Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Hobart Flux Welding Wire - .030

Hobart Flux Welding Wire - .030

Item# 164890
Select flux cored steel wire to weld without using gas as a shielding agent on straight polarity MIG welders. Choose mild steel wire for auto body repair and similar types of welding applications. U.S.A. Weight lbs. 2, Welding Processes Auto body repair and other similar work, Product Type Welding wire, Wire Material Flux core steel wire, Wire Size in. 030, Compatible With MIG welders.
Average Customer Rating:
4.846 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (13 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 of 13(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hobart Flux Welding Wire - .030
Review 1 for Hobart Flux Welding Wire - .030
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Experience tells the tale

,
May 2, 2013
By TheElderWeldor
from San Diego CA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Having used Hobart wire for over half a century, I find it is head and shoulders above the rest. You as a weldor, must not be satisfied with the "easy to get a hold of" wire in the store nearest you. Your weld may have someone's life depending on its strength. I weld a lot of galvanized steel, which is what this wire is designed for, and when there's slag, you drag. This allows the slag to cover the weld protecting it from oxidation in the weld process. The images are done with a Hobart 125EZ using Hobart.030 flux core. wire on 1/4" steel plate."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hobart Flux Welding Wire - .030
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gold Standard

,
August 23, 2012
By woodburner47
from Chattanooga, TN
"Not all flux welding wire is created equal. Gasless welders are known for spatter. It's not the welding machine, it's the wire. Hobart wire is the Gold Standard others are measured by. Low spatter, good penetration, low porosity. Try it. You will like it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hobart Flux Welding Wire - .030
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hobart flex welding wire

,
August 13, 2012
By MLC1
from Tennessee
"Worked well. Sometimes the material would roll up in the welders automatic feed but this was probably the welders reel."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hobart Flux Welding Wire - .030
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good wire

,
March 14, 2011
By sgt558
from Minnetonka, MN
"Got a wire flux wire feed welder as gift. Works good for what I have to repair. Flux wire core can be a little expensive but Northern had this one on sale, price was right. Used the other day, no complaints. Smooth weld some slug but no more than expected."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hobart Flux Welding Wire - .030
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good stuff.

,
January 1, 2011
By Hobartweldingman
from Ranger, Ga
"This is good wire. You won't be disappointed. Look for sales and buy a few."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hobart Flux Welding Wire - .030
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hobart flux-core welding wire E71T-11 (gasless)

,
June 1, 2010
By e1tn
from Memphis, TN
"I was amazed at the weld quality obtained using this welding wire. Virtually no spatter, no porosity, and you can weld uphill or downhill with no runs. The flux peels off easily to reveal a beautiful bead.
I was about ready to scrap my mig welder due to poor weld quality, but now I realize I was just using the wrong type wire. With the Hobart wire, my welder works the way the manufacturer says it should!
I recommend Hobart E71T-11 flux-core wire to anyone who wants a high quality weld from their MIG or wirefeed welder."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hobart Flux Welding Wire - .030
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good stuff for heavier repairs

,
May 24, 2010
By macdarren
from So Cal
"What can I say, it works as advertised and has given good results, comparable to lincoln wires I have used. The only issue I have had, and it has more to do with my skill level and welder than the wire is it is harder to use on thinner jobs with out burn through."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hobart Flux Welding Wire - .030
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Welding wire

,
February 25, 2010
By jeepmkcomin
from NC
"This wire came with my hobart 210. It works and is of good quality. I have since switched to gas and solid wire for less spatter but flux is great when you can't use gas."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hobart Flux Welding Wire - .030
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great wire!

,
February 17, 2010
By subzero
from Nevada
"I'm on my second spool of this wire and have been very impressed with the results. Minimal spatter and good penetration from my HH140. I've used it on material from 16ga, up to 3/16". No complaints at all. I'll be ordering a 10lb. spool next."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hobart Flux Welding Wire - .030
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hobart .30 Flux Core Wire

,
January 2, 2009
By SPOREHOUSE
from Spicer, MN
"If you are using a 110/120 volt machine like my Hobart Handler 140, You need to have a wire like this to get the penetration you need for medium thickness metals. I mostly weld metal that are 1/8 to 3/16 with this wire. With E71T-11 you are good for multiple pass welds according to AWS guigelines as long as you bevel your edges and get a good root weld pass( I do this for 1/4). I have used Hobart Fabsheild 21b in .035 machines which to many is the gold standard flux wire for mild steel. This feels and works much like that. Splatter is minimal, slag in easily removed, and the bead is solid. Sheilding Gas and regular wire is still best on thin sheet but can be obtained with good technique. Try some!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hobart Flux Welding Wire - .030
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Flux Welding Wire - .030

,
April 25, 2008
By RobandKiwi
from Riverside, CA
"This wire works as advertised. Welding can get very involved. This wire welds up great and its so easy to use. The wire does the work for you. Just load up your welder and pull the trigger. Its great for the beginner or home repair McGiver guy. I had to do an emergency repair on an aluminum ladder and although gas and the correct aluminum wire is recommended, it worked !"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hobart Flux Welding Wire - .030
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

30 thousandths flux core wire

,
April 14, 2008
By BB350
from Fort Worth
"This is great wire for welding on rusty steel. It doesn't spatter a great deal and provides good penetration when set up right. I use a 110V hobby welder and this wire works great on steel up to 1/4" as long as you don't try to put too much down in one pass."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hobart Flux Welding Wire - .030
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Wire

,
March 7, 2007
By RockyD
from San Diego
"In my 50 years experience, I've never ran better wire tha this"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.