Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for NorthStar Generator - 270cc, 5500 Surge Watts, 4500 Rated Watts, Gasoline

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

NorthStar Generator - 270cc, 5500 Surge Watts, 4500 Rated Watts, Gasoline

Item# 165911
Industrial Honda engine has low Oil Alert® shutdown protection and Hondas QUIETEST engine muffler. Only 6% total harmonic distortion for use with voltage-sensitive equipment like computers. Maintenance-free, brushless design. NorthStar®s V-mounts are designed to extend life by dampening and isolating engine vibration. The interlocking V-mounts have a rubber isolation mount made with a specially formulated vibration dampening elastomer that provides optimal flexibility and stiffness and interlocking brackets that protect the rubber mounts. This interlocking design allows NorthStar to use softer rubber, resulting in a smooth-running engine. Frame constructed from ERW hot-rolled steel tubing. The solid base provides a strong foundation for the generator and extends life by serving as a barrier between the ground and the generator. This prevents grass, dirt, dust and other debris from being sucked into the engine and the alternator. 6.5 gallon tank powers generator for 13.4 hours @ 1/2 load, 9.2 hours @ full load. Compatible with Reliance transfer switch. Not for sale in California. Surge Watts: 5,500, Rated Watts: 4,500, Start Type: Recoil, Engine Displacement (cc): 270, Engine: Honda GX270, Gross Torque: 14 ft-lb at 2,500, Run Time: 13.4 Hours at 1/2 Load, Receptacles (qty.): 3, Noise Level (dB): 73, Fuel Type: Gasoline, Fuel Capacity (gal.): 6.5, Low Oil Shutdown: Yes, Battery Required: No, Battery Included: No, Dimensions L x W x H (in.): 31 3/4 x 23 5/8 x 22 1/4 Two 20 Amp 120V receptacles One 20 Amp 120V/240V locking plug receptacle Uses NEMA L14-20R, and NEMA L14-20R locking plug receptacles Cast iron sleeve 100% Copper windings Brushless generator heads are proven to be superior in efficiency, performance and lifespan compared to brush-style generator heads Less than 6% THD for use with power-sensitive equipment Conveniently located control panel Push button circuit breakers Baked on poly coat paint prevents scratches and corrosion Plugs sold separately Optional wheel kit Item# 165916 sold separately Replacement parts are available through Northern Tool Parts Department 1-800-270-0810
Average Customer Rating:
4.886 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (44 reviews)
5 stars
39
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
44 of 44(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NorthStar Generator - 270cc, 5500 Surge Watts, 4500 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Review 1 for NorthStar Generator - 270cc, 5500 Surge Watts, 4500 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works when you need it

,
February 22, 2010
By cjmail
from Friendswood, TX
"This generator has never failed on start on the first pull and with the most basic maintinence keeps going. This thing is built like a tank, I have the wheel kit and it's worth the money. No problems only praise."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NorthStar Generator - 270cc, 5500 Surge Watts, 4500 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love my Northstar!

,
October 17, 2011
By Elizabeth1
from KC /Colorado
"I've had my Northstar 4500 watt gen. for over 6 years. This puppy had to live out in the wide open for several years at 9,000 ft elevation in Colorado. Yes, all winter, summer and beyond.
This bad boy rocked and rolled everyday starting like a champ every time.Even after it sits all alone for months at time she turns right over without a hitch.
I can't say enough my faithful friend.
Just buy one now!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for NorthStar Generator - 270cc, 5500 Surge Watts, 4500 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NorthStar Generator

,
October 12, 2011
By tlk75
from PA
"After reviewing and comparing several generators, we believe we purchased the best machine for our needs. It did not disappoint during a recent major storm and flooding. It started easily and without fail and provided several hours of power to run our refrigerator, chest freezer, tv and and more. Seems to be a great machine so far."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NorthStar Generator - 270cc, 5500 Surge Watts, 4500 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

wow!

