Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Welders 11in. Locking C-Clamps - 5-Pc. Set

Northern Industrial Welders 11in. Locking C-Clamps - 5-Pc. Set

Item# 164999
"Set of 5 Northern Industrial Welders locking C-clamps is great for welding or shop projects. Jaw Capacity in. 3 1/4, Storage Type None, Tool Length in. 11, Jaw Type C-clamping, Pieces qty. 5, Material Type Carbon steel. Made of drop-forged and hardened carbon steel Nickel plated Quick-release levers"
Average Customer Rating:
4.619 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (42 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
42 of 42(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Welders 11in. Locking C-Clamps - 5-Pc. Set
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Welders 11in. Locking C-Clamps - 5-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product

,
March 24, 2016
By
from Central Pa,
these are great clamping pliers , they work very well , clamp tight and release smoothly .
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Welders 11in. Locking C-Clamps - 5-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tool

,
March 5, 2016
By
from Blissfield, MI
We started using them the first day. We use them for holding parts together to drill or weld. They also work great for wood & plastic.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Welders 11in. Locking C-Clamps - 5-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Medium Duty useable clamp

,
February 6, 2016
By
from California
Overall these clamps were a pleasant surprise. The clamp adjustment felt predictable and clamp over-center action is good. The swivel pads were useful and smooth acting. Force to release the clamp felt right to me but the release lever on a couple of the clamps felt a bit loose although they performed the release fine. Strength and clamp "beefiness" appear to be of the middle of the bunch. I feel that it is a good value.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Welders 11in. Locking C-Clamps - 5-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

pretty decent

,
February 2, 2016
By
from Minnesota
they worked well for what i use them for. no complaints and great deal i got
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Welders 11in. Locking C-Clamps - 5-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Quality

,
January 30, 2016
By
from Chico, TX
These were as advertised, good quality and perfect for welding clamps.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Welders 11in. Locking C-Clamps - 5-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Price

,
January 21, 2016
By
from OKC
They are good quality for the price. I wish they had some without the feet for the same price.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Welders 11in. Locking C-Clamps - 5-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice set

,
January 17, 2016
By
from Mobile, AL
Nice set of clamps. I mainly bought these for welding but use them for much more. Good value.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Welders 11in. Locking C-Clamps - 5-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

For the price, good.

,
December 5, 2015
By
from Houston
I couldn't pass up the price. It has some problems, though. One side of the clamp slips out of the receiver at random times, but it is easily slip-ed back. I lost two springs already, but the pliers still clamp. For the price, you can't really go wrong. If I was rich, I would buy Irwin brand.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Welders 11in. Locking C-Clamps - 5-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Clamps

,
June 23, 2015
By
from Blaine, MN
They work great, the sale price was already low and with the coupon they were a super value.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Welders 11in. Locking C-Clamps - 5-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great clamps at a great price

,
June 10, 2015
By
from Winston-Salem, NC
Great clamps at a great price, can't get much better!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Welders 11in. Locking C-Clamps - 5-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value

,
May 3, 2015
By
from Iowa
I own a lot of welding clamps. These are quality clamps and a great value.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Welders 11in. Locking C-Clamps - 5-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good price

,
April 28, 2015
By
from Houston
The price of one locking C-clamp from the big box store was about the same price as this 5 piece set. So far, they are working well. The don't seem to lock as well as my Irwin, but it may because these have a swivel pad at the end. I still can't beat the price.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Welders 11in. Locking C-Clamps - 5-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hung

,
April 20, 2015
By
from Oregon
These clamps are what was promised and used every day
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Welders 11in. Locking C-Clamps - 5-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

11" locking clamps

,
April 13, 2015
By
from Pittsburg, Ks
We use these clamps with the swivel ends in our woodshop. To many uses to list them all. This product can handle all our needs as well as the higher priced brand name equivalents.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Welders 11in. Locking C-Clamps - 5-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Surprisingly Good!

,
April 7, 2015
By
from MN
I normally use a certain high dollar Spanish made locking pliers for working, but I wanted some cheap locking pliers to use for welding (as they usually get destroyed/spattered on). I bought these not expecting much, but they actually turned out to be great! No, they are not the best you can buy, but they have only a little free-play side to side on the jaws, and they lock very tight when needed. I used many other locking pliers that have been unusable- these are certainly not junky.
They get 5 stars because they perform their intended function satisfactorily, and they are a very good price to not feel bad about welding near them and potentially destroying them.
So if you need some welding pliers because you don't want to ruin your nice expensive locking pliers, these are it! Surprisingly good overall!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial Welders 11in. Locking C-Clamps - 5-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Locking C-Clamps

,
April 1, 2015
By
from Plantersville, Texas
I got these on sale and they work just fine. They are very good for hold your project in place to weld or glue or drill or whatever you want. So far I can not find any fault with the clamps.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Northern Industrial Welders 11in. Locking C-Clamps - 5-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Clamps

,
March 3, 2015
By
from Warner robins, GA
I use these Clamps for welding and am very satisfied with them. Work as good as the expensive Clamps at a fraction of the cost. Haven't had one let go. Had to rebuild my BBQ Grill Cart it had rusted away. The topside is stainless but the bottom was cheap 16 gauge steel. Used 11 gauge 1" by 2" rectangular tubing and these clamps did the job, couldn't be more satisfied.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Northern Industrial Welders 11in. Locking C-Clamps - 5-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Decent Clamps for the money

,
February 26, 2015
By
from florida
They are not top of the line clamps. that being said they will work for the average garage hermit like myself. Can't beat the price for 5 clamps, and they do the job they were meant to do, hold my metal together so i can weld it. (can also be used on brake calipers if you have nothing else to squeeze the piston back, just be very careful if doing so).
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Northern Industrial Welders 11in. Locking C-Clamps - 5-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handy for many uses.

,
January 23, 2015
By
from Ohio
I use the c-clamps on a daily basis. These things are useful for more than just welding. I use the clamps for wood working and just about any project I have going in my shop. They are just as good as the Irwin brand.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Northern Industrial Welders 11in. Locking C-Clamps - 5-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

more clamps

,
January 7, 2015
By
from UT
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I use this style clamp almost daily, I have owned the same ones purchased from Northern Tools for many years, no failures,I have purchased similar clamps from several other manufactures as well, these stand up to the same usage as all the others. I use them primarily to clamp metal together for mock up and to weld. They work excellent on wood projects also. I saw this great price for 5 more jumped at it.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.