Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart IronMan 230 Flux Cored/MIG 230V Welder - 250 Amp Output, Model# 500536"

"FREE SHIPPING - Hobart IronMan 230 Flux Cored/MIG 230V Welder - 250 Amp Output, Model# 500536"

Item# 164015
"Whether you are a professional or just want to weld like one, choose the IronMan 230 welder. It delivers 30 to 250 amps of pure power in a heavy-duty cabinet. The arc of the new IronMan is optimized to deliver a flawless weld, making spatter and post-weld cleanup almost nonexistent. This full-size MIG platform is equipped with many outstanding features and includes a 15ft., 200 Amp welding gun, delivering professional-grade arc-quality, voltage control and duty cycle for a great value. Comes with Hobart's 5/3/1 Industrial warranty protection. Power Cord ft. 10, Regulator and Gas Hose Included Yes, Shielding Gas Required Yes for solid wire, no for flux core wire, Dimensions L x W x H in. 31 1/2 x 18 7/8 x 36 1/2, Welding Wire Diameter in. 0.23/0.24, 030, 035, 045, Weldable Metals Steel, stainless, aluminum, Amps 250, Clamp Cable Length ft. 10, Mig Ready Yes, Wire Feed Speed Control Yes, 0-700 IMP, Volts 230, Weld Thickness in. 1/2, Cart Yes, integrated cylinder cart, Duty Cycle 60 @ 175A. Powerful and professional results MIG/Flux Core Welder capable of delivering 30-250 Amps of weld power High machine-output duty cycle, increasing productivity with longer welding periods Versatile for MIG and Flux-cored, gas or gasless welding applications Can weld at higher amps at lower duty cycle Excellent short arc performance with easy-to-control weld puddle Welds 24-ga. to 1/2in. steel in a single pass, powered by 230 VAC input service and 50 Amp breaker Easy to Set Up and Use Ready to set up and weld comes complete with wire feeder, running gear, cylinder rack, regulator/flow gauge, MIG gun, cable and clamp, extra tips Sloped front panel makes controls easy to see and access 12 voltage tap settings for simplified and amplified adjustments, allowing for a smooth, easy-to-control arc Infinite wire feed speed control for precise adjustment of penetration and weld bead shape Arc is optimized to deliver flawless welds, nearly eliminating splatter and post-weld cleanup Aluminum wire drive system delivers 0 to 700 IPM wire feed speed with quick-change reversible dual-drive rolls for 024in., 030in., 035in. and 045in. wires Reversible drive rolls means fewer spare part needs for the life of the machine and since there are two grooves for two wire sizes on one drive roll, this means 50 less stocking of drive rolls which can mean lower overall costs Spool hub makes changing from 2, 10, 33 and 45 lb. wire spools a snap with a tool-less brake tension knob and automatic wire alignment Hinged door for easy access to wire drive system for spool and drive roll changes, increasing productivity time and making the machine more enjoyable to use Storage area built into cabinet for spare tips, nozzles and drive rolls Dual side-mounted cable hangers provide convenient storage for cables when not in use Spoolgun-ready Easily adapts to Hobart Direct Connect spoolgun Item #916461 for excellent aluminum welding with no additional interface required Reliable and easy to own Built-in self-resetting thermal overload system protects the unit in the toughest applications Fan-On-Demand cooling system operates only when needed, reducing power consumption and contaminants drawn into the machine Hobart's 5/3/1 Industrial Warranty Five-year warranty on transformers, stabilizers and generators three years on electronics drive motors, rectifiers and one year on guns MIG and plasma torches"
Average Customer Rating:
4.947 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (19 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 of 19(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart IronMan 230 Flux Cored/MIG 230V Welder - 250 Amp Output, Model# 500536"
Review 1 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart IronMan 230 Flux Cored/MIG 230V Welder - 250 Amp Output, Model# 500536"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

melts steel like butter

,
October 23, 2014
By Lumberjacktuck
from teaneck, nj
" welder has some serious heat, melts thick steel nicely. use on a 50amp circuit only otherwise you wont get the power u need. use steel wire with argon co2 mix and itll make nice welds. always lays a good bead no jumping, nice steady electric. built in america solid machine. packaging was excellent "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart IronMan 230 Flux Cored/MIG 230V Welder - 250 Amp Output, Model# 500536"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great welder

