Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "MetalMan Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode - Blue Flame, Model# ADF700SG"

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

"MetalMan Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode - Blue Flame, Model# ADF700SG"

Item# 1644909
"This MetalMan Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode is a solar-powered, high-impact nylon helmet that's ideal for welding and grinding operations. View Area W x H in. 3 13/16 x 1 7/8, Adjustable Fit Adjustable delay, sensitivity control, Product Type Welding helmet, Grind Mode Yes, Switch time sec. 1/25,000, Variable Shades 9-13, additional grind mode, Auto Darkening Yes, CSE/CE Standard CE, Power Supply Solar w/battery backup, Battery Included Yes, lithium battery, Arc Sensor qty. 2, UV/IR Coated Lens UV/IR protection, up to Shade DIN 16, Adjustable Sensitivity Yes, dial knob, ANSI Approved ANSI/CSA compliant."
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (10 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 of 10(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for "MetalMan Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode - Blue Flame, Model# ADF700SG"
Review 1 for "MetalMan Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode - Blue Flame, Model# ADF700SG"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Auto darkening helmet

,
December 26, 2015
By
from Heber, UT
I gave this helmet to my brother for Christmas and he really likes the grinder feature. He also likes the auto darkening feature which is awesome. He really likes these helmets!
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
Review 2 for "MetalMan Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode - Blue Flame, Model# ADF700SG"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

MetalMan Welding Helmet

,
June 23, 2015
By
from WI
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have welded professionally and also for hobby. This helmet is light weight and fits well with safety glasses on underneath. Once your set up with the timing and darkness features this helmet is great. The grind mode comes in handy as long as you don't forget to switch back to weld mode. Great Product for the price.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for "MetalMan Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode - Blue Flame, Model# ADF700SG"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

welding hood

,
May 11, 2015
By
from AZ
over all this welding hood seems solid and durable. i put my equipment to the test and i amm satisfied that this hood wil hold up..the lense reacts well and i like the easy functions.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for "MetalMan Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode - Blue Flame, Model# ADF700SG"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great tool

,
June 23, 2014
By
from myrtle beach
love useing this helment its light weight and works very well
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for "MetalMan Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode - Blue Flame, Model# ADF700SG"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not flawless, but damned good

,
January 9, 2012
By
from New York, NY
Bought it as a replacement for an old 1st gen Miller ADF helmet.
Likes: Variable shade
Locking size adjustment on headband
Grind setting on lens
Bottom of shield is pretty long (I have a pretty long beard, kept lighting it up - not so much any more)
Dislikes:
Grind "setting" is not a setting, it just turns the lens off They should have designed in a low-sensitivity override, so that sparks from a grinder or a torch wouldn't darken it, but the knucklehead striking an arc at the next bench would.
The non-standard cover lenses ! Everybody else uses standard size lens covers, but not these folks. They do at least tell you on the package of replacement lenses what the exact size is supposed to be, so you can cut a standard one to size (I built a jig to cut them with a laminate trimmer).
You also cannot use mag lenses. This may not be a major issue for the younguns, but some of us with aging eyes like a little help if we can get it.
All that said, I'd buy another. Fix those little things, and I'd buy one for a gift for somebody i liked.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 6 for "MetalMan Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode - Blue Flame, Model# ADF700SG"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

welding Helmet

,
March 21, 2011
By
from Iowa
Very good helmet. Easy head band adjustment. Makes welding much easier. Automaticly darkens for no hands welding. easy darkness adjustment. Overall very very good.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for "MetalMan Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode - Blue Flame, Model# ADF700SG"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

comfortable

,
November 20, 2010
By
from Texas
auto darkening lens is one of the greatest ideas ever i love this helmet if it ever breaks ill definitely buy another
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for "MetalMan Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode - Blue Flame, Model# ADF700SG"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Metalman Solar Welding Helmet with Grind Mode

,
November 16, 2010
By
from Stamford, CT
I use the helmet for MIG welding projects around the house and with the auto. Very comfortable light weight easy to adjust. I'm very pleased with the ability to adjust the shade on the side of the helmet based on what I'm welding. The helmet also meets the current ANSI certification which was important in my decision to buy.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for "MetalMan Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode - Blue Flame, Model# ADF700SG"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

recomended

,
June 23, 2010
By
from Tucson, AZ
I do small projects at home and I recomend this product. I like the fact that I can put it on and see what I'm about to weld before I start. You can adjust how much light it allows through when it's on and when it turns on. It provides good protection and is fairly comfortable.
Downside- You have to get used to turning it on. I have, on more than one occasion turned it off to grind a weld and then started welding without turning it back on. If you leave it on and drain the battery you have to stick it out in the sun for a while before you can use it.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for "MetalMan Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode - Blue Flame, Model# ADF700SG"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

ToolToys

,
May 31, 2010
By
from Kalamazoo MI
Comfortable fitting.
Took a minute to get the sight adjustments right -
Viewing window is a little small, otherwise happy with the online purchase.
Shipping was very timely too.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.