Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Stickmate 205AC 230V Arc Welder/Stick Welder - 205 Amp Output, Model# 500502

FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Stickmate 205AC 230V Arc Welder/Stick Welder - 205 Amp Output, Model# 500502

Item# 164668
Hobart's STICKMATE models are the top performers in their class. 205AC model comes with the Accu-Set infinite amperage control, weld time increases up to 100 with decreased output. Recommended to weld steel, stainless steel, and cast iron. Amperage Adjustments Accu-Set infinite current control 1A increments, Amps 30-205, Clamp Cable Length ft. 10, Electrode Cable Length ft. 15, Electrode Size in. 1/16-5/32, Phase Single, Power Cord ft. 5, Dimensions L x W x H in. 12 3/4 x 17 1/2 x 18 3/4, Volts 230, Weldable Metals Steel, stainless steel, cast iron, Welding Processes Stick welding, Range Selection Single, Duty Cycle 20 @ 165A, 100 @ 90A, Welding Amperage Range 30-205 AC. NEMA 6-50 style plug included Amps input @ rated output 50/60 Hz 230V47.5 Maximum open circuit voltage 80 Accu-Set amperage indicator for accurately controlling amperage or heat output Infinite current control allows the operator to adjust output by as little as 1 Amp increments Fully varnished magnetic coils for enhanced coil reliability and life Forced-draft cooling fan runs continuously and helps to extend the life of the power source 5/3/1 Industrial Warranty 5-year warranty on transformers, stabilizers, reactors, rectifiers, rotors, stators and brushes 3-year warranty on drive systems, PC boards, solenoid valves, switches and controls 1-year warranty on MIG guns, plasma torches, relays, contactor, triggers, regulator, accessories, spool guns, battery, field options and running gear. 90 days Normal wear items such as drive rolls, contact tips, nozzle, gas diffuser, plasma torch tips and electrodes and weld cables are not covered under warranty Engine warranty is provided by the engine manufacturer
Average Customer Rating:
4.704 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (27 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
27 of 27(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Stickmate 205AC 230V Arc Welder/Stick Welder - 205 Amp Output, Model# 500502
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Stickmate 205AC 230V Arc Welder/Stick Welder - 205 Amp Output, Model# 500502
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Slow but steady.

,
July 13, 2014
By 2r4y5i
from remote east cebtral Idaho
"Delivers what it was designed to do. Good value for a do it yourself person. I like to look at it. Must be the Hobart name. As good as biscuits and gravy. If not hungry, perhaps even better."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Stickmate 205AC 230V Arc Welder/Stick Welder - 205 Amp Output, Model# 500502
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Wilder

,
April 16, 2014
By Batkdz
from Cadiz Kentucky
"Love it easy to unbox, easy to dile up. Over all a great deal. Just get you one."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Stickmate 205AC 230V Arc Welder/Stick Welder - 205 Amp Output, Model# 500502
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hobart Stickmate AC

,
August 13, 2012
By SuperTech2
from South Louisiana
"Replaced an old Lincoln box with it. Good unit for my needs on the farm. Sticks two pieces of metal together just fine. It is only an AC unit which is okay for me but it seems to prefer 1/8" rods. I just can't seem to start and hold an arc on 3/32" rods though, no matter what setting I use.The variable current adjustment is sweet. Could use a heavier duty ground clamp, which I will upgrade, but I found that they all come with a cheap ground clamp now. Had some cosmetic shipping damage but the insides were okay."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
11out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Stickmate 205AC 230V Arc Welder/Stick Welder - 205 Amp Output, Model# 500502
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hobart welder

,
May 16, 2012
By thefixitman
from Wichita Falls, TX
"product is easy to use and holds up well. I have bilt a 25 by 30 shop and a carport useing pipe as my frame. never had a hip cup. bilt a deck frame before that with a cheep cracker box and had to stop every ten minutes to let it cool down. I have done other smaller projects since and has always meet the task. I do most of my repairs myself, most people that know me say if I can not fix it, it probably can not be fixed."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Stickmate 205AC 230V Arc Welder/Stick Welder - 205 Amp Output, Model# 500502
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good to start out with