,
October 12, 2011
By OffGrid2009
from Davenport, WA
"What can I say? The Honda engine starts the first pull every time, and it has now run about 140 hours without a hick-up.
I'm using it to drive my well-pump (2.5 hp, so 1,865 watts). It has a VERY heavy start-up load, so likely over 3 times the rated draw, or about 6,000 watts, but this generator handles it with ease. It's my 3rd generator with a Honda engine, and I think all of them can handle surges that are greater than their specs would indicate.
The Honda-BRAND generator with the same engine would have cost me more than twice as much. A great deal."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NorthStar Generator - 270cc, 5500 Surge Watts, 4500 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Standby Unit

,
June 15, 2011
By Rob7555
from Texas Gulf Coast
"This generator is great for home backup when the power is out for an extended period of time like during and after a hurricane. It keeps the fridge, freezer, a few fans and lights going. Logistics can be difficult as it MUST be located outside and not under an open window.
If I were to use this to power a television, I would most certainly use a full-time online UPS.
I DO wish I had gotten the wheel kit. As it is, I purchased a small flatbed cart from Northern and strapped the generator to it. It works OK but it is sort of clumsy.
Starting the 9-horsepower engine using the recoil is not for the faint of heart. The engine starts well but that pull on the rope will wake you up.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NorthStar Generator - 270cc, 5500 Surge Watts, 4500 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Strong and durable

,
November 23, 2010
By hmbuilder
from Cypress, Tx
"Generator is strong and able to accomplish most all needs. Northern Tool is also has great selection and best prices I could find."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NorthStar Generator - 270cc, 5500 Surge Watts, 4500 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Could Use A Better Wheel Kit

,
September 3, 2010
By leec96
"WHAT IS GREAT: Honda engine. Way better than Briggs & Stratton. Starts first or second pull every time even if it hasn't been run in months.
WHAT IS NOT SO GREAT: The wheels are too small and not ideally located in relation to the weight of the generator and the amount of distance you can raise the unit with the handle. This is NOT an easy generator to move around."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NorthStar Generator - 270cc, 5500 Surge Watts, 4500 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Generator

,
August 30, 2010
By Spunkter
from Katy, TX
"I bought this generator a few years ago for hurricane Rita, and then to run power tools in remote locations. It was also used for hurricane Ike when we lost power for two weeks. It has performed very well and has worked without any problems. It starts easily and the large gas tank is nice. I recommend getting the wheel kit with it which makes moving it around very easy."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NorthStar Generator - 270cc, 5500 Surge Watts, 4500 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Genarator

,
August 30, 2010
By daylilyrx
"Starts very easy. I would reccommend getting an electrician to put in a box to change over household breakers. This worked very easy when you get a power outage. I only wish I had bought a more perm. gen. You are not supposed to get gen. wet and ususlly when power is out it is raining."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for NorthStar Generator - 270cc, 5500 Surge Watts, 4500 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NorthStar Generator — 270cc, 5500 Surge Watts,

,
July 8, 2010
By quilesm32
"I got this item just 15 years or so just after Hurricane George and it stills work like a new one."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for NorthStar Generator - 270cc, 5500 Surge Watts, 4500 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Generator

,
June 1, 2010
By hosehandler
from Oklahoma
"We used this generator to power houshold items and an electric heater in one room to stay warm during an ice storm in which we were without power for nine days. The generator run for nine days stright with the exception of when we fueled it up and checked the oil. The engine on the generator did not use a drop of oil! This is an excellent generator!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for NorthStar Generator - 270cc, 5500 Surge Watts, 4500 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
June 1, 2010
By Stearman
from League City, TX
"This generator kept essentials (fans, lights, one refrigerator, phones) working at our home after hurricane Ike for two weeks. We also took it to one other home during this time to let them run their refrigerator enough to keep some food from spoiling. It has never given us the first bit of trouble. Its not a huge unit capable of running a large central A/C unit, but its large enough to provide essential power (and do it economically) when disaster strikes. And its size allows it to be moved easily if a neighbor needs it. I would recommend this generator to anyone looking for a unit this size - you will like this generator!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for NorthStar Generator - 270cc, 5500 Surge Watts, 4500 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Generator

,
February 23, 2010
By dwinter
from Cincinnati,Ohio
"Great generator. Definitely need the whhel kit because it is a bit heavy and difficult to move without it. Starts easy. Usuall first or second pull. Really helped out in a pinch when I needed it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for NorthStar Generator - 270cc, 5500 Surge Watts, 4500 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Generator

,
November 2, 2009
By PattieO
from Richmond , VA
"This generator never fails to start on the first or second pull. As a female I find it very easy to start.
Plenty of power and it's not deafening to hear run.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for NorthStar Generator - 270cc, 5500 Surge Watts, 4500 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Northstar Generator w/ Honda Engine

