Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 187 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 185 Amp Output, Model# 500525

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 187 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 185 Amp Output, Model# 500525

Item# 1646187
Powerful and portable, the Handler® 187 operates off 230 Volt power. 7 voltage settings and wire feed tracking enable fine tuning for the smoothest arc with less spatter. Comes ready to weld with or without shielding gas, no additional kit required. With an amperage output range of 25 - 185, it easily handles a broad selection of solid mild steel or stainless, flux cored and aluminum wires. U.S.A. Volts: 230, Amps: 185, Duty Cycle: 30% at 130 Amps, Mig Ready: Yes, Wire Feed Speed Control: Yes, 40 - 700 IPM, Weldable Metals: Steel, stainless steel, and aluminum, Weld Thickness (in.): 24-gauge up to 5/16in. steel, Clamp Cable Length (ft.): 10, Regulator and Gas Hose Included: Yes, Shielding Gas Required: No, Welding Wire Diameter (in.): 0.023 - 0.035, Power Cord (ft.): 6, Cart: No, Dimensions L x W x H (in.): 10 5/8 x 19 1/2 x 12 3/8 Door chart allows user to quickly reference initial settings for different applications and provides quick starting point for novices and professionals alike Solid state motor protection protect wire feed system from overload, no fuses to change or circuit breakers to reset Quick-change dual groove drive roll easily changes from .023/.024/.025 to .030/.035 25-185 Amp range 7 output voltage settings and infinite wire feed control Built-in contactor Self-resetting thermal overload protection 5/3/1 Industrial Warranty 5-year warranty on transformers, stabilizers, reactors, rectifiers, rotors, stators and brushes 3-year warranty on drive systems, PC boards, solenoid valves, switches and controls 1-year warranty on MIG guns, plasma torches, relays, contactor, triggers, regulator, accessories, spool guns, battery, field options and running gear. (90 days Normal wear items such as drive rolls, contact tips, nozzle, gas diffuser, plasma torch tips and electrodes and weld cables are not covered under warranty Engine warranty is provided by the engine manufacturer
Average Customer Rating:
4.931 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(131 Reviews) 131
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (131 reviews)
5 stars
122
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
130 of 131(99%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 187 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 185 Amp Output, Model# 500525
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 187 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 185 Amp Output, Model# 500525
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hobart Handler 187 MIG Welder

,
November 20, 2008
By riverman2
from Munising Michigan
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" I’m a professional stairbuilder and utilize a lot of steel components in the structural design of my staircases. I needed a Mig welder that was light enough to move around on the jobsite yet had enough power and capacity to weld heavy steel all day long. The Hobart Handler 187 MIG Welder 230 volt handled the task required beautifully. The photos show how well it performs in all position continuous welding. I would recommend it to anyone who needs a compact machine to do serious welding. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+11points
14out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 187 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 185 Amp Output, Model# 500525
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great welder

,
March 7, 2007
By mfljr
from Texas
" This is a great little machine within it's capacity. It has excellent control at the lower settings yet is still able to weld heavier metal at the top end without breaking a sweat. Several other machines I have used in this class (price range) either work well on the top settings or on the bottom settings (the Hobart 180 suffered from this), but it is rare to find one that works well throughout the whole range. The Hobart 187 does just that though, and at a great price.
So far I have used it with .35 flux core and .35 solid core with 75/25 gas and it works better than I expected when I bought it with either. I would have no hesitations buying another if for some reason I needed to.
I can't think of anything negative to say about this machine, as long as what you need to do falls within it's abilities, you will not be dissappointed.
Mike "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 187 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 185 Amp Output, Model# 500525
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Weld like a Pro

,
January 17, 2012
By heavyChevy
from Fremont, Mi.
" I recently retired and had a huge list of things to do. My garage was cluttered with projects. I had a stick welder, but never could gain that steady fluid motion in my welds. I purchased the Hobart 187 and some gas and set it all up in a short time. I made a few trial welds and I had it down perfect. I couldn't be more pleased, the welds look like I have been welding all of my life. It is so easy to dial down for fine delicate work or ramp it up and make 2 or 3 passes on the big stuff. The machine is small and lightweight, easy to move around in the shop.
My only minor complaint is the ground clamp. The one included seemed a little on the cheap side to me, so I elected to swap that out and install a more heavy duty clamp. Later I plan to increase the length of cables, but these are personal preference items. Overall, you can't find a better welder for the money and the warranty is great as well, I can highly recommend this welder to anyone from beginner to the guy making his daily living from welding.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 187 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 185 Amp Output, Model# 500525
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hobart Handler 187