,
May 14, 2012
By bemidjisasquatch
from Nome, AK
"great for DIYer. i like the infinite adjsutment of the crank. It better than the old lincoln buzzboxes. My students use this daily with 6011 and 7014 and 7018 1/8" rods. we run 190 amps max with 5/32" 6011 works without a hiccup."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Stickmate 205AC 230V Arc Welder/Stick Welder - 205 Amp Output, Model# 500502
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hobart Stickmate Model# 500502

,
January 16, 2012
By KopyKat
from Round Rock, Texas
"I have owned this welder for a couple of years and it has preformed perfectly on all my projects - gates, frames and racks. I purchased it based on other reviews and the Hobart reputation and I have not been disappointed. I was surprised to get this quality welder for such an excellent price. I have used a number of stick welders in my life and none outperformed this unit for the type and size of stock I weld."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Stickmate 205AC 230V Arc Welder/Stick Welder - 205 Amp Output, Model# 500502
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hobart Stickmate

,
January 16, 2012
By Tatmike1
from Mid North Carolina
"I am very pleased with the Hobart Stickmate 205 amp welder. I had an older Miler. This welder is easier to use and is just fine for what i do, mainly hobbie and home repair chores."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Stickmate 205AC 230V Arc Welder/Stick Welder - 205 Amp Output, Model# 500502
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

In Class with Hobart Welders

,
October 17, 2011
By bshaus1
from Bonesteel, South Dakota
"We had a Lincoln AC welder for years and I wanted to teach the students the advantages of having a welder that was AC and DC. The real thing I like about the welder is that it is so easy to set, from the guide on top of the welder to dial and settings up front. The students can look to compare thickness of metal to the rod they should use and the different settings that would work for the rod and metal. So we purchased two."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
8out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Stickmate 205AC 230V Arc Welder/Stick Welder - 205 Amp Output, Model# 500502
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Easy to use

,
November 23, 2010
By Bajadawg
from Tuscaloosa, AL
"This welder is good for the small jobs around the house or farm, simple to use easy to move around."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Stickmate 205AC 230V Arc Welder/Stick Welder - 205 Amp Output, Model# 500502
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Welder

,
June 4, 2010
By handy32
"Instead of buying a cheaper model, I spent a little extra and I am very happy that I did. This welder has saved me time and money numerous times. I have welded stuff from sheet metal to 1/4 inch thick metal with no problems. Very easy to use as long as you get the right welding rods for the job and use the correct amperage."
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Stickmate 205AC 230V Arc Welder/Stick Welder - 205 Amp Output, Model# 500502
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hobart Stickmate AC Welder — 230 Volt, 205 Amp, Mo

,
July 20, 2009
By cord
from La.
"The welder has been a nice addition to our farm. We use it in the shop and then can transport it and a small generator to remote sites very easily. In the past we had to hook up the welding trailer and move a big machine to where ever we were working. The work had to be a major project before we did that. The only draw back is that it may not be quite large enough for all applications."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Stickmate 205AC 230V Arc Welder/Stick Welder - 205 Amp Output, Model# 500502
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good welder!

,
July 20, 2009
By willie61
from Clemson, SC
"I once owned a Lincoln "buzzbox," and it served its purpose, and it's nearly worn out. The Hobart Stickmate AC welder is much better than the Lincoln, as it has continuously adjustable current, which isn't much of a problem when welding structural steel or something of that nature, but when one wants to weld something delicate, it make a lot of difference. Two thumbs up!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Stickmate 205AC 230V Arc Welder/Stick Welder - 205 Amp Output, Model# 500502
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT WELDING MACHINE!

,
February 25, 2009
By TOMOHAWK
from CARSON, CA
"I've used many different brands of stick welders and I have to say that Hobart is still a name you can trust! As soon as I powered it on, I could hear the cooling fan turn on! AAAHHH! COOL! And the dial adjustment knob on the welder is really nice because now can fine adjust my Hobart to the exact range that I need! A half a turn up! Or a quarter turn down! Now isn't that something that all buzz boxes should have? Instead of that ''WHY YOU NO GOOD LINCOLN SLIDE UP AND DOWN HANDLE THAT NEVER STAYS IN PLACE WHILE I'M WELDING! MAKING MY WELDS LOOK LIKE A 2 YEAR OLD DID THEM! AAAAUUUGGHHHH!'' Oh yeah! And nice smooth starts too! WOW! Followed by nice smooth welds! ''YEAH!'' The Hobart welder makes my days out in my shop more relaxed and trouble free! Leaving me with more time to let my creative imagination flow into my custom work that I do! Thanks Hobart! And Northern Tool too!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Stickmate 205AC 230V Arc Welder/Stick Welder - 205 Amp Output, Model# 500502
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hobart Stickmate-a "Fun" tool!

