Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Hobart Flip Front Welding Helmet, Model# 770286"

"Hobart Flip Front Welding Helmet, Model# 770286"

Item# 1648512
"Budget-priced helmet has flip front. Adjustable Fit Yes, Product Type Welding helmet, Variable Shades 10, View Area W x H in. 4 1/2 x 2, Adjustable Sensitivity No, Auto Darkening No, ANSI Approved Yes. Impact-resistant polypropylene material"
Average Customer Rating:
4.043 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (23 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
19 of 23(83%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Hobart Flip Front Welding Helmet, Model# 770286"
Review 1 for "Hobart Flip Front Welding Helmet, Model# 770286"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good helmet at a great price

,
August 20, 2012
By jsmi7
from Flint, MI
"This is a good product for the home hobbyist. It fits my big head and is comfortable to wear. I do wish I'd gotten an auto-darkening helmet but they are about 3x the price of this one."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Hobart Flip Front Welding Helmet, Model# 770286"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Decent Helment for the $$$

,
August 15, 2012
By OSAUTOWORKS
from Randleman, NC
"I got this helment mainly because it was inexpensive and Hobart is a good brand. The helment is comfortable to wear extended periods but if you do a lot of welding like I do it can become cumbersome to flip open and closed and stay where you put it. I like that the lens is replaceable and opens with only one finger (even wearing a thick welding glove). If you don't weld a whole lot, this would be a great helmet for you."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Hobart Flip Front Welding Helmet, Model# 770286"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Inexpensive but bulky

,
May 9, 2012
By JTMV
from Chase City Va
"I would not recommend this helmet for primary use. I purchased it for use as a second helmet, when I need a helper. I would recommend getting an auto darkening shade helmet for your primary helmet."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Hobart Flip Front Welding Helmet, Model# 770286"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poorly Constructed

,
February 15, 2012
By Peter123
from Middletown, CT
"The tension adjustment fell apart after two uses. I suppose I should not have expected more for the price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Hobart Flip Front Welding Helmet, Model# 770286"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Happy!

,
January 9, 2012
By cougar42
from Utah
"I found this helmet great and well worth the money!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Hobart Flip Front Welding Helmet, Model# 770286"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Product

,
January 8, 2012
By WallyGator
from Jacksonville, Florida
"I have been welding SMA , GTAW for over 25 years. I recently bought this Hobart welding hood for work and its a good product. Stays up when needed, light weight and protects the full face.I plan to purchase another one for the garage at home."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Hobart Flip Front Welding Helmet, Model# 770286"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

band strips out

,
November 14, 2011
By bubba0025
from vancouver, WA
"I couldn't tighten the band flip down setting tight enough. I'd flip it up, It would flip right back down. Screws are plastic and stripped right out. Helmet lasted 2 days"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Hobart Flip Front Welding Helmet, Model# 770286"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

An extremely light duty helmet if anything

,
October 10, 2011
By Bikenraider99
from Houston, TX
"I bought this helmet for a welding class I'm taking. The helmet was going to see stick, mig, plasma, and carbon arc cutting, 1 day a week for 6 hours at a time. The helmet is super adjustable and is comfortable to wear and breathes well (or about as well as you want a welding helmet to breathe). It's also lightweight so your neck doesn't tire out. The flip front comes in handy when you're chipping away slag and don't want to get burned.
My biggest complaint about the helmet was the plastic screws for hinges. Both sides of mine started to work loose and eventually strip out. It wouldn't have been so bad if this could have been replaced easily.
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Hobart Flip Front Welding Helmet, Model# 770286"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hobart Flip Front Welding helmet

,
March 14, 2011
By BigKat2000
from McKinney, Texas.
"Definitely worth the money. Bought th is for a 'spotter' but may use it on all my welds. Sturdy yet light weight."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Hobart Flip Front Welding Helmet, Model# 770286"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hobart Flip Front Welding Helmet, Model# 770286

,
November 17, 2010
By 3733
"Excellent product for the price. Flip down feature works well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Hobart Flip Front Welding Helmet, Model# 770286"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

REVIEW

,
September 13, 2010
By DOUG58
from Dallas, TX
"WORKS VERY GOOD, I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT AS A BUY"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Hobart Flip Front Welding Helmet, Model# 770286"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great helmet at a great price

,
August 30, 2010
By johnnietank
from Roseville, MI
"Easily adjusted, comfortable to wear, works exactly as I want/need it to and didn't break the bank to do it. What more could you ask for?!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Hobart Flip Front Welding Helmet, Model# 770286"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good flip helmet

,
June 4, 2010
By Roonabeck
from Central MA
"If you're not going to spend the money to get an auto-dark helmet, this helmet is a really great value. I learned to (wire-feed) weld using this helmet, and it gave me no problems."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Hobart Flip Front Welding Helmet, Model# 770286"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Helmet

,
May 27, 2010
By Ammosoftball36
from Rapid City, SD
"I bought this helmet when I bought a Northerntool brand welder from Northerntool.com. It is lightweight and very comfortable. I would highly recommend it to anyone. Price and quality are a perfect fit."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Hobart Flip Front Welding Helmet, Model# 770286"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Get the auto dimming

,
March 16, 2009
By DrunkenMonkey
"Unless you are already blind, then you will probably want the auto-dimming helmet. This helmet leaves you completely blind until you start welding. It makes it hard to start a bead."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-7points
0out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Hobart Flip Front Welding Helmet, Model# 770286"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

weld helmet

,
November 20, 2008
By Cudadude
from CT
"Great helmet, does the job on a budget .....!Lite weight easy to use good flip up window would recomend to all .....!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Hobart Flip Front Welding Helmet, Model# 770286"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best price, Best Quality

,
September 6, 2008
By Anonymous
from Union Ironworker/welder in Norfolk Va
"Regardless of the price this is the best flip front welding hood you can get. Its lightweight, provides good coverage from arc light, comes with a high quality glass filter lens, and has stood the test of time for me, which is every day use in the rain, snow, and sunshine for the last 1 1/2 years."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Hobart Flip Front Welding Helmet, Model# 770286"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hobart Helmet

,
April 14, 2008
By Darrell2
from Fyffe, AL
"The helmet works fine for handyman projects. The adjustable headband and flip lens are a definite assets. I have only used a few times but it seems to work well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Hobart Flip Front Welding Helmet, Model# 770286"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hobart Flip Front Welding Helmet - Model# 770286

,
July 9, 2007
By thecorksterr
from Simi Valley, CA
"Great value for the price...basic but so easy to use...adjustability is amazing."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Hobart Flip Front Welding Helmet, Model# 770286"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hobart Flip Front Welding Helmet — Model# 770286

,
March 12, 2007
By Strat
from Kinder, La
"Very good quality for the price. Very light, most of the weight is directed to the back of the headband, which helps with the fatigue factor. Fully adjustable headband fits even the "bigheaded Welder". Correct size window with flip front allows for quick weld inspection."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.