Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for NorthStar Generator - 160cc, 2700 Surge Watts, 2400 Rated Watts, Gasoline

NorthStar Generator - 160cc, 2700 Surge Watts, 2400 Rated Watts, Gasoline

Item# 165912
Powerful NorthStar Generator packs 2700 surge watts and 2400 continuous watts Reliable, single-phase, 100 copper-wound, brushless generator head for years of long lasting power. Runs over 2.3 hours at 1/2 load on a 1.82 quart tankful Industrial 160cc Honda OHC engine has low Oil Alert shutdown protection, recoil start and cast iron sleeve. NorthStar's V-mounts are designed to extend life by dampening and isolating engine vibration. V-mounts have a rubber isolation mount made with a specially formulated vibration dampening elastomer that provides optimal flexibility and stiffness. This allows NorthStar to use softer rubber, resulting in a smooth-running engine. Muffler drastically reduces engine noise level. Frame constructed from ERW hot-rolled steel tubing. Battery Included No, Low Oil Shutdown Yes, Run Time 2.3 hrs. at 1/2 load, Start Type Recoil, Surge Watts 2,700, Noise Level dB 68.9, Dimensions L x W x H in. 23 x 16 x 16, Gross Torque 7.6 ft-lb at 2,500 rpm, Engine Displacement cc 160, Engine Honda GC160 OHC, Fuel Capacity gal. 0.4, Receptacles qty. 4, Fuel Type Gasoline, Rated Watts 2,400, Battery Required No. Two 20 Amp 120V receptacles Uses NEMA 5-20R plugs Cast iron sleeve 100 Copper windings Brushless generator heads are proven to be superior in efficiency, performance and lifespan compared to brush-style generator heads Less than 6 THD for use with power-sensitive equipment Conveniently located control panel Push button circuit breakers Baked on poly coat paint prevents scratches and corrosion Plugs sold separately Optional wheel kit Item# 165529 sold separately Replacement parts available from Northern or a Northern retail store
Average Customer Rating:
4.773 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (22 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
22 of 22(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for NorthStar Generator - 160cc, 2700 Surge Watts, 2400 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Review 1 for NorthStar Generator - 160cc, 2700 Surge Watts, 2400 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

2400 watt north star generator

,
August 13, 2012
By woodtic
from levering michigan
"bought this generator to build my hunting cabin in a remote area it works great the cabin is done know but i still use the gen; know and then to clean . [vacuum] ."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for NorthStar Generator - 160cc, 2700 Surge Watts, 2400 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Provided great power for a 6 day outage!

,
August 13, 2012
By LynchburgDoug
from Lynchburg, VA
"We had a power outage here recently that lasted for 6 days, and we had just filled our freezer with one-quarter of a cow, so we were looking at a huge meat loss. Thankfully a neighbor had one of these NorthStar generators, and we swapped it back and forth several times a day, and kept all of our freezers safe and sound until the power came back on.
I like the Honda engine without the Honda generator price, and this unit started with a single pull just about every time. With our load (recharging the kid's handheld games, running some house fans, and the freezer), the generator would run for just about 3 hours on a 1/2 gallon of gas, and the 105 degree temperatures outside didn't seem to bother it.
I liked it so much that I purchased one of my own.
The one consideration you need to keep in mind is whether you need a 240 volt output or not, which this does not have. In hindsight, I likely should have gotten one that supports 240 volts so I could run my well pump."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for NorthStar Generator - 160cc, 2700 Surge Watts, 2400 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT LITTLE GENERATOR

,
July 15, 2012
By oldretiredfart41
from Soap Lake Washington
"I bought this generator about 10 yrs ago to use on our horse camping rig,truck camper horse trailer. All horse camping areas around, here are primitive, only a place to park. We regularly went for 7 -10 days and the batteries in camper dont last that long,and it is a slow job to charge with diesel truck and charger in camper. I bought this little gen set to charge batteries,I charged 2 at a tine with 2 chargers running off gen.way faster than truck. It worked great and I also used it in the bucket of my tractor when I built the fences and barn on our new place before the power was put in. It ran the 10' table saw and chop saw along with the skill saw and drill, very handy. The little Honda engine is great, starts on 1-2 pulls allthe time even after setting for long periods of time. As aresult of this performance I also bought Northerns 10000 watt Honda powered gen set for standby power great running mach. Northerns 2700 watt gen is a GREAT LITTLE GENERATOR."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for NorthStar Generator - 160cc, 2700 Surge Watts, 2400 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well Worth the Money

