Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Welders Plasma 375 230V Inverter-Based Plasma Cutter - 40 Amp Output

Northern Industrial Welders Plasma 375 230V Inverter-Based Plasma Cutter - 40 Amp Output

Item# 164610
"The Northern Industrial Plasma Cutter is a lightweight unit that features powerful inverter technology for smooth cutting. Handles almost any project you can throw at it, from mild steel to copper, brass, stainless and aluminum up to 3/8in. Cuts faster and more precise with a thinner kerf and less slag than cutting with oxy fuel. A smaller heat-affected zone also causes less warping. No gas pressure settings, flame tuning, metal preheating, or gas cylinders or refills to worry about, ever. Pilot Arc Yes, Volts 230, Cutting Thickness in. 3/8 mild steel, 1/4 stainless stee, aluminum, 1/8 copper, brass, Power Cord ft. 6 1/2, Duty Cycle 35 @ 40A, Plasma Gas Flow/Pressure 4.5 CFM @ 60 PSI required, Cart No, Clamp Cable Length ft. 10 ground cable, 18 1/2 torch/torch cable, Amps 15-40, Dimensions L x W x H in. 17 x 6 1/2 x 12 1/2. Increased power in a super lightweight package for exceptional portability The inverter system easily turns fluctuations in input power to consistent output for better cuts Requires less input amperage, reducing the overall input power requirement by about 25 when compared to traditional transformer plasma cutters Cuts electrically conductive material Cuts 3/8in. mild steel, 1/4in. aluminum, 1/4in. stainless steel, 1/4in. galvanized metal, 1/8in. copper and 1/8in. brass Uses shop air - no special gases required Pilot arc feature for cutting fence and expanded metal Troubleshooting indicator lights Built-in air pressure gauge and pressure adjustment control NEMA 6-50P plug 3-year limited warranty 1-year warranty on the torch"
Average Customer Rating:
4.727 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (11 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 of 11(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 37 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Welders Plasma 375 230V Inverter-Based Plasma Cutter - 40 Amp Output
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Welders Plasma 375 230V Inverter-Based Plasma Cutter - 40 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Home Shop Tool Addition

,
March 23, 2015
By DW8412
from Kansas
" Easily cuts through metal. Look forward to tackling some large art projects. So easy, anyone can operate. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Welders Plasma 375 230V Inverter-Based Plasma Cutter - 40 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Plasma Cutter

,
March 16, 2015
By MsKing
from Waubun, Mn
" This tool does exactly what it says it will do. It does a good and clean job. My boys and I love what we can do with it. My one son does metal art and the other one builds things. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Welders Plasma 375 230V Inverter-Based Plasma Cutter - 40 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

,
February 4, 2014
By mcgyver1467
from York. SC
" I first tried the Northern Plasma cutter a few months ago and I was amazed. For the price it can't be beat. I have cut up to one half inch material with ease. I was told by several people not to waste my money on a store brand cutter, but soon proved them all wrong. I couldn't ask for better. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Welders Plasma 375 230V Inverter-Based Plasma Cutter - 40 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

its a keeper

,
September 11, 2013
By Mxpapa
from East tx
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" In the back of my mind I wasn't a hundred percent sure this 40amp cutter was gonna be enough for what the cost was, but time n time again this baby has surprised me with its capabilities. Today really erased all my doubts, I made two 6ft non stop cuts on a sheet of 1/4 in plate and just knew I would hit the duty cycle, Nope this little dude never missed a beat. So I went digging and found a 1/2 piece and without letting it cool any, it cut rite through it, slow but true. amazing machine. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
16out of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Welders Plasma 375 230V Inverter-Based Plasma Cutter - 40 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Much better than it's 20AMP cousin

,
April 23, 2013
By zombieprepared
from Largo, Florida
" A big step up from it's 20 amp cousin. Works well on 1/2" plate steel as well as sheering off angle and flat bar. Sends the sparks flying, so be sure to wear long sleeves and have a good welding mask. Also, be sure to buy extra tips. I found I was grounding out my tips regularly so I bought a whole bucket of them. A tip will last for about 100 feet of heavy gauge cutting if you're careful with it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Welders Plasma 375 230V Inverter-Based Plasma Cutter - 40 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Industrial Plasma 375 Cutter

,
October 12, 2011
By JRRM
from St. Cloud, MN
" Easy set up. Worked right out of the box. Cut a variety of metals (copper, stainless, aluminum, steel) without problem. Made nice clean cuts provided one did not move too fast in thicker materials. Manual does not give much guidance for amperage selection for various material thickness so some trial and error but not overwhelming. Would be nice if the manual would give eye protection shade number instead of making one research it. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
8out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Welders Plasma 375 230V Inverter-Based Plasma Cutter - 40 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

northern plasma cutter / excellant unit

,
August 3, 2011
By racerm146
from north carolina
" I use this equipment in race car fabrication. I am very impressed with the capability of the machine. Much cheaper than the competitors models.Highly recommended. It will overheat or cutoff if you have a bad tip in it though,so keep a good tip in it. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Welders Plasma 375 230V Inverter-Based Plasma Cutter - 40 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

375 Plasma cutter

,
November 2, 2009
By Wayne54
from North central West Virginia
" I purchased this Northern 375 Plasma cutter a year or so ago and its perfect for the street rod work that I do. it is easy to use and quick enough for the custom parts I have to fabricate which makes it an Ideal price / performance ratio in a small shop like mine... "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Welders Plasma 375 230V Inverter-Based Plasma Cutter - 40 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Industrial 375 Plasma Cutter

,
March 25, 2009
By SAWDUDE
from SANDERS, KY
" I purchased the Northern 375 Plasma Cutter for use around the farm. I had never used a plasma cutter before but found it very easy. The tool cuts through metal smoothly and quickly. It is a good value for the money. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Welders Plasma 375 230V Inverter-Based Plasma Cutter - 40 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

northern 375 plasma cutter

,
March 16, 2009
By nelsonp
from paulden,arizona
" cutter workes fine.I thought it was better on thicker material than 12gauge.would like to see better selection of tips and nozzels "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Welders Plasma 375 230V Inverter-Based Plasma Cutter - 40 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

N.I.375plasma

,
November 18, 2008
By fleabag
from Witchita,Kansas
" The Northern Industrial 375 Plasma Cutter was capable of everything I asked of it .I am a Master Welder by trade and was suprised at its ease of operation.It's simplicity would make it ideal for a novice,and for home use "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.