Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Skylink Deluxe Wireless Security System with Emergency Dialer, Model# SC1000

Skylink Deluxe Wireless Security System with Emergency Dialer, Model# SC1000

Item# 164287
The Skylink complete wireless security alarm system kit is a comprehensive DIY wireless security system that is easy to install and ready to use. Designed for a medium-sized house and can be expanded for businesses, offices, 24-hour stores, retail operations and more. When triggered, siren will sound and signal will be sent to wireless dialer to call up to 9 preprogrammed phone or pager numbers and play prerecorded message land line required. Low Battery Indicator Yes, Single, Pair, or System System, Battery Included Yes, Bulb Type LED, Power Supply AC w/ battery backup, Recommended Use Alarm, Senses Motion/security, Mount Type Wall and counter mount, Compatible With Skylink accessories, Coverage 3,000 sq. ft., Decibel Rating 110, Detections Motion ft. Yes, Dials Yes requires phone line, VOIP or DSL line . Rolling code technology for more security and fewer false alarms Emergency dialer acts as monitoring center without costly monthly charges Control panel can control up to 30 different sensors sold separately at Northerntool.com Easy to install
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 of 9(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
28 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer Reviews for Skylink Deluxe Wireless Security System with Emergency Dialer, Model# SC1000
Review 1 for Skylink Deluxe Wireless Security System with Emergency Dialer, Model# SC1000
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

You get what you pay for

,
November 3, 2011
By Mikeaaaaaaaaaaa
from New Haven CT
"I bought this alarm for my shop, I'm a local contractor here in Connecticut. The installation was very easy it only took me a couple hours instructions are very clear. The motion sensor works OK. The door alarms are the better items. How well they work long term will remain to be seen. The system can be easily disabled by simply unplugging the unit. If you're looking for an inexpensive cheap alarm this is it ."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
9out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Skylink Deluxe Wireless Security System with Emergency Dialer, Model# SC1000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pretty easy install

,
July 23, 2011
By GreenMtnHunter
from New England
"-Reading the instructions seemed intimidating, but the job was relatively painless. I'd recommend a cordless drill and a ratchet style screwdriver with a magnet tip; these made the tasks much faster and easier.
-Additional sensors, those you buy on the accessories page, need to be "programed", but this was also pretty easy.
-Lots of setting options is a plus, but accessing them through the codes means you keep the booklet nearby or make a cheat-sheet to post near the unit. Obviously, you'd write "pin" then A B #, rather than your actual code<;-). Some of the options are the pin and then three more letters or symbols. For those who are "code" or keypad challenged, the 4-function remote control provides instant "panic", arms, disarms, and enters a delayed "night" function for security while at home, which is useful if someone is out and expected to return.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Skylink Deluxe Wireless Security System with Emergency Dialer, Model# SC1000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Security system

,
November 16, 2010
By Sicbob
from Farmington, New mexico
"I was searching for a security system locally and all I could find is the type that come with a monthly service fee. The company that you purchase it from gets the alarm and sends it on to the proper authorities. I found this product in Northern magazine and tried it. I am so happy with it that i purchased another one for my grandparents home. It is easy to program and easy to arm and disarm with the remote control and the emergency dialer will call whatever phone #s that you choose."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Skylink Deluxe Wireless Security System with Emergency Dialer, Model# SC1000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A super deal

,
November 16, 2010
By Brorabbit
from Reidsville NC
"Bought this for my home five weeks ago and installed it in a weekend. Love this system. Everything worked as it should right out of the box. Good set of instructions are included with every part you will need. The system works so well I bought a second one for my Daughter home. A second keychain remote included would be nice, it comes with one."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Skylink Deluxe Wireless Security System with Emergency Dialer, Model# SC1000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

simple security

,
November 16, 2010
By Steven77
"this is great for the handyman! easy to install and no monthly fees to pay. I have it programmed to my wife and i cell phone and we tested it and it works just like it says. We even have a small dog that stays in the house, we just had to adjust the motion sensor so it wouldn't pick him up. I do recomend this product for anyone who is on a budget but still want to feel safe at home."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Skylink Deluxe Wireless Security System with Emergency Dialer, Model# SC1000
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

ok

,
November 16, 2010
By bcoe
from Tennessee
"OK, but needs outside siren to be more effective,cannot be heard if closed inside house."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Skylink Deluxe Wireless Security System with Emergency Dialer, Model# SC1000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Using for my house and pole barn

,
September 1, 2010
By Cspolcyn
from Bowling Green, OH
"Installed the system in a couple of days and works nice. The doors in the house are controlled by the windows/door sensor. The pole barn on my property is monitored by the motion sensor, which is about 70 feet away from the control panel. The motion sensor monitors a range of 40 feet, which is ideal for my setup. I have contacted local law inforcement and they said they would respond if I receive the call on my cell phone indicating the alarm has been triggered. Of course I was informed that too many false alarms would be addressed to me and an I would have to have the system checked. I know I just installed the product but all the tests I have tried worked just like the manual states. I'm impressed and the cost is what I was trying to keep down. One thing I would recommend that any exposed phone wires on the outside of your house be installed in some sort of plastic pipe, I used CPVC to cover the phone lines. This helps with someone just cutting the lines to the house."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Skylink Deluxe Wireless Security System with Emergency Dialer, Model# SC1000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

super

,
August 30, 2010
By donsfire
from fouke ark
"easy to install and has performed perfect for the last year."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Skylink Deluxe Wireless Security System with Emergency Dialer, Model# SC1000
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Skylink Security System

,
October 19, 2009
By Jimkanga
from Myrtle Beach SC
"This is an excellent security system for the cost conscious. I was able to install it in a couple of hours. I now have a security system with no monthly charge that will call our cell phone when we are not home and will call up to four other numbers if we do not answer.
I have since purchased two more window/door sensors to add to my system
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.