Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "NorthStar Portable Generator - 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts, EPA Phase 3 and CARB-Compliant"

"NorthStar Portable Generator - 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts, EPA Phase 3 and CARB-Compliant"

Item# 165603
"This NorthStar 8000 Watt Generator packs more power, greater fuel efficiency and quieter operation into a new, space-saving design. Dimensions L x W x H in. 25 3/4 x 21 1/4 x 22 1/4, Engine Honda GX390 OHV, Fuel Capacity gal. 6.5, Fuel Type Gasoline, Low Oil Shutdown Yes, Noise Level dB 74.5, Rated Watts 6,600, Receptacles qty. Eight 120V, 20A outlets one 120/240V, 30A locking outlet one 120V, 30A locking outlet 12VDC outlet, Run Time 10 hrs. at 1/2 load, Start Type Recoil, Surge Watts 8,000. Digital CDI ignition offers excellent starting and high-power output Full roll cage with antirip mounts prevents damage if tipped Solid base prevents grass, dirt and dust from getting into the engine and alternator V-mount vibration isolation system extends generator life High-quality 100 copper-wound brushless head with low THD for safe use with sensitive equipment Includes voltmeter EPA and CARB compliant Optional wheel kit, Item# 165620, adds convenient portability"
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (10 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 of 10(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer Reviews for "NorthStar Portable Generator - 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts, EPA Phase 3 and CARB-Compliant"
Review 1 for "NorthStar Portable Generator - 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts, EPA Phase 3 and CARB-Compliant"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

very awsome

,
May 7, 2014
By rav1974
from south carolia
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I have had this generator for 2months running 24 hours a DAY 7 days a week only shutting down every 48 hours jus to change the oil . I have to refrigerators and 2 window units and 2lamps plus tv and cable running . I started unit on March 6 and has been RUNNING perfectly ever since . This has to be the best generator on the market .YES THE HONDAS ARE QUIETER BUT HAVE LESS PLUGINS YOU CANNOT BEAT THIS GENERATOR FOR THE PRICE .I JUST WISH I HAD BOUGHT THE ELECTRIC START . OTHER THAN THAT FIRST PULL EVERY TIME. I LOVE THIS EQUIPMENT. THANKS NORTH STAR FOR PRODUCING A PRODUCT THAT IS BY FAR SUPERIOR TOANY I HAVE SEEN ON THE MARKET . KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK ."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "NorthStar Portable Generator - 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts, EPA Phase 3 and CARB-Compliant"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Generator

,
February 4, 2014
By Qwerty80
from Illinois
"I bought this generator for cping and power outages. It has been great with easy starting and fairly quiet operation."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "NorthStar Portable Generator - 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts, EPA Phase 3 and CARB-Compliant"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product for the Money

,
October 15, 2012
By Dave394
from West Virginia
"Very pleased with this generator. Starts on the first pull everytime, runs smooth and is quiet and has the watts to run air conditioners, refridge, stove,tvs ect... Had to use it during four days of a power outage and was able to watch the news and stay comfortable during the summer heat. With the optional wheel kit, will fit in the tightest spot of any garage or shed."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-17points
23out of 63found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "NorthStar Portable Generator - 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts, EPA Phase 3 and CARB-Compliant"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

need a dog like this

,
October 4, 2012
By lrrp101et
from North Carolina
"I have had one of these since 1998, and is the most
reliable tool I have. Starts first pull every time !
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "NorthStar Portable Generator - 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts, EPA Phase 3 and CARB-Compliant"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Tires

,
September 7, 2012
By HAR54
from Louisiana
"After Hurricane Isaac my family and I went back to our residence to find our home w/o power, which wasn't unexpected. We were then able to put our NorthStar - 8000 generator into service. The generator ran w/o a hitch, no problems at all. We were fully satisfied w/ it's performance! It was everything that I expected. I ordered the wheel kit at the same time I ordered the generator. My only complaint is that the 2nd day, the tire closest to the exhaust system, went flat. I removed the tire and tried to inflate it w/a portable air compressor. The tire would not hold air! My point is, all North Star Generators should come w/flat free tires to prevent these problems from occuring. Otherwise, GREAT generator!!!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
13out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "NorthStar Portable Generator - 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts, EPA Phase 3 and CARB-Compliant"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good, inexpensive generator

,
August 20, 2012
By Anonymous
from denver
"I purchased this generator a few years back. The Honda engine is second to none as far as I'm concerned, with just a little maintenance they will last a long long time.
The generator runs 2 campers very easily. the only negative point I can say about this generator is the noise level, so if possible we use a long extension cord to get the generators away from the campers.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "NorthStar Portable Generator - 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts, EPA Phase 3 and CARB-Compliant"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Portable Generator!

,
May 14, 2012
By George05
from North East, MD
"This Portable Generator is easy to and most reliable!
Runs on the initial start process! Great for running just about anything in your home in the event of an emergency! Highly recomment this Portable Generator especially for areas that experience occasional lost of electrical power and for those that require electrical power on the job!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "NorthStar Portable Generator - 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts, EPA Phase 3 and CARB-Compliant"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northstar 8000

,
January 18, 2012
By scatpak
from MA
"Excellent generator with well built frame. Honda starts first pull every time also came with individual unit test results showing less than 5% thd.I tried hard to find something I was not satisfied with only option I wish it had was a fuel guage. Excellent choice very satisfied !!!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "NorthStar Portable Generator - 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts, EPA Phase 3 and CARB-Compliant"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

starts on first pull. performs great without loud

,
January 16, 2012
By DC2007
from jacksonville,tx.
"I have had this generator for about eight years and have had no problems. It just handles every thing in my home with ease."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "NorthStar Portable Generator - 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts, EPA Phase 3 and CARB-Compliant"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the two month wait

,
January 10, 2012
By Chic27
from Franklin Lakes, N.J.
"I wanted a new generator , so I priced a Honda 6500 watt , but the price was too high about 2,700 , The power was out for 5 days , I borrowed a North Star 5000 , and had it running for 5 days round the clock .
I was sold . So I bought a new 8000 watt , Its better than the Honda , it has more outlets and even a 12 volt outlet the Honda doesn't have . and a lot less money and it has the same Honda GX 390 engine .
this is high quality product .
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
15out of 26found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.