Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Hobart XVS Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet - Flat Black, Model# 770424

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Hobart XVS Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet - Flat Black, Model# 770424

Item# 1648514
Lightweight, polyamide nylon materials make this helmet comfortable and durable. View Area W x H in. 3 3/4 x 1 1/2, Adjustable Sensitivity Yes, ANSI Approved Yes, Low Battery Indicator Yes, Auto Darkening Yes, CSE/CE Standard Yes, Switch time sec. 1/12,000, Power Supply Battery w/solar assist, Adjustable Fit Yes, UV/IR Coated Lens Yes, Variable Shades 9-12, Battery Included Yes. Extra protective lens covers included with helmet
Average Customer Rating:
4.844 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (32 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
32 of 32(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hobart XVS Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet - Flat Black, Model# 770424
Review 21 for Hobart XVS Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet - Flat Black, Model# 770424
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This hood has it all.

,
January 14, 2008
By weldwoman
from Texas Hill Country
"I needed a self darkening hood with the darkness ranges this one provided. It isn't flashy to look at but comfy, light weight, and of excellent quality. I'll have to get one for my hubby!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Hobart XVS Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet - Flat Black, Model# 770424
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

,
November 1, 2007
By lovlybunni
from Denver, Colorado
"In using this hood, I have found I have excellent protection and lens adjustment that gives me the ability to create my designs without any of the distractions I have previously experienced with lesser quality equipment. The adjustable fit is also excellent and makes the comfort level very high.
Thanks, Hobart for thinking of the chicks who use your products.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Hobart XVS Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet - Flat Black, Model# 770424
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

GOOD STARTER HOOD

,
October 29, 2007
By 2MMACHINING
from BUENA PARK, CALIFORNIA
"REAL COMFORTABLE HOOD,QUICK RESPONSE DARKENING.
GOOD QUALITY MATERIALS ,LIGHT WEIGHT, A PLEASURE TO USE.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Hobart XVS Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet - Flat Black, Model# 770424
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hobart Auto Helmet

,
July 12, 2007
By Slider
"This is the first auto-darkening helmet I have bought. I have welded for years on personal projects with normal helmets and I can't say enough how much better it is to use an auto type helmet. This one is well built and will last for years. It shuts off by itself to save the battery and comes with extra lens covers to protect the main lens. The head adjustments are positive and quick. Overall a great helmet. If you want a flashy one just paint it or use stickers to dress it up."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Hobart XVS Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet - Flat Black, Model# 770424
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

helmet

,
July 9, 2007
By revala
from Ironwood, MI
"Great adjustment, great visibility, great comfort at a very reasonable price."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Hobart XVS Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet - Flat Black, Model# 770424
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can,t go wrong

,
July 9, 2007
By Rodie
from Calif.
"I just weld for handy work and my projects ( I have a Jeep) but you can't go wrong with this helmet, it's light & comfortable and a pleasure to see what I'm doing before and after I start that arc. Should of got one a long time ago."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Hobart XVS Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet - Flat Black, Model# 770424
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hobart welding hood

,
July 9, 2007
By tigguy
from Holiday Florida
"This is one of the nicest hood I have used to date. I have been welding about 15 years and have bought very expensive hoods before. The abuse I gave them it only made sense to by a cheaper hood as I break them on a regular basis. So I tryed the hobart and love it! You cannot beat the quality for the price of the hood. I will not buy another hood beside a Hobart again."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Hobart XVS Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet - Flat Black, Model# 770424
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

WELDING HELMET

,
July 9, 2007
By FRL1002
from ADDISON IL
"THIS HELMET IS THE BEST ONE I HAVE SEEN OR USED IN MY JOB.
THE TIME IT TAKES TO DARKEN IS JUST GREAT.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Hobart XVS Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet - Flat Black, Model# 770424
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Attention novice welders

,
March 10, 2007
By cam123456
from New Jersey
"Welding is a discipline that takes practice. As a novice welder the features on this helmet permitting you to have two hands free to weld with both hands to steady the arc path is absolutely important. the helmet was an incredible asset in accomplishing simple solution to improve the quality of this novice welder."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Hobart XVS Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet - Flat Black, Model# 770424
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow

,
March 6, 2007
By Warrior24
from Surprise,AZ
"This welding mask works great, it speeds up working time by allot. Don't waste your money on standard masks, due yourself a favor and get this auto mask, you wont be sorry. I guarantee it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Hobart XVS Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet - Flat Black, Model# 770424
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hobart Hood

,
December 2, 2006
By 4holden
from Byram Ms.
"Helmet works great. A huge improvement over the standard helmet...."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Hobart XVS Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet - Flat Black, Model# 770424
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

,
November 16, 2006
By George
from San Angelo, Texas
"I have been doing a lot of part-time welding work for several years and found this new auto-darkening hood to be excellent, with good safety protection from sparks, instant darking qualities, comfortable fit, and provides faster work speed.
I especially like the ability to do the work, when not welding, and still be able to see everything, while wearing the hood. The hood's green tinted, un-darkened lense is like looking through very good sunslasses and allows me to make adjustments to the work project, without removing the hood each time.
Work is accomplished much faster and easier.
Also, most hoods are rated for a #10 light protection but with the adjustable settings, I use different settings for different types of welding and for my personal visual requirements. And it darkens, instantaneously, as advertised!
I like the hood for it's light weight, spark protection, ease of adjustments, the extra protective clear lenses provided with the hood, and most importantly, for first time auto-darkening hood users, it comes with clear, understandable instructions in the Owners Manual.
I read the instructions, made the adjustments to the hood to fit me, and then went right to work.
This hood also reduced most of my head and neck stress by allowing me to do the welding without constantly lifting the hood and nodding-down the hood to cover my face, as with my old standard hood. An added bonus!
I enjoy my welding work a little more now and I think this is a good product for professional, part-time welders, and especially for beginners."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
21-32 of 32