Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NorthStar PTO Generator - 13,000 Watt, 24 HP Required

NorthStar PTO Generator - 13,000 Watt, 24 HP Required

Item# 165929
NorthStar Single-Phase PTO Generator cranks out 100 Amps @ 120V, 50 Amps @ 240V. Requires 24 PTO HP or more for rated output 13,000 surge Watts and 12,000 continuous Watts. Surge Watts 13,000, Receptacles qty. 6, Run Time Continuous, Dimensions L x W x H in. 35 1/2 x 22 x 17, Engine Required 24 PTO HP 540 RPM or more, Phase 1 4 wire, Rated Watts 12,000, Shaft Diameter in. 1 3/8. Industry standard 1 3/8in., 6-spline input shaft geared for 540 RPM 100 copper windings, metal construction, 100 Amp thermal magnetic breaker and plastic shield provide high performance, durability, long life and safe operation Outlets include welding receptacle and four 120V 20 Amp receptacles and voltmeter Pushbutton reset circuit breakers Four 20 Amp 120V receptacles One 30 Amp 120V receptacle One 50 Amp 120V receptacle Mounting kit, Item# 165935 available sold separately Use with PTO Trailer, Item# 165959 and PTO Driveline, Item# 165936 both sold separately
Average Customer Rating:
4.808 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (26 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
26 of 26(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer Reviews for NorthStar PTO Generator - 13,000 Watt, 24 HP Required
Review 1 for NorthStar PTO Generator - 13,000 Watt, 24 HP Required
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value

,
February 4, 2014
By Steelhog
from Huntsville, AL
"I looked a bunch of other PTO generators and consistantly this unit came up as the best combination of quality and pricing. I have used this with a variety of tools and so far everything is good. My 14" chop saw behaved just like on house current and the unit was definitely loafing. I'm in the proccess of installing a inlet box and interlocked backfeed breaker for the house. After the April 27th tornadoes of 2011 we went a week on a 3ooo watt geny and i said never again. Now i believe we have a solid backup. Even under full load my Kubota 3240 handles it just fine."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for NorthStar PTO Generator - 13,000 Watt, 24 HP Required
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The way to go

,
December 23, 2013
By Miman
from Lansing, MI
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I purchased this product in Nov. 2013 after a recent power outage. We are now experiencing the second outage for the year after a substantial ice and wind event.
I mounted the generator to a 1200 pound rated lawn wagon from the local TSC and used a 12" x24" x1/8" Steel plate to mount the generator to the wagon using U-bolts. I use a piece of copper water pipe and a striped piece of home electrical wire to ground the generator. I can maneuver it easily to its desired location and store it in the barn.
Runs great, noise is not a factor if you enjoy having heat, running water, and electricity.
I run the generator with a Kubota B7610 tractor (24 HP) and it works fine. Very powerful, doesn't bog down at all with furnace blower, chest freezer, and fridge starting at the same time.
Don't be surprised to find extension chords running from the neighbors houses if you get it and the power goes out."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for NorthStar PTO Generator - 13,000 Watt, 24 HP Required
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Generator

,
April 23, 2013
By liberty
from orange county,ny
"I used this generator for 5 days after a hurricane on my MF GC2610 with 20 pto hp . It powered everything great. It started and ran my 5 ton a/c while pulling 67 amps at start up. Well above what the gen is rated for. Gear box is a little noisy. I switched to 85/140 gear oil and it seems a little more quiet. Over all I am very happy."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-3points
8out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for NorthStar PTO Generator - 13,000 Watt, 24 HP Required
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Generator

,
October 16, 2012
By Farmboy3
from Alcolu,S.C.
"I purchased one of these generators after hurricane Hugo back in 1989 after being caught with no power for two weeks. I since have set up 3 family homes so that I can now with ease hook up to either of the homes . I also have used it to do portable jobs such as limb trimming where no power is available,welding ect...... This is by far a great investment and a great product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
13out of 24found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for NorthStar PTO Generator - 13,000 Watt, 24 HP Required
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

