Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Welders MIG 135 115V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 135 Amp Output

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Northern Industrial Welders MIG 135 115V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 135 Amp Output

Item# 164611
The Northern Industrial Welders MIG 135 is a complete welding package and ready to use right out of the box. You can start welding right away with the flux core welding process. Do you need MIG welding The MIG 135 is ready, with supplied MIG wire and a regulator with gas hose. Hook it up with your bottle of MIG welding shielding gas and you are in business. Power Cord ft. 8, Wire Feed Speed Control Infinite, Regulator and Gas Hose Included Yes, Volts 115, Dimensions L x W x H in. 17 1/2 x 9 1/2 x 14 3/4, Weldable Metals Steel, stainless steel, Shielding Gas Required No for flux core, yes for solid wires, Clamp Cable Length ft. 10, Amps 135, Duty Cycle 20 duty cycle @ 88 Amps, Mig Ready Yes, Weld Thickness in. 22 guage to 3/16, Welding Wire Diameter in. Solid wire-0.23, 0.30, 0.35 Flux core-0.30, 0.35, Cart Optional. Amperage output 22-135 For use with or without shielding gas Contactor keeps wire electrically cold when gun trigger is released 10-ft. removable MIG gun Gun uses Tweco-style replacement parts Thermal overload protection Includes an 8in. spool adapter for larger rolls of wire
Average Customer Rating:
4.59 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(195 Reviews) 195
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (195 reviews)
5 stars
134
4 stars
50
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
3
189 of 195(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Welders MIG 135 115V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 135 Amp Output
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Welders MIG 135 115V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 135 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great little lite duty welder

,
September 18, 2013
By 2nerka
from SW Alaska
"My 15 yr old son and I bought this mainly for him to practice what he was learning in high school welding. He loves it and uses it constantly for projects. I think he just put on his second 10 lb spool and has gone thru several small spools. He got good enough that a guy fi hired him as a helper and then gave him a $5/hr raise and had him welding on barges (with larger welders). I just bought him some shielding gas for the unit. The flux core works well but there's quite a bit of spatter. With the gas and solid core wire he's making truly beautiful welds. I'm glad we went with this unit as it works on house current, was moderate cost , has the gas options, and is big enough to do bicycle work and similar moderate level work. It has been trouble free in the nearly 1 year period we've had it. It gets used probably minimum of 2 times per week and more often averages 30-40 minutes per day. At times I wish it could weld a little bigger metal but overall its been a great learning tool and light duty welder. Oh and Northern Tool was willing to ship for a moderate cost to our remote Alaska location - that is a HUGE plus for us."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Welders MIG 135 115V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 135 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best

,
September 17, 2013
By Levi6104
from Kingsport TN
"I bought this welder because I am always needing something welded I never welded anything before and didn't know anything about it. I have bought other Northern products and haven't had any problems with anything. Let me tell you this is a great welder. The first time I used it I was amazed at how good and smooth the weld locked. I have had this welder for 2 or 3 years and no problems with it at all. I would recommend this over any other brands. Does the job just as good as the high priced ones. Easy setup and use 120 volt outlet. Easy to use and portable. I can't say enough how great this welder is. Thank you Northern Tool for all the great products."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Welders MIG 135 115V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 135 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME WELDER

,
September 15, 2013
By welder1973
from Murfressboro tn
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Well i got to say i bought this little 135 mig welder this past july and it welds beautiful lays down great beads i'm using 0.24 wire. i'm in the process of making a welding stand for this little welder and the people at northern tools are AWESOME."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Welders MIG 135 115V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 135 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic 115 volt 135 amp welder

,
August 4, 2013
By mf3044
from Wisconsin
"Fantastic welder. I can make a weld that looks like a 220 volt welder. Northern tool was giving away a Lincoln welder for writing a review. If I won the review I would sell the Lincoln welder and get two of the Northern tool welders. A three year warranty, rated the top six pick, well built, 115 volt easy to use any where what more can you ask for? You can't if your going to buy this is the one to get."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Welders MIG 135 115V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 135 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

ALUMINUM

,
June 27, 2013
By JESSEWELD
from Tucson, AZ
"FOUND THAT THE STEEL LINER AND TIPS WILL CREATE BINDING AT THE DRIVE ,"BIRDS NEST", CONSTANTLY I WOULD SAY TO WELD ALUMINUM THE SPOOL GUN IS A MUST BUT DOESN'T LOOK LIKE THERE IS ONE FOR THIS WELDER, ONLY LIST ONE FOR THE MIG 140 THEREFOR THIS WELDER IS NOT GOOD FOR THE TASK I HAD PURCHASED IT FOR"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-4points
2out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Welders MIG 135 115V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 135 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good welder