,
January 29, 2009
By CharlieMidWa
from Cashmere, WA.
"Though I'm not a professional, I've used a number of welders over the years. This seems to be a quality machine and performs extremely well within it's working parameters. It's fun to use, is a quality product with a good warranty, and the purchasing and shipping through Northern Tool is very easy and expedient. To top it off it was very reasonably priced. It "dudn't git any bedda din dat!" :-)"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Stickmate 205AC 230V Arc Welder/Stick Welder - 205 Amp Output, Model# 500502
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

FIRST TIME WELDING

,
November 19, 2008
By NER1
from kOKOMO, INDIANA
"I HAD NEVER WELDED BEFORE, AND AFTER READING ABOUT OTHER WELDING TYPES I SETTLED ON STICK WELDING TO BE MY FIRST. HOBART BEING A WELL KNOWN COMPANY CAME THRU FOR ME WITH THIS AMAZING STICKWELDER. THE INSTRUCTIONS AND EASE OF OPERATION HAD ME LAYING DOWN STRONG WELDS QUICKLY EASILY AND ECONOMICALLY. THE CONFIDENCE AND TRUST IN MY WELDING FABRICATION FROM THIS SYSTEM HAS OPENED UP A WHOLE NEW WORLD TO ME PLEASANTLY ACCENTED BY THE 'NEVER FORGET YOU' EXPERIENCE RECEIVED FROM NORTHERN TOOL & EQUIPMENT."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Stickmate 205AC 230V Arc Welder/Stick Welder - 205 Amp Output, Model# 500502
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hobart Stickmate Welder

,
November 18, 2008
By BoatingTom
from Texas
"This is a great welder. It is easy to use. I used it for structural welding on a boat dock. The only drawback is you must be close to a power recepticle, as the power cord is not to long, and the welding cables are not that long. I made an extension/adapter cord to power from a generator.
This welder does the job.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Stickmate 205AC 230V Arc Welder/Stick Welder - 205 Amp Output, Model# 500502
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value

,
August 25, 2008
By Biggie
from Oklahoma
"This is a great buy in stick welders. After researching feedback from users of various brands of welders, the Hobart turned out to be the best product for the money. The adjustment is infinite, dialing the correct setting for a particular thickness of metal is very easy to do. After all of the research, Northern had the lowest price for this model. Northern also has great service, so the choice was easy."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Stickmate 205AC 230V Arc Welder/Stick Welder - 205 Amp Output, Model# 500502
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hobart stickmate

,
August 11, 2008
By DW7195
from Dolye,CA.
"For the size and money and what I purchased it for I have just one comment.......AWESOME piece of equipment. Great for pro's and begginers alike. I'm not an everyday welder and it's been some time since I did any serious welding. Just repair and some fabrication with heavy iron and some sheet metal 1/8 on up to a 1/2 inch. Have used this in combination with a 5600 generator with out a hitch/problem."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Stickmate 205AC 230V Arc Welder/Stick Welder - 205 Amp Output, Model# 500502
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good for the price

,
April 24, 2008
By mrgoodwrench
from Columbia, S.C.
"good welder for the price, getts the job done. control knob is flemsy and hard to turn but cables are long enough to reach work. could use more angles on handle for better placement of sticks. soo farr no problems with duty cycle. could use some better ark starting technolegy and ground clamp."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Stickmate 205AC 230V Arc Welder/Stick Welder - 205 Amp Output, Model# 500502
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hobart AC Stickmate is great

,
April 24, 2008
By rjaszcz
from San Antonio, TX
"This is a great value, very high quality for the money. Easy to use. The ability to "dial in" your amperage is awesome, you don't have to use the preset steps like the other brand welders. This is a great adjustable feature to have.
My only complaint would be the short power cord and leads. Of course Northern sells supplies to increase the length of both. I would still highly recommend it.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.