,
February 6, 2014
By Jeff92
from Blue Grass Va
" Perfect welder for a shop or your weekend fabricator. I use mine to weld overhead most days. But the best part is the different metal thickness's that you can weld with one machine. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-4points
3out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart IronMan 230 Flux Cored/MIG 230V Welder - 250 Amp Output, Model# 500536"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome welder

,
February 4, 2014
By TXJeeper
from Texas
" Probably too much welder for most hobbyist's. Voltage taps are nicely placed and wasn't an issue. Easy to get in to a sweet spot. Can do smaller gauge stuff on up to the thick stuff. Great Welder. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart IronMan 230 Flux Cored/MIG 230V Welder - 250 Amp Output, Model# 500536"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent welder

,
February 4, 2014
By kn78
from PA
" The product is user friendly. You don't have to be a pro. I do a lot of welding with different machine, and this one runs with the best of them. It would be nice if the ground was longer, but no big deal. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart IronMan 230 Flux Cored/MIG 230V Welder - 250 Amp Output, Model# 500536"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
March 26, 2013
By JDPT
from Sioux Falls SD
" Excellent product. Handles 1/2 inch with ease and creates beautiful welds. So much easier than my stick welder. I may soon forget that I even own one! Don't waste your time with the small units. I tried a slightly smaller voltage unit from another top of the line welding manufacturer and did not like the minimal welding thickness capability and duty limitations. It would be nice to have the infinite voltage controls like that other unit did on the Hobart instead of taps, but the people who know welders say that the tap units will outlast the infinite control units( less electronics). For the money, this is simply the best deal and a high quality product. You won't be disappointed! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart IronMan 230 Flux Cored/MIG 230V Welder - 250 Amp Output, Model# 500536"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ironman Welder Rocks!

,
August 20, 2012
By Steelfabber
from Oregon
" Bought this welder last year to replace a similar 20 year old Hobart Beta-Mig 250. This one runs nice and smooth and has lots of power. I like the improvements such as the intermittent fan and the smooth arc. This runs the .035 steel wire with pure C02 on heavy steel like a dream. I like the 15 foot torch cable! My Old one was only 12 feet, and the extra length helps a lot.
Only minor complaints:
1) The Ground cable is too short and could use a better ground clamp.
2) The MIG torch is designed such that it is very hard to set it down without it laying it on the trigger. The torch seems a little flimsy compared to the older model I had. The nozzle insulator pulled out of the nozzle the first day.
Otherwise, the unit runs great and welds a lot cleaner than the older model. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart IronMan 230 Flux Cored/MIG 230V Welder - 250 Amp Output, Model# 500536"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Welder at a more then fair price.

,
February 2, 2012
By 05sprcrw
from Rural Nebraska
" I bought this welder a week ago, it shipped directly from Hobart, and in 3 days from the order it arrived. I managed to get some welding done, with it and it is awesome.
The ark is real smooth, with just a tad touch of aggressiveness to it. The welder feeds nice and smooth, and is super quiet. The only time the fan kicks on is when it is getting close to the duty cycle so it is kinda a warning to let the welder cool down before continuing.
If you are looking for a welder that can handle whatever your going to throw at it, I have no doubt this can do it.
I must say that I like the extra tips that Hobart included in the package a few .030 and a few .035.
The flowmeter seems to be a real nice flow meter. I don't have a bottle for it yet and I am only running flux core but it still lays a nice bead. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart IronMan 230 Flux Cored/MIG 230V Welder - 250 Amp Output, Model# 500536"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very well built, great value!

,
January 9, 2012
By Stans1
from Seattle, Wa
" Highly recommend. Very high quality and well worth the money. Set up was a breeze. Arrived without a scratch, very well packaged.
Welder is very easy to use with great results.
Very easy to roll around the shop.
Only recommend Hobart goes to a longer power cord. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart IronMan 230 Flux Cored/MIG 230V Welder - 250 Amp Output, Model# 500536"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Mig

,
March 14, 2011
By OKCMike
from Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
" I replaced my old stick welder with this Ironman 230 and WOW! I wish I would have done this years ago. This Hobart is easy to use, easy setup and works great from light gauge sheetmetal to 1/4" steel. Covers all my needs. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart IronMan 230 Flux Cored/MIG 230V Welder - 250 Amp Output, Model# 500536"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hobart Ironman 230

