Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for NorthStar Trifuel Generator - 390cc, 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

NorthStar Trifuel Generator - 390cc, 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts

Item# 165938
NorthStar® Trifuel Generator packs 8000 surge watts and 6600 continuous watts! Switches effortlessly from gasoline to dry fuel without powering off and starts fast and easy in all weather. For years of long-lasting power, this generator uses a reliable, 100% copper-wound brushless generator head. NorthStars V-mounts are designed to extend life by dampening and isolating engine vibration. The interlocking V-mounts have a rubber-isolation mount made with a specially formulated vibration-dampening elastomer that provides optimal flexibility. An interlocking bracket design allows NorthStar to use softer rubber, resulting in a smooth-running engine. Easy access control and outlet panel. Frame constructed from ERW hot-rolled steel tubing. The solid base provides a strong foundation for the generator and extends life by serving as a barrier between the ground and the generator. This prevents grass, dirt, dust and other debris from being sucked into the engine and the alternator. Muffler drastically reduces engine noise level. Not for sale in California. U.S.A. Surge Watts: 8,000, Rated Watts: 6,600, Start Type: Electric and recoil, Engine Displacement (cc): 390, Engine: Honda GX 390 OHV, Gross Torque: 20 ft-lb at 2,500 rpm, Rated Watts LP: 6,200, Rated Watts NG: 5,200, Surge Watts LP: 7,200, Surge Watts NG: 6,400, Run Time: 9 Hours at 1/2 Load, Receptacles (qty.): 5, Noise Level (dB): 74.5, Fuel Type: Gasoline, Propane, or Natural Gas, Fuel Capacity (gal.): 6.5, Low Oil Shutdown: Yes, Battery Required: Yes, Battery Included: No, Dimensions L x W x H (in.): 31 x 23 x 22 Brushless generator heads are proven to be superior in efficiency, performance and lifespan compared to brush-style generator heads Less than 6% THD for use with power-sensitive equipment  Cast iron sleeve Control panel has push to reset circuit breakers Replacement parts are available through Northern Tool Parts Department 1-800-270-0810
Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (30 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
29 of 30(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NorthStar Trifuel Generator - 390cc, 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts
Review 1 for NorthStar Trifuel Generator - 390cc, 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tri Fuel

,
June 18, 2011
By Pumbu
from Virginia
"I have had my NorthStar Trifuel Generator for 4 years. It is stored in the carport with a cover. The original battery still fires it up without a trickle charger. I run it for about 20 minutes every month and change the oil every 3 months or so. Overall, I am very pleased with the generator. I have replaced both wheels that came with the wheel kit, they should have lasted longer. This is a very reliable generator, I have only run it on gasoline, I haven't hooked it up yet to the NG on the house. Its only downside is how loud the generator is when it is running. To offset that, I run extenstion cords to the neighbors homes."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NorthStar Trifuel Generator - 390cc, 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good value for money

,
March 21, 2011
By GulfIslander
from British Columbia
"With frequent and lengthy power cuts on our island, I bought the Northstar electric start tri-fuel generator, and use it with propane fuel, keeping gasoline a a back-up. After its first season, I have been very pleased with its reliability, economy, and performance. It is so much easier to start and also considerably quieter than my previous generator. It runs two fridges, three freezers, two water pumps and several household lights/appliances without tripping, something my previous "6000 watt" generator couldn't do."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for NorthStar Trifuel Generator - 390cc, 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Mixed results from buying 2 of these

,
March 14, 2011
By ColoradoRick
from Livermore, Colorado
"My father-in-law and I each bought one just over 2 years ago as our back power and well pump generators for off grid homes. They deliver great power performance, easy start and the noise isn't terribly load if situated moderately away from the house. My father-in-law's generator is worked effortlessly the entire time but mine has been to the shop for $450 worth of repair and is out again now. The value seats seem to the issue if running propane but is a super trooper if running gas. I run propane, the other is run on gas, stay with gas. I will replace instead of fixing the generator this time, and I am planning on buying a propane only generator this time and saving on the repair costs."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NorthStar Trifuel Generator - 390cc, 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

start me up

,
November 23, 2010
By kafromnorcal
from Fort Bragg CA
"Nuts! Power out again. I love this generator. Has Honda engine which starts right up. Open choke, turn key, and engine starts within 1-2 seconds, even after not starting it for 2-3 months. Struggled in past with generator that was hard to start, which is absolutely the last thing you need when you are upset power is out.
I am rewarded twice with this as I get the juice back on and my wife thinks I'm a genius for purchasing something that is so important and works perfectly.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NorthStar Trifuel Generator - 390cc, 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A First-Rate "No-Complaints-Ever" Generator

