Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NorthStar Generator - 270cc, 5500 Surge Watts, 4500 Rated Watts, Gasoline

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

NorthStar Generator - 270cc, 5500 Surge Watts, 4500 Rated Watts, Gasoline

Item# 165926
Powerful NorthStar® generator packs 5500 surge watts and 4500 continuous watts! Reliable, single-phase, 100% copper-wound, brushless generator head for years of long lasting power. Runs over 13.4 hours at 1/2 load on a 6.5-gallon tankful! 6.5-gallon tank has fuel gauge. Industrial 270cc Honda OHV engine has low Oil Alert™ shutdown protection, electric start and auto-idle. Easy access control and outlet panel. Control panel has thermal magnet circuit breaker. NorthStar V-mounts are designed to extend life by dampening and isolating engine vibration. The interlocking V-mounts have a rubber isolation mount made with a specially formulated vibration dampening elastomer that provides optimal flexibility and stiffness and interlocking brackets that protect the rubber mounts. This interlocking design allows NorthStar to use softer rubber, resulting in a smooth-running engine. Frame constructed from ERW hot-rolled steel tubing. The solid base provides a strong foundation for the generator and extends life by serving as a barrier between the ground and the generator. This prevents grass, dirt, dust and other debris from being sucked into the engine and the alternator. Shown with optional wheel kit, item# 165916. Not for sale in California. Surge Watts: 5,500, Rated Watts: 4,500, Start Type: Electric or recoil, Engine Displacement (cc): 270, Engine: Honda GX270 OHV, Gross Torque: 14 ft-lb at 2,500 rpm, Run Time: 13.4 Hours at 1/2 Load, Receptacles (qty.): 7, Noise Level (dB): 74.5, Fuel Type: Gasoline, Fuel Capacity (gal.): 6.5, Low Oil Shutdown: Yes, Battery Required: Optional, Battery Included: No, Dimensions L x W x H (in.): 32 x 24 x 23 Four 20 Amp 120V receptacles One 20 Amp 120/240V twist Brushless generator heads are proven to be superior in efficiency, performance and lifespan compared to brush-style generator heads Less than 6% THD for use with power-sensitive equipment Optional wheel kit, Item# 165916, sold separately Replacement parts are available through Northern Tool Parts Department 1-800-270-0810
Average Customer Rating:
4.826 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (23 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
23 of 23(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NorthStar Generator - 270cc, 5500 Surge Watts, 4500 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Review 1 for NorthStar Generator - 270cc, 5500 Surge Watts, 4500 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best

,
November 2, 2010
By Highflier
from Arkansas
"This is without a doubt the best generator I've ever seen or owned. It is my third North Star. The machine starts quickly with the electric start, and runs all night powering my camper and the medical appliances that I must use. And really, it does not burn much gasoline. It's used a our primitave deer camp, plus to power most of our home during ice storms, tornados, or other electrical outages. Never will I look at any other brand. Great! Thank you, Northern Tool."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NorthStar Generator - 270cc, 5500 Surge Watts, 4500 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great General Purpose Generator

,
June 15, 2007
By farmerwannabee
from Rural Pennsylvania
"This is the third portable generator that I've owned and I believe that I've finally gotten it right. The first was small, light, and extremely handy and reliable but didn't supply the 240 vac that my home water pump required. I bought this one when a seven day power outage (a result of tornado damage) showed me three major limitations to my second generator. 1: fueling after each 6 - 8 hour tankfull gets old after a couple of days. 2: pulling on a recoil starter three times a day in the rain proves depressing. 3: my wife's gentle reminder several times daily that she couldn't use her computer because of its requirement for "clean" power.
I didn't realize how much peace of mind results from filling the generator before I go to work knowing that the 13+ hour fuel supply won't run out and leave my wife in the dark until I get back home. She operates the house normally except for the electric water heater the electric range and the heat pump. We heat with a wood stove if we lose power in the winter.
This generator also provides general purpose electricity away from the shop. I frequently put it into the bucket of my loader and carry it and my Handler 280 mig welder to neighboring farms to repair farm equipment (literally) in the field.
I really can't ask for more in a portable. It starts easily and effortlessly and requires essentially no service. I have had to make no repairs and the only service requirement has been oil changes and air filters."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for NorthStar Generator - 270cc, 5500 Surge Watts, 4500 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great generator

,
November 23, 2010
By CHEETIEUS
from CONOVER, NC
"This is the only generator we have ever owned, we bought it several years ago when we started experiencing a large amount of power outages and snowstorms in our southern area. It has been a lifesaver so many times for us, we were without power for 5 days at one time and we ran the generator continuously and it did a stellar job for us. We were able to run almost everything in our house at one time, or at least 80%. We were comfortable, warm, warm water, cooking, when all our neighbors had to go to hotels or go stay with local relatives. I wouldn't take 3x's what we paid for it. It is invaluable."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NorthStar Generator - 270cc, 5500 Surge Watts, 4500 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Tools Generators