,
January 16, 2012
By Jigs
from Mountain, WI
" Bought this welder from Northern Equipment several years ago and it has handled every task with professional results, everytime. I grew welding with a stick welder which worked fine for alot of years. Learning to weld with the Hobart 187 wire feed was such an easy transition, couldn't beleive it. I was laying excellent beads in no time. For an all around home shop welder, can't beat this one for the quality, price and ease of use. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 187 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 185 Amp Output, Model# 500525
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hobart 187

,
January 9, 2012
By Wyoming1
from Wyoming
" I have used many wire welders for work and replaced a cheap 100 amp flux wire welder with the Hobart 187. This machine is absolutely fantastic. I would compare it hands down to the larger 3 phase welders I have used. Very smooth and will weld anything you throw at it. I only wish I would have bought one years ago. Highly recommend. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 187 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 185 Amp Output, Model# 500525
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

,
June 14, 2011
By dobjo
from frankfort ,Ky
" Welder was very easy to set up. I had never used a Mig then my hayrake broke with rain coming. The welder had just arrived.My back was to the wall timewise .I broke out the welder set it up then quickly made a professional looking weld and was back out in the field in no time. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 187 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 185 Amp Output, Model# 500525
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Welder!

,
June 13, 2011
By tb1126
" This is my first welder and found it very easy to use. Started welding with flux core wire but once I got a tank and started welding w/gas I was laying beads like a pro. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 187 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 185 Amp Output, Model# 500525
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Welder

,
March 30, 2011
By geezerduck
from So Calif
" Been welding for 50 years and used many different machines. Retired now and building a race car and bought the Hobart Handler 187. Love the machine and it's capabilities. Equal to much larger machines in performance and a great addition to the shop. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 187 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 185 Amp Output, Model# 500525
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I like this welder!

,
March 16, 2011
By BobM2011
from New England
" I'm just learning to weld. I use the Hobart 187 for home and hobby use. It's a great machine. Following the included manual, it's easy to set up and use. I've had good results for a beginning welder. With a 240 volt power source it has all the capacity I need. I'd recommend this welder to anyone looking for a reliable and easy to use home, hobby or farm welder "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 187 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 185 Amp Output, Model# 500525
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best at home welder!

,
March 14, 2011
By bajawelder
" If looking for a very good 220V welder for at home projects, this one works great. I am an amateur welders and was able to do tig like welds with this welder. Worked great for welding off road parts. If trying to get into tight spots, make sure the feed line doesn't get coiled. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 187 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 185 Amp Output, Model# 500525
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Welder

,
March 14, 2011
By Surfbeetle
from San Diego, CA
" The Hobart 187 has exceeded my expectations. I have used it to weld 12 and 14 gauge sheet metal as well as some 1/8" pieces so far. The chart inside the door is very helpful when setting up the unit to weld a particular thickness of metal. I ordered the bundle that came with a welding cart. The cart had no place to hang the cables from the welder and I found it inconvenient to constantly coil up the cords under the welder on the cart so I fabricated a hook for the cabling and attached to the cart using the welder. This unit is a great value and is very capable. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 187 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 185 Amp Output, Model# 500525
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of the best!

,
November 23, 2010
By SirWeldalot
from San Diego, CA.
" I have been using Hobart welders for 13 years with no problems! These units are nearly identical to its more expensive competition. This welder has industrial strength in a small affordable package. The handler series are extremely reliable and easy to operate, mine has paid for itself time and time again. Probably the best tool in my garage! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 187 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 185 Amp Output, Model# 500525
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Handler 187

