Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 125 115V Flux Cored/MIG-Ready Welder - 125 Amp Output , Model# 500495

FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 125 115V Flux Cored/MIG-Ready Welder - 125 Amp Output , Model# 500495

Item# 164949
The Handler 125 operates off of 115-volt household current. Comes ready to weld without shielding gas using 030-.035 in. 0.8-0.9 mm flux cored wire. MIG-Ready means this welder is equipped with a built-in gas valve, and with the addition of a regulator, you're ready to MIG weld with 023-.030 in. 0.6-0.8 mm solid wire. Use C-25 gas 75 argon/25 CO2 on 24 gauge - 1/8 in. steel for a cleaner weld with less spatter. Use Tri-Mix gas and stainless wire for welding on 16-12 ga. stainless steel. Comes with Hobart's 5/3/1 limited warranty. Regulator and Gas Hose Included No, Shielding Gas Required For MIG Welding, Dimensions L x W x H in. 10 x 12 x 17, Welding Wire Diameter in. 0.023-0.035, Cart No, Amps 125, Clamp Cable Length ft. 8, Mig Ready Gas solenoid valve pre-installed, Power Cord ft. 6, Wire Feed Speed Control Infinite, Volts 115, Weld Thickness in. 18 ga.-3/16 in. steel, Weldable Metals Steel, stainless steel, Duty Cycle 20 @ 85A. Welds 24 ga. up to 3/16 in. steel with flux cored wire Proven built-in wire feeder with quick-release drive roll tension lever Built-in contactor eases use and is an excellent safety feature which makes wire electrically 'cold' when not welding 4 output voltage settings with wire feed speed tracking to provide quick and easy adjustment for different materials and thicknesses Dual groove drive rolls make it easy to switch between 023/.025 in. 0.6mm and 0.030 - 0.035 in. 0.6 - 0.9 mm wire Self-resetting thermal overload and motor protection Stock Numbers #500495 115 VAC, 60 Hz Rated Output at 20 Duty Cycle 85 Amp at 17.5V DC 60 Amp at 20V DC CSA Rating Current range 30 - 125 Amps Max. open-circuit voltage 26V Wire feed speed range 0 - 415 IPM 0 - 500 IPM at no load Amps Input at rated load, 60 Hz 115V 20 15 CSA rating kVA 2.9 2.2 CSA Rating kW 2.5 1.77 CSA rating Dimensions 16 7/8 in. H 429 mm x 9 7/8 in. W 251 mm x 12 1/8 in. D 308 mm Net weight 50 lb 22.7 kg Allows you to weld up to 3/16 in. steel with flux-cored wire Provides a broader operating window for each wire, with quick and easy adjustment for different thicknesses and joints Easy to use Excellent safety feature makes wire electrically 'cold' until trigger is pulled Positive feed with adjustable tension plus easy accessibility to thread new wire Makes it easy to change from one wire size to another One knurled groove for 030'.035 in. 0.8'0.9 mm wire, and one smooth groove for 023/.025 in. 0.6 mm wire Current overload protection Power transformer protection to ensure reliability Wire feed system overload protection, no fuses to change or circuit breaker buttons to reset 5-year limited warranty on transformers, three years on electronics drive motors, rectifiers and one year on guns Broad output range of 30 ft. 125 A 4 output voltage settings Wire feed speed tracking Built-in contactor Durable feed head with quick-release drive roll tension lever Dual-groove quick-change drive roll Short circuit protection Self-resetting thermal overload Self-resetting motor protection Hobart's 5/3/1 Industrial Warranty 211764 April 2011 CSA rating Certified by Canadian Standards Association to both the Canadian and U.S. Standards
Average Customer Rating:
4.483 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (29 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
26 of 29(90%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 125 115V Flux Cored/MIG-Ready Welder - 125 Amp Output , Model# 500495
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 125 115V Flux Cored/MIG-Ready Welder - 125 Amp Output , Model# 500495
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hobart handler 140

,
May 13, 2014
By Grumpbear
from Tx.
"I bought the Hobart 125 online but decided to upgrade to the 140 which the store I went to pick up the welder said I could with no problems and there was not any. Friendly, fast corrected all discounts and coupons I walked out with my new welder in less than ten min.Could not wait to play with it .The first thing fix a friends exhaust system on his truck,fix my trailer that the friend help jackknife. and fix a hole in my old trusted smoker.My son-n-law tried it he is buying one after he bought a Lincoln 90 amp welder earlier that year.Makes me look good and the welds have great beads and penatraition. If you get the 140 you will not regret it"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 125 115V Flux Cored/MIG-Ready Welder - 125 Amp Output , Model# 500495
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

beginner welder

,
February 5, 2014
By cmatyuf
from cary,nc
"I bought this welder to do some home projects around the house and it is a very well built unit and very easy to use the instruction manual helps you understand what power and wire feed to use for those just starting out have been using this product for about a month now and had no problems with welder very user freindly"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 125 115V Flux Cored/MIG-Ready Welder - 125 Amp Output , Model# 500495
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great home welder

