Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Welders Large View Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet

Northern Industrial Welders Large View Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet

Item# 1644910
This solar-powered high-impact nylon helmet features a large 3.82in. x 2.44in. viewing area - making it ideal for seeing more of the workpiece at once. Features a lightning fast 1/25,000 second switch time. Meets ANSI Z87.1-2003 / CSA Z94.3 Standards. The helmet is packed with a host of great features comparable to the leading brands at a fraction of the cost. Switch time sec. 1/25,000, Adjustable Fit Yes, ANSI Approved Yes, Battery Included Yes, 2 CR2450 coin-style, CSE/CE Standard Yes, Low Battery Indicator Yes, Adjustable Sensitivity Yes, Auto Darkening Yes, UV/IR Coated Lens Yes, Variable Shades 9-13, View Area W x H in. 3 13/16 x 2 7/16, Welding Processes MIG, Arc, Flux, TIG, Power Supply Solar, Product Type Welding helmet. 9 - 13 variable shades with 1/25,000 second switch time Helmet will auto darken when welding with as low as 2 amps View maintains a shade of 3.5 when not welding Fully automatic On/Off switch 4-point adjustable ratcheting headgear and replaceable sweat band for maximum comfort Replaceable batteries ensure that power is always available Hard hat compatible for use on any worksite A replacement welding helmet cover lens kit including 4 front and 2 inside lenses is sold separately, Item# 23109 Meets ANSI Z87.1-2003/CSA Z94.3 Standards
Average Customer Rating:
4.687 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(67 Reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (67 reviews)
5 stars
53
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
65 of 67(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Welders Large View Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Welders Large View Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Head Gear

,
July 11, 2014
By RedRiderCRF
from Alamogordo NM
"This is a great auto darkening helmet for the price!!! I dropped it one star for the head gear side screws. After a dozen uses they broke off while attempting to tighten them. The helmet was still falling down when they broke!!!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Welders Large View Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great looking

,
June 19, 2014
By Kiw62
from West Virginia
"Best helmet I've ever used a great deal you can see so good with this helmet looks great too"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Welders Large View Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

welding helmet

,
June 19, 2014
By sf67n20
from battle ground, wa
"Best choice....
Large view area...easy controls inside helmet and cannot be moved by accident, which I think is the perfect placement .
Head strap adjustments lock into place and not easily knocked out of setting....very nice !
Over-all....Great helmet with outstanding features and well worth the monies from Northern Tool !!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Welders Large View Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Helmet for the price

,
June 2, 2014
By RTfromCA
from Livermore, CA
"I was skeptical that this would work for low current TIG welding but decided to buy it and try it as I could used it for other MIG projects.
When I got the Helmet and tried it on, it worked on low current TIG on Chromoly, Stainless and Aluminum. The activation time was quick. This helmet also performed quite well outdoor with high ambient light. Not bad for a helmet costing this low.
RT"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Welders Large View Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good buy

,
April 16, 2014
By azibby
from Alpena, MI
"Very nice helmet for the money. Love the large viewing area. Only con I have found so far is that the tint numbers seem to be off. Most of my old helmets seem 1-2 shades darker than what the same tint is on this one. That being said, I would buy again."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Welders Large View Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth every penny.

,
February 5, 2014
By mnoe1
from Wyoming
"I bought one of these some three years ago to use primarily at my work and at home sometimes too. I have never had the opportunity to regret the expense as it has worked consistently and suffered untold abuses without a hitch; highly recommended."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Welders Large View Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Helmet

,
September 17, 2013
By KC97
from NJ
"I bought this helmet to have as a spare. Now I look for this one instead of my more expensive helmet. It is light and the auto darkening works great. And it is fast! It is really nice to a bead and see what you are doing while welding or not. For the money you can't beat this helmet."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Welders Large View Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Welding Helmet

,
August 5, 2013
By Cronius
from Springfield, MO
"I bought this helmet almost 3 years ago and have used it several times a week ever since. I have welded Aluminum, Carbon Steel and Stainless Steel and never a problem. Variable shade controls work great. I have just recently had to repair the head gear due to one of the screws breaking from regular use. I was regularly using a gold 11 shade flip helmet before I bought this one. The green shade took some getting use to."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Welders Large View Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Plastic screws

