Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Stickmate LX235 AC/DC 230V Arc Welder/Stick Welder - 225 Amp AC Output, 150 Amp DC Output, Model# 500421

FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Stickmate LX235 AC/DC 230V Arc Welder/Stick Welder - 225 Amp AC Output, 150 Amp DC Output, Model# 500421

Item# 164679
Hobart's Stickmate LX235AC/160DC power source lets you choose between AC or DC weld output to expand your welding options to either AC or DC stick electrodes. DC output means fewer arc outages, less sticking, less splatter, better bead control on thin work and easier 'out-of-position' welding. AC output produces less arc blow and easier starts. The Accu-Set infinite amperage control allows for precision adjustments as small as 1 Amp increments. Amperage Adjustments Accu-Set infinite current control 1A increments, Dimensions L x W x H in. 12 3/4 in. x 17 1/2 x 18 3/4, Amps 30-235 AC/30-160 DC, Electrode Size in. 1/16-5/32, Electrode Cable Length ft. 15, Welding Amperage Range 40 - 235 AC / 30 - 150 DC, Duty Cycle 20 @ 225A, 100 @ 100A, 20 @ 150A, 100 @ 60A, Welds Up To in. 1/2 in a single pass, Clamp Cable Length ft. 10, Weldable Metals Steel, stainless steel, cast iron, Range Selection High/Low AC DCEN/DCEP, Volts 230, Power Cord ft. 5, Welding Processes Stick welding, Phase Single. 235 Amp max. output rated for 20 higher output than competitive welders Accu-Set amperage indicator for accurately controlling amperage or heat output Infinite current control allows the operator to adjust output by as little as 1 Amp increments Welds up to 1/2in. in a single pass Output selector switch to quickly select low or high range without adjusting the output leads Fully varnished magnetic coils for enhanced coil reliability and life Forced-draft cooling fan runs continuously and helps to extend the life of the power source Replaceable weld cables 5/3/1 Industrial Warranty 5-year warranty on transformers, stabilizers, reactors, rectifiers, rotors, stators and brushes 3-year warranty on drive systems, PC boards, solenoid valves, switches and controls 1-year warranty on MIG guns, plasma torches, relays, contactor, triggers, regulator, accessories, spool guns, battery, field options and running gear. 90 days Normal wear items such as drive rolls, contact tips, nozzle, gas diffuser, plasma torch tips and electrodes and weld cables are not covered under warranty Engine warranty is provided by the engine manufacturer
Average Customer Rating:
4.883 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(60 Reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (60 reviews)
5 stars
53
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
60 of 60(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Stickmate LX235 AC/DC 230V Arc Welder/Stick Welder - 225 Amp AC Output, 150 Amp DC Output, Model# 500421
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Stickmate LX235 AC/DC 230V Arc Welder/Stick Welder - 225 Amp AC Output, 150 Amp DC Output, Model# 500421
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Welder

,
February 4, 2014
By BeginningWelder
from Mer Rouge, LA
"I had an inexpensive wire feed welder, but I recently purchased a tractor with various implements, so I needed a larger welder to handle repairs on the implements, this is a great welder and is easy to use, takes a little time to get the settings right, but for a inexperienced welder it was not hard, my welds are not pretty but they hold up and I am getting better. This unit looks just like the higher priced Miller units, probably built at the same plant."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Stickmate LX235 AC/DC 230V Arc Welder/Stick Welder - 225 Amp AC Output, 150 Amp DC Output, Model# 500421
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hobart Stickmate LX235 AC/DC 230V Arc Welder/Stick