,
February 4, 2014
By hemiscooter
from Salem, OR
"Great welder form home use. Used it to rebuild small utility trailer as well as some work on a new car trailer. Only draw back is I wish the wire spool was larger."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 125 115V Flux Cored/MIG-Ready Welder - 125 Amp Output , Model# 500495
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great 4 beginners

,
April 25, 2013
By BRoyfull
from NH
"This is my first welder. I love it. Easy to use and set up. I wish the plug was longer. Other than that it's been great. I have completed multiple projects and am in the middle of building a smoker. It hasn't skipped a beat."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 125 115V Flux Cored/MIG-Ready Welder - 125 Amp Output , Model# 500495
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

hobart 140

,
April 24, 2013
By lazyriverrat
from Nebraska
"Very happy with the hobart 140. I'm somewhat new to welding but have used several welders. I'm very impressed with this little welder. Don't hesitate. Haven't tried 1/4 in yet."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 125 115V Flux Cored/MIG-Ready Welder - 125 Amp Output , Model# 500495
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Home Welder

,
April 23, 2013
By jdizzle636
from Nixa, MO
"I have this welder in addition to the Hobart EZ-TIG 165i. They both work very well, and I have had no problems with either of them."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 125 115V Flux Cored/MIG-Ready Welder - 125 Amp Output , Model# 500495
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Handler 125

,
April 23, 2013
By Mike1021
from AZ
"I liked the ability to change voltage and wire speed independently. The wire feed is alittle noisy and you can hear the wire surging as it feeds into the arc. Ran into a bind problem with a contact tip that prevented the wire feed until I changed tips. It would have been great to have the 0.035" tip included in the original box as they are somewhat difficult to find in local stores.
Works great for my lighter duty welding projects on my horse fencing.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 125 115V Flux Cored/MIG-Ready Welder - 125 Amp Output , Model# 500495
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome welder!

,
October 25, 2012
By Allthecoolnamesweretaken
from Seattle, WA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This is an excellent welder for around the home. You can run it all day and not have any issues. The welds come out decent enough for flux core, it's a good price point, and very high quality components, easy to find replacement parts. Plus, made in the USA!
My one regret is setting a budget, and not springing for the extra $130 for the 140 amp welder that comes with the gas kit.
The other option I would look at getting is the larger spool. The smaller spool works fine, however if you have a large project you can go through a couple vs. buying the larger size might be more economical.
I've attached a picture of a rolling gate fence project that this welder was key to the project's success. One trick to hiding the spatter of a flux core welder is to paint over with some thick paint (ie truck bedliner paint from the autoparts store, decorative texture paint shown in the picture, etc.)"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 125 115V Flux Cored/MIG-Ready Welder - 125 Amp Output , Model# 500495
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hobart 120 Handler

,
October 8, 2012
By jaimito111
from Sonora, Mexico
"This is my second one, the first lasted over 20 years and is still working. Right out of the box it worked perfectly. It does exactly what it is supposed to do. I would not buy any other. I used the nfirst one in work and personally. I am 73 years old and I wanted a new one to hobby with."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 125 115V Flux Cored/MIG-Ready Welder - 125 Amp Output , Model# 500495
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Handy portability!

,
August 20, 2012
By teched
from Bristol,VT
"This welder is perfect for those small jobs that are hard to get to with a larger welder. I am a welding teacher at a public high school where our welding area is limited, and moving the 220V welders is not an option. This unit allows us to weld anywhere there is access to a 110 V outlet. I would recommend limiting the bulk of your work to 1/8 inch material, though welding 3/16 is doable, I wouldn't count on the strength being the best.
All in all a very nice unit!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 125 115V Flux Cored/MIG-Ready Welder - 125 Amp Output , Model# 500495
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great For Light Duty Work

,
August 13, 2012
By Trekbiker61
from Chattanooga, Tn
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"A really good light duty 110v wire welder. It has it's limitations but that's to be expected from a light-weight, low-cost welder. If you need a welder for around the house/shop type welding (heavy gauge steel, exhaust pipe, ect) then this is the welder for you. I also have a Miller Bobcat stick welder that I use for heavy stuff (over 1/4" plate). If you use this wire welder on heavy material you'll see that it doesn't tie-in to the heavy material. Another limitation is the duty cycle so you won't be welding long distances without stopping to let the machine cool off. The wire feed works well but it does hang up sometimes and keeping the lead straight helps to feed better. Overall this has been a good welder as long as I use it for what it was made for. It has it's limitations but as long as you keep that in mind it is a good purchase."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 125 115V Flux Cored/MIG-Ready Welder - 125 Amp Output , Model# 500495
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

chillin

,
May 19, 2012
By chillin
from Canyon Lake, TX
"This is one of only two electrical tools I've bought through Northern Tool and they both were defective. This thing didn't operate a couple months before the transformer burned out. The good news is that the warranty was promptly honored, the welder fully repaired, and my son really likes its current performance. It beats the heck out the stick welder I'd previously gotten him. It's a good buy for the home hobbiest."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 125 115V Flux Cored/MIG-Ready Welder - 125 Amp Output , Model# 500495
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good welder