BETTER THAN GAS POWERED

,
May 14, 2012
By Anonymous
from Squires, MO.
"I purchased this unit after Hurricane Katrina hit in August of 2005. It has never failed to do the job. The power gauge has quit but the unit still runs strong. I built a frame for it that allows it to be free standing when not in use. I now live in Missouri (purchased while living in Louisiana) and have had to only use it once in 3 years due to power outage. I use it more for just portable power for welder and air compressor. Don't have to worry about gas going bad in it from not being used like portables. I have thought about selling it but it isn't hurting a thing just sitting there."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
10out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for NorthStar PTO Generator - 13,000 Watt, 24 HP Required
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NorthStar M165929G- 12 KW PTO Generator

,
May 2, 2011
By Hepcat
from Powell, Tennessee
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"A few days ago, I received the M165929G 12 KW Generator. I am impressed with its quality materials and workmanship. Over the weekend using 4" channel for its base I constructed a three-point hitch carriage, complete with "carrying straps/bumpers" (in order to lift the generator to its storage location). The generator meets its electrical load requirements and I am delighted it was also supplied with a custom "Final Test Result" providing no-load and full-load results and its "harmonic distortion" plot! I found no manufacturing deficiencies and after installing it in its carriage, my John Deere 870 tractor put it through its paces. I can attest to being a "happy camper." I do believe we are ready for any electrical disruption natural or man-made; additionally, I can take my welders (or other electrical powered equipment) to any point on our property without concern as to putting them to work. Accompanying are two photos of the generator and carriage attached to my tractor."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+43points
56out of 69found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for NorthStar PTO Generator - 13,000 Watt, 24 HP Required
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

13000 wat PTO generator

,
March 22, 2011
By AK2012
from East Kansas
"Mounted the generator on a home built 3 point frame for my 40hp tractor. Added an electric connection at the car port that is built on to my shop so I can operate unit out of the direct weather conditions. My first real world test came on Christmas eve of 2009. Ran it all night with no problems. The output meter quit, but with tach on tractor running on proper RPMs for the generator the out put was steady and on the money."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for NorthStar PTO Generator - 13,000 Watt, 24 HP Required
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

SirJohn

,
November 25, 2010
By SirJohn
"I have had this generator for 5+ years. Twice a year the power goes out for 4-5 days at a time. It truly has been a life saver. The only problem is I can not use the tractor for other things like plowing the drive while it is powering the house. All things considered this was a good investment. I mounted it to a 3 pt carry all for ease of use."
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for NorthStar PTO Generator - 13,000 Watt, 24 HP Required
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northstar PTO Generator

,
August 30, 2010
By Reet
from Chester, CT
"I researched this generator prior to the purchase. It is everything and more than I could expect. I have recommended it to a friend , who will be buying 2 generators, one for his business and one for his home.. the pricing, the shipping fees, the manual, the warranty,and all the customer services are fair, timely and accurate.
the only additional thing that I could hope for , is the weather behaves and that I don't need to use it.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for NorthStar PTO Generator - 13,000 Watt, 24 HP Required
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

13KW PTO Generator

,
June 1, 2010
By Kroflite
from Mount Washington, NH 03589
"I have 5 of these units in operation. It's a great product, easy to follow instructions and built to last. We use them in severe weather conditions with no problems."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for NorthStar PTO Generator - 13,000 Watt, 24 HP Required
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product for backup power

,
February 22, 2010
By 195guy
"Works well for power needs in remote areas. Priced right for the power. Great standby generator during hurricanes."
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for NorthStar PTO Generator - 13,000 Watt, 24 HP Required
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Life at the end of the line.