,
November 19, 2010
By BadBrainsHR
from Texas
" I'm currently enrolled in a welding certification program at the local community college and am taking GMAW/FCAW this quarter. I've found MIG and flux core welding to be easy to learn and I'm impressed with the results that can be obtained with these methods. This is the first machine i've used and never had any issues its so easy to control. My nephew tried it with no prior experience and he was able to lay down some impressive beads the day we set up the unit.
The Handler 187 has excellent control and I'm able to do great lap welds on .065 steel with the .030 fluxcore wire that came with the unit! Perfect machine for anyone to use I highly recommended. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 187 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 185 Amp Output, Model# 500525
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

skip425

,
August 30, 2010
By skip425
from Mississippi
" I have used this welder for years on my farm without any problems at all
it welds very fast. I have built several farm projects with it such as
an ATV Trailer.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 187 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 185 Amp Output, Model# 500525
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

No Nonsense, excellent performer

,
August 30, 2010
By trracer
from New England
" I bought this to replace a Lincoln WeldPac 100 and 220V Lincoln stick welder. It blows away the WeldPac, no comparison. Much easier to make excellent welds, easier to strike the arc. I was using the stick welder for heavier work, and was not sure I would like a wire feed unit for the big stuff, but I was wrong. This Hobart on the higher power settings works great. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 187 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 185 Amp Output, Model# 500525
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome all around

,
June 15, 2010
By BigTx
from Midwest
" Hobart has hit a home run in terms of packaging a unit that is idiot proof enough for the hobby welder and powerful enough for 80% of welding work an occasional welder might do. As much as I HATE to follow directions, if you set up for each weld as suggested by the quick reference guide in terms of voltage and wire speed you will look like a pro. Since dust is a welders enemy I highly suggest the cover, not only does it protect it gives you a place to stow the leads and gun without draping them on the cart to fall off. Would not trade this welder for the world. I have an older 180 and the 187 took care of the minor shortcomings in that unit and made the perfect welder in this class. In reality, when do you really need more than 5/16 capacity? Any bigger and I am stick welding anyway. Also, take the time to read and understand the correlation between wire speed and voltage in the manual, once you get that, tweaking the adjustments makes much more sense "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 187 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 185 Amp Output, Model# 500525
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Welds GREAT

,
June 6, 2010
By Kane
from Louisiana
" I have used my Hobart 187 for two years without failure. It is easy to use and welds super smooth. This welding machine is the best purchase I have ever made! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 187 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 185 Amp Output, Model# 500525
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just the welder I've been looking for.

,
June 4, 2010
By MyMechanic
from Sykesville, MD
" This is a must have for anyone working with metal. I've been using this welder for a week repairing a trailer and a broken metal chair. I'll be tackling my broken snow blower auger next. This welder makes for fun work. I'm using gas for a nice looking weld and I have to admit its everythig a welder should be and then some. I'm welding light to medium gauge with .030 wire and the welds are perfect. The heat range settings are just right. I've done MIG welding before so I do have some experience and can make the welds as pretty as a TIG weld. For easy to use and a good strong weld this unit is tops. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 187 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 185 Amp Output, Model# 500525
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little 110volt welder

,
June 2, 2010
By Joshkins
from Washington
" I have used this many times for small repairs and even welding thicker 1/4 " steel for trailer gates and misc steel fabrication. I really liked this welder.. never exceded the duty cycles. I currently own the 220v 175 migmate and love the versatility of it. This 140 welder is a perfect welder for the home owner or do it yourself welders. As a journeymam plumber I find this welder great for fabricating unistrut shelves and custom hangers. The big bonus is it can be used on just about any standard outlet 110v. I can reccomend this product to anyone looking for a 110v welder and know that they will be happy with it rather than spending a little less and getting a no name brand that doesnt work properly.. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 187 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 185 Amp Output, Model# 500525
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hobart 187 Welder

,
June 1, 2010
By ChevyMotorhead
from Dickinson, ND
" Overall I have been surprised with the performance. This is a great hobby welder. I have welded thin and thick metal and have not had any issues, I have built a car trailer, ice house, and a couple blades for 4 wheelers with this welder and not an issue. I have also done several quick fixes and even though pro friends said I setteled this was and is a great welder. For someone that welds every day all day I can't say it will be fine because I haven't used it enough, but for body shop, and hobby work it has been great. You won't be disapointed w/the price or quality. My background is in automotive, bodywork, and trailer repair if this helps you. Now I am just a home hobby man. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.