Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Amprobe Digital Clamp-On Multimeter, Model# ACD-14+

Amprobe Digital Clamp-On Multimeter, Model# ACD-14+

Item# 163799
Clamp-on digital multimeter measures both AC and DC voltage up to 600 volts and AC current up to 400 Amps. Amps AC current to 400, Capacitance 3,000 EF, Resistance 40Mu, Volts AC/DC-600, Display Type Dual, Measures DC/AC, temperature, diode test. Frequency measurement Diode test Temperature measurement Type K thermocouple Hold and Maximum reading functions Dual LCD display allows simultaneous reading of voltage and amperage Accommodates conductors up to 1.02in. 26mm diameter Auto ranging Auto power off and low battery indicator Rubber over-molded case provides a secure grip In rush current Overload protected CAT III 600V CE/UL listed
Average Customer Rating:
4.727 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (22 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 of 21(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Amprobe Digital Clamp-On Multimeter, Model# ACD-14+
Review 1 for Amprobe Digital Clamp-On Multimeter, Model# ACD-14+
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

master tech

,
February 22, 2014
By tommytech309
from fl
"I have had one of these meters for 15 yrs and im a field tech for commercial/residential appliance and hvac/r repair.doesnt look like its for pro's but it will do milli volts milli amps,test diodes,etc.has withstood years of abuse with no problems.highly recommended."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Amprobe Digital Clamp-On Multimeter, Model# ACD-14+
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

happy owner

,
September 3, 2010
By 1161
from russedll springs ky
"love to use this product very well made i use this meter at home and work have nothing bad to say at all very happy if this one ever goes bad will buy another one really like the fact it has the temp probe"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Amprobe Digital Clamp-On Multimeter, Model# ACD-14+
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great tool

,
August 30, 2010
By student
from Bloomsburg
"I attend Penn tech. my tool list was quite extensive. i choose this product because of my budget and have not regretted my decision. this is a great meter. it is smaller than the ones that the school was selling in there kits and does all the same things from what i can see. i love it and i believe you will too."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Amprobe Digital Clamp-On Multimeter, Model# ACD-14+
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

very good, usable meter

,
August 30, 2010
By idoitall
from Arlington TX
"Really like this unit, has good features for the buck and since im paying for it and not the company, gotta like the cost. The only thing about these clamp style meters in my opinion is they need the larger display because your usually holding it at an odd angle and that makes it even harder to read if your not in the right light. So maybe something with a pear shape to make it easier to hold for the larger hands out here. Compact is fine but when your used to reading a regular meters screen it does make a difference. Other than that, this meter fits the bill."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Amprobe Digital Clamp-On Multimeter, Model# ACD-14+
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

amprobe

,
August 23, 2010
By devi8ed
from greenville ,alabama
"compact and reliable,this meter is also very accurate. perfect for hvac/r applications."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Amprobe Digital Clamp-On Multimeter, Model# ACD-14+
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Little Meter

,
March 23, 2009
By HVACcontractor
from Kalamazoo, MI
"I own and use this meter daily. It is dependable and is as accurate as my other Amprobe meters. Having the amp reading separate is quite handy so I can check the amp draw on a compressor while checking voltage readings across the windings. The only thing I have against it is the small display screens. Working in tight spaces and at night time it can be hard reaching in and touching the right points and still see the screen. This just takes getting used to and I have learned to work with it. All in all it is a good meter and it has been a great replacement for my deceased Fieldpiece SC66 as my first call meter."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Amprobe Digital Clamp-On Multimeter, Model# ACD-14+
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

JohnB

,
November 17, 2008
By 1stStateJohn
from Delaware
"Great all purpose meter! I use the meter in the Geo Thermal HVAC field, having the K Probe to take both water and refrigerant temperatures in addition to the standard electrical functions is very useful."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Amprobe Digital Clamp-On Multimeter, Model# ACD-14+
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amprobe ACD-14FX

,
October 30, 2007
By Sparky1234
from California
"I purchased this meter six months ago and now use it for all my metering needs. It is really handy to have one meter for all types of testing. Like all Amprobe meters I have used in the past this one is well built, comes with all necessary leads and clips and works flawlessly. With the included case I can hang it from my tool belt so it's available anytime I need it. It is the one multimeter that takes care of everything."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Amprobe Digital Clamp-On Multimeter, Model# ACD-14+
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A do all meter that isn't rocket science

,
November 19, 2006
By Dennis
from Toronto, ON
"This
clamp on multi meter is one of the easiest to use Amprobe products I've
ever owned. Very versatile and accurate it comes with everything you
need in a neat little pouch. It is a must have for anyone that does
home hobby work or home projects of any size. Great for working around
the vehcile too. The probe leads are great quality made to last items
that are going to be as sturdy around a job site as they are around the
house. I worked as a refrigeration mechanic for many years and only
wish I had been smart enough to have something like this way back then.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.