Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Welders Plasma 375 230V Inverter-Based Plasma Cutter - 40 Amp Output

Northern Industrial Welders Plasma 375 230V Inverter-Based Plasma Cutter - 40 Amp Output

Item# 164610
The Northern Industrial Plasma Cutter is a lightweight unit that features powerful inverter technology for smooth cutting. Handles almost any project you can throw at it, from mild steel to copper, brass, stainless and aluminum up to 3/8in. Cuts faster and more precise with a thinner kerf and less slag than cutting with oxy fuel. A smaller heat-affected zone also causes less warping. No gas pressure settings, flame tuning, metal preheating, or gas cylinders or refills to worry about, ever. Clamp Cable Length ft. 10 ground cable, 18 1/2 torch/torch cable, Plasma Gas Flow/Pressure 4.5 CFM @ 60 PSI required, Cutting Thickness in. 3/8 mild steel, 1/4 stainless steel and aluminum, 1/8 copper and brass, Pilot Arc Yes, Cart No, Duty Cycle 35 @ 40 Amps, Power Cord ft. 6 1/2, Dimensions L x W x H in. 17 x 6 1/2 x 12 1/2, Volts 230, Amps 15-40. Cuts electrically conductive material Cuts 3/8in. mild steel, 1/4in. aluminum, 1/4in. stainless steel, 1/4in. galvanized metal, 1/8in. copper and 1/8in. brass Uses shop air - no special gases required Pilot arc feature for cutting fence and expanded metal Troubleshooting indicator lights Built-in air pressure gauge and pressure adjustment control NEMA 6-50P plug 3-year limited warranty 1-year warranty on the torch
Average Customer Rating:
4.459 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(85 Reviews) 85
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (85 reviews)
5 stars
55
4 stars
24
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
5
80 of 85(94%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 35 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Welders Plasma 375 230V Inverter-Based Plasma Cutter - 40 Amp Output
Review 61 for Northern Industrial Welders Plasma 375 230V Inverter-Based Plasma Cutter - 40 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

plasma cutter

,
March 16, 2009
By shellinny
from Penn Yan, NY
"I purchased the plasma cutter for my husband for Christmas, who happens to be a "gearhead". He was quite pleased with the performance of the plasma cutter, and ever curious as I am, he quickly showed me how it worked. It was so easy to use, I am now making some of my own "doodads" for my garden! We now "take turns" using it, but he doesn't share at times!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 62 for Northern Industrial Welders Plasma 375 230V Inverter-Based Plasma Cutter - 40 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product, low price

,
February 2, 2009
By Electrodeman
from Kansas
"I was looking for a good, yet inexpensive plasma cutter to save from buying O2 tanks for a torch kit. Anyway, I bought this guy, and have not been disappointed. I had to send the 1st one back because of shipping damage, but that was easy due to good Customer Service. The 2nd one has been phenomenal. I had no problem cutting through 1/2" carbon, nice clean cut, and it has also cut through 1/2" Stainless without much issue. I have used more expensive commercial models, and I actually prefer this one because of it's size and ease of use. It appears to do well as far as consumables go (replacement tips and such). I also like the fact that it uses the same plug as my welder out of the box.
Great value for the price, and no reason I've found not to buy it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 63 for Northern Industrial Welders Plasma 375 230V Inverter-Based Plasma Cutter - 40 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

375 Plasma Cutter

,
December 30, 2008
By rypol1
from Ellington, CT
"I recieved the plasma cutter for christmas. I did some research on all of the cutters out there and this one seemed to fit my price and use, so i asked for it and got it. I have only used it for about 2 days now but it seems to do very well. I Tryed cutting 1/2 inch plate and it did suprisingly well. It was not a clean cut but for my needs it was perfect. The reason that i did not gove it a 5 star rating is because the light that tells me if the air preasure is low stays on all the time. The hose that i had hooked up to it had 175psi going to it and using the built in regulator i lowered the preasure to 90psi. I might be doing something wrong, i dont know. Altho i have that problem that does not affect the way it cutts at all."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 64 for Northern Industrial Welders Plasma 375 230V Inverter-Based Plasma Cutter - 40 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Buy