,
March 14, 2011
By Mrad
from Ohio
" So far I'm pleased with this welder, easy to use, and makes nice welds. When I received the welder one of the e-clips and washers that held on one of the wheels was missing, but a call the Hobart and they quickly sent me replacements. One thing that I would improve is the lenght of the ground cable, its only about half as long as the 15ft main lead. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart IronMan 230 Flux Cored/MIG 230V Welder - 250 Amp Output, Model# 500536"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ironman 230

,
March 14, 2011
By silverbullett
from Central Texas
" Great machine!! Easy to use. Even makes MY welds look good! Handy rack on side for leads very useful. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart IronMan 230 Flux Cored/MIG 230V Welder - 250 Amp Output, Model# 500536"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great welder

,
January 20, 2011
By kdinger
from shrewsbury,ma
" i recieved the welder yesterday it took about an hour to set up and i started using it right away and its awesome!!! i was welding 1/4 inch pipe to 3/4 inch column bases and work great very pleased so far great instructions and very easy to use "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart IronMan 230 Flux Cored/MIG 230V Welder - 250 Amp Output, Model# 500536"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hobart Ironman 230 best overall welder

,
June 4, 2010
By profarmwelder
from Wisconsin
" This is a great all around Mig welder, it does very well on thin autobody work up to heavy farm machinery. Very easy to dial in the correct settings for material thickness and it is very forgiving. New features including the double guaged rollers for .030 and .035 wires, and dual cable hangers are a great addition. Theres nothing that Hobart missed in this great priced welding package. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart IronMan 230 Flux Cored/MIG 230V Welder - 250 Amp Output, Model# 500536"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

strong welds

,
June 3, 2010
By racerjoe47943
from fairoaks,in
" welder can make good welds that are very strong.i have been a welder for 33 years and have welded with many different welders . this welder burns very hot on thick metal like 3/8 thick or thicker. that to me is what most welders are going to need. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart IronMan 230 Flux Cored/MIG 230V Welder - 250 Amp Output, Model# 500536"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

IRONMAN 230

,
June 3, 2010
By MURPH338
from PITTSBURGH PA.
" I BOUGHT THIS WELDER A FEW YEARS AGO AND HAVE USED IT ON THIN STEEL ALL THE WAY UP HALF INCH PLATE. IT HAS NEVER LET ME DOWN. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS WELDER FOR ANY JOB THAT YOU CAN USE A WIRE FEED WELDER ON. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart IronMan 230 Flux Cored/MIG 230V Welder - 250 Amp Output, Model# 500536"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Welder

,
June 3, 2010
By farmnranch
from Richland, MT
" I live on a farm/ranch where the use of a welder is a must have. for years i had a century wire feed, and thought it was a great welder. until it quit. i needed a welder in a hurry, and this was shipped fast and to my door. it is very simple to use, and welds excellent. i would recommend this welder to everyone looking for small jobs, to welding buisnesses. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart IronMan 230 Flux Cored/MIG 230V Welder - 250 Amp Output, Model# 500536"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ironman 230 mig

,
June 1, 2010
By shadetreewelder
from Labelle, FL .
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" I bought this welder about 2 years ago to build a hunting buggy, it has been a pleasure to use, very easy set up,and my son who has never welded before. is welding as good as any of my freinds or me. really a great welder for the $$$$ i have a lincone Ideal arc in my barn that just collects dust now. this is a photo of the hunting buggy i built with my ironman 230 welder "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart IronMan 230 Flux Cored/MIG 230V Welder - 250 Amp Output, Model# 500536"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hobart Iron man 230

,
February 22, 2010
By Jims91vette
from Johnson city New York
" This is a great machine, very user friendly, and priced right, The upgrades and fetures make this unit a rugged profesional welder that Hopefully will serve me well for years to come. Set up is as easy as 1,2,3, just follow the directions. I've gone through 20 lbs of wire and not a single issue. It welds great. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart IronMan 230 Flux Cored/MIG 230V Welder - 250 Amp Output, Model# 500536"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

big improvement

,
February 18, 2010
By bdranger92
from Tx
" This machine replaced the 210 and 250. Was very impressed with the upgrades this machine has. owned a 210 in the past and had no complaints. Good price and good quality equal great value. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.