Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "NorthStar PTO Generator - 13,000 Surge Watts, 12,000 Rated Watts, 24 HP Required"

"NorthStar PTO Generator - 13,000 Surge Watts, 12,000 Rated Watts, 24 HP Required"

Item# 165929
"NorthStar Single-Phase PTO Generator cranks out 100 Amps @ 120V, 50 Amps @ 240V. Requires 24 PTO HP or more for rated output 13,000 surge Watts and 12,000 continuous Watts. Dimensions L x W x H in. 35 1/2 x 22 x 17, Shaft Diameter in. 1 3/8, Run Time Continuous, Receptacles qty. 6, Engine Required 24 PTO HP 540 RPM or more, Rated Watts 12,000, Phase 1 4 wire, Surge Watts 13,000. Industry standard 1 3/8in., 6-spline input shaft geared for 540 RPM 100 copper windings, metal construction, 100 Amp thermal magnetic breaker and plastic shield provide high performance, durability, long life and safe operation Outlets include welding receptacle and four 120V 20 Amp receptacles and voltmeter Pushbutton reset circuit breakers Four 20 Amp 120V receptacles One 30 Amp 120V receptacle One 50 Amp 120V receptacle Mounting kit, Item# 165935 available sold separately Use with PTO Trailer, Item# 165959 and PTO Driveline, Item# 165936 both sold separately"
Average Customer Rating:
4.828 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (29 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
29 of 29(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer Reviews for "NorthStar PTO Generator - 13,000 Surge Watts, 12,000 Rated Watts, 24 HP Required"
Review 1 for "NorthStar PTO Generator - 13,000 Surge Watts, 12,000 Rated Watts, 24 HP Required"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

1st Test - Natural Disaster Response - PASSED!!

,
January 26, 2016
By
from Coastal Plain Region - NC
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Today I'm building an altar for this thing. A "garage" just isn't good enough!
We just emerged from a 3-day area-wide power outage caused by the Big Winter Ice Storm of 2016. This generator, delivered only 6 months before (July 29, 2015), was a life saver.
After the last light flickered out, our whole house was back online in less than an hour (OK, plus the essential hook-up installation wiring and other prep I did when the unit arrived this past July).
FULL SITE DISCLOSURE: Our power company supplies our home (and the various farm outbuildings) with 200 AMP service to our Main Panel **BUT** we use propane for home heating, hot water and stove burners, too. Sadly, I don't have an appropriate ammeter so I can't report the true load the unit supported. My GUESS is that we draw a good bit less than 100 AMPS in the winter (OK, probably closer to 100 AMPS in the summer, thanks to the A/C - we'll just have to wait for the next hurricane....).
With this present lash-up, we suffered no freezer losses, no cold house (a restored 3,000 sq/ft old draft pit built to house a family of tobacco farmers in 1902 - now heated with three(!) propane-driven forced air furnaces). All computers, printers, home LAN, and digital HD broadcast TV worked fine (Charter Cable was down, of course...). My wife ran the microwave, coffee maker, toaster, dishwasher, vacuum, clothes washer (but not the [self-cleaning] oven or electric dryer - but MAYBE we could have...). THERE WERE ABSOLUTELY NO PROBLEMS.
My unit is driven by my 1991 Ford 1720 (diesel - PTO rated 23.5 or 17.5KW). I mounted it to a Category One, 3-point-hitch frame originally used to carry an ag sprayer and connected to the subpanel of an outbuilding located a discrete distance from the house (to avoid unnecessary engine noise). We "back-fed" power to the house from this subpanel. The distant engine running pitch gently confirmed when an extra load arrived on the unit - or one was released. According to the house lighting, there were no apparent voltage changes during these load shifts.
Under normal load, the Ford tractor's tach showed a 2,200 RPM - about 200 RPM **BELOW** the recommended 540 RPM PTO speed indicator. The generator's voltage meter bounced some and, when running under my configuration, was a little to close to the spinning PTO shaft for me to get my head down there for a real close look at its reading (but, from a distance, it was somewhere in the "green" and a reasonable distance from the "red"); my LED voltmeter measured 125v (varying plus or minus a few tenths-of-a-volt) at the house with a normal load running.
FWIW #1: the tractor has an 8.5gal fuel tank and I calculate this would run 12 hours at my load (N.B. Nobody wants to run a diesel engine out of fuel!). It ran uninterrupted during the day and until I shut it down at about midnight each night. All told, the tractor's Hobbs meter showed 20.2 hours of total use.
FWIW #2: The unit ran suspended from the tractor's 3-point-hitch (see attached photos). No, this isn't an "immoveable mount design" but the unit ran without vibration, sway or any kind of shifting. Before engaging the PTO, I "levelled" the unit to the tractor's PTO shaft by placing a torpedo level on the PTO drive shaft and simply adjusting the 3-point-lift service to perfect level (this should prevent any/all wear on the two universal joints at either end of the shaft). Then I engaged the tractor's PTO service and started making juice. No drama.
-=-=-=-
With our power now restored, the unit is disconnected. A close exam shows a small transmission oil leak/seepage (I'll check this out fully after I clear the debris from our driveway and fence lines). If I noticed anything "untoward" it'd have to be that some of our dimmer-driven incandescent candelabra bulbs seemed to "flicker" when first energized; either this problem cured itself with running or my eyes got used to the issue.
I AM VERY, VERY HAPPY. And so's Moma.... Thanks, Northern.
PS Northern Tool feedback instructions ask me NOT to "... include references to other manufacturers." OK, I won't. But I **WILL** disclose that the FIRST generarator I ordered back in June came from "Brand X" (HINT: just think "Second City" and you'll have half the full name). It was priced at about $200 less than Northern's. I never cranked it up. This clunker arrived with oil dripping from the gear box - and was a nightmare to return for a refund.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "NorthStar PTO Generator - 13,000 Surge Watts, 12,000 Rated Watts, 24 HP Required"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far impressed