,
November 18, 2008
By Hellraiser
from Independence, KS
"I work in a fab shop and always wanted a plasma cutter for home but couldn't see spending $1300 or more on one. I figured I would try the 375 for less than half the price of the others. I'm very pleased with the performance and will recommend it to everyone."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 65 for Northern Industrial Welders Plasma 375 230V Inverter-Based Plasma Cutter - 40 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

N.I.375plasma

,
November 18, 2008
By fleabag
from Witchita,Kansas
"The Northern Industrial 375 Plasma Cutter was capable of everything I asked of it .I am a Master Welder by trade and was suprised at its ease of operation.It's simplicity would make it ideal for a novice,and for home use"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 66 for Northern Industrial Welders Plasma 375 230V Inverter-Based Plasma Cutter - 40 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

A must have

,
August 21, 2008
By HandyHawaiian001
from Honolulu Hawaii
"I can't say enough about Northern's customer support, I purchased this unit for some light repair work on a church vehicle. The first one we received malfunctioned, I called the help line and they instructed me on how to return the unit and that a replacement would be sent, well we did and a week later we were cutting out the bad spots on our vehicle and welding it back up. This unit has now completed 16 projects and it's still going."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 67 for Northern Industrial Welders Plasma 375 230V Inverter-Based Plasma Cutter - 40 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little machine

,
August 18, 2008
By LT1906
from Monroe, NC
"Thought about buying a higher priced machine, glad I saved my money cause this one does everything I need for less. First time I tried it was on some 5/16 stainless just to see if it would do it, took some time but it cut right through it. Would highly recommend it to the home mechanic or hobbyist."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 68 for Northern Industrial Welders Plasma 375 230V Inverter-Based Plasma Cutter - 40 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Deal for the money

,
August 14, 2008
By HobbyWelderWV
from Ripley,WV
"My first plasma cutter arrived with some minor damage. It still worked, but Northern exchanged it with no problems.
Cutter works great and will cut through steel like a knife thru hot butter. Consumables are reasonably priced and seem to last a long time.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 69 for Northern Industrial Welders Plasma 375 230V Inverter-Based Plasma Cutter - 40 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

works for me

,
August 13, 2008
By Hutman
from TEXAS
"There is a small learning curve starting out, but about 30 minutes into playing with the cutter it worked very well. You have to have a good ground or it will sputter (duh). Used it to cut body mount bolts, 1/2 inch aluminum, various sheet metals. Cuts quick and clean."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 70 for Northern Industrial Welders Plasma 375 230V Inverter-Based Plasma Cutter - 40 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good bu be carefull

,
August 12, 2008
By Kenzz
from Arkansas
"I've used this plasma cutter for about a year now it cuts GREAT but don't let
the replacable electrode burn up so far you can't get it out,,also might be hard to get little parts like the brass deal that the electrode screws into.....
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 71 for Northern Industrial Welders Plasma 375 230V Inverter-Based Plasma Cutter - 40 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Plasma cutter

,
August 11, 2008
By 56gasser
from Bradshaw Nebraska
"The first one I ordered was broke and didn't work. Called and they sent me a new one- great place to do bussiness with. New one works great easy to use takes a little to determine where to adjust the settings to depending on the material your cutting. This little unit works great."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 72 for Northern Industrial Welders Plasma 375 230V Inverter-Based Plasma Cutter - 40 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

375 plasma cutter

,
August 11, 2008
By pwyant01
from North Liberty, In
"when the plasma cutter is working it does a great job. we are now on our third plasma cutter. But I must say "that you have been great and very prompt in replacing the defective cutters. Your treatment of your customers is outstanding and greatly appreciately."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 73 for Northern Industrial Welders Plasma 375 230V Inverter-Based Plasma Cutter - 40 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
May 28, 2008
By TowerRigger
from Wichita, Ks.
"Cuts very well. I'm using it for my project Toyota Truggy to make brakets and other miscillanious projects. The only thing I didn't care for much is that the manual doesn't have a chart for the settings. I figured it out easily though."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 74 for Northern Industrial Welders Plasma 375 230V Inverter-Based Plasma Cutter - 40 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good deal works well

