Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hobart Auto-Darkening XFS Fixed-Shade Welding Helmet - Black, Model# 770432

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Hobart Auto-Darkening XFS Fixed-Shade Welding Helmet - Black, Model# 770432

Item# 1648517
Protect your eyes and reduce neck strain with a Hobart Hood Includes extra lens covers. Meets Z87.1 2003 standards. Power Supply Solar w/ battery assist, Switch time sec. 1/3,600, Variable Shades No, Battery Included Yes, CSE/CE Standard Yes, Adjustable Sensitivity No, Auto Darkening Yes, ANSI Approved Yes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (15 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
14 of 15(93%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hobart Auto-Darkening XFS Fixed-Shade Welding Helmet - Black, Model# 770432
Review 1 for Hobart Auto-Darkening XFS Fixed-Shade Welding Helmet - Black, Model# 770432
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for the money

,
June 13, 2011
By CUAGM
"We use a lot of different welding helmets and some are much more costly than these but this is by far the best in the collection."
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hobart Auto-Darkening XFS Fixed-Shade Welding Helmet - Black, Model# 770432
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hobart Autodarkening Hood

,
March 14, 2011
By BigKat2000
from McKinney, Texas.
"Time to autodarken off/on is in the milliseconds range, light yet durable. Excellent quality. Definitely worth the price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hobart Auto-Darkening XFS Fixed-Shade Welding Helmet - Black, Model# 770432
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Helmet

,
June 8, 2010
By Diercks1
from Parrish, FL
"Not as good as pricier models (slower reaction time), but great for shorter welding projects. A lot of starting and stopping might get to your eyes at some point. Good sized viewing window. Adjusts to head size easily, and the flip up/down adjustment seems to work well. Overall battery life appears to be good, and it recharges pretty fast if you are not out in the sun welding."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hobart Auto-Darkening XFS Fixed-Shade Welding Helmet - Black, Model# 770432
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Hood!

,
June 1, 2010
By pablohandyman
from Sandy beachs of FL
"I like this hood alot. Its viewing area is large so seeing what your doing is easy. I like the lower chin protection. I used to get spater down my shirt with my old welding helmet. Talk about dancing around.
A+++"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hobart Auto-Darkening XFS Fixed-Shade Welding Helmet - Black, Model# 770432
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

hobert hood auto darkening xfs fixed shde welding

,
February 22, 2010
By cassidylvr
from body shop las vegas nevada
"i just purchased this item about 2 weeks ago it is the best one i have ever had i work in a body shop so i use my helmet alot comes on fast and efficient fits my head really well i reccomend it for any one looking for a welding helmet the price was great also by far the best helmet"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hobart Auto-Darkening XFS Fixed-Shade Welding Helmet - Black, Model# 770432
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Welder & Fabricator

,
October 19, 2009
By Jeepster06
from Baltimore,MD
"Great mask. Shipped fast. I use this mask just about every day and for the price you can't beat the quality."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hobart Auto-Darkening XFS Fixed-Shade Welding Helmet - Black, Model# 770432
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good for small projects

,
November 21, 2008
By jucnbst
from Chicagoland burbs
"I Stick weld at work and we have autodarkening helmets there. I cant stand how the helmet there slowly slide down since the adjusters can't support the weight of the helmet.
I purchased this one and have used it at home and at work for about 3months The adjusters on the side hold the helmet firmly in place. The only negitive thing I can say is that if exposed to long periods of welding I would get a better helmet."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hobart Auto-Darkening XFS Fixed-Shade Welding Helmet - Black, Model# 770432
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great

,
November 18, 2008
By MDK1
from Traverse City, Michigan
"This is a great affordable welding helmet. Wether you are a hobby welder or a full time career welder such as myself this product works great. I have used one for the past year and a half on the job and never once had a problem with it. I have used it in various positions using different welding processes and it performed like a champ. The nice thing about this product is that it does not use batteries, meaning that whenever you use it, it will always work. From my experience using this product I have no negative comments about it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hobart Auto-Darkening XFS Fixed-Shade Welding Helmet - Black, Model# 770432
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

protect yourself

,
November 17, 2008
By VWRobert
from Silverdale,WA
"I’ve been using this Hobart hood for about two months and it works amazingly well. I’ve never used an auto darkening hood before and man does it make things easy. When using it with my mig welder it lets in the perfect amount of light so that I can see exactly what I’m welding but never hurts my eyes. The reaction time from light to dark is extremely fast and very nice to have."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hobart Auto-Darkening XFS Fixed-Shade Welding Helmet - Black, Model# 770432
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

cardiac

,
September 4, 2008
By cardiac
from marengo, ohio
"needs darker lens #10,or darker and faster change time for higher welding amps and/or volts"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hobart Auto-Darkening XFS Fixed-Shade Welding Helmet - Black, Model# 770432
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hobart Hood

,
April 25, 2008
By Dan42
from Cincinnati
"This is a very nice hood. It has a solid constuction and is lite weight. It has a fast reaction time also. I am using it for factory work so we will see how long it holds up to the wear and tear. So far so good. For under $100.00 it's well worth the investment."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hobart Auto-Darkening XFS Fixed-Shade Welding Helmet - Black, Model# 770432
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Welding helmet

,
April 21, 2008
By gman25
from Grand Haven, MI
"This is a great helmet for the price...it comes on the instant you start welding...it is very fast and I am definetly impressed...this is the first auto darkening helmet I bought and it was well worth it...for the guy or gal using it at home in the shop, its just right."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hobart Auto-Darkening XFS Fixed-Shade Welding Helmet - Black, Model# 770432
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hobart Hood

,
October 29, 2007
By JVEnterprises
from Boston MA
"I purchased this helmet with the hobart 140 welder. i had never welded before but with that welder and this hood it was easy. it even comes with replaceable lenses. i have used it on and off for about t a year now with no problems."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hobart Auto-Darkening XFS Fixed-Shade Welding Helmet - Black, Model# 770432
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hobart Hood

,
October 8, 2007
By Tulsa
from Tulsa, OK
"I bought this helmet as a gift for my son. He has been pleased with it. For some reason when I got it it was not obvious to me that it was not a "picture window" front glass, but rather the standard size. Perhaps the photo shown has changed or I just know what to look for because when looking at the photo shown now its obvious.
Only other weakness is that the battery does not appear to be serviceable, however it may have a very long life.
Over all a good value.
Bill
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hobart Auto-Darkening XFS Fixed-Shade Welding Helmet - Black, Model# 770432
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Helmet

,
March 7, 2007
By JT56
from Sanford NC
"The first time I used it I had not charged it engouh. It worked but was not dark enough. I can't beleive how fast it is and it comes back quick as well. I'm still working on trying to adjust the darkness level but I need to reed the directions again I guess.
Overall it is 1,000,000 times better than any flip down helmet and for the price 100,000,000 million times better."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.