,
January 19, 2016
By
from North Carolina
Seems like a well built unit. Easy to set up and a convinient gauge to show you are at the optimum rpm for generating correct voltage and all. Have not had much load on it yet, but a few lamps and tools plugged in to 120 did not even phase the generator or make the tractor pull any harder. Ran on a Kubota B7300 with no problems, but I do expect to need to run it with my bigger L4330 for a full load running parts of the house in a power outage.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "NorthStar PTO Generator - 13,000 Surge Watts, 12,000 Rated Watts, 24 HP Required"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pictures of my generator.

,
October 15, 2015
By
from Delano, MN
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I thought that I would pass along a couple pictures of my generator project. The product has been working fine.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "NorthStar PTO Generator - 13,000 Surge Watts, 12,000 Rated Watts, 24 HP Required"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Huntsville, AL
I looked a bunch of other PTO generators and consistantly this unit came up as the best combination of quality and pricing. I have used this with a variety of tools and so far everything is good. My 14" chop saw behaved just like on house current and the unit was definitely loafing. I'm in the proccess of installing a inlet box and interlocked backfeed breaker for the house. After the April 27th tornadoes of 2011 we went a week on a 3ooo watt geny and i said never again. Now i believe we have a solid backup. Even under full load my Kubota 3240 handles it just fine.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "NorthStar PTO Generator - 13,000 Surge Watts, 12,000 Rated Watts, 24 HP Required"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The way to go

,
December 23, 2013
By
from Lansing, MI
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I purchased this product in Nov. 2013 after a recent power outage. We are now experiencing the second outage for the year after a substantial ice and wind event.
I mounted the generator to a 1200 pound rated lawn wagon from the local TSC and used a 12" x24" x1/8" Steel plate to mount the generator to the wagon using U-bolts. I use a piece of copper water pipe and a striped piece of home electrical wire to ground the generator. I can maneuver it easily to its desired location and store it in the barn.
Runs great, noise is not a factor if you enjoy having heat, running water, and electricity.
I run the generator with a Kubota B7610 tractor (24 HP) and it works fine. Very powerful, doesn't bog down at all with furnace blower, chest freezer, and fridge starting at the same time.
Don't be surprised to find extension chords running from the neighbors houses if you get it and the power goes out.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "NorthStar PTO Generator - 13,000 Surge Watts, 12,000 Rated Watts, 24 HP Required"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Generator

,
April 23, 2013
By
from orange county,ny
I used this generator for 5 days after a hurricane on my MF GC2610 with 20 pto hp . It powered everything great. It started and ran my 5 ton a/c while pulling 67 amps at start up. Well above what the gen is rated for. Gear box is a little noisy. I switched to 85/140 gear oil and it seems a little more quiet. Over all I am very happy.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
14out of 29found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "NorthStar PTO Generator - 13,000 Surge Watts, 12,000 Rated Watts, 24 HP Required"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Generator

,
October 16, 2012
By
from Alcolu,S.C.
I purchased one of these generators after hurricane Hugo back in 1989 after being caught with no power for two weeks. I since have set up 3 family homes so that I can now with ease hook up to either of the homes . I also have used it to do portable jobs such as limb trimming where no power is available,welding ect...... This is by far a great investment and a great product.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
16out of 29found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "NorthStar PTO Generator - 13,000 Surge Watts, 12,000 Rated Watts, 24 HP Required"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

