Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NorthStar Portable Generator - 10,000 Surge Watts, 8500 Rated Watts, Electric Start

NorthStar Portable Generator - 10,000 Surge Watts, 8500 Rated Watts, Electric Start

Item# 165605
Rugged, newly designed NorthStar 10,000 Watt Generator features a smaller footprint and the latest Honda V-Twin engine to deliver more power, use less fuel and run quieter Battery Included No, Battery Required Yes, Dimensions L x W x H in. 32 3/8 x 24 3/8 x 26 7/8, Engine Honda GX630 OHV, Fuel Capacity gal. 11, Fuel Type Gasoline, Low Oil Shutdown Yes, Noise Level dB 79, Rated Watts 8,500, Receptacles qty. Eight 120V, 20A outlets one 120/240V, 50A outlet, one 120/240V, 30A locking outlet one 120V, 30A locking outlet, Start Type Electric, Surge Watts 10,000, Run Time 11 hrs. @ 1/2 load. Variable Timing Digital CDI ignition offers excellent starting and high-power output Low oil shutdown protects engine Volt and hour meters allow for convenient monitoring Full roll cage protection with antirip mounts Solid base prevents grass, dirt and dust from getting into the engine and alternator V-mount vibration isolation system extends generator life High-quality 100 copper-wound brushless head with low THD for safe use with sensitive equipment EPA and CARB compliant Requires battery, Item# 349900 sold separately Optional wheel kit, Item# 165621, adds convenient portability
Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (10 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 of 10(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for NorthStar Portable Generator - 10,000 Surge Watts, 8500 Rated Watts, Electric Start
Review 1 for NorthStar Portable Generator - 10,000 Surge Watts, 8500 Rated Watts, Electric Start
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Most Pleased

,
February 4, 2014
By lonewolfidaho
from Idaho
"I live deep into the back country @ served by power. Because of location power loss if frequent and sometimes lengthy. My generator provides all of the power to continue all needs and starts and runs without exception. I am so pleased with both performance and quality."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for NorthStar Portable Generator - 10,000 Surge Watts, 8500 Rated Watts, Electric Start
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

PowerHorse

,
February 4, 2014
By RedRover
from Missouri
"I use my generator for my mobile grooming business. From the first time I started it, it has run like a dream. Enough power to run heat/ Ac..table..2 blow dryers..clippers..radio...water pump...everything that needs power with no surges...Great Product!! To add...they opened a Northern tool store for all my needs...service is outstanding, and customer service personnel are always helpful and curtious.... A+"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for NorthStar Portable Generator - 10,000 Surge Watts, 8500 Rated Watts, Electric Start
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

total work horse!

,
April 23, 2013
By davidsoncarpentry
from Sussex County, NJ
"This is a great generator. I believe in product reviews that are based on my experiences so here they are and hopefully it will help in making your decision. First of all, this generator is everything that I wanted. It has plenty of power to supply to a typical house. I have used extension cords up to this point and plan on putting in an interlock for direct power in the future. This generator is LOUD! I plan to build an enclosure for it in the future because it could keep you up at night while it is running. The start-up process is flawless (I have the electric starter). I could imagine this size engine would be difficult as a pull start, so the electric start is great, but you have to have a battery on trickle charge to have it ready to go when you need it. This generator is HEAVY. You will need two (if not three) well bodied men to move this thing around. I highly recommend that you decide where you want it and keep it there. Be careful of your oil level. When you change the oil, keep very close eye on how much oil you put in. I overfilled it the first time and had nasty exhaust. The oil drain plug is a pain to get to and almost impossible to drain the oil without making a mess. I plan on using a chute of some kind for future oil changes. The power is fairly clean coming out of the generator with the engine adjusting to the load, however you will see an average of 1gal/hr when you are at high power demand. Overall, I love it and I believe in NorthStar products even though they are a little pricey."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for NorthStar Portable Generator - 10,000 Surge Watts, 8500 Rated Watts, Electric Start
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sandy who??