,
June 1, 2013
By 2manytoyz
from Merritt Island, FL
"I've only owned the product for a week. Initially impressed with the size of the viewing window. I wear bifocals, and it can be a challenge to use the lower portion of my glasses with a standard welding hood. The window in this one is great.
The major complaint I have is the suspension frame attaches to the mask with plastic screws. Tonight I broke one of them while trying to tighten the tension knob to prevent the hood from pivoting too fast.
Looks like I'll be making a mod to the hood by swapping the plastic hardware for 1/4-20 metal.
For the price, I would have expected a better fasteners."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Welders Large View Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great welding helment

,
April 26, 2013
By 38Ford
from Clovis, CA
"I purchased this welding helmet some time ago and found it to be good when compared to higher priced helmets. The automatic darkening feature allows me to see where I need to weld before pushing the trigger on my mig torch. The oversize view is very helpful for those who were glasses like I do."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Welders Large View Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

best value for your bucks

,
April 23, 2013
By nikekid
from mcdonouigh ga
"i am an employee for the local school system purchased this product with discount i got in the mail very good i use this every weekend i am aprofessional welder and give this product 5 stars . i have also purchasde one for my use on the job. i also purchasewd welding wire and avise to use@ home and one for work . i also purchasewd the extended warranty. no problems yet for 5 years and still running, way to go nothern tools, keep up the good work , i will always be aloyal customer"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Welders Large View Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Helmet for price!

,
April 23, 2013
By taTACO
from Texas
"I purchased this helmet about 3 years ago for classes at the community college. I would use it for 4 hours of almost continuos welding, 3 times a week. I never had a single issue with this helmet. Just replaced the protective plastic inserts every once in a while. I'm cheap, so that wasn't until I couldn't use the helmet effectivly any longer. You can change them out very quickly. After I completed my classes, I left the helmet sitting in the cupboard for about a year at least. I pulled it out one day to try out my new wlder, and it still works great!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Welders Large View Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Made me a better welder!

,
February 4, 2013
By Dave0013
from Dallas, TX
"I bought this helmet to replace the cheap-o $50 unit I had been using. What a difference! I immediately became a better welder because I could see the weld much more clearly. Yeah, I know; you get what you pay for. If you have one of the entry level helmets and want to improve your welds, put it in a garage sale and get this one."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Welders Large View Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor head gear

,
January 18, 2013
By rskattic
from Ohio
"I received one of these helmets for a Christmas gift. I just took it out of the box the other day. The helmet gear was adjusted so the helmet would not come down.
The "limitation Washers" on the side were out of time. IT WAS A PAIN in the rear to get everything timed and working to the point I could see out of the screen.
I have been welding for over 40 years and haven't experienced any head gears this difficult to work with. Although the helmet seems to work ok the
head gear is a piece of junk. During the process I managed to break one of the adjustment washer tips. These are very brittle.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Welders Large View Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

welding helmet

,
December 5, 2012
By 100000000000000000
from sussex nj
"Head gear broke under warranty,and was replaced .Second one had the same problem and parts are not available so I will be shopping elsewhere for a replacement."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial Welders Large View Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value

,
December 3, 2012
By RestoreGalore
from Menomonie, WI
"I have used this helmut for about 5 hours of welding time. It is a great value for what you get. The large viewing area is really a plus. The head band took a little while to get adjusted right, but once I got it it has fit great and is comfortable. Adjustments for darkness give good control. Previous helmut is a Miller digital, which works comparable, but does not have the viewing area. Price was much higher too."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Northern Industrial Welders Large View Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Helmet

,
October 15, 2012
By asdf55
from Boulder, CO
"This helmet performs as well or better than helmets twice its cost. I bought it to be a backup helmet, but I use it almost always. Great value, and a great helmet independent of cost"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Northern Industrial Welders Large View Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Shield

,
October 8, 2012
By dogboy
from Dublin'Va.
"I love this hood. Would have given it five star except the tensioners do not stop the hood from falling down. Easy fix with a thin piece of rubber between the hood and the adjustnent knob."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Northern Industrial Welders Large View Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well worth the price!

,
August 30, 2012
By rag0797
from Wittmann, AZ
"I am just going to get to the point...Great product and well worth the price. Would be best if it came with the bag to keep it clean and safe of any damage."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Northern Industrial Welders Large View Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Helmett!!!!

,
August 23, 2012
By bdub13
from Overland Paek, KS
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I was looking for Auto-Darkening helmet with large screen and this is the biggest I could find for the price. Great Quality. Works Extremely well !"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.