Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Welders Heavy-Duty Angled Welding/Plasma Cart

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Northern Industrial Welders Heavy-Duty Angled Welding/Plasma Cart

Item# 164775
The Northern Industrial heavy-duty welding cart holds welder and cylinders with a tilted top shelf that allows easier access to welder controls. Depth in. 17, Tire Type 2 Fixed, 2 Swivel, Dimensions L x H in. 38 x 33, Material Steel, Tire Size in. 10 and 6, Capacity lbs. 200. Holds welder and cylinders Tilted top shelf allows easier access to welder controls Holds tanks up to 7 1/2in. dia Safety chains keep gas cylinders securely in place Rolls on 10in. fixed and 6in. swivel rubber wheels
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (20 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
0
16 of 20(80%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Welders Heavy-Duty Angled Welding/Plasma Cart
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Welders Heavy-Duty Angled Welding/Plasma Cart
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fixed Problem Wheels

,
December 8, 2012
By StanleyBob
from Hurst TX
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" I just purchased one of these carts thinking the wheels would be fixed. They were NOT. Here is the deal. The handle isn't straight up and down the bottom is tilted back towards the cart causing the wheels not to swivel. The bottom shelf was predrilled into the base bad. Drill holes 1" toward he handle on the main base to mount the bottom shelf. This will level the handle and the wheels appear to work 100% better. It is a simple fix. The cart is out of heavy material and appears to fit my needs. I'm pulling the cart across a dirt floor area and appears to work. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Welders Heavy-Duty Angled Welding/Plasma Cart
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Industrial Welders Heavy-Duty Angled Weld

,
September 1, 2012
By wgambier2000
from Mount Vernon,Ohio
" Very well built cart,worth every penny to me.
very solid feel when pushing arround,not flimsy like some of the other cheaper carts. fast shipping,Very happy with purchase,great product,Thanks a million Northern.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Welders Heavy-Duty Angled Welding/Plasma Cart
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Purchased two carts, poor rear wheel constrution

,
August 13, 2012
By KTHD01
from UT
" These are expensive carts, the manufacturer needs to improve on the rear wheel design. I purchased a welder and plasma cut at the same time when I ordered these two carts. I am very disappointed with these expensive carts. The rest of the cart is okay built, if you purchase this cart you will need to repair-up grade the rear wheel design. Since I purchased these carts I have found several carts for less money and better designed. I recommend to shop and not to purchase this cart. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Welders Heavy-Duty Angled Welding/Plasma Cart
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Decent basic cart

,
May 15, 2012
By BBBB88
from Chicago, IL
" I don't weld much, but needed a basic cart to move the new miller around with the small gas tank. It holds the welder fine, although I did drill a couple extra holes in it so I could bolt the welder down and make it more difficult to remove from the cart. (used existing holes in the welder)
The reason for three stars is that the wheels or choice of fixed wheels in the back and swivel casters in the front make the cart so it is not very maneuverable. I had no difficulty with assembly or use. Although some better cable hangers would have been nice. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Welders Heavy-Duty Angled Welding/Plasma Cart
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Cheezy

,
December 14, 2010
By nswsparky
from Central MN
" I got this cart to hold my Hobart 210 which weighs around 100lbs, plus another 30 for the tank. So its pushing its 200lb weight limit.. It is entirely made out of 10gauge sheet metal with 2 spot welds, and is held together with 4mm flat head screws with a nylock nuts. The upper tank rack is not even held on by bolts there are tabs that have to be bent to hold it in place. The back wheels are actually pretty good with actual bearings and grease zirks. The swivels on the front don't even work with the cart empty there is just too much slop in swivel part. It not worth what it cost. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Welders Heavy-Duty Angled Welding/Plasma Cart
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

pretty good

,
November 20, 2010
By wildman1958
from Dallas TX.
" over all this is a pretty good cart easy to assemble. my only complaint is the front wheels do not track very well. when pulling the cart to change direction you need to pick the front of the cart up change direction then put the cart down and continue on your way. I plan to remedy this in the near future "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Welders Heavy-Duty Angled Welding/Plasma Cart
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Things not so great

,
November 17, 2010
By Badcoupe34
from Restoration and repair shop in CT
" I have two of these carts I purchased at different times. The first one works pretty good and I thought it was a good value. The one I bought a month ago does not work good at all. The swivel caster wheels do not spin and it is extremely hard to move around. I tried taking them back off and lubing them, but they are sloppy in the stand legs and they tend to fold over when you try to steer it, causing them not to swivel. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Welders Heavy-Duty Angled Welding/Plasma Cart
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Welding Cart

,
November 16, 2010
By GLJ1
from Sandusky, Ohio
" Nice cart plus it is hefty enough to hold heavier welders. The only problem I have is with the front wheels. I have to push it rather than pull because the front wheels(casters) try to go under the cart at a bad angle rather than standing upright. It makes it impossible to pull the cart. I am working on fixing that problem now that I have a cart to hold the welder though.I'll probably weld a brace to keep them straight and sturdy. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Welders Heavy-Duty Angled Welding/Plasma Cart
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Welding Cart

