Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU2000i Companion Portable Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000IT1A3"

"FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU2000i Companion Portable Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000IT1A3"

Item# 165020
"This Honda EU2000i Companion Portable Inverter Generator is super quiet, easy to carry and fuel efficient, making it ideal for TVs, small appliances and more. Clean, stable power allows for safe use of computers and other sensitive electronics. Start Type Recoil, Engine Displacement cc 98.5, Low Oil Shutdown Yes, Dimensions L x W x H in. 20 1/8 x 11 2/5 x 16 3/4, Fuel Capacity gal. 1.1, Parallel Ready Yes, Surge Watts 2,000, Noise Level dB 59, Fuel Type Gasoline, Rated Watts 1,600, Receptacles qty. 2, Engine GX100 OHC, Run Time 9 5/8 hrs. @ 1/4 load. 120V, 2000 Watt max. 1600 Watt rated output One 20 amp 120V outlet and one 30 amp, 120V outlet which allows connection to another EU2000i to double the power GX100 OHC engine Will power most RV rooftop AC units when used in parallel with another EU2000i generator 53dB @ 1/4 load 59dB @ rated load 9.6 hours @ 1/4 load 4 hours @ rated load Handi Cart Item# 109439 sold separately CARB-compliant can be sold in all 50 states"
Average Customer Rating:
4.947 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (19 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 of 19(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU2000i Companion Portable Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000IT1A3"
Review 1 for "FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU2000i Companion Portable Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000IT1A3"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Honda EU2000i Companion Portable Generator

,
May 28, 2015
By 1TWB
from Columbus, OH
" Generator needs 13oz of 10w-30 (not included) to set up; I used synthetic oil. Unit ran great, provided power to our cabin & my friend’s cpap sleeping breather machine. Unit runs quiet and did not disturb us or the wildlife. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU2000i Companion Portable Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000IT1A3"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tough Inverter Purchase Decision

,
May 26, 2015
By RLH1010
from Centeral Minnesota
" After much research with regards to finding the most efficient, durable and user friendly inverter generator I could, I decided on purchasing the Honda eu 2000 Companion. After reading the owners manual and adding 13 oz of Honda 10-30 wt oil, along with some treated gasoline (I use Quicksilver Mercury Outboard gasoline/ethanol fuel stabilizer), I gave the machine a few light pulls of the starter rope with the ignition off. Doing this lubricates some of the parts inside the engine before conducting a fire up. Also, it thoroughly charges the fuel system (filling the carburetor float bowel). Afterwards, I made sure the eco switch was set to the "off" position, set the "run" switch to on and set the choke. I gave the machine one good tug on the starter rope, and the little engine fired right up! after about 5 seconds, i moved the choke lever to the "off" position and let the machine warm up for about a minute, then I set the eco switch to the on position and the little engine idled right down to a low mummer. After a few minutes, I tested the the little inverter with an electric heater that had two heat settings, one for 1350 watts, with the highest being 1500 watts. This little inverter had no problem handling the demand. There are a lot of inverters out there to choose from, and I almost purchased two of the Northern Tool Powerhorse 2000 watt inverter, but they did not have the capability to use an extended run fuel tank system/kit. The sales associate (Chris) was awesome and he started the Powerhorse up for me. It was extreamly quiet and ran very well. It has a sound level of 52 db in eco mode, compared to the Honda's 53 db. Let me say, the only reason I opted for the Honda is because of the after-market (along with genuine Honda) accessories available. The machine cost double what two Powerhorse inverters would have cost me, and will cost even more if I decide to add another eu 2000 in order to take advantage of the parallel capabilities. In any event, I'm not totally unfamiliar with Honda inverters, because I've owned an eu 6500 for seven years and it still runs like it was new, so I know about Honda inverter quality. This little inverter is going to be mostly used to power up my fish house this next winter, but will also be used for lighter electrical duties around home, i.e. electric tree branch pole saw. I hope I covered everything and my review was helpful. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU2000i Companion Portable Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000IT1A3"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Honda's are built to last.

,
January 19, 2015
By oregonken
from oregon
" I have only had my generator a month now, but it has worked flawlessly so far. Starts with one pull and runs very quiet. Expecting to get many years of use out of this Honda EU2000i. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU2000i Companion Portable Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000IT1A3"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Honda Genertor

,
January 16, 2015
By UncleEek
from Slingerlands NY
" Very quiet and easy for my elderly Grandmother to pull start .. She is confined to a Battery Operated wheel chair That has to be charged and this generator is her life line if and when power goes out ,,. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU2000i Companion Portable Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000IT1A3"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

so far so good

,
January 5, 2015
By plb5083
from ronkonkoma ny
" I purchased this product to use with my travel trailer(camper) it seems to work fine the real test will be this upcoming summer "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU2000i Companion Portable Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000IT1A3"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Honda EU2000i Companion generator

,
December 15, 2014
By RedClancy
from Fredericksburg VA
" You get what you pay for. Honda quality. Works as expected (quiet) and the price from Northern is the lowest I could find. Plan to buy the EU2000i and a parallel cable kit in the future to run air conditioner on RV. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-8points
6out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU2000i Companion Portable Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000IT1A3"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

farm handy

,
December 5, 2014
By rfb65
from caney, OK
" light weight, quite, perfect for the farm, eliminates the need for cordless tools. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU2000i Companion Portable Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000IT1A3"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reliable start-up - Reliable power

