Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Gentec Light- to Medium-Duty Cutting/Welding Kit, Model# KA51-TC

Gentec Light- to Medium-Duty Cutting/Welding Kit, Model# KA51-TC

Item# 164477
The Gentec Light- to Medium-Duty Cutting/Welding Kit is an excellent outfit for auto repair, HVAC applications and general maintenance. Cuts Up To in. 1/2, Hose Length ft. 12 1/2, Product Type Torch kit, Regulator Included Yes, Single, Pair, or System System, Typical Application Welding/cutting, Welds Up To in. 3/16, Works With Oxy-acectylene, Tip Type Cutting attachment w/#0 tip, #2 welding nozzle. 10 cu. ft. MC acetylene cylinder measures 15 in. H x 5 in. W 20 cu. ft. R oxygen cylinder measures 18 1/2 in. H x 5 in. W Rear entry regulators Check valve Grade T twin hoses Polypropylene carrier Rosebud tip Acetylene key wrench Sparklighter Goggles UL listed
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (20 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
18 of 20(90%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for Gentec Light- to Medium-Duty Cutting/Welding Kit, Model# KA51-TC
Review 1 for Gentec Light- to Medium-Duty Cutting/Welding Kit, Model# KA51-TC
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

PORTABLE WELDING & CUTTING KIT

,
June 16, 2011
By PAPARON
from michigan
"HI, I JUST GOT ONE OF THESE TORCH SET HAVE'NT HAD A CHANCH TO USE IT YET BUT IT IS READY TO GO TO DO SOME WORK. I HAVE THE TANKS FILLED AND TRYED IT OUT AT HOME TO SET THE REGULATORS. I AM PRETTY SURE IT WILL WORK JUST FINE. THANKS FOR LOOKING"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-42points
3out of 48found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gentec Light- to Medium-Duty Cutting/Welding Kit, Model# KA51-TC
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for home projects

,
November 17, 2010
By Litekiepr
from Hampton, Va
"Bought this set and got the pretty new cylinders filled/traded at a local welding supply store and put it to work same day. Was able to save $3000 on completion of my tankless boiler/water heater install when the original contractor walked away from the job and no factory auth reps were within 100 miles of me. Torch moved well up and down steps and under the crawlspace. Only needed acetylene for using solder in this job but the oxy tank will come in handy next time I am trying to free up a stuck bolt or fix a broken weld. Used half of the 10 cf tank on about 40 sweat joints. The little quart sized propane torches I have do not work well when tilted and seem to run out of gas always at the wrong time. The how-to documentation on this set is pretty lean but plenty of info online to fill in what I needed to know. I was a little concerned about safety but most of the documentation is devoted to precautions so I was pretty comfortable after some trial welds. Quality of the torch, tips, hoses and tanks is pretty sturdy and standard. Gauges seem pretty accurate and controlling pressures was fairly easy. All in all, this kit will pay for itself many times over as I like to do things myself and could have used this capability many times in the past."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
17out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Gentec Light- to Medium-Duty Cutting/Welding Kit, Model# KA51-TC
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for those portable jobs.

,
August 30, 2010
By CraigT
from St. Louis, MO
"This is the perfect set-up for a portable welding/cutting job. Good quality and performance is surprising for its size."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Gentec Light- to Medium-Duty Cutting/Welding Kit, Model# KA51-TC
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice product

,
June 1, 2010
By ANDO944
from cohoes ny
"A nice setup for the hobbyist .Light easy to carry around. Quality gauges which are easy to read. Light - duty torch which cut through light gauge sheet steel.Carrying case made to withstand the abuse of a small garage , workshop or a mobile repair business. Can't go wrong for the price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gentec Light- to Medium-Duty Cutting/Welding Kit, Model# KA51-TC
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

very handy

,
May 31, 2010
By JwCody
from u.p. michigan
"This sure makes life easier when you just nedd to make o few cuts on the job site.."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Gentec Light- to Medium-Duty Cutting/Welding Kit, Model# KA51-TC
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