,
May 13, 2012
By NewWelderBen
from Valdosta, GA
"I bought this welder for my motorcycle resto/mod project. At this price I don't think you can buy a better welder. I also bought the fixed gas regulator and the 10lb wire spool adapter. If you are new to wire welding, go totally MIG with gas, the quality of weld and lack of smoke and flux residue is well worth the extra costs. The current/feed rate matrix inside the cover gets you very close to perfect with little trial and error. The only negative I have is related to wire feed. You will need to setup your work space to keep the wire feed path as straight as possible from the welder to the end of the gun."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 125 115V Flux Cored/MIG-Ready Welder - 125 Amp Output , Model# 500495
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

this is a perfect size welder for most projects

,
May 7, 2012
By matt14
from Templeton Ma
"Howerver after using is four time in two months it has died. The welding up to that point was two light gauge backing plates, two exhaust systems and one frame job. When working was an asome machine."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 125 115V Flux Cored/MIG-Ready Welder - 125 Amp Output , Model# 500495
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great welder

,
January 16, 2012
By Terryflt
from Naples FL
"What a great welder for the home handyman, easy to set up and use"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 125 115V Flux Cored/MIG-Ready Welder - 125 Amp Output , Model# 500495
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great...

,
January 16, 2012
By davidjbloom
from Rural, AZ
"This is a great little unit capable of handling most jobs on the homestead. I have used it to fabricate several projects including a winch mount bumper and a steel camper. Both jobs were tackled with ease. Mine didnt come with a wirefeed tip , so I had to purcase one locally. It seemed odd that it cmes with wirefeed capability out of the box, but no tip. Thats OK, it worked out fine. Great product."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 125 115V Flux Cored/MIG-Ready Welder - 125 Amp Output , Model# 500495
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hobart Handler 125

,
January 16, 2012
By Tatmike1
from Mid North Carolina
"This is a light duty welder that fits my needs. I do mainly hobbie welding. I had a Century that worked well but was stolen. This welder feeds good. I have not hooked up a gas bottle yet but plan to."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 125 115V Flux Cored/MIG-Ready Welder - 125 Amp Output , Model# 500495
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Machine

,
January 9, 2012
By Homesaver
from Pa
"I am very pleased with the overall quality and performance of this machine. It does exactly what the manufacturer says it will do. Got a good deal on it at Northern too!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 125 115V Flux Cored/MIG-Ready Welder - 125 Amp Output , Model# 500495
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little welder

,
October 18, 2011
By ProZero
from Sutton, VT
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"This unit is great because I can do anything from hobby/sheet metal work to building a small utility trailer, and without the need for a 220v line.
I opted for the regulator and shielding gas which added a little more to the cost but it was well worth it. Most of my use is in a garage out of the wind. I have repaired my riding mower deck, built a cabinet for a heater, fixed my plow frame, car exhaust and many other things around the house and farm.
I am currently building a logging arch for my 4 wheeler that will lift an entire log off the ground and carry it above the mud to the outdoor boiler.
If you use clean steel, this unit will be your friend. It does not like to weld dirty, rusty or oily metal so get yourself a good grinder (don't bother with off-brand or cheap ones) and clean the surface to be welded. The grinder will give the new weld a rough surface to burn in to also.
The one potential negative is that if you plug it in a long way from your breaker panel (entrance panel), you may discover that it struggles to weld the heavy steels as there is a pretty large power draw on your house current at the highest setting. You may pop breakers or pop resets on GFCI outlets. For safety and convenience, I use my 7000 watt generator to power the welder for welding heavier steel to get the maximum full line voltage. I imagine that even a 3500 watt gen set would run the 125 just fine, maybe even a 2500 watt would, too? I will try it soon because the smaller gen set is much more portable.
I love the 125 because it plugs into a regular house outlet and it was going to be difficult to get 220V to my garage for a larger welder. Also, an average adult can lift it onto a work bench or into a vehicle without help.
I created a workstation of my own using a 4 wheel dolly I had kicking around and purchased a large assortment of vice grip tools to hold my work while I weld. I will try to ad a customer pic or two.
Happy Welding! I hope you enjoy it as much as I do."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 125 115V Flux Cored/MIG-Ready Welder - 125 Amp Output , Model# 500495
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice welder

,
August 20, 2011
By RAS10
from Traverse City, MI
"I needed this welder mostly for automotive things like exhaust, body panels, and a few other items. It worked perfectly as soon as a plugged it in and loaded the supplied wire. After welding a bunch of scrap metal to together for some practice, I ended up making my own welding cart with 1/8" angle iron with great ease. The only thing I haven't liked is the length of the gun cord if it was as long as the ground strap it would be perfect. Also, make sure you have a circuit breaker bigger than 20amp when welding on the highest setting or it will annoy you quickly. When I was comparing this unit vs others I could have gotten more goodies with the cheaper units but I figured I would buy the American brand and a quality brand because I want to buy one welder that will last and so far this unit is proving to be worth it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.