,
June 2, 2010
By Pablo24
from Pasadena, Texas
" Great heavy duty cart, works and moves easily. Just the right height. I would recommend to anyone that wants to have a permenent place for their welder and accessories and still be able to conveniently roll it around to where you need it.
Pablo
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Welders Heavy-Duty Angled Welding/Plasma Cart
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Welding Cart

,
November 9, 2009
By rypol1
from Ellington, CT
" This cart was my a very smart by for me. Before i had this cart my welder was on a table and had no portability. This became especially frustrating considering it seemed that what ever i had to weld was on the other side of the garage. This solved my problem. It is very sturdy and fits my welder perfectly. I have a 140a Hobart MIG welder and a size 80 shielding gas tank. Combined they weigh a lot. Much more than i would want to be carrying around. This product is so easy to roll around with the casters that it has in the front and the large wheels in the back. I have even used it in our driveway where part is not paved. Also about this product that i like is that it has two hooks on the side of the handle. I use one to hold the gun and one to hold the ground clamp when I'm done with them. This is terrific because now they don't tub on the ground. Well worth the money for this one vs the cheaper model. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Welders Heavy-Duty Angled Welding/Plasma Cart
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

not the best

,
November 3, 2009
By kev63rod
from mission SD
" received the cart and was dissapointed in the quality. the box was beat to pieces with one end being nothing but tape and there was no instruction to be found. its an ok cart for very smooth floors and occasional use but thats about it. definitlly over priced in my book. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Welders Heavy-Duty Angled Welding/Plasma Cart
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

One great Cart

,
July 14, 2009
By CajunFlyer
from Baton Rouge, La.
" I purchased this cart for a 120 volt mig. It is very heavy duty and a great value. It will last me a lifetime in my shop. If you need a cart this is it. Easy to assemble. Pay the extra over the baby cart. You will be glad you did. I am. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Welders Heavy-Duty Angled Welding/Plasma Cart
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great cart cheap wheels!!

,
July 13, 2009
By 250kid
from Stuart ,Virginia
" Overall this is a great cart. It has ample space, heavier than most, not to bad to assemble. The only problem I had with it is the wheels. Rear wheels under welder are fine .The casters under the handle on the Front are cheap ones. Have to lift up one it to move. Would recommend to anyone to buy better casters. Other than that you wont find a better cart for the money. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Welders Heavy-Duty Angled Welding/Plasma Cart
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

With a little work it's a great cart

,
April 10, 2009
By CountryFarmer
from Horse Country, Virginia
" With a little work it's a great cart, much heaver than the little Hobart I was using. It holds my 140 and an a # 3 tank with no problem, it does take up more room in my shop but that's the tradeoff. Now - First thing to do - throw away the flat head fasteners (don't even open the bag) go to your big box store and buy some real 1/4 x 1 1/2 inch bolts. Next I didn't like the way the top tank plate was attached (insert tab A into slot B bend tab A) so after I inserted Tabs A and bent them flat I drilled a couple of 1/4 inch holes through the tabs and the upper tool tray and used 1/4 x 3/4 inch bolts, it's works great. The little wire pot holders are next to useless, you will want to make sonething better, I used 1 inch flat stock and made a couple of hooks big enough to hold all the cables. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Welders Heavy-Duty Angled Welding/Plasma Cart
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Strong cart!

,
February 21, 2009
By wrenchnride247
from Cleveland, TN
" I upgraded from a cheap cart I had for years. This new cart is heavy duty. Easy to put together. Don't like the upper cylinder mounting (insert tab A into slot B and twist tab A) that is about the only thing I didn't like. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial Welders Heavy-Duty Angled Welding/Plasma Cart
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Back saver

,
January 17, 2009
By Diamond500
from Bandera, TX
" I bought this to replace welding cart Item# 164770. That was a fine cart, but if you aren't 4 years old, you will be doing a lot of bending over to move it.
This cart offers the features of Item# 1646931 and has 100 pounds more weight capacity.
A bit difficult to put together by your self but once done, well worth the effort. A very good product "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Northern Industrial Welders Heavy-Duty Angled Welding/Plasma Cart
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Welding Cart

,
January 12, 2009
By vhardy
from Utah
" Poor instructions, had to modify main shelf to hold down my Hobart Handler 187, dislike the flat head fasteners, would have prefered bolting main upright rather than bending tabs, great wheels, like the tilted design, solid after asym. with welder attached, much better cart than the one that came with welder. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Northern Industrial Welders Heavy-Duty Angled Welding/Plasma Cart
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Welding Cart

,
November 17, 2008
By larry1
from Hampton New Jersey
" The cart is allitle tricky to assemble but it is very sturdy and strong. Puts welder at a nice angle to be able to get to the controls easily. Wheels let the cart roll very easy. I would recommand this cart to anyone looking to get one. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Northern Industrial Welders Heavy-Duty Angled Welding/Plasma Cart
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Weld Cart Review

,
August 18, 2008
By Thox
" This is a solid and stable cart that handles my Lincoln mig welder and gas bottle. "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Northern Industrial Welders Heavy-Duty Angled Welding/Plasma Cart
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

well built cart

,
April 21, 2008
By eddy1112
from Paullina IA
" Impressed with the overall heavy metal construction. Larger wheels than most making it very easy to move around. Took no time to put together and can accommodate various types of mig welders.Very nice cart at a very reasonable price. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.