,
May 20, 2008
By IndustrialRepairman1
from Milwaukee WI
"We just received the cutter and it works well as for the stats not listed on the web site it was in the manual and is as follows. 1/8" steel 90"/minute 1/4" steel 22"/minute 3/8" steel 7"/minute. And I think that is accurate it cuts fast on 1/4" and down and we are loving it. the only negative thing we found is it is harder to start the cut than an expensive high end plasma cutter. but with a little practice (3-5 minutes) and you can cut like a pro with no problems."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 75 for Northern Industrial Welders Plasma 375 230V Inverter-Based Plasma Cutter - 40 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little number

,
May 2, 2008
By mesemup
from canada
"This little cutter works great, Make restoring my car a lot easier
I would recommend this to a friend, I would most likely lend it to him
but anyways you can't go wrong with this little number.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 76 for Northern Industrial Welders Plasma 375 230V Inverter-Based Plasma Cutter - 40 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Light & Powerful

,
April 30, 2008
By Partimer
from Wisconsin
"I continue to be surprised with the amount of power that can be achieved by such a light weight machine. Over the years I have had to the ability to use a number of different plasma cutters and I have to say that this one performed at the same level as many of the other brands. The extra bonus on this product is how light weight it is. It can easily be moved throughout the shop. The night I unpacked it I had to try it on all sorts of metal. The thickest I had was 1/2 inch steel. I was surprised at how well it did. Also had some rusted 3/8 inch material and with a little torch manipulation I was able to pierce through it. I also grabbed some aluminum and stainless and was equally impressed with the performance. This is a great value."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 77 for Northern Industrial Welders Plasma 375 230V Inverter-Based Plasma Cutter - 40 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

First Plasma Cutter

,
April 23, 2008
By smalltech
from kentucky
"This is the first cutter I have ever owned or used. I took the machine out of the box read the instructions and set it up according to the instructions and in a few minutes I was cutting quarter inch steel like butter. My father and I have a little shop that we do odd and end projects that range from barbeque grills to pulling tractors. This machine meets or exceeds our expectations. I would recommend this product to someone else."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 78 for Northern Industrial Welders Plasma 375 230V Inverter-Based Plasma Cutter - 40 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

375 Plasma Cutter

,
April 21, 2008
By locnkey
from Nashville,tn.
"Great machine for the price. I shopped for months before I found this machine.
Easy to use, easy setup. Has all the features of much more expensive machine. I would recommend it to anyone of any skill level.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 79 for Northern Industrial Welders Plasma 375 230V Inverter-Based Plasma Cutter - 40 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for the money

,
April 21, 2008
By Anonymous
from Miami,Fl
"I generally think that you get what you pay for but this is a slight exception. Granted, its not a 1000 dollar machine but if you want to save some money and only need a cutter for home or hobby stuff and are on a tight budget, then this is your machine.
I used this baby to cut bolts off of an old Ford truck I am resto-modding and it works great! Pieces are flyin off like never before. Great deal!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 80 for Northern Industrial Welders Plasma 375 230V Inverter-Based Plasma Cutter - 40 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Plasma 375

,
April 3, 2008
By Randy37
from Atlanta Ga
"Great machine for the price & size, works like a champ on a hobby scale. This machine will cut up to 3/8" mild steel like butter. It can cut plate steel thicker but it starts leaving a jagged edge. I can cut down exhaust systems in seconds & it saves me money. I no longer have to destroy 3-4 saws all blades cutting down a system. Cuts through automobile sheetmetal like butter. I couldnt be happier.
The only complaint is I had to come up with a home made power cord adapter to adapt from my current 220 for my welder to the plug on the plasma cutter. If you replace the cord on the plasma cutter it voids the warranty.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.