,
February 1, 2012
By dandre626
from Chester, Virginia (Metro Richmond)
"I purchased this NorthStar Generator with the Honda 5 HP Engine back in the 1990's. We've used it to power our Freezer, Refrigerator, TV, Lamps, and Fans during several extended electricity outages from a major ice storm and two hurricanes. The longest period of use was two weeks during Hurricane Irene last August. It has never failed us. I gave it 5 stars due to it's very high quality components and quiet, smooth operation and automatic shut-down for low oil. I've ordered an extended run 5 gal. auxiliary gas tank from Northern Tool so I don't have to get up during the night to refill the small factory gas tank. All I can say is that we've had earthquakes (yes..here in Virginia...believe it or not), tornadoes, hurricanes, floods and ice storms. The only thing we're missing is a sunami. We keep it on our screened back porch and run the heavy-duty extension cord through a kitchen window with a foam rubber strip sealing the window when lowered. With this little generator we feel like we're as prepared as we can be for whatever comes along."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for NorthStar Generator - 160cc, 2700 Surge Watts, 2400 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Portable and quiet. Runs a 15A saw

,
January 18, 2012
By onthefarm
from Roanoke, VA
"I bought this generator to run power tools at my (off-grid) barn. I run a single 15 amp (table or miter) saw at a time plus lighting. It is perfectly sized for this. I also like this generator because it is very quiet compared to others. It is also relatively easy to transport. It can be moved by hand for short distances."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for NorthStar Generator - 160cc, 2700 Surge Watts, 2400 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good solid generator

,
October 18, 2011
By Steve965
from North Carolina
"Note that this is the first generator I have ever purchased, but I am very satisfied with it.
I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 only because of the price. I think it was worth it to pay extra for solid products made in the USA. Originally I was going to purchase another gen from Northern Tool that was rated at 3200 watts and a max of 4000 watts.
Two items made this one win over the other product:
1) After adding up the total watts I needed, I realized that 800 to 1000 watts or so would be enough. 2400 watts is triple the 800, so this one makes sense.
2) This generator was light enough that I could pick it up on my own. I did purchase a small dolly to strap it to, to roll from the garage to outside, but I can pick it up if I need to.
3) Made in the USA.
Ran it for 2 hours over the weekend. I'm sure it would have run longer if I had filled the tank 100%
For novices like me: Don't forget to ground the base of the gen to a proper ground. On this one, I unscrewed a nut on the base, put on a ground wire. The other end of the ground wire was grounded a pipe in my garage."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for NorthStar Generator - 160cc, 2700 Surge Watts, 2400 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Real Value.

,
September 11, 2011
By GfromRichmond
from Richmond, VA
"I've had this generator for about 5 years now. I bought it mainly for power outages at home. It has gotten me through several "outage events", including 6 days without power just a couple of weeks ago, thanks to Hurricane Irene. It powers: 2 refrigerators, entertainment system, 3 fans, 4 lights, the coffee maker, and of course my wife's hair dryer along with a few other miscellaneous items. Never a problem. Starts on 1 or 2 pulls even after being stored for several months.
I would give it 5 stars if it weren't for the incredibly small gas tank. I only get about 3 hours per tank and it's a real bother to have to keep filling it. I'm thinking about taking the advice of another reviewer and hooking it up to a 6 gallon outboard motor gas tank.
If you are looking for a small but dependable generator, you can't go wrong with this one."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for NorthStar Generator - 160cc, 2700 Surge Watts, 2400 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Little Work Horse

,
August 21, 2011
By TCRosie
from Inver Grove Heights, MN
"I really wanted this generator to replace a 30 year old Honda generator that lost its voltage... and needed one quick. I showed up at the store and was told that they were sold out. They could get one shipped to my house within the week or I could drive to another store. Then the sales guy added, or.... you can buy the floor model and get it for the on-line price. About $20 cheaper. I bought it, along with the oil and cart. They printed out the user manual for me too, and carried it to my car. I really like this store. Anyway, it is a great generator and I am so pleased with its performance these past 2 months. I will be back in another 30 years to get another Honda engine generator from Northern Tool."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for NorthStar Generator - 160cc, 2700 Surge Watts, 2400 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Most Reliable