,
April 23, 2013
By Partimefarmer
from York, PA
"Used stick welders all my life and this one is right up there with the best of them.The price to value can not be beat.
One of the best things I like about this unit is the heat stays where you up it. This is important to me when I make a long heavy weld. This is not all ways the case with this class welder. It is also small enough to take along and plug into my generator to make it even more useful.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
11out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Stickmate LX235 AC/DC 230V Arc Welder/Stick Welder - 225 Amp AC Output, 150 Amp DC Output, Model# 500421
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

stick automatic

,
August 13, 2012
By ironhorse1
from Hernando bch ,fl
"I recently purchased two ac/dc stick welders at the begging of the year. a Lincoln 225 and The hobart lx 235. both were purchased on same date in march of 2012 . the hobart welds by itself almost and the lincoln did not make it two months before we started seeing loss of power and over heating. these machines are only used about five hours out of 12 hour day ."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+17points
22out of 27found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Stickmate LX235 AC/DC 230V Arc Welder/Stick Welder - 225 Amp AC Output, 150 Amp DC Output, Model# 500421
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Machine For It's Intended Purpose

,
August 13, 2012
By ThruTraffic
from North Carolina
"I got spoiled getting to work with the big Miller machines this summer but I made the right choice with this machine for my home shop. It will do almost any job I'll need it to do around the shop. This is a near duplicate of the Miller ThunderBolt. I seriously enjoy welding with this machine."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Stickmate LX235 AC/DC 230V Arc Welder/Stick Welder - 225 Amp AC Output, 150 Amp DC Output, Model# 500421
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does the job.

,
August 13, 2012
By Sammythehandyman
from Georgia
"This welder is great for do it your self projects. The only down side is it doesn't come with wheels, the leads are much shorter than my Lincoln welder."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Stickmate LX235 AC/DC 230V Arc Welder/Stick Welder - 225 Amp AC Output, 150 Amp DC Output, Model# 500421
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

,
January 16, 2012
By antiqueguy
from atlanta, ga
"We have been extremely pleased with our Stickmate and the jobs which we have done using it.
It is a dependable, easy to use welder and I would highly recommend it.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Stickmate LX235 AC/DC 230V Arc Welder/Stick Welder - 225 Amp AC Output, 150 Amp DC Output, Model# 500421
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

First Welder, exceeds my expectation

,
October 18, 2011
By EPH1
from Columbus, IN
"This is the first welder I have purchased. I use it for welding farm equipment. I weld anything from 16 gauge to about 3/8". I find it easy to use in DC mode. Once you learn to select the right settings (easy with on unit welding settings table) it works very well.
I'm pleased with it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Stickmate LX235 AC/DC 230V Arc Welder/Stick Welder - 225 Amp AC Output, 150 Amp DC Output, Model# 500421
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best welder I ever owned !

,
October 17, 2011
By kRAYz
from Houston, Texas
"In the past, I'd owned both a Miller and a Lincoln welder. This unit outperforms both, hands down ! I would reccomend it to anyone either novice, or pro."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Stickmate LX235 AC/DC 230V Arc Welder/Stick Welder - 225 Amp AC Output, 150 Amp DC Output, Model# 500421
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent welder

,
June 14, 2011
By NChandyman
"I bought this welder to learn SMAW, i.e. stick welding. It has all the capability I desire as a hobby welder, and then some. I've had it over two years and completed several projects with it. It will do all you ask of it up to it's rated capacity."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Stickmate LX235 AC/DC 230V Arc Welder/Stick Welder - 225 Amp AC Output, 150 Amp DC Output, Model# 500421
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid welder

,
June 13, 2011
By Thuds
from Charlotte, NC
"I've had mine for about 2 years now, and it has performed flawlessly. It has even dropped from a few feet and it still checked out and functions as it did before the drop. As mentioned, the ground clamp is pretty weak but that can be easily fixed. Why get anything else when the price and features are right?"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Stickmate LX235 AC/DC 230V Arc Welder/Stick Welder - 225 Amp AC Output, 150 Amp DC Output, Model# 500421
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hobart stickmate AC/DC welder

,
March 21, 2011
By tscrip
from central kansas
"Got the AC/DC to do a go-cart welding project. The DC is worth the extra cost.
It worked well on the sheet metal floor to frame.
the variable current control is nice too
A simple to use basic welder.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Stickmate LX235 AC/DC 230V Arc Welder/Stick Welder - 225 Amp AC Output, 150 Amp DC Output, Model# 500421
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT WELDER

