Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for NorthStar Generator - 10 HP, 6500 Surge Watts, 6120 Rated Watts, Diesel, Model# 165930

NorthStar Generator - 10 HP, 6500 Surge Watts, 6120 Rated Watts, Diesel, Model# 165930

Item# 165930
Powerful NorthStar Generator packs 6500 surge watts and 6120 continuous watts Reliable, single-phase, 100 copper-wound, brushless generator head for years of long lasting power. Cast iron cylinder sleeve. For years of long-lasting power, this generator uses a reliable, 100 copper-wound brushless generator head. NorthStar's V-mounts are designed to extend life by dampening and isolating engine vibration. The interlocking V-mounts have a rubber isolation mount made with a specially formulated vibration dampening elastomer that provides optimal flexibility and stiffness and interlocking brackets that protect the rubber mounts. This interlocking design allows NorthStar to use softer rubber, resulting in a smooth-running engine. Frame constructed from ERW hot-rolled steel tubing. The solid base provides a strong foundation for the generator and extends life by serving as a barrier between the ground and the generator. This prevents grass, dirt, dust and other debris from being sucked into the engine and the alternator. Engine Yanmar L100, Fuel Capacity gal. 6.5, Battery Required Yes, Rated Watts 6,120, Surge Watts 6,500, Fuel Type Diesel, Engine Displacement cc 0.406 liter/24.78 cu.in., Low Oil Shutdown Yes, Battery Included No, Run Time 13 hrs. @ 1/2 load, Start Type Electric w/recoil backup, HP 10, Noise Level dB 75, Gross Torque 20 N-M, Receptacles qty. 6, Dimensions L x W x H in. 34 x 23 1/4 x 22 1/4. Four 20 Amp 120V GFCI-protected receptacles One 30 Amp 120V locking plug receptacle One 30 Amp 120/240V locking plug receptacle Uses NEMA 5-20R, NEMA L5-30R and NEMA L14-30R plugs Brushless generator heads are proven to be superior in efficiency, performance and lifespan compared to brush-style generator heads Less than 6 THD for use with power-sensitive equipment Run Time Meter 100 Copper windings Conveniently located control panel Control panel has thermal magnet circuit breaker Baked-on poly coat paint prevents scratches and corrosion Plugs sold separately Optional wheel kit Item# 165916 sold separately Requires battery, not included Replacement parts are available through Northern Tool Parts Department 1-800-270-0810
Average Customer Rating:
4.357 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (14 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
12 of 14(86%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer Reviews for NorthStar Generator - 10 HP, 6500 Surge Watts, 6120 Rated Watts, Diesel, Model# 165930
Review 1 for NorthStar Generator - 10 HP, 6500 Surge Watts, 6120 Rated Watts, Diesel, Model# 165930
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northstar Diesel Generator

,
June 15, 2011
By Sarge23
from Northwest Ohio
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I bought this generator Jan 2011 mostly because I wanted the reliability and long term fuel storage of a diesel. Northern's staff was great to work with when ordering and arrainging shipping (make sure you have plenty of help or some other way to get this heavy unit off the truck). The unit arrived in perfect condition and after I added fuel, oil and a battery, it fired right up. I am very happy with the way this unit starts and runs. I was a little concerned that being a diesel it would start hard and vibrate a lot but that has not been the case. I mounted the generator on a frame with wheels so I could easily move it around my garage and I thought it would probably tend to walk when in use but it stays put, even without locking the wheels. This unit is loud, but no more so than my gas fuel generator which has a history of not starting when I needed it. So far the Northstar has started easily each and every time I have turned the key! I exercise this unit for ten to fifteen minutes every two weeks or so and that seems to keep the battery charged and ready for use. I am impressed with the quality and appearance of this unit and expect to get many years of service from it. I did a lot of research before buying and found cheaper diesel generators out there but I have other equipment with Yanmar engines and know that they are reliable and smooth running. That, along with Northern's reputation for customer service is ultimately why I picked the Northstar over the cheaper units."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
23out of 41found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for NorthStar Generator - 10 HP, 6500 Surge Watts, 6120 Rated Watts, Diesel, Model# 165930
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great generator/always runs