,
February 22, 2010
By steve0413
from South/Central Arkansas
"My wife and I built a new home in 2005 off the main highway on a small farm we have owned for several years. Our home is total electric and being where we are located, not only are we susceptible to power outages, but often we're one of the last to get our power restored. We have a son who is disabled and dependent upon an electric wheelchair for mobility. Shortly after building this new house it became really obvious that we would need a backup source for our electricity. After doing much research on every type of generator, I chose the NorthStar 13Kw for several reasons. One, I already owned a 35hp tractor, the 13Kw was more than sufficient for our needs and because it's as portable as my tractor, I can use it to help out my mother just up the road or friends or neighbors when they are in need. Since purchasing this generator, we've had a tornadoe which knocked out power for several days, a couple of ice storms and even outages caused by some major construction just up the road. This thing has worked flawlessly. We even run our computers, printers, and satellite TV without any problems. We run 2 freezers full of food, refrigerator, oven, microwave, 2 hot water heaters and pretty much everything else without a hitch. I haven't had to run the central air from the generator yet but I'm sure it can handle it as well. The only thing I wished is that my tractor had a 1000 rpm PTO so I wouldn't have to run the tractor at 2500 rpm to keep the generator output in the "green" range. After having to use this generator at least 10 times, I can say that it's more than paid for itself and I'd very highly recommend it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for NorthStar PTO Generator - 13,000 Watt, 24 HP Required
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

LET THERE BE LIGHTS!! (And everything else)

,
October 27, 2009
By NoReally
from Sandown, NH
"My wife and I bought this generator a few years ago after I watched many news reports of ice and snow knocking power out of the midwestern states for long periods of time. I run it off our Kioti 30 hp tractor with 23hp at the PTO shaft and it does just fine. I made up a 3 point hitch mount for the generator instead of going with a trailer. Going with a PTO generator seemed to my make much more sense over a dedicated standby system=lots of money or a gasoline generator (might sit neglected until you really need it and then not run and not as many KW for the money). I know the tractor will always be running. We had a bad ice storm come through NH in December '08 that knocked power out for 2 weeks. The generator ran 24/7 for that amount of time with no problems. Put a 55 gal drum in the bucket filled w/ fuel and raised that in the air for effortless fueling. I have the generator wired into the barn with a 50 amp breaker and then into the house. One night I got curious, hooked up the multimeter and started turning everything on.........electric dryer, lights, electric stove (all 4 burners and the oven). Everything kept going with a voltage drop from 125v to 118v (yes, I kept the voltage set around 250v and 62hz.....had the neighbors house hooked up too!!! :) Put quite a load on the generator but the breakers in the barn or on the generator never popped!!
The voltage gauge on the generator died the 1st year we had it so I built another panel on it that has a backlit digital voltage meter/ hz meter/ Amp meter on it so you can really see whats going on w/ the loads.
So thank you Norther Tool for an excellent product!!!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for NorthStar PTO Generator - 13,000 Watt, 24 HP Required
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

13kw genset

,
September 6, 2009
By lsvsnipe
from Va
"Well what can I say? It arrived about a week early, the box it came in was not damaged, all instructions were present in the box. The guys loaded it in my truck, very helpfull. Not that I am lazy, but customer service means alot. I got the generator home, and placed it on a metal trailer/cart I had fabricated earlier. this generator MUST, be either mounted on a slab, or on a heavy duty trailer. the initial kick back from the tractor PTO is quite significant, and if you place a decent amount of power"load" on it the unit WILL flex and turn with the load. If not secured it will flip . The generator had no problem running my electric log splitter ( 1700W) Air compressor (1800W) heat gun ( 1200W) and a couple of grinders. I came no where near it's load, but it easily ran 5500-6KW without missing a beat. My previous gas (3KW) generator would hardly run my log splitter. The economy of having this unit tun off my JD 790 tractor is awesome, no flamibility storage issues with gas. Now all I need to do is have it wired to the house. Also the voltage meter built in to the unit is helpfull, if one does not have a multimeter, or is not sure sure how to use one. The meter has a simple red/green color strip with a black line in the green. As long as the needle is in the green on the black line everything is good, Great product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for NorthStar PTO Generator - 13,000 Watt, 24 HP Required
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

pto generators

,
July 21, 2009
By yockney
from pope, ms.
"i bought this generator for my hunting cabin. i needed something better than i had which was a portable gas generator. the generator was hard to mount on a trailer, but other than that everything worked fine.if i could do any thing different it would be getting one size bigger , i purchased the 13000 watt.. but then i might have wanted one size bigger than that, so i probably have just what i need."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for NorthStar PTO Generator - 13,000 Watt, 24 HP Required
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I'd buy it again