,
June 1, 2010
By livininVT
from Ludlow, Vermont
"I purchased this generator 7-8 years ago. We are in very rural VT and were always loosing power. Since I purchased it we have only had to use it a handful of times. The Honda engine starts every time. It's not the most quiet generator, but it's not awful. The only complaint I've heard from my boy's is that their side of the house is not wired to the generator. So I can relax, that the furnace, freezer, refrigerator, and on our side of the house our television is powered by the generator. It is a pain to have to first run down to the breaker panel and throw the breakers, then run outside and start the generator. Then run back down stairs to turn the breakers on to the generator. If I were to do it over I would have spent the extra to get a generator that would start automatically and get a whole house unit. But if i did that I would not have a portable unit to go anywhere. The electric start is a must have. It's a great unit for the price. I would highly recommend this generator"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NorthStar Generator - 270cc, 5500 Surge Watts, 4500 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for hurrican season

,
June 1, 2010
By kplace209
from Ocala,Fl
"Today starts hurrican season in
fla.. And this 5500 is just right to keep those refrig. and freezers going. This unit is powerful enough to also keep cieling fans,
TV if available, small appliances and lights going. It's a "real security blanket" you can count on when electricity is off for a week or more at a time
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NorthStar Generator - 270cc, 5500 Surge Watts, 4500 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good generater

,
February 22, 2010
By bunze
from toronto,oh
"this generater does the job very well. the only problem i had was after the first time it ran was,the next time i tried to start it i had to take the carb apart because it wasnt getting gas .other than that, no problem"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NorthStar Generator - 270cc, 5500 Surge Watts, 4500 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

,
November 2, 2009
By Obiewan
from League City, TX.
"This generator has helped us survive the power outages following 2 hurricanes - Rita and Ike, and numerous other storm-related shorter outages. It isn't large enough to run our central A/C, but can and does run a portable A/C unit, refrigerator, ceiling fans, and enough lights to keep our home liveable while waiting on our power to be restored. After Ike, that wait was 11 days. This generator always starts on the first pull, and has yet to give us any problems at all. I would recommend it to anyone looking for an affordable, dependable generator for home use. I have friends who have the larger capacity Northstar generators, and they are equally satisfied with those. When you live on the Texas Gulf Coast, you need some type of auxiliary power source for your home, and this unit certainly fills the bill!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NorthStar Generator - 270cc, 5500 Surge Watts, 4500 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bought under duress:

,
November 2, 2009
By Thomco
from Waxhaw, NC
"I really did not want to spend the money to buy a generator but prodding from my wife regarding winter storms and after hurricane Hugo she was not going to be without electricity for basic home needs. I reluctantly bought this generator to be prepared for such an eventuality and am I glad I did. It works flawlessly and also took a lot less fuel than I anticipated that it would take. After use I drained the fuel out of it and stored it with the included cover.
(I also recommend the optional tire kit if your generator does not come with them) After about 3 years of storage I pulled it out to inspect it and give it a test run and to my suprise it started on the first pull of the cord !! I would highly recommend this unit because I am sure it will give you many years of use.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NorthStar Generator - 270cc, 5500 Surge Watts, 4500 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northstar 9HP, 5500 Watt

,
July 20, 2009
By Toolman66
from Columbus, OH
"I purchased two of these units last year for a planned power outage at our plant. We used both units for several days and have used them on several occasions in the past year. These units are easy to start, run quiet, do not consume an excessive amount of fuel and generally seem to be very reliable. I purchased this model mainly because of the Honda engine and I have not been disappointed. I have owned several generators over the years with Briggs or Tecumseh engines. This model does not have any of the shortcomings that I have come to expect with Briggs or Tecumseh engines such as hard starting, fuel problems or rough running.
I would strongly recommend this model to anyone looking for a reliable midsize generator."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for NorthStar Generator - 270cc, 5500 Surge Watts, 4500 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
July 20, 2009
By runstart
from Houston, TX
"Great generator. Used for two weeks straight during hurricane Ike. The Honda engine ran strong and oil changes were simple. Can't wait to use the unit on a hunting or fishing trip."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for NorthStar Generator - 270cc, 5500 Surge Watts, 4500 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Generator for a reasonable price

,
March 23, 2009
By Jojo1966
from Lapeer, MI
"I bought this generator 10 years ago. I have used it to build a few homes, and frequently to supply power during power outages. It has never let me down. The battery eventually died, and I have not replaced it because the Honda engine starts so easy-usually on the second pull.
All in all, like I said, great generator for a reasonable price.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for NorthStar Generator - 270cc, 5500 Surge Watts, 4500 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northstat 5500 watt generator