,
August 30, 2010
By zipim
from Harrisville, RI
"I bought this generator a few years ago. I use it to run a well pump for irrigation. I run a steam jenny and my house in power outages. It does not get much use in the winter. It always starts right up after sitting, even for months. I rate it four stars, not five, because it is loud."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for NorthStar Generator - 10 HP, 6500 Surge Watts, 6120 Rated Watts, Diesel, Model# 165930
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Will last a lifetime

,
May 31, 2010
By finnfur
from VA
"Bought this generator as auxiliary power when Hurricane Isabel hit in 2003.
No electrical service for 10 days and this was primary power for my well , lighting etc during that period. I have since installed a whole house generator and moved this to the barn to run well and freezers located there. I have installed it on a garden cart to make it portable because it says"portable" but try and lift it. LOL Its extremely heavy. I have it set up in shed to back feed breaker for well / barn. Used it last week when T storm knocked out power for 8 hours.
Starts every time its asked if you start it once a month and keep battery on maintenance charger.
Pros - Runs thrifty on diesel and is very durable
Cons- Heavy and initially expensive
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for NorthStar Generator - 10 HP, 6500 Surge Watts, 6120 Rated Watts, Diesel, Model# 165930
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a perfect generator for high altitudes

,
February 15, 2010
By bmulin
from Miami, Florida
"This generator is excellent in high altitudes
I highly recomemend it for to be used in sub-saharan africa.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for NorthStar Generator - 10 HP, 6500 Surge Watts, 6120 Rated Watts, Diesel, Model# 165930
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

keeps on ticking

,
July 24, 2009
By JW101
from Montgomery, AL
"I have had this generator for several years now and it does not get a lot of use but it starts everytime. I bought it with the battery that did not last very long and is extremely expensive to replace but other than having to jump start it a few times it has performed extremely well and I would highly reccomend it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for NorthStar Generator - 10 HP, 6500 Surge Watts, 6120 Rated Watts, Diesel, Model# 165930
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent generator

,
March 29, 2009
By mellsworth
"This is an excellent generator, will handle everything for you"
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for NorthStar Generator - 10 HP, 6500 Surge Watts, 6120 Rated Watts, Diesel, Model# 165930
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Constant Problems

,
March 23, 2009
By BradM
from Charlotte, NC
"We purchased three of these units to power electrical equipment we use in the field. All three have had electric solenoid problems which then destroy the fuel pump. As if that's not bad enough there are no parts to be found for these units. When they run they work great. But don't count on it to start or run for very long. On top of that two of the units already leak oil. Less than 300 hours on any of these units and they all need repairs. Save your money and buy something else.
With all three units having the same problem you would think that Yanmar would address it. They haven't. And you can't get the parts to fix it. I have used Yanmar engines extensively in the past which is the specific reason I purchased these particular generators. They have always been extremely reliable. Not these. I wonder if someone else is manufacturing them and rebranding them as Yanmar. They are that bad.
Northern Tool has been great on two of the repairs, not so great on two of the repairs. They actually had to use used parts to get one of the units running, which I agree to in advance. I appreciate that they did everything they could to get the unit repaired. I was disappointed that there is little if any parts support for these units.
Buy something else. Thank me later."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+17points
23out of 29found this review helpful.
Response from Northern Tool:By Northern Tool + EquipmentNorthStar ManufacturingAugust 19, 2009
A few of our customers mentioned in their product reviews that they had experienced some electric solenoid issues with this generator. Please know that these issues have been addressed and fixed by NorthStar. Thank you for all of your comments and suggestions, both help make our products and service better and more efficient.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for NorthStar Generator - 10 HP, 6500 Surge Watts, 6120 Rated Watts, Diesel, Model# 165930
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Generator Rocks

,
November 17, 2008
By John677
from Teton Mountain Range Idaho
"Look...Totally worth the money! Expensine, yes. But it is diesel, get the wheel kit, way easy to move around. Get a transfer switch, and I can power six circuits in my house when the power goes out...sweeet!"
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for NorthStar Generator - 10 HP, 6500 Surge Watts, 6120 Rated Watts, Diesel, Model# 165930
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heavy Duty

