Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NorthStar PTO Generator - 27,500 Watt, 48 HP Required

NorthStar PTO Generator - 27,500 Watt, 48 HP Required

Item# 165937
NorthStar Single-Phase Engine generates 200 Amps @ 120V and 100 Amps @ 240V simultaneously. Rated Watts 24,000, Surge Watts 27,500, Engine Required 48 PTO HP 540 RPM or more, Phase 1 4 wire, Receptacles qty. 7, Run Time Continuous, Dimensions L x W x H in. 39 x 24 x 26, Shaft Diameter in. 1 3/8in., 6-spline input shaft is geared for 540 RPM. Industry standard 1 3/8 in., 6-spline input shaft, requires at least 48 PTO HP engine at 540 RPM 100 copper windings, metal construction, 100 Amp thermal magnetic breaker and plastic shield Outlets include welding receptacle and four 120V 20 Amp receptacles and voltmeter Push button reset circuit breakers Four 20 Amp 120V receptacles One 30 Amp 120V receptacle One 50 Amp 120/240V straight blade receptacle plug sold seperately Use with PTO Trailer, Item# 165959 and PTO Driveline, Item# 165936 Replacement parts are available through Northern Tool Parts Department 1-800-270-0810
Average Customer Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (8 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
6 of 8(75%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for NorthStar PTO Generator - 27,500 Watt, 48 HP Required
Review 1 for NorthStar PTO Generator - 27,500 Watt, 48 HP Required
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powers It All

,
July 12, 2011
By BigEarl
from Vancleave, MS
"We have frequent 2-4 hour outages in our rural area, not to mention all-too-frequent hurricanes that result in 2-4 week outages. I had used a 15,000 KW Kohler unit from Northern to SELECTIVELY maintain partial loads of my home and shop for a tree service I own and operate. Although the 13,500 continuous wattage was adequate for 1 of 2 AC units, 1 of 3 water heaters, well, electric drier, washing machine, 2 refrigerators, TV, lights, ceiling fans. However the shop had many pieces of heavy load equipment that were unusable. Concern over failure during outages after hurricanes, gasoline availability and insufficient power prompted me to purchase the NorthStar 27.5 KW PTO generator. I built an expanded PVC weatherproof enclosure around a 3" square tubing frame with 3-hitch accommodation for my 54 PTO hp tractor. I have almost 200 hours on the unit. All I have done is change the gearbox oil with synthetic gear oil. I have started my 7.5 hp electric air compressor while the full load of the house, a 5 hp compressor, and 5400 watts of shop lighting were being supplied. I didn't intend it, but we were using air and we hadn't opened its breaker. The NorthStar Generator uses about 0.8 gallons per hour, depending on load (better than the Kohler), but I always have several hundered gallons of red diesel on hand, plus 275 gal of road diesel. I am very pleased with the generator, but .would advise against using it with less then the recommended 48 hp. Plenty of reliable power for small investment, and NorthStar supports their products with parts after the sale: I have purchased two large pressure washers, high capacity log splitter, and others. Thanks, NorthStar for another quality well-engineered product."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
24out of 44found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for NorthStar PTO Generator - 27,500 Watt, 48 HP Required
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

PTO generator

,
August 31, 2010
By Ira214
"This is the ideal generator for my needs. As I am in the process of buying some land to move to when I retire, this will be a workhorse for pumping water and construction projects. When I am not there my son will be able to use it to work on his projects also. We already have a tractor so I feel no need to buy a stand alone generator to have it sit idle and let the gasoline gum up and ruin it. When we are done this generator will be big enough to run both households in caes of a power outage also."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
13out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for NorthStar PTO Generator - 27,500 Watt, 48 HP Required
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

27KW PTO Generator

,
May 31, 2010
By Machere
from Zirconia, NC
"My father in law bought this PTO generator for me from Northern Tool and I also bought a 100 amp transfer switch and tied it into my North Carolina home power so it would power my entire home. I mounted the PTO generator on a concrete slab and back my MF 75HP tractor up to the unit when needed. I ran it at 540 rpm for 12 hours straight and then shut down to refuel my tractor which took about 20 minutes. I would then restart and power up the generator again with no problems. I did this for eight straight days and nights when an ice storm hit our mountain and took down all our power lines. The generator was able to power everything we used such as electric heat, water pump, 2 refrigerators, oven, stove, freezer, lights, tvs, etc.... The generator never bogged down and the power was consistant with no strain shown. The only down side is my tractor burns about a gallon of diesel and hour at 540 rpm to keep the unit spinning at the proper speed to produce full power. The hertz stayed constantly at 60 and both the 110 volt and 220 volt appliances worked as if on regular power. If my tractor was not using so much fuel with the price of diesel being so high, I would give it five full stars. I plan to buy one for my Florida home as well and power it with my 60 hp John Deere tractor I keep in Florida if and when I may need it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for NorthStar PTO Generator - 27,500 Watt, 48 HP Required
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Instant Power

,
February 23, 2010
By dawolfman
from Theodore, Alabama
"Bought this generator and mounted it on a three point cradle (also bought from Northern tool) with a few alterations. I have not had any problems with the performance. I am using a 60hp John Deere to power it. Any one that has the tractor to pull it, should own one."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for NorthStar PTO Generator - 27,500 Watt, 48 HP Required
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rock solid

,
December 25, 2008
By CornHusker
from Hastings Ne
"This is a very good quality built gen head i was very pleased in the voltage
and the hertz they stayed very constant .I have put several hundred hours
on this unit with zero problems. I was using a 90 hp diesel tractor and was able
to run every thing that i needed to run in my house and shop.My house is all electric with a Geotherm heat pump and two chest freezer and three refrigerators .As with any generator it helps allot to have extra horse power
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for NorthStar PTO Generator - 27,500 Watt, 48 HP Required
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Voltage Drop

,
September 3, 2008
By AWF08
from Jennings, La.
"We purchased your Northstar 27.5 KW PTO powered generator after Hurricane Rita; the generator was mounted on the three point skid with enclosure and stored in my shop in the event back up power was needed. Your generator was used during the aftermath of Hurricane Gustav and I'm sorry to say it did not perform as it should have. We had no problems with powering up our 110 supply; on the other hand when our Central Unit attempted to kick on the generator voltage would drop from 240 volts to 50 volts dimming or kick out our 110 supply. NOTE: The AC Unit is equiped with a hard start capacitor. A 27.5 KW genrator should have no problems powering up our 240 volt needs; Sorry I can not recommend purchasing this unit ; hopefully you can get this problem corrected before someone else pruchases this problems."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
14out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for NorthStar PTO Generator - 27,500 Watt, 48 HP Required
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Voltage Drop Under Load

,
August 19, 2008
By Alec
from Saco, ME
"We purchased the 27,500 watt Northstar PTO generator and powering it with an 8.2 GM Marine diesel expecting to have at least 10,000 watts of power at 240 volts and /or 120 volts available. Even though this generator is tough and holds up well when running, the voltage does not hold up and drops to
dangerously low levels at less than 5,000 watts. It is a constant problem and we are considering our options. We will not buy another generator of this type untill this problem is solved
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for NorthStar PTO Generator - 27,500 Watt, 48 HP Required
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hurricane protection

,
March 7, 2007
By oldriverking
from Gainesville, Florida
"After going through the hurricanes of 2004, and getting by for 2 weeks, I bought this monster. I will no longer have to go without any of the electrical items which make life bearable at such a time. This thing will power one's whole house, including AC. If you need one, this one will not let you down."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.