MA
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Beginer Light - Not Professional Grade!

,
September 1, 2012
By OkieA
from OKC, Ok
"This is an OK light due to the price. For what you are paying you would expect much more. Its not very bright but workable. My problem with the light is it blows its own fuses constantly and only had it 2 months and already replacing bulbs. I my profession it is not popular; the moving parts don't hold up to the vibrations, blows fuses and bulbs easily.
The advantage is dual lights so I can at least keep going when a bulb burns out and when a fuse pops it is located in the power plug. The magnets are the best I have seen; even with its high profile it doesn't move at all at high speeds.
If your using it on the highway and can't stop to replace parts I would highly seggest LED for only a few dollars more for the dependability and brighter lights.
With my line of work I will not buy this again but in lighter duty applications it would probably do fine
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Whelen Engineering Guardian Halogen Mini Lightbar - Magnetic Mount, Amber, Model# G2MA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Warning Light

,
February 21, 2011
By TerryC
from Raleigh NC
"Prior to purchasing the Guardian,I did alot of research to find the best light for the best price for what I needed,and after seeing the light on several of our Airport vehicles the decision was easy.I feel this light surpasses any light it's size either revolving or strobe,and even some full size lightbars as to the light output and visibility in all weather conditions. My Ham radio club does event communications and course monitoring for numerous charity bicycle rides,some of theses are 100 mile events with several thousand riders,and our course vehicles need warning lights that get the attention of motorists.and this light does the job .An additional feature I like, that alot of lighter plug models don't have,is the on/off switch in in the lighter plug,so you don't have to plug it in every time to turn it on,just leave it plugged it and hit the switch . The 4- 50 lb magnets seem to hold very rather well,but I replaced them with 4-90 lb for that extra hold at highway speeds. You'll be hard pressed to find a better mini lightbar anywhere."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Whelen Engineering Guardian Halogen Mini Lightbar - Magnetic Mount, Amber, Model# G2MA
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lots of flash

,
September 3, 2010
By drbane
from Milwaukee, WI
"This mini lightbar provides a ton of flash for not a whole lot of cash. There are plenty of full size lightbars which do not provide the same flash rate for more than double the price of this light and they won't fit in the trunk either. For instance, the full size Federal Signal Street Hawk has a flash rate of less than 600 flashes per minute. This little gem is sure to be noticed with it's 700 flashes per minute!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Whelen Engineering Guardian Halogen Mini Lightbar - Magnetic Mount, Amber, Model# G2MA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wlelen Light Bar

,
May 24, 2010
By CAPtech
from Henderson, NV
"Great product for the price. Works as advertised. We use the light bar on our vehicles in Las Vegas, NV where the sun is usually very strong. Light bar can be seem with no problem. Easy to install with magnets. Due to a lot of highway driving we decided to do a perminant mount which was also easy. Highly recommend this product."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Whelen Engineering Guardian Halogen Mini Lightbar - Magnetic Mount, Amber, Model# G2MA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Professional

,
February 20, 2010
By gtehandyman
from Northeast Connecticut
"I use this light on top of my skid steer loader when doing snow removal. A few weeks back we had a heavy snow shower after dark where visability was a factor, I was told I could be seen about 1/2 mile away in those conditions. I plan on purchasing another for my Truck."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Whelen Engineering Guardian Halogen Mini Lightbar - Magnetic Mount, Amber, Model# G2MA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

light bar

,
February 15, 2010
By malt
from Emporium, PA
"This is a great light, can be seen easily. Some light bars do not attract your attention --- this one does a great job. As we do not have one truck that would be on the job site needing a flashing light, we did not want a permanent mounted light. This light enables us to move it from truck to truck easily."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Whelen Engineering Guardian Halogen Mini Lightbar - Magnetic Mount, Amber, Model# G2MA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality - Price

,
February 15, 2010
By ezstreet55
"Good quality light. . .best price I could find for it"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Whelen Engineering Guardian Halogen Mini Lightbar - Magnetic Mount, Amber, Model# G2MA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cant miss you with this thing on!

,
July 20, 2009
By MattyPinGB
from Green Bay, WI
"I purchased this light bar to use when plowing snow with my truck. It works great and provides excellent visibility to others."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Whelen Engineering Guardian Halogen Mini Lightbar - Magnetic Mount, Amber, Model# G2MA
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice light

,
July 20, 2009
By landscape32
from MD
"This is a great light i have 2 on my back rack one on each side and it puts out some nice warning power. I think it is even brighter than the new led bars in daylight for 1/4th the cost . This mini bar can be had much cheerer else ware though."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Whelen Engineering Guardian Halogen Mini Lightbar - Magnetic Mount, Amber, Model# G2MA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

LIGHT BAR

,
July 20, 2009
By SRP1432
from YOUNGSTOWN OHIO
"I HAVE INSTALLED THIS LIGHT BAR ON OUR PLOW TRUCK AND HAVE TRUCKERS COMMENT THAT THEY CAN SEE ME FOR HUNDREDS OF FEET. IT IS EASY TO INSTALL AND EXTREMLY BRIGHT. WELL WORTH THE MONEY. WE HAVE BOUGHT ONE FOR OUR OTHER LOCATIONS."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Whelen Engineering Guardian Halogen Mini Lightbar - Magnetic Mount, Amber, Model# G2MA
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good product

,
July 20, 2009
By Kenkah1980
from South Brunswick, nj
"i bought 2 of these for my trucks and I havent had any real problems with them. The only thing i could see being a problem is if you have a nice vehicle the magnets do scratch the paint on the roof."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Whelen Engineering Guardian Halogen Mini Lightbar - Magnetic Mount, Amber, Model# G2MA
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Whelen light

,
March 16, 2009
By master1
from la porte city, IA
"The magnetic base holds it in place fairly well. It did move a bit and leave marks on the cab. It is a bit noisey, you can hear it in the cab turning. It is used on the snow removal vehicle and it is nice and bright. For the price it gets the job done. We will put it on other units."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Whelen Engineering Guardian Halogen Mini Lightbar - Magnetic Mount, Amber, Model# G2MA
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

whelen light

,
December 24, 2008
By plowmaster
from iowa
"i bougth this light for my truck to use when i plow, come to figure out that its brigher than the states dot's lights on there trucks but for the price its a great light an the magnets hold up to 70 mph and head winds... the only thing i wish it had was a longer cord for the plug in but other than that its great!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.