BETTER THAN GAS POWERED

,
May 14, 2012
By
from Squires, MO.
I purchased this unit after Hurricane Katrina hit in August of 2005. It has never failed to do the job. The power gauge has quit but the unit still runs strong. I built a frame for it that allows it to be free standing when not in use. I now live in Missouri (purchased while living in Louisiana) and have had to only use it once in 3 years due to power outage. I use it more for just portable power for welder and air compressor. Don't have to worry about gas going bad in it from not being used like portables. I have thought about selling it but it isn't hurting a thing just sitting there.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
13out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "NorthStar PTO Generator - 13,000 Surge Watts, 12,000 Rated Watts, 24 HP Required"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NorthStar M165929G- 12 KW PTO Generator

,
May 2, 2011
By
from Powell, Tennessee
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
A few days ago, I received the M165929G 12 KW Generator. I am impressed with its quality materials and workmanship. Over the weekend using 4" channel for its base I constructed a three-point hitch carriage, complete with "carrying straps/bumpers" (in order to lift the generator to its storage location). The generator meets its electrical load requirements and I am delighted it was also supplied with a custom "Final Test Result" providing no-load and full-load results and its "harmonic distortion" plot! I found no manufacturing deficiencies and after installing it in its carriage, my John Deere 870 tractor put it through its paces. I can attest to being a "happy camper." I do believe we are ready for any electrical disruption natural or man-made; additionally, I can take my welders (or other electrical powered equipment) to any point on our property without concern as to putting them to work. Accompanying are two photos of the generator and carriage attached to my tractor.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+50points
64out of 78found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "NorthStar PTO Generator - 13,000 Surge Watts, 12,000 Rated Watts, 24 HP Required"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

13000 wat PTO generator

,
March 22, 2011
By
from East Kansas
Mounted the generator on a home built 3 point frame for my 40hp tractor. Added an electric connection at the car port that is built on to my shop so I can operate unit out of the direct weather conditions. My first real world test came on Christmas eve of 2009. Ran it all night with no problems. The output meter quit, but with tach on tractor running on proper RPMs for the generator the out put was steady and on the money.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+17points
19out of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "NorthStar PTO Generator - 13,000 Surge Watts, 12,000 Rated Watts, 24 HP Required"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

SirJohn

,
November 25, 2010
By
I have had this generator for 5+ years. Twice a year the power goes out for 4-5 days at a time. It truly has been a life saver. The only problem is I can not use the tractor for other things like plowing the drive while it is powering the house. All things considered this was a good investment. I mounted it to a 3 pt carry all for ease of use.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "NorthStar PTO Generator - 13,000 Surge Watts, 12,000 Rated Watts, 24 HP Required"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northstar PTO Generator

,
August 30, 2010
By
from Chester, CT
I researched this generator prior to the purchase. It is everything and more than I could expect. I have recommended it to a friend , who will be buying 2 generators, one for his business and one for his home.. the pricing, the shipping fees, the manual, the warranty,and all the customer services are fair, timely and accurate.
the only additional thing that I could hope for , is the weather behaves and that I don't need to use it.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "NorthStar PTO Generator - 13,000 Surge Watts, 12,000 Rated Watts, 24 HP Required"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

13KW PTO Generator

,
June 1, 2010
By
from Mount Washington, NH 03589
I have 5 of these units in operation. It's a great product, easy to follow instructions and built to last. We use them in severe weather conditions with no problems.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "NorthStar PTO Generator - 13,000 Surge Watts, 12,000 Rated Watts, 24 HP Required"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product for backup power

,
February 22, 2010
By
Works well for power needs in remote areas. Priced right for the power. Great standby generator during hurricanes.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "NorthStar PTO Generator - 13,000 Surge Watts, 12,000 Rated Watts, 24 HP Required"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Life at the end of the line.

,
February 22, 2010
By
from South/Central Arkansas
My wife and I built a new home in 2005 off the main highway on a small farm we have owned for several years. Our home is total electric and being where we are located, not only are we susceptible to power outages, but often we're one of the last to get our power restored. We have a son who is disabled and dependent upon an electric wheelchair for mobility. Shortly after building this new house it became really obvious that we would need a backup source for our electricity. After doing much research on every type of generator, I chose the NorthStar 13Kw for several reasons. One, I already owned a 35hp tractor, the 13Kw was more than sufficient for our needs and because it's as portable as my tractor, I can use it to help out my mother just up the road or friends or neighbors when they are in need. Since purchasing this generator, we've had a tornadoe which knocked out power for several days, a couple of ice storms and even outages caused by some major construction just up the road. This thing has worked flawlessly. We even run our computers, printers, and satellite TV without any problems. We run 2 freezers full of food, refrigerator, oven, microwave, 2 hot water heaters and pretty much everything else without a hitch. I haven't had to run the central air from the generator yet but I'm sure it can handle it as well. The only thing I wished is that my tractor had a 1000 rpm PTO so I wouldn't have to run the tractor at 2500 rpm to keep the generator output in the "green" range. After having to use this generator at least 10 times, I can say that it's more than paid for itself and I'd very highly recommend it.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "NorthStar PTO Generator - 13,000 Surge Watts, 12,000 Rated Watts, 24 HP Required"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