,
November 22, 2008
By Anonymous
from Hammond, LA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I bought this generator to replace the old generator of the same model that I abused. Buying the same model should be an indication that I am pleased with it. The generator is large enough to power all items in my house(including 4 ton A/C unit) though not at the same time. After Hurricane Katrina we had 17 people live with us for the 10 days we were without power. The house operated solely on generator power during that time. I'd recommend this generator to anyone with a tractor large enough to handle it.
If the photos are clear enough, you can see how I mounted the generator to a homemade three point hitch cradle. It works well. I do rest the generator on blocks while running for any length of time. My three point hitch tends to drift.
David"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
JasonT
Central FL 
 
Please wait while more information about JasonT is loaded.
Additional information about JasonT could not be loaded.
Patent your accessory
September 1, 2010
"That 3-point accessory would be more ideal than any trailer mount. You should patent it and see if NorthStar will market it along with their PTO generators. I know I would prefer the 3-point to the trailer myself."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for NorthStar PTO Generator - 13,000 Watt, 24 HP Required
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

reverned

,
November 18, 2008
By Reverend
from Indianapolis
"works well, only complaint is that it should come better prepared for mounting."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for NorthStar PTO Generator - 13,000 Watt, 24 HP Required
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hurricane Ike Survivor

,
November 9, 2008
By DavidV
from Vidor, Texas
"I purchased this generator pre-hurricane season and had it mounted on a three point hitch. No problems with the start up.
After hurricane Ike hit I connected the genrator to my house breaker panel. The generator ran perfectly day and night for 10 days. I supplied power to my whole house- we had A/C (central unit), stove, hot water, all the lights I needed. It used about 12 gallons a day (beats staying at a hotel).
I had the most trouble when the electric dryer was running. The power cycles were signifcant and the voltage varied by about 10-15 volts. This was due to no automatic voltage regulator- which one does not have on a tractor.
This generator has paid for itself already and I am ready for the next season!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for NorthStar PTO Generator - 13,000 Watt, 24 HP Required
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Greater Generator

,
July 11, 2008
By Network50
from Galliano Louisiana
"I bought this generator after Hurricane Katrina and have used it several times for power outages. In fact I'm using in right now to power everything including my computer as I type this. The Generator runs fine with my 30hp tractor is powerful enough to run my 4 ton ac and most everything in the house. I do have to be careful not to run the A/C and the stove at the same time but its a minor inconvenience. I highly recommend this product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for NorthStar PTO Generator - 13,000 Watt, 24 HP Required
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

A few problems but it works

,
April 24, 2008
By Workshard
from North Carolina
"I bought this generator to run a home arc welder (Lincoln AC/DC 225/125) for doing welding on a bridge. I used a JD2240 (50hp farm tractor) and mounted the generator on a carry all. According to the web site, the generator has a welding outlet. However, this is not the case. The generator has a range/oven outlet which is slightly different. So I got a range plug and a welding receptacle and wired it for the welder. (minus 1 star)
Performance for running the welder was marginal at best. It did not run AC well at all. DC was acceptable and it did get the job done using 7014 rods at DC+125. I did not try setting the welder at a high AC setting to test cutting. I don't think it would have done the job. (minus 1 star)
I did contact tech support several times who seemed knowledgable and were helpful. According to the first person I talked to, the generator should have been able to handle the specs for the welder. The second person indicated there might be a problem at higher settings during start-up.
There is a problem with the meter guage on the generator that measures the generator output. At first it seemed to work OK. But after several hours, the needle started fluctuating all over the place. After more continued use, the needed somewhat stabalized, but kept showing lower and lower output with more use. However, this appeared to be a problem with the meter guage as the performance of the generator did not seem to be affected. (minus 1/2 star)
The bottom line is that the generator did do the job for which I bought it for, though I don't think it was really designed to be used with a welder of the size I was using. I've used it for about 80 hours. I think it would work fine for lighter loads. I would have given 2 1/2 stars if half stars were available. I gave the benefit of the doubt and rounded up. I'm also torn between recommending this generator or not."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.