,
November 18, 2008
By BKF3954
from Maurice, Louisiana
"I recently purchased a 5500 watt generator for my dad. I was looking for a reliable generator at a reasonable price. The Northstar/Honda package was just what I was looking for. The unit is very quiet and with the wheel unit package is very easy for my dad to move around and store. Price wise, we shopped locally but found this generator with the Honda engine a much better buy for the price. I'm very pleased with my purchase."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for NorthStar Generator - 270cc, 5500 Surge Watts, 4500 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very dependable generator

,
October 2, 2008
By DandyRacing
from Baytown, TX
"I used the generator during Hurricane Ike. I was without power for 12 days. This generator ran, except for refueling, nonstop. It logged 280 hours on the hour meter. I typically got 14 hours on a tank of gas and it would always have some left in the tank. I continually ran a 110 volt, 5000 BTU air conditioner, and switched back and forth between a freezer and refrigerator, as well as numerous lights, TV, etc. It has electric start and always started right away and ran flawlessly. This is a quality generator and I would recommend it to anyone. I believe you get what you pay for."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for NorthStar Generator - 270cc, 5500 Surge Watts, 4500 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Dependable Portable Power

,
August 21, 2008
By cts13c24
from Pennsylvania
"A good generator for the price. A motor mount was damage during the direct shipping but a replacement was sent out at no cost. With the large tank you can run it over half a day without refuling it repeatedly. The wheel and handle kit is a must given the units weight if you plan to use it at more than one location. I have not found the noise level to be a problem but I use the generator at the cabin and have a well ventilated generator shed. I have used the generator for a few years now during countless hors at the cabin with no problems. The honda engine has proven to be very reliable."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for NorthStar Generator - 270cc, 5500 Surge Watts, 4500 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northstar generator 9 HP 5500 Watt

,
April 21, 2008
By Dullpower
from Virginia Beach
"I bought one of these 4 years ago to use as an emergency generator. It has always started great (monthly run to keep generator from building up moisture and to stir the fuel). Hooked into the house power panel with break before make MBT switches, it powers majority of services in the house. Due to the voltage dip when Air Conditioner compressor kicks in, it will not run the A/C to cool the house (even though there is enough power when A/C is normally running); however, all the ceiling fans and refrigerators (2) and stove top work well. Consider upgrading to a more powerful generator if you really need that A/C unit. Note: generator runs fine, it's the low voltage trip on the compressor that is the problem. By turning off all other loads, it will even warm up the hot water heater; just make sure you trip its breaker before you turn the rest of the house back on. A truly solid unit. As luck would have it, there have been no hurricanes through here since I bought it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for NorthStar Generator - 270cc, 5500 Surge Watts, 4500 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

quality generator

,
January 23, 2008
By RichV
from Hopewell Jct., NY
"generator used for backup power for house so I have only used it a few times.
When used it was easy to start and operate. Ran smooth and very pleased with it so far.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for NorthStar Generator - 270cc, 5500 Surge Watts, 4500 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Generator

,
January 21, 2008
By Professor77
from LA (lower Arkansas
"I live in southern Arkansas where we have had some real bad ice storms. I purchased this generator about 4 years ago and it is still being used as we loose power from time to time. I try to take care of my purchases by checking and servicing them. I drian the tank in the summer, use fuel stabalizer and run the carburetor dry before putting up. The amazing thing about this is all I have to do is fuel up and hit the starter and I am up and running. The orginal battery is still hot , after several years, when needed. If you take care this thing would last a life time."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for NorthStar Generator - 270cc, 5500 Surge Watts, 4500 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Satisfied

,
January 21, 2008
By hickory7
from Dobson, NC
"Very happy with the quality of this unit, well built and reliable. Would give it 5 stars if it were a bit quieter.......but Honda engines are not as noisy as most even at that. Great unit for home power outages, but not recommended for family camping trips, a bit noisy."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for NorthStar Generator - 270cc, 5500 Surge Watts, 4500 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Generator

,
January 10, 2008
By Jamm
from Los Angeles
"Very well built generator so far have really liked it"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for NorthStar Generator - 270cc, 5500 Surge Watts, 4500 Rated Watts, Gasoline
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Generator Review

,
November 18, 2007
By CLINTONMS
from Clinton, MS
"I purchased this generator from a friend that had used it approximately for 4 hours. I installed and used the generator for 4 days during hurricane Katerina, non stop except to fuel and check the oil. Worked great and would run 12 hours easily with fuel to spare keeping my essentials running. Compared to other generators I have observed in action this is a very quiet unit."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.