,
November 17, 2008
By Powerken
from Quispamsis, NB
"This is a very well built and heavy duty generator. I use it for home standby. It powers my 4500 watt hot water heater and 1/2 HP well pump at the same time with ease. The Yanmar engine starts every time with the electric start on the first try. The only options I wish were available are 2 wire start and a larger fuel tank. If you plan to move it around a lot the wheel kit is mandatory."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for NorthStar Generator - 10 HP, 6500 Surge Watts, 6120 Rated Watts, Diesel, Model# 165930
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

disappointed

,
September 5, 2008
By rowan
from British Columbia
"I ordered this genset at the beginning of January and although it was "in stock" it did not arrive till the end of February after I contacted Northern Tool to complain about the tardy delivery.. The generator was very finicky starting in spite of following the simple directions. After less than 100 hours the muffler cracked due to a casting fault, and after a couple of days of haggling, many email photos and correspondence it was accepted by Yanmar as a warranty repair. My parts arrived after two more months. I used the set for about a month and finally the local diesel mechanic diagnosed that the electric fuel solenoid was faulty and was the cause of the starting problems. He ordered the part from the Yanmar distributor here and it still has not arrived after two and a half months. This is September and I have had just about two months of actual use from the generator since ordering it over eight months ago. The service is abysmal which is sad because when the unit does actually get to run, it is excellent. However that is the only reason I have given it a rating above one star. What use is a generator that spends most of its time waiting for parts?"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Response from Northern Tool:By Northern Tool + EquipmentNorthStar ManufacturingAugust 19, 2009
A few of our customers mentioned in their product reviews that they had experienced some electric solenoid issues with this generator. Please know that these issues have been addressed and fixed by NorthStar. Thank you for all of your comments and suggestions, both help make our products and service better and more efficient.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for NorthStar Generator - 10 HP, 6500 Surge Watts, 6120 Rated Watts, Diesel, Model# 165930
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great buy

,
October 30, 2007
By FrankieFC
from Pit, PA
"I need electricity in the field for work. THis unit is great. I am able to put it into the back of my pickup by myself. It starts on the first pull. It is very reliable"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for NorthStar Generator - 10 HP, 6500 Surge Watts, 6120 Rated Watts, Diesel, Model# 165930
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Back Up Power

,
October 15, 2007
By Anonymous
from Cadilac, MI
"Used as back up for power outtages at farm,do not have to worry about gasoline going bad in tank and carb and always have diesel fuel on hand.I hooked this up to a transfer switch at the utility companys meter base and can supply power to any building when needed.6500 watts is plenty of power for the most important things when the electric is out."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for NorthStar Generator - 10 HP, 6500 Surge Watts, 6120 Rated Watts, Diesel, Model# 165930
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Strong and sturdy little USA generator

,
April 9, 2007
By Dieseldoc
from South Carolina
"I have two of these 6500 DPG units and am very satisfied with their performance and the service from North Star. The units serve as home back up power units and have proven very adaptable and reliable. There are less expensive "clones" available on the web but I had reservations about reliability and service of these "clone" units. All diesel units will require some maintanence and upkeep. I have found this 6500 DPG to be very solid in all aspects and the North Star service personel extremely helpful as I have adapted the units to be essentially fixed standby units that interface with a Xantrex solar power inverter system.
It has a strong little Yanmar 10 hp motor (same manufacturer as in my sturdy trouble free John Deere tractor) that is well adapted to its power generator end and solidly put together in Minnesota.
The only thing that would make it better would be a day tank / fuel pump option or larger fixed tank, and a two wire auto start option.
Pay a little more and get the best. I highly recommend this unit.
Dieseldoc
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for NorthStar Generator - 10 HP, 6500 Surge Watts, 6120 Rated Watts, Diesel, Model# 165930
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well Worth The Money

,
January 14, 2007
By Wildcat
from Dothan Al. Formerly From New Orleans (Katrina)
"I Bought This Unit To Power My Travel Trailer And It Is Powerful Enough To Power 2 Of Them. Starts Up Easily After Sitting 2 Or 3 Months And Runs Great. I Keep Mine In The Back Of My Pickup So I Have Electricty Anywhere, Anytime I Need It. Power Output Is Clean And Steady--No Annoying FlIckering--Just Steady Constant Electricity Just Like It Was Comming Off The Pole.It Is A Little Noisy, But Well Worth It. Heavy, But That Helps Keep It From Sliding In The Back Of My Truck Or Growing Legs And Walking Off If You Know What I Mean. This Is No Toy , So If You Want A Serious Generator For The Long Haul, This Is It."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.