,
April 23, 2013
By burkey1000
from tx
"Good welder for the money. Used it for loads of jobs still running good. Spend the extra and use gas, it really does make a difference. Wanted a Lincoln but did not have the funds."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Welders MIG 135 115V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 135 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just learning

,
April 23, 2013
By horseshu
from Olin NC
"yes not any experience,with a little help from a freind I was off and running great little machine to learn on and have around for all kinds of welding projects"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Welders MIG 135 115V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 135 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quality Product

,
April 23, 2013
By Schiefeltech
from Iowa
"Quality Product, Low price. Thanks to Northern Industrial for making great equipment at a low price. It allows us to keep working. This welder is easy to set up and easy to use. It does not weigh much and is portable. 120v makes it easy to travel."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Welders MIG 135 115V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 135 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

As good as a Lincoln 3200HD welder! Worth the $$!!

,
April 23, 2013
By BIGMatt
from Orange County, CA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Purchased this little guy to use for home projects and simple repairs. Been using it with flux core wire only, but I was glad that it came with a regulator and tubing for use with a gas bottle.
It has great wire feed adjustment and front panel layout. It is almost an exact duplicate of a Lincoln 3200HD MIG welder. It's the same overall size, shape, power rating and the controls have the same layout!
I have owned it for about 3 months now, and made a few small projects and repairs with it, like swinging shooting targets, trailer repairs, and dirt bike repairs.
Have not welded anything bigger than 1/4 thick steel, and only 1" of bead length, but it handled it perfectly! Been using a 10lb spool of 0.035 flux core wire from HFT, and that has been working great for general purpose welding.
Pros: Awesome wire feed adjustment, compact, same as Lincoln 3200HD, comes with regulator and hoses. Easy to find gun tips and parts. Great customer service dept! (had to replace 10lb spool adapter collar on 1st day, sent me a new on for free!)
Cons: Tight confines to change polarity for Gas/Gas less welding. Voltage knob has very strong spring, be careful when turning so that you don't break the plastic knob. Trigger button and torch handle are a light duty. Don't drop the torch handle, for risk of cracking the housing/hand grip. Ground cable is not secured to ground clamp with strain relief, and will break off sooner than later. A zip-tie solves this problem."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Welders MIG 135 115V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 135 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Good Welder

,
April 23, 2013
By DooDaa
from Kansas
"This is my first welder. I spent several weeks working with it and watching videos to learn how to weld. I still have much to learn but the welding I have done with this machine has provided and good welding expieience. It is very portable, seems to have enough power for everything I have tried and the consumable parts are abundant and reasonably priced."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Welders MIG 135 115V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 135 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Mig Welder 135

,
April 23, 2013
By RW25
from Cartersville, Ga.
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I do a lot of metal fabricating and the Northern Mig 135 is a great tool for small jobs. It is just the right size for tight work areas, and the price was good as well. Thumbs Up!!!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Welders MIG 135 115V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 135 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent welder

,
April 23, 2013
By LS1Camaro
from Lagrangeville, NY
"I purchased this welder to tackle an exhaust job on my car that would have cost more than the welder itself, so I figured "why not?" and took a chance, and I am glad that I did. I am thoroughly impressed with it. I have done a lot of welding that I thought not only this welder, but any 110 volt welder wouldnt be able to handle, but it does it without a problem. For the price you cannot go wrong. I am in the market for a TIG welder and if Northern Industrial made one I would buy it in a heartbeat!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Welders MIG 135 115V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 135 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Welder for the money

,
January 16, 2013
By bgalbraith
from Fort Worth, Texas
"I don't need a welder often but prefer MIG when I do. I have used this to build a fabrication table out of .250" x 2" square tubing and .250" plate in various places. It performs beautifully. I had a buddy who is a master welder (welded industrial boilers for years) and he was pretty surprised by the quality of welds. Never any wire feed (.024") issues, no duty cycle issues nor did it pop any breakers on my limited circuit I have in my garage. Setup was quick and easy. I bought mine refurbed and added a 2 year extended warranty.
I have zero complaints."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+11points
29out of 47found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Welders MIG 135 115V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 135 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Money Well Spent