,
March 16, 2011
By diywelder
from Edgewood, NM
"I own a small business where we perform many of our own task. Welding is one the the larger ones. Our small mig welder is used on smaller jobs and works great. Unfortunately it has its limits. I decided to purchase the Hobart Stickmate AC/DC model 500421. Once we received it I was eager to see how it performed, so I built a welder cart. The welder worked great! Since then I have built and modified several of our utility trailers and tanks. The only minor drawback is the light duty ground clamp. It works fine but can bend. I plan on switching it out for another one. We commonly use rod sizes, 7018, 7014, 6011, 6013. I have many other projects lined up and plan on using this welder on those projects. I would recommend this product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Stickmate LX235 AC/DC 230V Arc Welder/Stick Welder - 225 Amp AC Output, 150 Amp DC Output, Model# 500421
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good machine

,
March 14, 2011
By Winker
from Center Montana
"This seems to be a higher output machine, on the DC side, then the comparable Lincoln welder. Very nice machine, I haven't used it much, during cold weather the adjustment handle turned quite hard. I don't normally work in my unheated garage during the winter."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Stickmate LX235 AC/DC 230V Arc Welder/Stick Welder - 225 Amp AC Output, 150 Amp DC Output, Model# 500421
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

best value for a stick welder

,
March 14, 2011
By GlenW
from Central Virginia
"I did a lot of research and settled on this machine based on its reputation - I am told it is the same as the Miller Thunderbolt but for a lot less money.
I have been very happy with the welder, I run it almost exclusively on DC off 230V, but it is capable of AC and even 110V operation.
It takes a few minutes to attach the ground clamp and rod holder to the leads, nice long leads. The power cord is short."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Stickmate LX235 AC/DC 230V Arc Welder/Stick Welder - 225 Amp AC Output, 150 Amp DC Output, Model# 500421
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

How to use the product

,
March 14, 2011
By BroncoBuzz
from VT
"I am very pleased with this welder I just purchased. This is a very user friendly welder. The dial adjustment works great and precise. It's a very smooth running machine."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Stickmate LX235 AC/DC 230V Arc Welder/Stick Welder - 225 Amp AC Output, 150 Amp DC Output, Model# 500421
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Product

,
November 23, 2010
By DeltaMatt
from Buffalo, NY
"Excellent welder. Price is significantly lower than any local hardware or chain store. Welder does exactly what it says it will. I would recommend purchasing an upgraded handle to hold your sticks as the stock one is a poor design and also have your first project be to make a cart. First thing I did was chopped an old shopping cart as the welder is very heavy and this makes moving around the shop an ease. Good luck."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Stickmate LX235 AC/DC 230V Arc Welder/Stick Welder - 225 Amp AC Output, 150 Amp DC Output, Model# 500421
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

stickmate

,
August 30, 2010
By shopmate
"Good all around welder. Best bang for your buck. Having both AC and DC is definitely a plus."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Stickmate LX235 AC/DC 230V Arc Welder/Stick Welder - 225 Amp AC Output, 150 Amp DC Output, Model# 500421
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great welder

,
August 23, 2010
By SABuzzard
from San Antonio, TX
"Perfect for home hobbyist, farm or light fabrication. I've used it on everything from 14ga sheet to 3/8 inch plate. Well built. Great performance."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Stickmate LX235 AC/DC 230V Arc Welder/Stick Welder - 225 Amp AC Output, 150 Amp DC Output, Model# 500421
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Buzz Box

,
June 23, 2010
By Kraft
from Colorado
"It's a great welder. So far I've cut with it, ran about 5 pounds of rod through it and generally had a blast. Worked great out of the box, simple to adjust, easy to use and for a price I couldn't beat anywhere."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Stickmate LX235 AC/DC 230V Arc Welder/Stick Welder - 225 Amp AC Output, 150 Amp DC Output, Model# 500421
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finest arc welder there is

,
June 2, 2010
By stebs
"I've had this welder for a year now and it hasn't failed me yet from welding on trucks to welding on wood stoves. there isnt anything this welder can't do, its also very portable, may be the best welder i've had in a long time."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.