,
November 9, 2012
By MikeG27
from New Fairfield, CT
"Yes! After living 6 days with no power from Hurricane Irene and 8 days with no power from Winter Storm Alfred, I finally purchased a North Star 10K watt generator and was ready (transfer switch/plug and all) for Superstorm Sandy. This generator ran wonderfully! Seriuosly, start-up is easy. Got the wheel kit (didn't fit quite right, but I McGyvered it a bit) and it's a bit heavy to move around. It powered well pump, elect hot water heater, microwave, fridge, freezer, computers and various other lights/sockets. Saved all our food and kept the kids from killing each other (Sat. TV and Internet). Biggest issue was making sure I could get gas.. Thoughts and prayers go out to those who lost more than power! Stay strong and buy a North Star generator as soon as you can."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for NorthStar Portable Generator - 10,000 Surge Watts, 8500 Rated Watts, Electric Start
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

NorthStar 10000 Generator

,
August 13, 2012
By BFKing
from LaGrange, GA
"This generator has done a outstanding job, has never failed to start and is relatively quite for its size excellent run time on a tank of gas."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
-6points
5out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for NorthStar Portable Generator - 10,000 Surge Watts, 8500 Rated Watts, Electric Start
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Generator

,
August 13, 2012
By erni67
from Tennessee
"It works great and am very satisfied with the generator."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for NorthStar Portable Generator - 10,000 Surge Watts, 8500 Rated Watts, Electric Start
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

GOOD MACHINE

,
July 15, 2012
By oldfart41
from Soap Lake Washington
"The unit I have is an older unit, I bought it 3 yrs ago as a back up generator for our all electric farm. It arrived on time . Upon trying to start it it wouldnt start. Turned out to be a bad low oil shut off. Got that fixed and it started right up and has each time I've started it. I have used it 4 times foe back up when the power went out. It worked great, running the house with heat pump furnace refrigerator tv and lights. It also ran the well pump and freezer in the shop. I bought this unit because it had the output and 2 240 volt outlets along with the 120 volt. I used the 40 amp 240 volt for the house and the 30 amp 240 for the pump house/ shop and the 30 amp 120 went to the barn. everything worked great, but not all at once. The olny down side is the unit is a little noisy but that is to be expected for a unit of this size..It will also run my welder when I need to use it away from the shop. The operationof this unit would have been 5 star had it not been for issue with the low oil shut off switch. GOOD MACHINE!!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for NorthStar Portable Generator - 10,000 Surge Watts, 8500 Rated Watts, Electric Start
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great !!

,
January 16, 2012
By shortfatguy
from Rome,PA
"during a power outage my new 8500watt north star generator ran two freezers,a water heater,a refrigerator, and normal cooking for two days(ran it 10-12hrs each day) on less than 15 gal of gas...its heavy to wheal around but well worth the effort for the convenience"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for NorthStar Portable Generator - 10,000 Surge Watts, 8500 Rated Watts, Electric Start
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Powerful Unit ...

,
January 7, 2012
By BimR
from Sherman, Texas
"I bought this unit to have portable power and emergency backup. I checked on welders but this was the best bang for the buck.
Putting oil in is a bit frustrating. The Honda engine takes the oil slow so take your time. The next challenge is the dip stick to check the oil; a pain to get at then even more trouble to put back in the engine. That led to the 4 star rating.
The battery worked fine but the bolts were a bit short so I had to purchase a regular battery hold bolts.
The unit fired right up, after I turned the gas on, and leveled out in about 2 minutes. Hooked it up to my emergency power box and it worked fine. I have a heat pump, 2 hp deep well pump, electric garage heater, freezer, refrigerator and 4 wall outlets. The power drop was minimal at starting of the various units.
It is heavy! I bought a cart, Item# 143322, and the roll over cage fits just inside the bed of the cart. Easy to pull around on this cart and it does not sink in the mud.
Overall, a very nice unit. The oil and dip stick is a pain but that is minimal."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for NorthStar Portable Generator - 10,000 Surge Watts, 8500 Rated Watts, Electric Start
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

10KW Generator review

,
August 31, 2011
By BackhoeBob
from Southern MD
"I've had this for seven years now. (It's changed slightly). Has never let me down. Somewhat typical carb issue for Honda engine: steel screw in the bottom of the carburator bowl rusted. Bought a brass one for $2 (on line auction). DId not stop anything, I found it cleaning out the carb after the fuel sat a long time.
40 Amp breaker is weak and I will replace it. Petcock for the fuel does not fully stop the fuel.
Kind of loud, but no louder than the others my neighbors have.
One improvement - the wheels are too small for anything other rolling across clear pavement. If you have to pull across soft, wet ground (like during a rain storm) or through snow (like a blizard - who could need their generator then?), the wheels will sink in an you are just dragging the thing.
I plan to buy a larger one (we're spoiled and want more appliances). I'm going to buy one of those big 4 wheeled carts and mount it to that."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.