,
December 5, 2014
By MNDreaming
from Rochester MN
" Use it mostly for job-site power for small tools and electrical service to a small trailer. Even in sub-zero weather, it just runs.
About the only negative I can think of is this specific model is a little louder than a comparable Honda generator a few years older. We had both running side by side and could tell the new one is a little louder. Very minimal issue.
3rd Honda generator we have had and they are expensive. But the Honda generators have never failed us.. well worth every cent when you are 30 miles from electrical service "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU2000i Companion Portable Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000IT1A3"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great machine

,
November 6, 2014
By 4now
from dallas, texas
" I use this on my ranch where I am totally off grid. I have numerous other generators all the way from my EU2000 up to 125Kw diesel. I use my Honda for the house during the evenings and nights when my solar system is not generating. In Eco mode, it runs my refrigerator, lights (LEDs) and three or four fans with zero effort and does so for 9+ hours on one gallon of gas! It is very quiet, so much so that I actually hear my refrigerator's compressor going more than my Honda generator that is outside. Maintenance is a breeze and takes me about 4 or 5 minutes to change the oil and clean the filter. As you can read, I am a fan. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU2000i Companion Portable Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000IT1A3"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

HONDA eU2000I

,
October 20, 2014
By Racertrackcampr
from NY
" Very quiet & fuel efficient especially Eco mode. Vent open/close on filler cap prevents fuel odor in my camper van when I transport the generator. My other non-Honda unit always gave off fuel odors. Weight for man-handling is just right. I can't really think of any negatives. Really great machine. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU2000i Companion Portable Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000IT1A3"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic!

,
August 2, 2014
By timbobEBLSP
from NM
" These generator's are everything that I expected, and more. I bought two (2) of them, and now my neighbor wants to order two of them.
I'd highly recommend them to anyone.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU2000i Companion Portable Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000IT1A3"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

on the spot

,
May 29, 2014
By mep12
from ca
" It's a Honda that's the deal. You delivered on time "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU2000i Companion Portable Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000IT1A3"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Honda Generator

,
February 6, 2014
By glb58
from Roseburg, OR
" I purchased this generator several years ago primarily for my camp trailer. I have also used it when the power has went out and we needed heat, lights, TV, etc... during the power outages. It has performed extremely well and we are very glad we bought it. It has all the power we need and runs very quiet compared to other generators. A tank of gas lasts longer than I thought and does not weigh a lot, so it is easy to move where I need it, camping or around my property. I am very pleased with it and would buy another if needing a portable generator...Otis "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU2000i Companion Portable Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000IT1A3"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Don't be fooled this geny is a powerhouse

,
February 4, 2014
By Zackray
from Joplin, mo
" I bought this generator because I didn't want to buy a large bulky heavy generator to keep in my job trailer where space is limited.
I have a 5500 W off brand generator and this thing outperforms it any day.
The Honda is incredibly lightweight and portable with a small foot print. I have it mounted in my job trailer exhausted through the floor so I can run it in the job trailer. The generator is super quiet barely making any noise it's not overpowering to work around all day. And it does exactly what I want, it will run my air compressor my 10 inch rigid table saw and my 12 inch rigid compound miter saw. I don't run these tools on it constantly as I can usually find power somewhere but for small quick jobs it saves me dragging out miles of cord. Also it keeps all my makita and pasload batteries toped off. The Eco mode just purrrs along running easily all day long. Anyone that sees it is very impressed. Spend the extra money and get a Honda not a knock off they say will do 2000w but really can't. If you plan to parallel 2 of them eventually, then spend the money on the Genny with the built in twist lock. The aftermarket twist lock set up is 150 plus isn't nearly as clean looking. I can't wait to own 2 to hook them together for plasma cutter welder and hook up to the house.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU2000i Companion Portable Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000IT1A3"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best Generator I Own!!!

,
February 4, 2014
By Irocharder
from Tampa, FL
" This little generator is the quietest and most efficient generator that I own. I just Love it!!! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU2000i Companion Portable Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000IT1A3"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Small and quiet

,
February 4, 2014
By Scootsk
from Long Island, NY
" I originally purchased an EU2000 and EU2000 companion generator for my RV. I received them 2 days prior to Hurricane Irene. Kept our lights on for 4 days without a hiccup. Fast forward two years and Hurricane Sandy devistated Long Island. Our little Eu2000 generators chugged away 18 hours a day for 10 days. What a god send. I was able to start the generators at 6am without disturbing my neighbors. In my neighborhood there is only 30 feet betweens house. They are that quiet!! They are small and light, easy storage and high mobile. Get both, you will not be sorry. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU2000i Companion Portable Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000IT1A3"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Honda EU 2000

,
September 20, 2013
By Todd1234
from Houston, Tx
" Very nice generators. You can use one if you just want to run lights, fans, frig in your RV or use 2 if your using ac and microwave. Quiet and portable. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU2000i Companion Portable Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000IT1A3"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Honda EU 2000

,
September 19, 2013
By Roitan
from New Mexico
" Love it! Supplementing a Mitsubishi 6000 watt that was/is great, except I rarely need that much power and I can't move it by myself. I use it for camping and general purpose around the 5 acres. Being able to pick this thing up and tote it around is awesome! Runs forever on eco mode when hooked up to trailer. Only problem is.trying to find non ethanol gas. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "FREE SHIPPING - Honda EU2000i Companion Portable Inverter Generator - 2000 Surge Watts, 1600 Rated Watts, CARB-Compliant, Model# EU2000IT1A3"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Honda Generators

,
September 17, 2013
By NT258
from California
" I recently purchased a Honda EU 2000I Companion Generator for use with my travel trailer. It works great for my microwave and coffee pot etc. Very quiet! I will be purchasing the other Honda EU 200I and the kit to run them together shortly so I can run my air conditioner. Thanks for the great service and the follow up call to see if I was satisfied with the product. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.