,
August 30, 2010
By Jackimo
from Oriental, North Carolina
"The Northstar Trifuel is the first generator I've owned and I couldn't have done better if I had researched it for months and spent three times the money. This first-rate product has kept my house lighted and appliances running through countless power outages and several devastating hurricanes here in coastal southeastern North Carolina. The Northstar Trifuel is solid and stable. It powers to life instantly and never skips a beat--no matter if rain is flooding, wind is howling and trees are bent double. I've run the Northstar Trifuel on both gasoline and propane, and, as promised, it switches from one to the other seamlessly. This is an outstanding piece of equipment and I recommend it highly."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NorthStar Trifuel Generator - 390cc, 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent quality and design

,
June 4, 2010
By JohninIdaho
from Bonners Ferry, Idaho
"I have had this generator for over 2 years. Very reliable and easy to start on all fuels. I like the simple design for switching between fuels. I use it as back-up to my solar power system for the times I need to run the power hungry appliances. The customer support folks were very nice and answered all my questions.
If considering this generator, remember, it is very heavy and requires a battery for electric start AND for pull start to operate the fuel solenoid valves.
Considering the high quality, I expect it to last a long time.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NorthStar Trifuel Generator - 390cc, 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northstar Generator

,
June 1, 2010
By drm22
from Mena, AR
"The generator is supplying power to my hunting cabin. Has not missed a beat. More than enough power and very dependable. I use the LP and the gasoliine feature and both work very well"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NorthStar Trifuel Generator - 390cc, 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tri-fuel Generator

,
June 1, 2010
By Ttravis
from Houston, Texas
"I tied this generator into the home gas line in the back yard behind the garage. when Hurricane Ike came through I was able to keep all the refrigerators, freezers, and a window unit A/C running with no problem. I also dropped an extension cord over the fence to both neighbors with no problem keeping their refrigerators and freezers cold. The ability to run on natural gas saved me from having to search for a gas station every few hours and i was able to run over a week until the power came back on. Behind the garage the only way i could tell it was running was the lights were on."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NorthStar Trifuel Generator - 390cc, 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

My GX390

,
May 27, 2010
By express2008
from Louisiana
"I have owned my GX390 tri fuel generator for two years and have had no problem with what so ever. We live in Louisiana and weather here can be troublesome to say the least but when we need portable power the GX390 comes through every time."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for NorthStar Trifuel Generator - 390cc, 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tri Fuel Generator

,
February 15, 2010
By oldSmitty
from Rural
"One great generator has been in service more than 5 years. On one outage it ran continuous for 12 days. I installed it on propane and could not be happier. Have only run synthetic oil. Runs and starts great! Would buy again."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for NorthStar Trifuel Generator - 390cc, 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product!

,
January 23, 2010
By HandyDad3
from Iowa
"Lost power for 2.5 days after an ice storm this week. It ran flawlessly the whole time. Haven't hooked it up to NG yet, but that will make it convenient to keep the house running next time. By using one hi-amperage appliance at a time, we were able to wash & dry clothes, run the dishwasher, use the electric stove & heat our water all while keeping the fridge, deep freeze and the lights on. It was pretty close to life as usual. I would have given it 5 stars if the dB was lower. Don't try to take this one camping."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for NorthStar Trifuel Generator - 390cc, 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Portable Generator

,
November 3, 2009
By genxreviews
from Oriental, North Carolina
"We purchased this approximately seven or eight years ago, and it's kept us from doing without in hurricanes and tropical storms every year. It has a dependable engine, and the power is adequate for me to run a chest freezer, two refrigerators, and the heat pump! We're grateful for this product, and highly recommend it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for NorthStar Trifuel Generator - 390cc, 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

It's a keeper!

,
November 2, 2009
By SleepingEasy
from Freeland, WA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"This generator has kept us in power on many stormy Pacific Northwest nights - especially important because my wife uses a CPAP machine for her sleep apnea. We can both rest easy knowing she'll be safe even if the power goes out. The generator is hooked up to the house propane for ease in use. No stress of getting gas when the gas stations are out of power, too! And it has a dedicated outlet by the breaker box so it's flick off main power, flick on generator power. Only problem was changing the spark plug with arthritic fingers. I have recommended this machine to MANY people."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for NorthStar Trifuel Generator - 390cc, 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Generator

,
November 2, 2009
By laidbackman
from Columbus, Ohio
"I have owned this generator for 3 years. I have it hooked up to natural gas with a quick disconnect fitting. I did this so I could share with my son if necessary. I have needed it several times. The longest was 4 days after Hurricane Ike blew down a slew of trees in my town. I was able to share power with my neighbor. I have not had any issues with this generator. I do have a manual switch over at my panel. I have also run with gasoline at times. The switchover betweens fuels is seamless. The honda engine is great and the generator an electronics provide steady power for my refrigerator, furnace, lights and microwave."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for NorthStar Trifuel Generator - 390cc, 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

northstar trifuel 8k

,
July 20, 2009
By CKOERTH
from Houston area
"Easy start, always runs on any fuel,easy to operate. Excellent product that I have recommended to several other people and they have also purchased. It ran flawlessly all during hurricane Ike."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for NorthStar Trifuel Generator - 390cc, 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not bad Generator