medium gas welder

,
May 27, 2010
By bigpoppapump
from mississippi
"handy to have and convenient to use, It,s portability is a major asset when you do not have an electrical source readily available"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gentec Light- to Medium-Duty Cutting/Welding Kit, Model# KA51-TC
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

portable welding system

,
February 15, 2010
By BChandyman
from Roswell, Ga
"Great product, I have been mig welding and brazing for years, I purchased this system and was amazed how easy it was to master. On several projects I have used this torch on it performed very well. i puchase a c type torch head and was able to control it well enough to braze the curved tubes on an a/c coil. this would have been impossible with a standard brazing torch. I highly recomend this for any skill level."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Gentec Light- to Medium-Duty Cutting/Welding Kit, Model# KA51-TC
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

nice and clean cuts

,
March 23, 2009
By toolman78
from Knoxville, TN
"I used this torch on a commercial job site. I cut a lot of steel up to a half inch thick and i got it to make some of the prettiest cuts that a torch can make. It was nice and clean to where it had no spurs and what spurs it did make you could blow right off. The tanks are a little small but are extremely mobile. To use the torches as much as I did on a commercial site, they never clogged or broke and are still working great. I also had no problem getting the tanks filled. Its a great deal for the money."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Gentec Light- to Medium-Duty Cutting/Welding Kit, Model# KA51-TC
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for home shop/light duty use

,
March 23, 2009
By Greenlight
from Louisiana (the other LA)
"I purchased this system several months ago and used it several dozen times.
It is perfect for light duty cutting and Oxy/Act. welding.
I have used it to cut steel up to 1/4" thick with no problem.
Everything is contained in a rugged plastic carrying case.
I highly recommend this kit."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Gentec Light- to Medium-Duty Cutting/Welding Kit, Model# KA51-TC
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

torch

,
March 18, 2009
By captainchewey
from florida
"Great torch and welder for small jobs , built a smoker out of a propane tank excellent results, cut 1/2 in rod with ease welded hinges in seconds.... tanks could be larger... but it would'nt be as portable... take the kit to the work instead of the work to the kit!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Gentec Light- to Medium-Duty Cutting/Welding Kit, Model# KA51-TC
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Got stuck with 2 bottles

,
December 11, 2008
By Workmor2
from Cincinnati, OH
"I received this small torch set and went to get the tanks filled/exchanged and found out that you can not exchange tanks that are not marked with the contents that is going to be in the tank. A Hazmat sticker has to be present on the bottles in order to exchange them. I needed the tanks filled so I had to spend an additional $290.00 for tanks that had stickers and filled. Northern Tool needs to put in a note stating that in order to have tanks filled, that a Hazmat sticker on each or any tank purchased needs to be present. It would have cost me a lot less just by going with my local delealer and now I'm stuck with two empty bottles that are new and useless."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
7out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Gentec Light- to Medium-Duty Cutting/Welding Kit, Model# KA51-TC
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent

,
November 18, 2008
By brat
from denver,co
"this welding set up is excellent for quick repairs. we are able to take it to remote locations and fix problems that would shut down an entire job site and multiple employees work if we had to wait for a mobile service or electrical power for other type units. very easy and safe to use even by those with limited experience.it's a great value for the price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Gentec Light- to Medium-Duty Cutting/Welding Kit, Model# KA51-TC
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Welding kit

,
August 12, 2008
By cory5
from Indiana
"This is a good kit. The price was great for the performance I got out of it. It is compact and comes with everything you need. It works out good for small jobs such as welding jobs and for air conditioning jobs. I use it mostly for air conditioning jobs and it is just right for it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Gentec Light- to Medium-Duty Cutting/Welding Kit, Model# KA51-TC
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Portability Plus!!!!!!