,
June 9, 2011
By Danielsan
from Washington State
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I bought this from Northern in 1999 and used it to build several buildings where there was no power. That's starting it for every saw cut and for drilling every hole. Because I'm getting older, I've added a pull handle and wheels. It is still my most reliable tool! I will buy another before I retire!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for NorthStar Generator - 160cc, 2700 Surge Watts, 2400 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

the best generator

,
March 21, 2011
By surg
"i bought this generator for a camping trip, i was amazed by how quiet it was and how good it ran and the power it has."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for NorthStar Generator - 160cc, 2700 Surge Watts, 2400 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

northstar 2700 generator

,
June 1, 2010
By tooltimer
from upper peninsula Mi
"Great unit. Smooth running. Perfect for work site and camping. You'll love the Honda engine."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for NorthStar Generator - 160cc, 2700 Surge Watts, 2400 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northstar 2700 watt

,
June 1, 2010
By NHChazz
from Northeast Ohio
"I have owned this generator for 3 years and used it extensively for remote tasks. It is light enough for me to move and powers all my portable tools. The best feature is that it starts on the first pull every time. Excellant value."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for NorthStar Generator - 160cc, 2700 Surge Watts, 2400 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

generator

,
June 1, 2010
By gtojones
from Cincinnati, Ohio
"Workes great every time. Good buy for the money. It does everything we need to do."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for NorthStar Generator - 160cc, 2700 Surge Watts, 2400 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great, Reliable Generator

,
February 28, 2010
By GTsld
from Atlanta, GA
"I have had this generator for over a year now to power electrical equipment on my dock. Primarily it is used for powering the boat lift so it is used on a weekly basis for a short duration and it always starts easily and runs well. It is a great product.
I would recommend this product to anyone"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for NorthStar Generator - 160cc, 2700 Surge Watts, 2400 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Generator and Value

,
February 22, 2010
By Jimkav
from Blooming Grove, New York
"I use this generator at home to power the house in the event of a power outage. It starts Easley even after sitting for some time. I have had this generator for over 5 years now and have never been disappointed. Works well and is a great value."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for NorthStar Generator - 160cc, 2700 Surge Watts, 2400 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

,
July 22, 2009
By Gus1234
from Bennett, Co
"I bought one about 5 years ago. It keeps running and running. Have had no problems with this unit. When the weather is very hot or very cold it starts and works like I just purchased it. Very Very dependable."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for NorthStar Generator - 160cc, 2700 Surge Watts, 2400 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

5HP Northstar Generator

,
July 20, 2009
By Larypj
from Omro, Wisconsin
"I bought this generator because of its mobility and strong construction, it can run a few lights and a table saw, router, grinder ect with no problem , it starts usually with one pull, the Honda engine runs great but it is a little louder than I would have liked , and is very easy on fuel"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for NorthStar Generator - 160cc, 2700 Surge Watts, 2400 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great little gen

,
March 17, 2009
By 17fnatk
from council bluffs ia
"I bought this for emergency lighting at our plant, works great! small enough to throw in the back of the truck and get it where you need it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for NorthStar Generator - 160cc, 2700 Surge Watts, 2400 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding generator

,
January 31, 2009
By Fireman5
from Morgan, AR
"After wrestling with a lesser generator during the 2000 ice storm; I bought this generator. The first thing I did when I got it was to disconnect the fuel tank and attach a fuel line that runs to a 6 gallon outboard motor tank with primer bulb. I can run this unit for 24 to 30 hours on 6 gallons of gas. It powers my fireplace fan (winter) or fans (summer), refrigerator, freezer, lights, entertainment system, etc. It has worked flawlessly for 8 years now. It starts on the first or second pull every time."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for NorthStar Generator - 160cc, 2700 Surge Watts, 2400 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

arborist

,
November 18, 2008
By rgtree
from menomonee falls wi
"this gen set is a great tool,iuse it on work site and recreational it starts with 1or2 pulls every time is quite and economic i would recemend this to any one i can run sevral power tools at the same time it is lightwieght and compact it is the one iwould buy for medeum duty loads"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.