,
July 20, 2009
By Jet505
from Plato, MN
"I live in a rural area which experiences more than its share of power outages. I purchased this generator as a replacement for my 4000 watt Generac which swallowed a valve. It starts like a Honda, which is to say very easily. It appears to put out the rated power. I like the huge gas tank which will keep my furnace running overnight without attention. I was somewhat dissapointed with the high noise output, but during a power outage when I am using my microwave to pop popcorn, I guess I can overlook that fault. I built my own "wheel kit" for less than $20.00 based on the picture of the available wheel kit. All in all I believe this to be a good value and will recommend it to anyone who asks my opinion."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for NorthStar Generator - 270cc, 5500 Surge Watts, 4500 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

best generator ever

,
July 20, 2009
By idahoan
from rural Idaho
"I purchased the North Star 9 hp generator with the honda engine, 5500 surge watts/4500 rated watts, over 10 years ago. I was told at the time that Northern had been selling generators of other makes prior to their decision to offer their own brand incorporating what was most desired in a portable generator. I have never had a better product and am continually amazed at it's performance. It has been at my Idaho retirement property as the main source of power for construction purposes until electrical is brought in underground........that is as soon as I can afford it. Heres the great part.....except for when I have forgotten to either turn on the gas line or place the knob in the 'on' position I have NEVER had to pull the cord more than once to start the generator and thats after sitting for over 10 months yearly. I can honestly say that I have never had a piece of equipment more trustworthy than this generator and have told anyone that will listen that if they wanted a dependable generator that I know wherer they are available. If ones generator is to be used solely for emergency purposes..... this is the one ......it always starts. I love this generator!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for NorthStar Generator - 270cc, 5500 Surge Watts, 4500 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NorthStar Generator for Home

,
March 23, 2009
By bake3
from Star Lake, NY
"I purchased this NorthStar generator back in the 90's after I was without power due to ice storms and microbursts.I feel that over all this is the best generator for the average family due to the watt's put out and the running time for a tank of gas.I live in the Adirondack Mountains so it gets plenty cold at night and it is very satisfying knowing that I don't have to get up in the middle of the night to fill the generator to stay warm. I have my well water (220v), boiler, kitchen, bathroom and living room hooked up to the generator using a Gen-Tran box I also purchased from Northern Tool. This generator can handle all of this with no problems. I also purchased the wheel kit to move it around and a cover to keep it clean. I highly recommend this machine."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for NorthStar Generator - 270cc, 5500 Surge Watts, 4500 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a great generator

,
December 30, 2008
By ssb73q
from Attica, NY
"We are currently without electric power company electricity for the last three days, a wind chill of –15 outside. Any minor wind event has us lose power. Thank God for the NT 5500w generator. I have been using the NT 5500w generator for over five years without a single problem. As soon as we loose power I roll out the 5500w and with one pull on the starter cord and we have power to run everything we did before the interruption. The 5500 is easy to use, easy to maintain (change oil), and satisfies all my expectations. The muffler noise isn’t an issue during the winter when windows are closed, but can be a concern during the summer with windows open. I have already put hundreds of hours on the generator and it has never failed us. Wouldn’t hesitate to purchase again, but I have a feeling that the NT 5500w generator will survive me."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for NorthStar Generator - 270cc, 5500 Surge Watts, 4500 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

North Star

,
November 18, 2008
By Kevin111
from Alex VA
"I would love to say My family loves this Generator. I hs never let us down!!!
I would and have recomened this to many people also Northan tools has the best price I have found so far. I also have to say even my wife can start this when im not home and that was the best part
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for NorthStar Generator - 270cc, 5500 Surge Watts, 4500 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Got me through Ike

,
September 24, 2008
By McRad
from Houston, Tx
"Generator ran like a champ. Ran it 15+ hrs/day for 9 days after Ike and ran the fridge, freezer, computer, Plasma TV, floor lamp & fan off it, no problem. When I had the window AC hooked up it struggled a bit, but I think the fridge was working harder at the time too so it's hard to say. On the last day I used it I filled the tank at 4pm, just had a fridge & freezer hooked up, and it ran until I turned it off at 8:30 am the next day. 16hrs ... try that from a 10,000 watt unit. Managable size/weight, wouldn't want to try and get it into my truck alone though."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.