LET THERE BE LIGHTS!! (And everything else)

,
October 27, 2009
By
from Sandown, NH
My wife and I bought this generator a few years ago after I watched many news reports of ice and snow knocking power out of the midwestern states for long periods of time. I run it off our Kioti 30 hp tractor with 23hp at the PTO shaft and it does just fine. I made up a 3 point hitch mount for the generator instead of going with a trailer. Going with a PTO generator seemed to my make much more sense over a dedicated standby system=lots of money or a gasoline generator (might sit neglected until you really need it and then not run and not as many KW for the money). I know the tractor will always be running. We had a bad ice storm come through NH in December '08 that knocked power out for 2 weeks. The generator ran 24/7 for that amount of time with no problems. Put a 55 gal drum in the bucket filled w/ fuel and raised that in the air for effortless fueling. I have the generator wired into the barn with a 50 amp breaker and then into the house. One night I got curious, hooked up the multimeter and started turning everything on.........electric dryer, lights, electric stove (all 4 burners and the oven). Everything kept going with a voltage drop from 125v to 118v (yes, I kept the voltage set around 250v and 62hz.....had the neighbors house hooked up too!!! :) Put quite a load on the generator but the breakers in the barn or on the generator never popped!!
The voltage gauge on the generator died the 1st year we had it so I built another panel on it that has a backlit digital voltage meter/ hz meter/ Amp meter on it so you can really see whats going on w/ the loads.
So thank you Norther Tool for an excellent product!!!
Describe Yourself: Professional
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "NorthStar PTO Generator - 13,000 Surge Watts, 12,000 Rated Watts, 24 HP Required"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

13kw genset

,
September 6, 2009
By
from Va
Well what can I say? It arrived about a week early, the box it came in was not damaged, all instructions were present in the box. The guys loaded it in my truck, very helpfull. Not that I am lazy, but customer service means alot. I got the generator home, and placed it on a metal trailer/cart I had fabricated earlier. this generator MUST, be either mounted on a slab, or on a heavy duty trailer. the initial kick back from the tractor PTO is quite significant, and if you place a decent amount of power"load" on it the unit WILL flex and turn with the load. If not secured it will flip . The generator had no problem running my electric log splitter ( 1700W) Air compressor (1800W) heat gun ( 1200W) and a couple of grinders. I came no where near it's load, but it easily ran 5500-6KW without missing a beat. My previous gas (3KW) generator would hardly run my log splitter. The economy of having this unit tun off my JD 790 tractor is awesome, no flamibility storage issues with gas. Now all I need to do is have it wired to the house. Also the voltage meter built in to the unit is helpfull, if one does not have a multimeter, or is not sure sure how to use one. The meter has a simple red/green color strip with a black line in the green. As long as the needle is in the green on the black line everything is good, Great product.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "NorthStar PTO Generator - 13,000 Surge Watts, 12,000 Rated Watts, 24 HP Required"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

pto generators

,
July 21, 2009
By
from pope, ms.
i bought this generator for my hunting cabin. i needed something better than i had which was a portable gas generator. the generator was hard to mount on a trailer, but other than that everything worked fine.if i could do any thing different it would be getting one size bigger , i purchased the 13000 watt.. but then i might have wanted one size bigger than that, so i probably have just what i need.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "NorthStar PTO Generator - 13,000 Surge Watts, 12,000 Rated Watts, 24 HP Required"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I'd buy it again

,
November 22, 2008
By
from Hammond, LA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought this generator to replace the old generator of the same model that I abused. Buying the same model should be an indication that I am pleased with it. The generator is large enough to power all items in my house(including 4 ton A/C unit) though not at the same time. After Hurricane Katrina we had 17 people live with us for the 10 days we were without power. The house operated solely on generator power during that time. I'd recommend this generator to anyone with a tractor large enough to handle it.
If the photos are clear enough, you can see how I mounted the generator to a homemade three point hitch cradle. It works well. I do rest the generator on blocks while running for any length of time. My three point hitch tends to drift.
David
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
JasonT
Central FL 
 
Please wait while more information about JasonT is loaded.
Additional information about JasonT could not be loaded.
Patent your accessory
September 1, 2010
" That 3-point accessory would be more ideal than any trailer mount. You should patent it and see if NorthStar will market it along with their PTO generators. I know I would prefer the 3-point to the trailer myself. "
0points
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for "NorthStar PTO Generator - 13,000 Surge Watts, 12,000 Rated Watts, 24 HP Required"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

reverned

,
November 18, 2008
By
from Indianapolis
works well, only complaint is that it should come better prepared for mounting.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.