,
December 20, 2012
By MacGyver2
from Madison, WI
"I have an old Miller stick welder which is great for large stock, but I had nothing for smaller gauge steel. The positive reviews and the price on this welder helped to steer me to this unit.
My first job was to weld the exhaust pipe on my car. Thanks to the welding guide that is located on the inside door of the welder, I was able to select the right voltage setting and feed speed for the task. There are 4 power settings that make it more versitile than the smaller units.
The generous 10' grounding cable and gun hose is great; especially when you put this up on a welding cart. There is still enough hose and cable to reach under a car and yet keep the unit off of the ground
In addition, I can get an CO2/Argon cylinder and now have the option to weld thin body sheet metal, or stainless. Aluminum welding will require the purchase of a spool gun, but at least with this one welder, I can tackle the 3 most common types of metal.
I was glad that NT did not make the contact tips exclusive to their welder only. These are readily avaialble at NT and most farm and home stores.
NT does a great job in supplying the consumer with access to the repair manuals online. Since most of us NT customers are handy men and women, it is a great service to be able to go right to the source for the repair parts."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Welders MIG 135 115V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 135 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

MIG 135

,
October 15, 2012
By Larry126
from Manhasset NY
"I manage a maintenance department and do a lot of light fabrication and repair work. We have a Hobart Handeler 230 V and the Northern Mig 135 115 V wire feed welder. I was very impressed with the MIG 135 and find it easier to use than the Hobart. The 135 is very portable and can be plugged into any outlet. It feeds better and is less prone to burn through than the Hobart. Changing the guide roller is somewhat more difficult and welding with heavy .030 wire requires a dedicated circut. I plan to buy one for personal use."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial Welders MIG 135 115V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 135 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mig Welder

,
October 8, 2012
By KBeezy
from McDonough, GA
"Great product! I repaired floorpans, fenders, the trunk floor, and repaired the window frames on my car projects!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Northern Industrial Welders MIG 135 115V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 135 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

What the others say but also

,
October 8, 2012
By UncleJohn42
from Idaho
"I've had this welder for around 3 months and mostly work in rebar up to 5/8". I agree with all the other comments on its quality and sold construction.
But what I wanted to mention was how fun this welder is to use! My intro to welding was a stick welder I bought at a farm auction (looks like it came from Frankenstein's lab). Switching to the MIG with flux-core is like going from needle and thread to a sewing machine. I don't have a gas bottle yet, but it's on my Christmas list.
Buy it - you won't be sorry."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Northern Industrial Welders MIG 135 115V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 135 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

MIG 135 Welder - Welding right out of the box!!!!!

,
August 16, 2012
By Bama123
from Arab, AL
"I've not welded since I was in high school and only then did I weld (very poorly mind you) with a stick welder, basically just playing around. This was over 20 years ago and now I have a need to weld some motor mounts for some of my "toys" so I decided to buy this MIG welder. All I can say is it welded right out of the box!!! All I did was install the spool of wire, plug it in and I started welding!! And I'm not even a welder!! So after a little practice I started welding my motor frames - turned out great. I would reccomend this to any beginner. It's just so easy!!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Northern Industrial Welders MIG 135 115V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 135 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Cheap

,
August 13, 2012
By FlaFlaFlohi
from Las Vegas, NV
"Doesn't feed wire smoothly at all, have adjusted it plenty and it still sticks and is choppy, creating horrible welds. Wouldn't recommend, go with another brand, Lincoln, Miller, or Hobart."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-15points
3out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Northern Industrial Welders MIG 135 115V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 135 Amp Output
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best bang for the buck.

,
July 30, 2012
By TYLERSTOTALTRUCK
from central Ct.
"I bought this welder to replace the 100amp lincoln in my garage. The 100 was just too small and wiring to use my 230v welder is just not possible at the moment. This welder is an ecellent compromise to running 220. Ive been welding all 1/4" using flux and all the doubts I had of my welds holding up with the lincoln are now gone. This machine works excellent and comes with absolutely everything you need.
The only thing I would warn people of is the power consumption. If you plan on running long beads or extended weld times it probably should be on its own circuit with the correct amperage breaker. On a standard outlet it will trip the breaker.
I had compared the hobart 125 to the northern tool 135 and had gone back and forth quite a bit. Im glad my final decision was the northern 135
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.