Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING — Hobart Tigmate AC/DC Stick and Tig Welding Package With Foot Control — 230 Volt, Model# 500425

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

FREE SHIPPING — Hobart Tigmate AC/DC Stick and Tig Welding Package With Foot Control — 230 Volt, Model# 500425

Item# 1646901
The TIGMATE™ is a complete AC/DC, TIG and Stick welding package. All you need is a bottle of argon shielding gas or your choice of Stick electrodes and youre ready to start welding. Volts: 230/380, Amps: 52/39, Duty Cycle: TIG: 20% at 150 Amps, 15 Volts DC, Stick: 20% at 130 Amps, 25 Volts DC, Amperage Adjustments: Infinite control, Range Selection: AC low, AC high, and DC, Weldable Metals: Steel, stainless steel, aluminum, cast iron, cooper, brass, titanium, and magnesium alloys, Weld Thickness (in.): 18-gauge to 3/16 in. steel and stainless steel; 14 gauge to 3/16 in. aluminum, Electrode Size (in.): Up to 1/8, Electrode Cable Length (ft.): 15, Clamp Cable Length (ft.): 12, Regulator and Gas Hose Included: Yes, Shielding Gas Required: Yes, Dimensions L x W x H (in.): 13 x 25 1/2 x 18 Low frequency output wont interfere with electronics Single-phase unit has exclusive built-in arc assist for both AC and DC and TIG plus foot control for easier use Process switch automatically sets for TIG or stick welding AC/DC rated output
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (9 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 of 9(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING — Hobart Tigmate AC/DC Stick and Tig Welding Package With Foot Control — 230 Volt, Model# 500425
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING — Hobart Tigmate AC/DC Stick and Tig Welding Package With Foot Control — 230 Volt, Model# 500425
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hobart Tigmate

,
November 2, 2009
By nick98
from Green Bay, WI
"This welder is so easy to operate that I was welding within an hour after I removed it from the box.
So far I have only welded some aluminum tubing on my pontoon and it has worked excellent.
I have welded aluminum for 6 years and I am very impressed with this welder.
It is very easy to use because you do not have to drag the electrode to start the arc and with the foot pedal control you can weld and not worry about being to hot or to cold.
I would recommend this for home and small job shops.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING — Hobart Tigmate AC/DC Stick and Tig Welding Package With Foot Control — 230 Volt, Model# 500425
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hobart 500425 Kit

,
July 13, 2009
By stp123
from Auburn, AL
"The welder does everything we need (small scale work). It works great and was a great price!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING — Hobart Tigmate AC/DC Stick and Tig Welding Package With Foot Control — 230 Volt, Model# 500425
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT ITEM

,
November 18, 2008
By kerryk65
from nASHVILLE, tn
"REALY GOOD WELDER. WOULD RECOMMEND FOR MEDIUM TO LIGHT DUTY WELDING."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING — Hobart Tigmate AC/DC Stick and Tig Welding Package With Foot Control — 230 Volt, Model# 500425
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tig Welder

,
November 18, 2008
By Quick
from South Louisiana
"Great welder, great value
I use this welder for back yard shop projects, and it has performed better than I expected.
I have welded every thing from a quarter panel on my race car to crome moly tubing, This machine can weld almost anything if you have the know how!!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING — Hobart Tigmate AC/DC Stick and Tig Welding Package With Foot Control — 230 Volt, Model# 500425
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Buy a TIG

,
November 2, 2008
By MilesD
from Virginia
"If anyone is contemplating whether to buy a MIG or a TIG - I would strongly reccomend the TIG over the MIG.
You can't weld as fast with a TIG as you can with a MIG - but the welds are MUCH better quality - even for ordinary sheet metal stuff on auto body.
Welding with a TIG is a lot like welding with an acetylene torch - except you can control it a lot better, not burn through sheet metal as easily, and you can work with stainless and aluminum - which you can't do with an acetylene torch (without a lot of agony anyway).
When you become accomplished welding aluminum you can adjust the heat rate by adjusting the inert gas compostion - adding helium to the argon increases the heat rate and with a 50-50 mixture of argon and helium you can make very deep welds in aluminum.
This machine has plenty of amperage for most jobs and will be just fine for the average mechanic or welder - if you are doing heavy construction or rebuilding trucks or tractors, you will have to buy a more expensive, heavier amperage unit.
The foot pedal is a lot easier to control than the hand held device, and I would recommend this arrangement."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING — Hobart Tigmate AC/DC Stick and Tig Welding Package With Foot Control — 230 Volt, Model# 500425
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

TIG mate

,
October 30, 2008
By stewyk
from Lancaster Pennsylvania
"I tig weld for a living, and would highly recomend this bargin tig / stick welder to anyone who is proficient at welding. Just like it says, just add abottle of argon and you are ready to weld. You get 1 3/32 tungsten, collet, collet body and cup. VERY good value and excellent preforming machine"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING — Hobart Tigmate AC/DC Stick and Tig Welding Package With Foot Control — 230 Volt, Model# 500425
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hobart Tigmate w/ foot control

,
August 18, 2008
By tcsssm
from Cocoa, FL
"Great machine for a great price. Machine is easy to use and operate. I highly recommend the Tigmate."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING — Hobart Tigmate AC/DC Stick and Tig Welding Package With Foot Control — 230 Volt, Model# 500425
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

user friendly

,
October 31, 2007
By camaroracer
from spokane ,wash
"very user friendly.Will make you feel like a better welder than you probably are in real life as makes the job easier than imagined."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING — Hobart Tigmate AC/DC Stick and Tig Welding Package With Foot Control — 230 Volt, Model# 500425
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tigmate

,
July 9, 2007
By TropicalKing
from Colombia
"Very good product. Northern Tool offered the best price. Good support from their international sales staff."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.