,
March 23, 2009
By ConstructionGUY
from Exton, PA
"This Generator was easy to assemble, only thing is it does not come with oil or battrey, Runs great and starts easy. The only CON is it is not as quiet as some other generators I have used ."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for NorthStar Trifuel Generator - 390cc, 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Almost perfect generator

,
November 18, 2008
By lsmi1
from Louisiana
"I bought this generator for emergency power and for use around my home as well as my hunting club. It works great. Starts right up, switches fuel with no problems, and does exactly as stated in the product information.
Being in Louisiana, we experience hurricanes and are sometimes without power for days, sometimes weeks. It does the job quietly without shaking and vibrating all around like my past generator.
It was delivered in a timely fashion and the price was good when you compare it with other generators in its class. There are many other generators out there that are cheaper, but are not near the quality of this one, nor or they equal in features. The trifuel feature allows you to have a continuous supply of fuel without going to the gas station every day. I use mine on natural gas and have no problems whatsoever.
My only dislike is the fact that it did not come with a wheel kit installed. It is listed as an option and is purchased separately. Just raise the price and put the wheels on it. It is very heavy and is hard to move by yourself. I have installed wheels on mine, but it would be nice if they came on it.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for NorthStar Trifuel Generator - 390cc, 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tri Fuel Generator

,
November 17, 2008
By db153
from Kentucky
"I had purchased this generator for home backup power, we had poweroutage for one week from storm damage and this generator was used power our home through an transfer switch and also ran cords to friends home to give light and power refridgerator. The generator ran flawlessly for a week on gasoline power, now hooking up NG for next storm."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for NorthStar Trifuel Generator - 390cc, 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Trifuel generator 13 HP 8000 watt

,
November 17, 2008
By millbluff
from Fredonia, Ky
"I use the generator in my business and also as a electrical backup at home. We heat with propane and the trifuel unit just fit. I installed a propane line and installed a transfer switch to use when the electric power is off. All I have to do is move the generator to my home location and connect it to the propane and plug it in to the transfer switch and we have continuous power. The unit switches easy from gasoline to LP or LP to gasoline."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for NorthStar Trifuel Generator - 390cc, 8000 Surge Watts, 6600 Rated Watts
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Built To Work. Built To Last.

,
November 17, 2008
By Japers
from Long Island, NY
"I purchased this generator to use in case of an emergency for my home. I chose this generator not only for the tri-fuel feature, but also for the Northern Name.
This is a high quality, heavy duty machine designed for rugged use. It seems to handle exactly what is claimed and most probably more. I would consider this particular generator more for the construction site then to use just for an emergency at home. However, I'm glad that I have it because it is built for reliability.
It would be nice though if this unit came with wheels. Wheels really aren't an option, they are indeed necessary unless you have a dolly or don't plan to move it from where it was delivered. It's heavy. If the wheel kit was in stock at the time, I would have ordered it. Though this wasn't too much of a problem for me because I didn't need to move it immediately. Northern should just include the wheel kit.
Please know that my experience having a generator is with this one only. Therefore, I can't compare it to another generator. I do know not to skimp on tools and equipment though. I've been a wrench turner most of my days and I can tell you that I don't buy cheap tools.
It would also be helpful to know that reading the manual can be an option for you prior to purchasing any particular piece of equipment. There's much to know about multi fuel generators. As well as knowing about operation, different components and other requirements. So do your research ahead of time and ask questions.
There is no such thing as a stupid question!
And in case you didn't know, this generator runs at a substantial throttle speed all the time. Reason being is so it can handle an immediate surge of power that it is specifically designed for. Please know that it doesn't just sit there idling until power is needed. It always runs at a factory pre-set working speed. This is normal.
Whatever use you're planning this generator for, I would recommend to first make a list of what equipment and or appliances you intend to supply power to. Make sure that surge power is included in your calculations because this is a necessary factor in determining what size generator you will need. Knowing about surge power is extremely important.
Also, connecting a transfer switch is not difficult for someone that knows their way around a breaker panel (with the cover off.) Installing a transfer switch requires certain skills and is only easy for those that know how.
I must say that Northern's Customer service really is a good place to start asking your questions. They really know their products, are quite friendly and really helpful. Please spend some extra time asking questions. I've spoken with them before, during and after my generator became part of my residence. Placing an order and delivery really is quite fast.
As the saying goes, "measure twice, cut once."
Good luck! And I hope you have your emergency generator ready should you need it. Though mostly, I hope you never need it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.