,
August 11, 2008
By Aggie
from Texas
"This unit is so easy to use. The hard plastic case that it comes in makes it simple to move whever you need it. The kit is all inclusive so you are not having to purchase individual parts. As the product claims, it is a great unit for light to medium duty cutting."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Gentec Light- to Medium-Duty Cutting/Welding Kit, Model# KA51-TC
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Small tasks only

,
May 30, 2008
By MilesD
from Virginia
"I've had the kit for over two years now; I have used it quite a bit for welding, brazing, and cutting. Comes with a #0 cutting tip and a #1 welding tip.
I bought a #1 cutting tip to cut through steel over half an inch think; and that tip drains the tanks very quickly.
I also bought a #1 heating tip - the tanks were emptied in less than 10 minutes using the tip.
If you have a lot of biggger tasks, you are much better off getting the normal size tanks (275 acet, 600 cu ft oxygen). If you weld around your home a lot, you can chain the tanks someplace and just get long hoses for your torch.
The little tanks are only 10 and 20 cu ft and it is a drag to keep having to get replacement refills (and if you want extra replacement refills to keep around, they charge more than 100 dollars deposit for the two little containers)."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Gentec Light- to Medium-Duty Cutting/Welding Kit, Model# KA51-TC
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gold

,
April 22, 2008
By cytek
from Michigan
"As the son of a 42 year journyman welder I have access to all the big welders and cutting torches available out there but this ProWeld personal beauty works great and works fast to get the job done. As for Niveck, sounds to me as if you just got THE one on the shelf that was defective, there's normally one in every lot. Too bad too, because this is a really great torch for every home/work cutting project. I am really glad I found Northern Tool, their prices are great , they ship fast and their products can't be beat!
Cytek"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Gentec Light- to Medium-Duty Cutting/Welding Kit, Model# KA51-TC
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth the money

,
January 27, 2008
By Niveck55
from Decatur,Il
"After getting bottles filled i hooked up all the connections. I had no acetaline PSI. After rechecking all connections I removed the Aceteline valve and did some tests. The ON/Off valve would not go in far enough to make the valve open. I went to a reputable dealer in town and bought a new valve. All works well now but I believe it is just a matter of time before something else goes wrong. I wouldn't recomend this unit at all.
I have owned torches in the past and this is the cheapest built peice of equipment I have ever owned."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Gentec Light- to Medium-Duty Cutting/Welding Kit, Model# KA51-TC
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Little but powerful torch

,
January 15, 2008
By JerryJohn
from Shirley, AR
"I purchased this torch kit with the intent of using it for small jobs in my garage. Since I purchased it, I have used it for several cutting jobs up to 1/4" thick steel material, and it performed just great. It heats up the material as fast as any larger set-up I have used in the past. It is easy to store and move around with the convienient carrying case. I recently did some exhaust pipe welding, and it performed great. I'm restoring an old truck, so this little torch will do the jobs I have in mind just great.
I would definitely recommend this kit to any home garage mechanic."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Gentec Light- to Medium-Duty Cutting/Welding Kit, Model# KA51-TC
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

PROWELD FOR THE SMALL JOBS

,
January 14, 2008
By chayo
from Artesia, New Mexico
"WE BOUGHT THR PROWELD WELDING KIT FOR TO USE AROUND THE CEMETERY. IT HAS COME IN SO HANDY BECAUSE OF IT SIZE AND WE CAN TAKE OUT IN THE CEMETERY WITHOUT CARRING A BIG BULK TO THE JOB SITE. IWOULD RECOMMEND THIS WELD TO ANY BODY THAT NEED A SMALL UNIT . IT EASY TO CARRY AND LIGHT."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Gentec Light- to Medium-Duty Cutting/Welding Kit, Model# KA51-TC
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Small but mity

,
October 29, 2007
By Tractorrestorer
from Charlotte, N.C.
"This little torch kit is fantastic. I purchased one for use at home in my tractor restoration shop. It's perfect for it's light weight and mobility. I can move this around to anywhere that I need heat or to cut something. I don't have to worry about those big heavy tanks. After back surgery, I just can't manuever the big tanks or even take them to get filled, another good reason to purchase this kit. Saves on your back while loading them up to take to the welding supply to get filled."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.